Official Samsung UNXXD7000 Owners' Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Droozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneyman View Post

so it's 53 ms lag delay in game mode correct?

I have no ****ing idea? lmao it said 8 ms offset without gamemode then said -53 with it on.....

so yea whatever floats your boat. I do know that i am not spending the time to secure a crt TV and then setting up 800 iso cameras and stuff. Just figured id post what rockband said... then someone can tell me what the values mean in game mode and without gamemode.
Droozy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
eneyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you try playing a shooter or something and basically see if the lag prevents you from focusing on enemies and shooting accurately..
eneyman is offline  
post #93 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
insimbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried Black Ops in 3D on the 7000 yet? I have a Xbox 360 and am waiting to try this. Just wondered how it was.
insimbi is offline  
post #94 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Droozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just a few no flash shots.... don't really care for the pics but oh well....





Droozy is offline  
post #95 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
insimbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice pics!
insimbi is offline  
post #96 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 10:06 PM
Member
 
ray1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOOHHOOO!!! just got my UN55D7000 today.. Awesome TV Period. No clouding, flashing or bright corner lighting. Hooked my my ps3 on to it and found out that you don't need HDMI 1.4 cables to have 3d on it. 1.3a will work.. Watch Shrek 3d and it was awesome.. No crosstalk. Full 3d even 30 or 40 degrees viewing off center. This is a huge improvement over last year. Bluetooth is the way to go over IR. Have not tried the SmartHub yet as it needs an update and i didn't want to wait for that.. Will try tomorrow.
ray1204 is offline  
post #97 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
insimbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray1204 View Post

WOOHHOOO!!! just got my UN55D7000 today.. Awesome TV Period. No clouding, flashing or bright corner lighting. Hooked my my ps3 on to it and found out that you don't need HDMI 1.4 cables to have 3d on it. 1.3a will work.. Watch Shrek 3d and it was awesome.. No crosstalk. Full 3d even 30 or 40 degrees viewing off center. This is a huge improvement over last year. Bluetooth is the way to go over IR. Have not tried the SmartHub yet as it needs an update and i didn't want to wait for that.. Will try tomorrow.

Congrats! Pics!!!
insimbi is offline  
post #98 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 11:11 PM
Member
 
sachibluhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlluna View Post

Here are some more dark picks.

There is light bleed from all 4 corners !!!
sachibluhd is offline  
post #99 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 11:28 PM
Member
 
sachibluhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlluna View Post

I just Downloaded the newest firmware for my tv last night. I think that helped my flashlight affect on my tv, I do not notice it that much, Now does anybody recommend a good dark scene movie i could use to check the tv? I tried taking pictures last night with my wife's canon, but the pictures looked like crap, i will try again tonight with the flash on.


Try Wolfman Blue Ray. Its 1.78:1 aspect ratio, means it will occupy complete screen.

I can not watch this movie on my 40C7000, the TV completely ruins the movie and this movie is a best benchmark to test clouds, lightbleeds.
sachibluhd is offline  
post #100 of 3326 Old 03-18-2011, 11:32 PM
Member
 
sachibluhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FraG_AU View Post

I am hoping to pick this TV up when it shows its pretty face in AU.

I had the 55" C7000, first set had really bad torchlighting, after another 2 repairs i told them to shove it and jumped to the 63" plasma.

After a couple dead pixels (2 sets!), i am sick of plasma now, besides I hate being paranoid over burn in/IR.. Hope to get the 8000 or 7000 with my store credit, trying to work out what is the difference on the hardware level over the c series?

I can't see anything aside the looks and software

How can you again go for samsung!! after horrible experience with their C series LEDs....
Go for Sony Full LED backlit TVs, m going for the same :-)
sachibluhd is offline  
post #101 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Droozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FraG_AU View Post

Droozy - I have had a 55" C7000, you honestly think they have actually fixed up most of the issues with that set? I just can't decide 100% between plasma and LCD :/

Wow rivers thats some nice black levels!


Without a doubt..... this set is worlds better then the C7000, and also having experiance with the C8000.... this is a better set as well. Thats how good this set is. Is there still some bleed? yes. but nothing like the C series.

This also is a kudos to the D8000. as the D7000 is better then the C8000.... now you can imagine how good the D8000 is.
Droozy is offline  
post #102 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
eneyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Droozy did you try out any shooters or rpg type games on your D7000? I still can't believe people post that there is NO LAG AT ALL when Samsung has the reputation of having the worst gaming panels on the market on these forums. I need more info !!
eneyman is offline  
post #103 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 09:07 AM
 
CMPMERIDIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sachibluhd View Post


How can you again go for samsung!! after horrible experience with their C series LEDs....
Go for Sony Full LED backlit TVs, m going for the same :-)

Sony full arrays are nice but not perfect either, anyone who claims their LED is perfect is not being truthful. The D7000 and D8000 are very nice sets with excellent 3D and a very nice design. Perfect? No, no set is. Straight on with room lights on these sets will beat most anything on the planet which is what 95% of TV viewing is in and the 3D is the best of any LED period.
CMPMERIDIAN is offline  
post #104 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 11:07 AM
Member
 
red98v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: long island, NY 11550
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneyman
Droozy did you try out any shooters or rpg type games on your D7000? I still can't believe people post that there is NO LAG AT ALL when Samsung has the reputation of having the worst gaming panels on the market on these forums. I need more info !!
I played black ops campaign and I admit I expected it to be a lot worse. I don't know if it was because of lag or the size of the screen (had a "46 before)
red98v6 is offline  
post #105 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 11:12 AM
Member
 
red98v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: long island, NY 11550
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I played black ops campaign and I admit I expected it to be a lot worse. I don't know if it was because of lag or the size of the screen (had a "46 before) but the movement felt slow so I raised the look sensitivity up. The trigger response to firing the guns felt very responsive and on time.
red98v6 is offline  
post #106 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 11:15 AM
Member
 
red98v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: long island, NY 11550
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the double post before. All I can say is that I'm very happy to know that games are playable on this set unlike what I hear from samsungs previous models.
red98v6 is offline  
post #107 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
jlluna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I just developed this problem today, It is a strange line running across the tv. It happened first time this morning and now it has done it again, if i unplug the tv and wait a few minutes, it goes away after i plug it in. I have not contacted samsung yet, i was wondering if i should just exchange it at best buy.
LL
LL
LL
jlluna is offline  
post #108 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Droozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IMO i would exchange it for a new one.

Though in my experiance with samsung issues on the C series.... is the line still there when you pull up the TV menu? If it is.... then its your processor, or panel. If it does not show on the menu then its your connection, source, cable, HDMI inputs ect.
Droozy is offline  
post #109 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Droozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To the Gamers in the thread.... I just purged my FR lists on xbox and ps3, So if anyone wants to play some games witha mature adult, that swears too much let me know. Send me a FR with "AVS" in the message field. Accounts below.

Droozy is offline  
post #110 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
jlluna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droozy View Post

IMO i would exchange it for a new one.

Though in my experiance with samsung issues on the C series.... is the line still there when you pull up the TV menu? If it is.... then its your processor, or panel. If it does not show on the menu then its your connection, source, cable, HDMI inputs ect.

I thought maybe it was a connection source so i tried the playstation, apple tv, and my direct tv, all still displayed the same line, i turned the tv off, and back on, a still same problem, i had to unplug it for a few minutes then plug back in,then the line was gone, i just called best buy and they have one more, they are holding it for me.
jlluna is offline  
post #111 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
eneyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I just checked out the new samsungs and it looks like the D7000/8000 have kind of a blurry/very large pixel image.. I went to look at the lower end D6000 and it seems like the pixels are smaller and picture is clearer.. am I missing something here or are the pixels/picture a bit larger and spread out creating a bit of a blurry image on the new 7/8?
eneyman is offline  
post #112 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Rivers112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got around into doing some more videos







vids are forever processing so yea...
Rivers112 is offline  
post #113 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 05:03 PM
Member
 
ray1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rivers- you really need to calibrate your set.. It seems like you have the backlit on too bright because the letter box in the movie is gray. Its should be pitch dark back. You need to adjust your contrast, brightness and backlit.
ray1204 is offline  
post #114 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 05:15 PM
Member
 
ray1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update on my set

Tried the smart media hub today and it took a while to install and it also had an firmware update already.. (update firmware and then calibrate your TV because after the firmware installs the tv reset to factory settings.) The media hub is cool but i probaly wouldn't find myself using it much. No problems with netflix here but i still rather use it on the xbox 360. The one build in on this tv hogs alot of bandwidth. Also most of the apps are paid apps and alot of video on demand apps with movies to purchase.

As for gaming... Killzone 3 is just awesome on this TV with 3D on!!!! This game was made and meant for 3d. didn't have problems with lag and very responsive.

Grand Turismo 5 - good but i still rather play it on regular mode with no 3d.

NBA 2k11- lag is present here but putting settings on smooth or clear helped out. 3d is great on this game but the graphics are not clean enough. 2k basketball always have this problem.
ray1204 is offline  
post #115 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 05:19 PM
Member
 
ray1204's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jlluna- yes you need to return the set for a new one because that is not normal. I don't think it is a connection problem but a panel problem.
ray1204 is offline  
post #116 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
msmonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by insimbi View Post

Is there a power light on the front of the TV (bezel) like the D8000 series? It looks like there is inside the plastic but I can't tell for sure.

...in the lower right hand corner.
msmonas is offline  
post #117 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Rivers112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray1204 View Post

Rivers- you really need to calibrate your set.. It seems like you have the backlit on too bright because the letter box in the movie is gray. Its should be pitch dark back. You need to adjust your contrast, brightness and backlit.


yea my backlight is @ 10 I'm thinking its my HF10 need to learn how to shoot in the dark

but it looks pretty much pitch black on my set



Rivers112 is offline  
post #118 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
eneyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are the pixels larger or designed differently on the 7000 series because in store it looked kind of like a grid and not as sharp as the D6000 series..
eneyman is offline  
post #119 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jlluna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, my friends, I did return the tv, and they had no stock left, so I went with the 8000' thank so much for all the help!
jlluna is offline  
post #120 of 3326 Old 03-19-2011, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
insimbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlluna View Post

Ok, my friends, I did return the tv, and they had no stock left, so I went with the 8000' thank so much for all the help!

Cool - was about a $500 upgrade wasn't it?
insimbi is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46d7000 46 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Un60d7000 60 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv With Pn51d7000 Bdd5500 3d Blu Ray Player 2 Ssg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off