Official Samsung UNXXD6000 Owners' Thread - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2011, 06:03 AM
Member
 
Bri in Mtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the TV connected to a Bose Cinemate (love it) and thinking of getting an Ipad.
How/if would it connect to the TV?
What input(s) would it connect to?
What would I see on the screen if for example Itunes was playing? Same apply to an Ipod?
Thanks in advance for any and all replies.
Bri in Mtl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2011, 06:53 AM
Member
 
SteveLilley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiffman View Post

I don't understand why people don't understand that AMP mimics actual sight better than with the option off. I don't know about everyone else but things around me don't "JUdder" when I look around.

But you're not looking at real life - you're looking at a film.

I've seen BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID dozens, if not hundreds of times in my life, including in a theater recently for example. I know how it's supposed to look, and I want to recreate that as closely as possible. Its not about looking like I'm there - its about looking the way its supposed to. Its about looking like its film and not video. I want a movie that I watch to look as close to the way it would have looked in the best theater on the planet the day it came out as I can get it. That's the end game, for me. Reproducing the way its supposed to look, not convincing myself that I'm looking at "reality."

If I want real life, I'll look out my window. Sure, there are no cowboys with guns out there, but its probably safer that way. Guns are loud, and they make me uncomfortable when confronted with one in real life

I understand why you would like AMP and by all means, continue to use it. I just wanted to provide the other side of the argument.
SteveLilley is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
pluto9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Which is the correct setting of Samsung Smart tv ue46d6300 3D 2011 in service menu option type????help me please!!thanks!
pluto9 is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri in Mtl View Post

I have the TV connected to a Bose Cinemate (love it) and thinking of getting an Ipad.
How/if would it connect to the TV?
What input(s) would it connect to?
What would I see on the screen if for example Itunes was playing? Same apply to an Ipod?
Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Hello: There are a couple of things you can do to view iPad2 content on your Sammy ( this goes for most any HDMI TV). Here are some methods that I know of or have used myself. Others in this forum may have additional recommendations too.

Direct Connect:
Use the Apple Digital AVI adapter ($40) and connect directly with a separate HDMI cable ( I have not tried this method)
Stream/Airplay over your home wireless network:
Connect an Apple TV2 ( $99) to the Sammy then you can stream iTunes and other audio/video content to the TV from iPad2 and iPhone with iOS 5 over your home wireless network. With the ATV and iPad2 you can also "mirror" almost everything on the iPad2 to a TV ( like games, Safari Browser etc.) via iOS 5 but only in 4:3 aspect ratio.

USB
I just tried using the USB connection with the iPad2--this is now working ( maybe with the last update?) I am able to view Photos ( in Camera roll) from my iPad2 on the Sammy via the USB cable.

Airplay:
Some other devices support Airplay as well ( E.g. Denon Receivers)
http://lifehacker.com/5802958/how-to...lay+compatible

Free Streaming App:
iMediaShare ( a free app) can be used to stream from iPad2/iPhone to the TV over your home network ( I have found this app to be unstable from time-to-time but it does work)

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 09:57 AM
 
bimbamboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering if anyone has noticed if micro dimming helps to minimize clouding and flash lighting? It's available on the D6900/D7000 series.
Thanks
bimbamboom is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 11:10 AM
Member
 
rupes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you all for your input. This is as clear as mud
Rupert
rupes is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
intercepted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the D6300, managed to haggle the guy to get it down to only $10 more than the D6000.

I'd like to know if there are any differences (besides the web browers) between the D6300 and the D6000? Should I expect the exact same input lag numbers and picture quality as the D6000?
intercepted is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:00 PM
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by intercepted View Post

Just bought the D6300, managed to haggle the guy to get it down to only $10 more than the D6000.

I'd like to know if there are any differences (besides the web browers) between the D6300 and the D6000? Should I expect the exact same input lag numbers and picture quality as the D6000?

The only other difference I have been able to find is the ability to use the qwerty remote...
Blaine Doss is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
intercepted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

The only other difference I have been able to find is the ability to use the qwerty remote...

Thanks. The bezel seemed to be a little different as well. 6300 having a thinner bezel without the red tint. Guess they are pretty much the same besides that.
intercepted is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 06:09 PM
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After reading the current topic on the samsung cap issue surrounding older models has samsung addressed this in the current models?
Blaine Doss is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

After reading the current topic on the samsung cap issue surrounding older models has samsung addressed this in the current models?

What is the Samsung "cap issue"?
tightrope is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Blaine Doss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in MO.
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightrope View Post

What is the Samsung "cap issue"?

Some power supplies were having capacitor failure...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1198409
Blaine Doss is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:18 PM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the UN40D6000 and the picture is gorgeous. I've got a CN03 panel with minimal flash lighting and clouding and a build of Sept 11. Virtually none. Nice set.

aod is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Basilius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

Just got the UN40D6000 and the picture is gorgeous. I've got a CN03 panel with minimal flash lighting and clouding and a build of Sept 11. Virtually none. Nice set.

We picked up a UN60D6000 with the F301 panel built in November 2011, and I can't find any faults with the screen at all. No flashlighting, no clouding. Just simply gorgeous.
Basilius is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 11:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
tightrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine Doss View Post

Some power supplies were having capacitor failure...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1198409

Blaine, thanks for the link... interesting read.
I have 3 Samsung TV's at home (two LED's and one plasma), and so far, no capacitor problem. The oldest is from 2008. Keeping my fingers crossed.
tightrope is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
vgtvidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between all those panels #?

I just bought one from costco and it's a H301 revision? Is this good, bad, ok?
vgtvidz is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Bri in Mtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For anyone who's been using their TV to watch 3D -how do you find it?
I know that apparently it isn't true/full 3D 1080p but so what if you're happy imho. (same applies to any other items like flashlighting, etc.)
Bri in Mtl is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
vgtvidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimbamboom View Post

There was a recent firmware update that caused stuttering if AMP was set to anything other than Clear. Game mode On sets AMP to off. Try turning game mode Off, and select AMP Clear.

Thanks it did help
vgtvidz is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 09:04 AM
 
bimbamboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated my D6420 to v1025 last night via internet. Haven't notied any difference yet. The Samsung website still shows v1023.2
bimbamboom is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
vgtvidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimbamboom View Post

I updated my D6420 to v1025 last night via internet. Haven't notied any difference yet. The Samsung website still shows v1023.2

Same here... wondering what was added or modified.
vgtvidz is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
RCASC-EH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ditto
RCASC-EH is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
RCASC-EH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry. I should have mentioned that it SAID it was upgrading to 1025, but only upgraded to 1023xx
RCASC-EH is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
RCASC-EH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. So I just turned on the TV and it wanted me to upgrade to 1025, so......I did.
What the ..........?
Also - what IS the upgrade?

Merry Christmas to all you forum members that still celebrate this event.
RCASC-EH is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCASC-EH View Post

OK. So I just turned on the TV and it wanted me to upgrade to 1025, so......I did.
What the ..........?
Also - what IS the upgrade?

Merry Christmas to all you forum members that still celebrate this event.

Which Sammy model do you have?

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mastiffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveLilley View Post

But you're not looking at real life - you're looking at a film.

I've seen BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID dozens, if not hundreds of times in my life, including in a theater recently for example. I know how it's supposed to look, and I want to recreate that as closely as possible. Its not about looking like I'm there - its about looking the way its supposed to. Its about looking like its film and not video. I want a movie that I watch to look as close to the way it would have looked in the best theater on the planet the day it came out as I can get it. That's the end game, for me. Reproducing the way its supposed to look, not convincing myself that I'm looking at "reality."

If I want real life, I'll look out my window. Sure, there are no cowboys with guns out there, but its probably safer that way. Guns are loud, and they make me uncomfortable when confronted with one in real life

I understand why you would like AMP and by all means, continue to use it. I just wanted to provide the other side of the argument.


LOL- Good response!

I understand your point but I'm referring to all of the technology that is out there is all towards aiming the focus to reproduce a picture as close to life-like as possible. Otherwise DD/DTS, etc. and 3D wouldn't have made it as far into the consumers home as it has.

I've always looked at the reason some films looked so filled with judder because typically, especially with older movies like the one that you referred to, was because of the technology at that time. Now more and more movies are being Shot in Digital instead of Film, allowing for better, more life-like quality. Which I feel is the ultimate goal in home entertainment!

Watching a Movie for me is like a "Cenimatic Adventure", as famous Comedian Dane Cook put it... I look to watch "Movies" whether shot in film or video that, if only for 90 to 200 minutes, put me into another state of mind and take me to another place by tricking my senses into thinking that I'm there in the Movie... This is my preference! Using AMP (if it works properly, unlike this model at least for me... lol, My LN52A650 works flawlessly! ) helps to create that extra deep immersion of the movie...

Either way, I didn't mean to step on your toes and was expressing my feelings about the technology. I've never been one to watch a "soap opera" and feel that the term was coined as easy way to pesimistically describe a technology that some people aren't used to or like. It took me literally 3 days of all day watching my LN52A650 to get used to the AMP, Now I'm hooked!

I will also admit that at first, it was very, VERY distracting!!! Now I literally HATE watching the TV with it off. The standard 60hz motion blur gives me a headache now if I even watch one program with it...

BUT, as you others have stated, to each there own.
Mastiffman is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
Chingyul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got this set up after a week of it sitting in the box.
Bought the UN55D6000 from TD Rewards for $999, so I'm happy with the price.

Got it all set up. We have some old components at home, so knew I had some shortage on audio out (RCA) and RCA in.
Will be taking this TV when I move out though, so not a huge issue right now.

I'd like to thank redwolf4k for the settings. They look pretty good.
On black screens, I do have some flashlighting in the corners, but not noticeable with content.

Couple questions:
Anyone have the remote control code (3 digit)? Would like to program it into our satellite remote control.

SmartHub. Is it possible to get it to access shared folders like my WDTV live?
I have it connected though an ethernet bridge (ASUS router with Tomato). I can access the internet, so that's set up.
Can it access shared folders, or just attached USB drives?


Thanks guys. Looking forward to using the resource more.
Chingyul is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Mastiffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingyul View Post

Finally got this set up after a week of it sitting in the box.
Bought the UN55D6000 from TD Rewards for $999, so I'm happy with the price.

Got it all set up. We have some old components at home, so knew I had some shortage on audio out (RCA) and RCA in.
Will be taking this TV when I move out though, so not a huge issue right now.

I'd like to thank redwolf4k for the settings. They look pretty good.
On black screens, I do have some flashlighting in the corners, but not noticeable with content.

Couple questions:
Anyone have the remote control code (3 digit)? Would like to program it into our satellite remote control.

SmartHub. Is it possible to get it to access shared folders like my WDTV live?
I have it connected though an ethernet bridge (ASUS router with Tomato). I can access the internet, so that's set up.
Can it access shared folders, or just attached USB drives?


Thanks guys. Looking forward to using the resource more.

Through Allshare or some other DLNA software. But lookout for tying to share blu-Ray MKV's through the ethernet... May not work as they describe that it does....
Mastiffman is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 03:34 AM
Member
 
Bri in Mtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The 1025 is online now...

Firmware for LED TV D60** / D64** / D6500 series (ver. 1025.0)
2. Applicable Model
D6000SF / D6050TF / D6400UF / D6420UF / D6450UF / D6500VF
3. Carrier or Corporate Customer
all customers
4. Description
- Including RVU feature and available Amazon app.
- Enhance firmware security
- This firmware will decrease flickering problem on 3D mode. (only 3D model)
- Change the way to get out of Store Demo Mode
- Change the type of information of Info banner
- Prevent escaping issue when pressing volume button on video apps(Netflix, Vudu, etc)
- Support Remote Service
- For netflix 3.1 service.
Bri in Mtl is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri in Mtl View Post

The 1025 is online now...

Firmware for LED TV D60** / D64** / D6500 series (ver. 1025.0)
2. Applicable Model
D6000SF / D6050TF / D6400UF / D6420UF / D6450UF / D6500VF
3. Carrier or Corporate Customer
all customers
4. Description
- Including RVU feature and available Amazon app.
- Enhance firmware security
- This firmware will decrease flickering problem on 3D mode. (only 3D model)
- Change the way to get out of Store Demo Mode
- Change the type of information of Info banner
- Prevent escaping issue when pressing volume button on video apps(Netflix, Vudu, etc)
- Support Remote Service
- For netflix 3.1 service.

Thanks for posting. Just updated my Sammy 6000 this a.m.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Bri in Mtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri in Mtl View Post

For anyone who's been using their TV to watch 3D -how do you find it?
I know that apparently it isn't true/full 3D 1080p but so what if you're happy imho. (same applies to any other items like flashlighting, etc.)

So...uh....no one uses their TV for 3D?....hmmmm....interesting.
Bri in Mtl is offline  
 

Tags
Samsung Un40d6000 40 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un46d6000 46 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un60d6000 60 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black , Samsung Un55d6000 55 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black 2011 Model , Samsung Un55d6000 , Samsung Un55d6000 55 Inch 1080p 120hz Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off