Official Samsung UNXXD6000 Owners' Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 3069 Old 04-25-2011, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbdawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
E-

I still don't quite understand where exactly you applied this tape, no big deal but if you can post a image it's pretty simple when replying to a post just click the browse button > select the picture from your computer e.g desktop > what for it to load and finish then reply
jbdawson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 3069 Old 04-26-2011, 03:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Emaych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdawson View Post

E-

I still don't quite understand where exactly you applied this tape, no big deal but if you can post a image it's pretty simple when replying to a post just click the browse button > select the picture from your computer e.g desktop > what for it to load and finish then reply

OK, thanks for that, might give it a go. It is not pretty mind you (though I try to be neat in almost anything I undertake whether anyone sees it or not), and of course should not have to be done at all, if they had designed this set right. But even without a picture, you are probably going to be your best judge of where the tape should go -- next time you hear the buzzing on a blu-ray, just pause it, get around to the backside of your set, replay and hear where the vibration is coming from. I think I probably just dampened it with my hand to see if that would have beneficial effect. It did, so I started taping. It is a cheap effective fix -- not everyone will care to bother with it, and just reject the set, but I like so much else about it, that I guess I'm going to keep it at this point.
Emaych is offline  
post #333 of 3069 Old 04-26-2011, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
wallstreet123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post

As I said above, CLEAR is the answer. No issues at all. It gives a very slight "live" look to things.

You can use Blur10 and Judder0 if you can't even stand a hint of "soap opera" effect (sucks to be you if even "clear" is to much for you). Blur does not have a very noticeable effect on motion but judder gives you the soap and handheld camera effect (think Cloverfield).

Most people don't understand what judder is and use the word when what they are seeing is NOT judder. I have yet to find a way to explain it properly.

Thanks for the response Toon, where do I fund the CLEAR setting?
wallstreet123456 is offline  
post #334 of 3069 Old 04-26-2011, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
CessnaDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post

Not sure if AMP is exactly the same as the 2010 models, but many people had the exact same problem you describe, including myself. Usually refered to as skipping or stuttering. It is very dependant on what you watch and keep in mind that most digital cable is heavily compressed and well... crapy. Gives AMP a real hard time. "Clear" setting always works best. I personally love the "soap" effect and you do get use to it, doesn't look as "cheap" after a while but rather looks REAL which I can't see as a bad thing in any way. But the Clear setting has barely noticeable "soap" and people who HATE the effect are really just whiners if they say they can't stand AMP on clear.

You WILL get used to it and clear is very subtle. As an added bonus, clear has no skipping, artifacting or other issues. It also eliminates the problems you see when AMP is off. I prefer MORE soap effect so i don't use Clear but it is the only setting with no issues at all.

Thanks to all for suggestions thus far.

I did turn my Directv DVR to native mode to see if that helps. I think it helped a tiny bit but the problem is still there. I still have not played with the AMP settings and will do that tonight.

The strangest thing ever happened on ABC the other night. We had severe weather in the area and there was a ticker at the bottom that kept popping up with the warnings.

The studder got so terrible that the ticker would keep pausing for 2-3 seconds at a time, which made the text "hop" across the screen rather than scroll. It was terrible and unreadable.

I will keep reading, trying suggestions, and share the results. Thanks to everyone.
CessnaDriver is offline  
post #335 of 3069 Old 04-26-2011, 11:52 PM
Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet123456 View Post
Thanks for the response Toon, where do I fund the CLEAR setting?
It's in the AMP settings (auto motion plus). Dont remember off the top of my head where it is in the picture menu.
toonj64 is offline  
post #336 of 3069 Old 04-27-2011, 08:19 AM
Member
 
eortizr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I had it with Samsung, after not honoring their promotion of Free 3D glasses with any 3D Tv, and the little but still noticeable LED bleeding from the corners. I exchanged my 40" D6420 for a big Panasonic 50" ST30, got to say, 3D looks way better with no crosstalk, Plasma looks way better than LCD, LED is close but not there yet, I'm in love with the ST30 it is a huge step from the D6420 and it cost me only $50.00 more. Now the glasses are more expensive... but that will go down and you can always use the universal ones.

- Panasonic TC-P50ST30
- Yamaha RX-V667
- Polk RM75
- Polk PSW10
- ARRX18G Remote w/ RF extender
- WDTV Live+ (5TB and growing)
eortizr is offline  
post #337 of 3069 Old 04-27-2011, 04:32 PM
Member
 
kinetic758's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eortizr View Post

Well I had it with Samsung, after not honoring their promotion of Free 3D glasses with any 3D Tv, and the little but still noticeable LED bleeding from the corners. I exchanged my 40" D6420 for a big Panasonic 50" ST30, got to say, 3D looks way better with no crosstalk, Plasma looks way better than LCD, LED is close but not there yet, I'm in love with the ST30 it is a huge step from the D6420 and it cost me only $50.00 more. Now the glasses are more expensive... but that will go down and you can always use the universal ones.

I took a similar route: returned a 46" D6420 and got a 50" Panasonic GT30 plasma for far less money. Viewing angles and screen uniformity are non-issues now. I still prefer the connectivity and overall design of the 2011 Samsungs. Also, the new Panny plasmas do suffer from brightness fluctuations (severity seems to vary from panel to panel and among the different models). Pick your poison when it comes to purchasing a new set in 2011.
kinetic758 is offline  
post #338 of 3069 Old 04-28-2011, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
tivoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Menlo Park, CA 94025
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakattk View Post
With such outstanding a surround sound setup that you have,
with such an outstanding sound setup, one would think one would pony up for the 8000
tivoboy is offline  
post #339 of 3069 Old 04-28-2011, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
alhull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canton, MI. USA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung 55" model 6000 LCD set that is about 18 months old. In the last week, it has suddenly started shifting itself into channel scanning mode on it's own. I only use HMDI4 input. I'll be watching TV and then suddenly the screen loses the program image, and I see the channels auto-scanning in a pop-up box on-screen. I have to interrupt it with the remote, using the Source button to go reselect HDMI4 as input.

Anyone else seen weird behavior like this with one of these sets? Nothing is touching the remote when this occurs. It's happened 3 or 4 times now.

alhull is offline  
post #340 of 3069 Old 04-28-2011, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbdawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ugh

So as I said a bit earlier in the thread I was waiting on a replacement due to some flashlighting in the bottom L and R corners, finally got the replacement and this thing is just BAD 10x worse than my old set.

Not only does it still got flashlighting it's in all 4 corners now. I could see where some people said they saw a complete mess when it came to that. It's also got severe clouding and what looks like maybe halos? The clouding isn't purple/grey/blue in dark scenes it is somewhat greenish looking. It's just awful. I have got a hold of the driver and looks like I'm going to stay with my old set and have them get this one. It just goes to show you like you always read, and I took the chance, you could always get one which is worse and mine was.
jbdawson is offline  
post #341 of 3069 Old 04-28-2011, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Emaych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post

with such an outstanding sound setup, one would think one would pony up for the 8000

I thought about it, but to tell the truth, I was only originally interested in getting a new computer monitor. Got a UN55C6500 for that purpose, and then liked it so much, I just kept getting new TVs. Realized that I could use a few more, so got a larger plasma, and a 55D6000 for the foot of my bed. This was in 1 or 2 months, so I am happy that I got 2 55s for different spots, versus one for one location at a similar cost -- plus 55" seems too small for the big outlay on 3D. Never became convinced that 3D is really perfected, but then I've never seen it on a TV.

Anyway, by next year, I might be looking at a really large TV with everything. If there is a suitable 65, 70 or 75 incher with 3D everyone raves about, with a maximized viewing angle radius, etc., then maybe that will be the time to jump. BTW, I'll repeat that my sound system is pretty useless to me if I don't turn it on (and I don't), so maybe the proceeds from selling that could fund something really extravagant....
Emaych is offline  
post #342 of 3069 Old 04-28-2011, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
sdolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Might be a new owner soon, I currently have a Panasonic TC-P46G10 plasma that after the black level rise, really looks pretty bad. We were at a friends house last weekend and his LN-52B630 ran circles around my TV. This was not the case when it was brand new. Thanks Panasonic for admitting the issue and doing absolutely nothing about it. That was my second Panasonic plasma and will be my last product from them. So I hit BestBuy at lunch to see how much better TV tech has improved in the last two years and I was pretty surprised how much better they look in comparison to what I own. I went to look at some of the the budget 55" contenders along with the UN55D6400. Because of the super thin bezel, I can cram a 55" where my current 46" is. It's actually only 5" wider and the same height. Long story short, I was pretty impressed by it's PQ even in torch mode at the store.

I have one sitting in my Amazon cart just waiting to checkout, I'm just suffering from TV shopping paralysis.
sdolen is offline  
post #343 of 3069 Old 04-29-2011, 04:40 AM
Member
 
JPCarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump.
JPCarl is offline  
post #344 of 3069 Old 04-29-2011, 09:09 AM
Member
 
birdsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
very happy with my 46" 6000 that was on clearance at BB. nicely discounted.

also did not expect it to play 1080p mkv's off a usb drive so flawlessly. will be testing avatar tonite to see if plays that without skipping.

it replaced my old samsung 46" lcd and is much smaller looks wise, kinda wish i would got a 55" tho
birdsg is offline  
post #345 of 3069 Old 04-29-2011, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
justinferrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdolen View Post

. I went to look at some of the the budget 55" contenders along with the UN55D6400. Because of the super thin bezel, I can cram a 55" where my current 46" is. It's actually only 5" wider and the same height. Long story short, I was pretty impressed by it's PQ even in torch mode at the store.

I have one sitting in my Amazon cart just waiting to checkout, I'm just suffering from TV shopping paralysis.

I'm with you.. I've had enough shopping around.. Im burnt out

Was looking at the 55D6420 at BB but ended up with the 55D6400 from amazon for 17xx shipped. Should be here next Thursday. Pretty excited since I'm still using a 32" Samsung LCD from about 5-6 years ago
justinferrell is offline  
post #346 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Emaych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 35
With regard to picture adjustments, perhaps someone can shed some light on something curious here. I was just playing around with the menu on my D6000. Went into PICTURE and there is a subset menu for PICTURE OPTIONS. In that menu appears HDMI BLACK LEVEL and FILM MODE. Both of those are greyed out -- not usable as an option for adjustment on ANY of the picture modalities -- DYNAMIC, NATURAL, so forth -- so it would seem there would be no reason to have those items listed there, if you can't do anything with them. I'm not even sure what FILM MODE might be, but if you can't play with it, you won't be finding out through experimentation, that is certain. Anyone know anything of that? Does one have to alter some other setting before HDMI BLACK LEVEL can be accessed?
Emaych is offline  
post #347 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 08:08 AM
Member
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Other than 3D and the thin bezel does the d6400 offer any advantages over the d6000? I've never owned a flat screen TV (my latest is a 20" 1995ish Sony).
Thanks for any help you may give.
xlii is offline  
post #348 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbdawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There are firmware updates already for the D7000/8000, has anybody checked for a new fw on the D6000?
jbdawson is offline  
post #349 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
DaFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emaych View Post

Both of those are greyed out

I'm not 100% sure on this but I believe greyed out options are only available under certain connection scenarios. (I.E. some settings might only work if you're connected via HDMI.)
DaFox is offline  
post #350 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
wkulhanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checked on the tv for firmware update and got version 1010 (if I remember correctly). Smart hub also updated and installed CinemaNow and MLB.tv. And all settings reverted to default. All on a 32D6000
wkulhanek is offline  
post #351 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbdawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkulhanek View Post
Checked on the tv for firmware update and got version 1010 (if I remember correctly). Smart hub also updated and installed CinemaNow and MLB.tv. And all settings reverted to default. All on a 32D6000
So was that a new fw? And do you know what was in it, perhaps just like you said MLB and other program updates strictly related to the hub?

Emaych-

I apologize just saw your post in reply to the vibration will try to do once I get my old one back, mind you this new set which has god awful clouding does the same thing and is getting swapped back for my old set which had minor flashlighting that I can live with this one I can't. It's a problem on most sets im sure just not noticeable especially since most use AVR out the box.

As far as the tape how long do you cut when placing? For it to have any effect wouldn't you have to apply almost from one side of the frame to the other? Also is it just over the lower half where the speakers are or all over? imagine like you said it isn't pretty
jbdawson is offline  
post #352 of 3069 Old 04-30-2011, 10:16 PM
Member
 
MelonSplitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Bernardino, CA.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the off angle viewing like on the 6000, I currently have the D7000 and the off angle viewing is terrible from only 30 degree off center. Why has nobody posted anything about this. Not everybody sits directly in front of their TV and they shouldn't have too either.
MelonSplitter is offline  
post #353 of 3069 Old 05-01-2011, 03:44 AM
Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelonSplitter View Post

What is the off angle viewing like on the 6000, I currently have the D7000 and the off angle viewing is terrible from only 30 degree off center. Why has nobody posted anything about this. Not everybody sits directly in front of their TV and they shouldn't have too either.

It is a well know issue with any LCD. Some are better or worst and for the Samsung's, it actually does not depend on the model but rather on type of panel you have.
S panels are better at angle than a C panel. H seems to be like S and I don't know about A panels.

Sadly, that's the truth.
toonj64 is offline  
post #354 of 3069 Old 05-01-2011, 05:30 AM
adb
AVS Special Member
 
adb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: central texas
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As stated above off angle viewing on an lcd is a common problem. I have a new D 40" led being shipped to me for a very specific room where there will be practically no off angle viewing. For those areas where there is off angle viewing I use plasmas. I might mention that most of my sets are lcds.
adb is offline  
post #355 of 3069 Old 05-01-2011, 05:38 PM
Member
 
MotoV600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
costco here has the un55d6050 model that im thinking to get h103 panel. now what are the downsides with the 6050? anything messing that the d6000dont have? uniform issues?
MotoV600 is offline  
post #356 of 3069 Old 05-01-2011, 09:20 PM
Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoV600 View Post

costco here has the un55d6050 model that im thinking to get h103 panel. now what are the downsides with the 6050? anything messing that the d6000dont have? uniform issues?

Has nothing to do with the model. They all use the same panels anyway so it's a lottery. Yep, you heard me, a lottery...

I did read that the new 2011 D models are better with flashlights and light bleed because of the "micro dimming" but there are still some issues (uniformity, light bleed). I heard of some who have NO issues at all and others still have some.
toonj64 is offline  
post #357 of 3069 Old 05-02-2011, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
DaFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have mkv/h.264 streaming working? I can stream xvids and MPEG2 .ts files fine (well choppyness on 1080i telestreams.)
But It won't even see any of the mkv's.
DaFox is offline  
post #358 of 3069 Old 05-02-2011, 04:21 PM
Member
 
shrooms911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFox View Post

Does anyone have mkv/h.264 streaming working? I can stream xvids and MPEG2 .ts files fine (well choppyness on 1080i telestreams.)
But It won't even see any of the mkv's.

Try using a usb device, it only seems to work this way for me
shrooms911 is offline  
post #359 of 3069 Old 05-04-2011, 03:42 PM
Member
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From Samsung's own website the 6050 vs the 6000. The 6050 is 100 dollars less but has a 240 hz clear motion rate and a 4.5 million contrast vs the 6000 which is 100 dollars more with a 240 hz clear motion rate and a 5.0 million contrast. I thought the 6000 only had a 120 hz cmr? Has Samsung upped the specs?

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN46D6050TFXZA?

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN46D6000SFXZA
xlii is offline  
post #360 of 3069 Old 05-04-2011, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbdawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody out there know exactly what the new firmware is? Whenever there is a update/fw shouldnt there be somewhere that's got to say what it is?
jbdawson is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un40d6000 40 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un46d6000 46 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un60d6000 60 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un55d6000 55 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black 2011 Model , Samsung Un55d6000 , Samsung Un55d6000 55 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off