Official Sony HX929 Owner's thread (46HX929, 55HX929, 65HX929) No Price Talk - Page 438 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13111 of 15574 Old 03-30-2012, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEDTV1999 View Post

I have already made my request to IMRIZZO for a copy of his settings.

Who is rizzo and why are his settings so good? You have to request them somewhere?
DedicatedHT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13112 of 15574 Old 03-30-2012, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datacide View Post

Excellent, thank you! Where did you find it?

On sony's website
Brian-HD is offline  
post #13113 of 15574 Old 03-30-2012, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There's a lot of new owners here, congrats! Below are some of the topics and links to help you with your new HX929!

I've talked to my pro-calibrator and he's now ok for me to share my settings but I still recommend that you get yours professionaly calibrated, it's definitely worth it. If you want to know my settings, please PM me only, do not post here to request for my settings for I will not respond to it. You can also try settings from websites like CNET or Home Theater websites or from other users here just like the popular one from IMRIZZO, give him a pm for the settings.

Again congrats and enjoy!

Home Theater Magazine website recommended settings and reviews and good explanations on some of the features and settings
http://www.hometheater.com/content/s...-hdtv-settings

Sharing display menu settings? Not recommended per this thread
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1055906

How Viewing Environment Conditions Can Corrupt Or Enhance Your Calibration.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=849430

Calibration FAQ (under development)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=585527

Display Calibration: Root Fundamentals
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1021933

Customer Reports About Their Professional Calibrations
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=712929

ISF Calibrators, where are you located? Please post here!
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=586330

Self Calibration, FREE alternative to DVE, Disney WOW or Spears
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496

Basic Guide to Color Calibration using a CMS (updated and enhanced)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=852536

Reading and interpreting calibration charts and data for dummies
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=586691

D65 Video Bias Lighting- Fundamental Theory And Practice
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1162578

3D Contents!
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=196
edtorious is offline  
post #13114 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 12:00 AM
Member
 
CEDTV1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Western New Jersey
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DedicatedHT View Post

What build date is considered better?


People posting here, reported problems with units (46 and 55 inch) produced in the 1st and 2nd quarter of 2011 . It appears Sony delayed production of the 65 inch until those production issues were addressed. So to answer your question, the more recent the date, the better

BTW, mine has a Feb. 2012 date .

Carl
CEDTV1999 is offline  
post #13115 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 12:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Datacide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: behind you
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

On sony's website

Oh...I looked yesterday and it hadn't updated the firmware info yet I guess...I thought you worked some other magic.

Datacide

*Don't shop at The Brick...ever!*
Datacide is offline  
post #13116 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Datacide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: behind you
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Curious if anyone has various commercial calibration Blurays and if you find one better for calibrating 3D? Obviously there is the brightness of the glasses to consider and I wondered if any of the discs had tests better suited for 3D calibration or one that you found seemed to just work a bit better for 3D?

Datacide

*Don't shop at The Brick...ever!*
Datacide is offline  
post #13117 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
6SpeedTA95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know how to find ISF options in my area? I went to the ISF website and I know that three of the places they listed don't do calibrations (Because I already called them) and I'd prefer to stay away from Geek Squad if possible.
6SpeedTA95 is offline  
post #13118 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladi123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just want to say that I bought mine (55HX929) almost a year ago - last May. It has been OUTSTANDING, and I love it. For those who are on the fence
vladi123456 is offline  
post #13119 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6SpeedTA95 View Post

Does anyone know how to find ISF options in my area? I went to the ISF website and I know that three of the places they listed don't do calibrations (Because I already called them) and I'd prefer to stay away from Geek Squad if possible.

Hi did you check out the link I just posted above? http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=586330
edtorious is offline  
post #13120 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6SpeedTA95 View Post

Does anyone know how to find ISF options in my area? I went to the ISF website and I know that three of the places they listed don't do calibrations (Because I already called them) and I'd prefer to stay away from Geek Squad if possible.

Just sent you a pm on who I used for my calibration 6SpeedTA95
brickyardz is offline  
post #13121 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thank you edtorious for all the info!
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #13122 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IMRIZZO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Federal Witness Relocation Program
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datacide View Post

Curious if anyone has various commercial calibration Blurays and if you find one better for calibrating 3D? Obviously there is the brightness of the glasses to consider and I wondered if any of the discs had tests better suited for 3D calibration or one that you found seemed to just work a bit better for 3D?

Munsil & Spears supposedly is preparing a new disc to include DYI 3D calibration.

*Sony XBR 929 & Sony XBR8-Denon 3311CI-Mirage V2 FS speakers w/S10 Sub-Oppo 93-Darbee DVP5000-Harmony 1100
IMRIZZO is offline  
post #13123 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thank you im rizzo for the settings!
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #13124 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Datacide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: behind you
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMRIZZO View Post

Munsil & Spears supposedly is preparing a new disc to include DYI 3D calibration.


Oh, thanks! I'll wait for that and eyeball the 3D in the meantime.

Datacide

*Don't shop at The Brick...ever!*
Datacide is offline  
post #13125 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 30
After not receiving anymore firmware updates after half a year or so, I decided to manually check. Says it can't connect to the server and I should check my network settings.

I go to network settings, and it says local network found and internet is OK.

Any ideas?

EDIT: Connected it to Wired just to test and it worked. Wireless was tested 100% OK, did they make it so you can't update firmware over wireless?
Tyrindor is online now  
post #13126 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post

After not receiving anymore firmware updates after half a year or so, I decided to manually check. Says it can't connect to the server and I should check my network settings.

I go to network settings, and it says local network found and internet is OK.

Any ideas?

If you're not wired, can you try updating thru wired connection?
edtorious is offline  
post #13127 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post

After not receiving anymore firmware updates after half a year or so, I decided to manually check. Says it can't connect to the server and I should check my network settings.

I go to network settings, and it says local network found and internet is OK.

Any ideas?

EDIT: Connected it to Wired just to test and it worked. Wireless was tested 100% OK, did they make it so you can't update firmware over wireless?

Have you tried updating again in wireless after you have updated wired? Did it work in wireless this time?
edtorious is offline  
post #13128 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tyrindor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by edtorious View Post

Have you tried updating again in wireless after you have updated wired? Did it work in wireless this time?

Yup after doing the update through wired, then reconnecting to wireless it seems to work.

Must of been a bug that was fixed.
Tyrindor is online now  
post #13129 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the latest firmware and build date so I can check mine upon delivery tomorrow?
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #13130 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Struck out trying to get a 55" today, probably won't get another shot till next weekend, hoping the prices don't get too jacked up.

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #13131 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Victorm1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DedicatedHT View Post

What is the latest firmware and build date so I can check mine upon delivery tomorrow?

@ DedicatedHT: PKG4.003AAA.

@burntice: sorry my friend i havent checked my pms lately. Answering your question. Yes the 55 has banding but you rarely see it, on the other hand the 65 version has more banding and you can notice it easily. Ive said this before as i far as i know, because ive had both sets the 55 is a better choice banding wise. My regards.

Victor.
Victorm1000 is offline  
post #13132 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
 
digitalart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tet10 View Post

Hi

I still have problems with the brightness level on my TV after the last firmaware update.Brightness level are constantly changing, the image goes from dark to light all the time

I wonder now if it is possible to delete firmaware update, just as you format a HD.I If so, how to do it?

What firmware version are you talking about?
Maybe you have some of the "auto" features turned on. Try turning everything off and see if it helps.

Anyways, anyone update to PKG4.003AAA yet? Is it safe to do so?
digitalart is offline  
post #13133 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 06:42 PM
Member
 
KillerBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered my 65Hx929 today.

So I am subscribing to this thread and looking for any tips, while it is being shipped.
KillerBox is offline  
post #13134 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 07:01 PM
Member
 
jcposner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 55hx929 today. My picture modes only offers standard,vivid and custom but in the setting thread I read about "cinema 1." Should I see "cinema1" as a option under picture mode on my set?
jcposner is offline  
post #13135 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
HaRd2BeAr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcposner View Post

Just got my 55hx929 today. My picture modes only offers standard,vivid and custom but in the setting thread I read about "cinema 1." Should I see "cinema1" as a option under picture mode on my set?

Press the scene button on the remote, you will then see Cinema, Game etc

Aaron
HaRd2BeAr is offline  
post #13136 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 07:22 PM
Member
 
jcposner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Aaron...worked like a charm..looks like it is going to be a late night...so many options to tweak.
jcposner is offline  
post #13137 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
HaRd2BeAr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcposner View Post

Thanks Aaron...worked like a charm..looks like it is going to be a late night...so many options to tweak.

No worries,

Have fun, nothing better than having a new toy to play with.

Aaron

PS late night for me to, its 3.30am here in the UK.
HaRd2BeAr is offline  
post #13138 of 15574 Old 03-31-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
6SpeedTA95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by h4m5xcy View Post

I was hoping the 46" would make it out earlier. Maybe April.

I've still got some concern about the 1.5" depth on the 929's. Hopefully there isn't any banding.


the 46 929 has been out almost a year
6SpeedTA95 is offline  
post #13139 of 15574 Old 04-01-2012, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfort,IL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Wow, the 65" jumped to 5498 on Amazon today from around 4500 yesterday.

I guess this is the new pricing taking effect?
Cruel April fools joke.
slapshot is offline  
post #13140 of 15574 Old 04-01-2012, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
BoomVang85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+1

Yup, and the 55" is up a grand overnight shipped/fullfilled by Amazon.

Glad I bought the 55" from Amazon 2 weeks ago. Loving this tv so far.
BoomVang85 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr65hx929 65 Inch 1080p 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv With Built In Wifi Black , Sony Bravia Xbr55hx929 55 Inch 1080p 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv With Built In Wi Fi Black , Sony Bravia Xbr46hx929 46 Inch 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off