Official Samsung UNXXD7000 Owners' Thread - Page 95 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 3325 Old 04-28-2012, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'll pm you.
nitra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 3325 Old 04-28-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Bri in Mtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

I have calibrated my tv with the disc from this forum and colorimeter. My backlight it's at 6, brightness is at 44.

I gotta ask....is that supposed to be a totally black image? In other words the image you're showing is from what exactly?
Bri in Mtl is offline  
post #2823 of 3325 Old 04-28-2012, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
nitra is offline  
post #2824 of 3325 Old 04-28-2012, 10:00 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri in Mtl View Post


I gotta ask....is that supposed to be a totally black image? In other words the image you're showing is from what exactly?

No that's 10% gray, here are the pictures from 10% gray to 100% gray patterns are from avs709

Attachment 244919

Black image
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
kanti123 is offline  
post #2825 of 3325 Old 04-30-2012, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Brian52682's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, i just recently purchases a Samsung UN55D7000FXA I believe it is and may potentially have a defective set so i thought i would post to see if anyone has encountered this issue. When i was watching Thor on BluRay in the scene where Loki is king and walking down the steps at approx 49 minute mark there is a prevalent blue line that goes across the screen from the bottom up disappearing before peaking at the top. I have not encountered this blue line on any other blurays or any tv but it made me wonder of I maybe have a defective set. Any advise is welcome, im still well within my return period.
Brian52682 is offline  
post #2826 of 3325 Old 04-30-2012, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
bsc2321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian52682 View Post

Hey all, i just recently purchases a Samsung UN55D7000FXA I believe it is and may potentially have a defective set so i thought i would post to see if anyone has encountered this issue. When i was watching Thor on BluRay in the scene where Loki is king and walking down the steps at approx 49 minute mark there is a prevalent blue line that goes across the screen from the bottom up disappearing before peaking at the top. I have not encountered this blue line on any other blurays or any tv but it made me wonder of I maybe have a defective set. Any advise is welcome, im still well within my return period.

Could it be a defective blu ray? I don't know if I'd consider the TV defective if the issue happens one time on one blu ray. Have you experienced any other issues?
bsc2321 is offline  
post #2827 of 3325 Old 04-30-2012, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Brian52682's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No other issues, just the blue line and I have replayed that area and it occurs every time. I own the bluray and my buddy let me borrow his and it occurs at the exact same time on both copies so that's why im worried that the particular combination of color schemes may be taxing the set. Nothing else has happened though apart from this one movie that would make me think its defective. Thanks for the quick response!
Brian52682 is offline  
post #2828 of 3325 Old 04-30-2012, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
m.a.c.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, Question about using external speakers with the UN55d7000. I'd like to use a set of self-amplified speakers connected directly to the TV (using the analog outputs) but the manual states that the volume for the audio output is "fixed" when the mode is set to use external speakers. I would really like to avoid adding a receiver to my system to just get a way to vary the volume. Can anyone offer suggestions to work around this problem? It seems like there should be an option for the volume outputs to be set to variable. Hopefully I've overlooked something. Thanks, mac.
m.a.c. is offline  
post #2829 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 12:04 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by m.a.c. View Post

Hi, Question about using external speakers with the UN55d7000. I'd like to use a set of self-amplified speakers connected directly to the TV (using the analog outputs) but the manual states that the volume for the audio output is "fixed" when the mode is set to use external speakers. I would really like to avoid adding a receiver to my system to just get a way to vary the volume. Can anyone offer suggestions to work around this problem? It seems like there should be an option for the volume outputs to be set to variable. Hopefully I've overlooked something. Thanks, mac.

You probably need to look at a soundbar.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #2830 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian52682 View Post

Hey all, i just recently purchases a Samsung UN55D7000FXA I believe it is and may potentially have a defective set so i thought i would post to see if anyone has encountered this issue. When i was watching Thor on BluRay in the scene where Loki is king and walking down the steps at approx 49 minute mark there is a prevalent blue line that goes across the screen from the bottom up disappearing before peaking at the top. I have not encountered this blue line on any other blurays or any tv but it made me wonder of I maybe have a defective set. Any advise is welcome, im still well within my return period.

It's the bluray, it's also an issue on the 3D edition. Your TV is not defective.

Here's someone mentioning it a year ago.
http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread....69#post4719469
nitra is offline  
post #2831 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 05:50 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would recommend people who bought this 7000 series to check for backlight uniformity. Get test pattern disc AV 709 from the site, and run it up. If you'd tv does have it. It'll look like the pictures I posted above.
kanti123 is offline  
post #2832 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

I would recommend people who bought this 7000 series to check for backlight uniformity. Get test pattern disc AV 709 from the site, and run it up. If you'd tv does have it. It'll look like the pictures I posted above.

Very few sets out of the millions sold have the issue yours does.
nitra is offline  
post #2833 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by m.a.c. View Post

Hi, Question about using external speakers with the UN55d7000. I'd like to use a set of self-amplified speakers connected directly to the TV (using the analog outputs) but the manual states that the volume for the audio output is "fixed" when the mode is set to use external speakers. I would really like to avoid adding a receiver to my system to just get a way to vary the volume. Can anyone offer suggestions to work around this problem? It seems like there should be an option for the volume outputs to be set to variable. Hopefully I've overlooked something. Thanks, mac.

This is by design, you can't change it, as mentioned above, you can try a sound bar, but the TV can't vary the sound levels. Part of the reason for this is, it outputs digital and analog at the same time, and the digital signal shouldn't be a variable source.
nitra is offline  
post #2834 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 06:15 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitra View Post


Very few sets out of the millions sold have the issue yours does.

True, I love Samsung and in the world of electronics this stuff happened so..
kanti123 is offline  
post #2835 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I think what most people need to take a step back and realize that, generally if things work fine, you won't find many comments on public forums like this.
Hence the reason it's much easier to search online for comments regarding possible issues.
That makes the whole issues thing massively out of proportion.
nitra is offline  
post #2836 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 08:30 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Btw since my panel is being replace with a new one, does any one know if this model still being made? As far as I know, the only thing different between x7000 and es7100 is local dimming.
kanti123 is offline  
post #2837 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

Btw since my panel is being replace with a new one, does any one know if this model still being made? As far as I know, the only thing different between x7000 and es7100 is local dimming.

None of those sets have Local Dimming.
Both of them have Micro-Dimming, both TV's are about equal, the main difference will be the Dual-core processor in the 7100.
nitra is offline  
post #2838 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 01:43 PM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitra View Post


None of those sets have Local Dimming.
Both of them have Micro-Dimming, both TV's are about equal, the main difference will be the Dual-core processor in the 7100.

Sweet, hopefully it'll help with gaming.
kanti123 is offline  
post #2839 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Brian52682's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

Sweet, hopefully it'll help with gaming.

Help with gaming? The UNXXD7000 is perfect with gaming, I love how good games look on this tv.
Brian52682 is offline  
post #2840 of 3325 Old 05-01-2012, 03:13 PM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian52682 View Post

Help with gaming? The UNXXD7000 is perfect with gaming, I love how good games look on this tv.

The game looks better with calibrated movie mode. But you have to deal with input lag which im not having it for a game like BF3
kanti123 is offline  
post #2841 of 3325 Old 05-02-2012, 02:16 AM
Member
 
soler37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hows this tv with gaming, i heard u can turn on motion plus and it will smoothen out the game also give higher FPS. is that true?
soler37 is offline  
post #2842 of 3325 Old 05-02-2012, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
AMP can smooth out some gaming, however, this can introduce input lag due to the extra processing.
As for the higher FPS, I've never heard of that, it's not really possible to increase the FPS of a source without making the source faster.
Perhaps someone in an explanation misrepresented the 240hz of the panel in being an up conversion of sorts. I'll go into some detail, in order to trick the eye and to appear smooth, some sets like the d7000 have a higher refresh rate then the source material.
It is nothing more than an internal raising of the refresh rate of the source material, it is not changing the source, but refreshing the lines of resolution from the default. If the source material is 24p, it can refresh the screen 10 times more often than on a stock 24p, all the way to 240hz. On a 60p source it can refresh it 4 times more to 240hz.
Due to the differences in the EU/NA panels, PAL/NTSC, the NA panels will always present a multiplier of 24 or 60, these numbers also tie directly into the CMR of the set.
But under no circumstances so they increase the FPS of the source material, they simply refresh the lines on the screen more often.
nitra is offline  
post #2843 of 3325 Old 05-02-2012, 06:07 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by soler37 View Post

hows this tv with gaming, i heard u can turn on motion plus and it will smoothen out the game also give higher FPS. is that true?

Game mode put the tv on standard and it turns off all extra processing. So no motion plus, image is abit worst. But not too bad
kanti123 is offline  
post #2844 of 3325 Old 05-02-2012, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

Game mode put the tv on standard and it turns off all extra processing. So no motion plus, image is abit worst. But not too bad

I'll chime in on this as well.
If you run the games through an AVR that supports a "game mode" like many models of the Denon's, a large portion of the input lag goes away without the need for the use of game mode on the TV.
I've only encountered one game that required me to enable "Game Mode" and that was Sonic Generations.
nitra is offline  
post #2845 of 3325 Old 05-02-2012, 10:21 PM
Member
 
bullpuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Some pics of my un55d7000....303 panel bought 3 weeks ago from BH Photo. I have some light bleeding, but it can be live with.......Nitra's advice on back light levels/ eco sensor has helped a great deal. I took these pictures in low light in room....to highlight black levels.













bullpuss is online now  
post #2846 of 3325 Old 05-03-2012, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The keyboard side of the remote is a little iffy at times, it needs to be pretty level to switch to the keyboard mode, but it should be working. Keep in mind, it's bluetooth, if it's still failing, try and re-pair the remote, or pop the battery tray out, and watch the LCD screen on the remote until it's done rebooting.
You can also use it for other TV functions, check if that's working.[/quote]


Well I tried re-pairing the remote and removing the batteries but all that works on the keyboard are the numbers. Is this a bluetooth issue?
Devin1886 is offline  
post #2847 of 3325 Old 05-03-2012, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devin1886 View Post

The keyboard side of the remote is a little iffy at times, it needs to be pretty level to switch to the keyboard mode, but it should be working. Keep in mind, it's bluetooth, if it's still failing, try and re-pair the remote, or pop the battery tray out, and watch the LCD screen on the remote until it's done rebooting.
You can also use it for other TV functions, check if that's working.


Well I tried re-pairing the remote and removing the batteries but all that works on the keyboard are the numbers. Is this a bluetooth issue?[/quote]

One really nice thing I found is because of the Samsung AnyNet+, if you have a Blu-Ray Player or other modern Samsung device with the AnyNet+ feature and connected to your home network you can use the TV remote for all the devices, if there is a button feature set for it. You do not have to do any setup at all except to turn AnyNet+ on.

I just found this little neat feature out a few days ago.

I also have an HDMI-CEC capable receiver and it is really convenient to just put the Blu-Ray into the player and have all 3 devices turn on at once (TV-receiver and BD player).

Now if only there were an update for my PS3 to have HDMI-CEC (I have OG 60GB)
raistline is offline  
post #2848 of 3325 Old 05-03-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
AtomicAgeZombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone figured out an easier way of switching Game Mode on and off? I switch between the two pretty often and it becomes a tedious process.
AtomicAgeZombie is offline  
post #2849 of 3325 Old 05-03-2012, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullpuss View Post

Some pics of my un55d7000....303 panel bought 3 weeks ago from BH Photo. I have some light bleeding, but it can be live with.......Nitra's advice on back light levels/ eco sensor has helped a great deal. I took these pictures in low light in room....to highlight black levels.














Very nice panel!!
nitra is offline  
post #2850 of 3325 Old 05-03-2012, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
gi2indking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Long time lurker here, I think this is my first post. I just picked up a new UN55D7000 last week and there is definitely something wrong with it. I looked in the owners thread and there were a few people that had similar issues, but I just wanted to see if anybody knows what this is. Most people with vertical banding issues do not have the "vertical lines" that I have at the top 5" or so. They are grey colored streaks and they are not perfectly straight or spaced out. I have service coming to my house on Saturday to look at it.

Here is how it looks with a grey pattern.



This forum is a great resource and anything you guys can do to help me out is appreciated. Thanks.
gi2indking is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46d7000 46 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Un60d7000 60 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv With Pn51d7000 Bdd5500 3d Blu Ray Player 2 Ssg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off