Video loss with Component Cables - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 10:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
benhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First post, so appologize if in wrong forum. Having this real annoying problem and cant pinpoint a cause or solution.

Have a Westinghouse 42" LCD and PS3 connected via component. Audio is passed thru TV to Panasonic tuner.

During game play and/or movies on PS3, video will flicker off and on intermittantly. Audio stays on. Signal is lost for about 2 seconds then comes back on. There is no pattern to the loss either, sometimes it's just once, sometimes two or three times in a row.

It does it if the fan/lights/microwave/etc. is powered on or off, BUT it will do it also just out of the blue. There doesn't seem to be anything in the house that is being powerd for it to happen.

Uverse reciver is connected via HDMI and it doesn't experience this issue. I've tried wrapping the component cable with alumnum foil but it doesnt work. The only thing I might conclude is the compnenet is a 3-in-1 with Xbox/PS3/Wii connectors (only PS3 is connected).

Any suggestions? Should I just get a dedicated PS3 component and see if that solves it?

TIA.
benhar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-21-2011, 05:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhar View Post

Should I just get a dedicated PS3 component and see if that solves it?

That would certainly be a starting point to identify the issue.If you connect a dedicated PS3 component cable directly to the TV and don't experience the problem, the 3-in-1 would be suspect.

This should be affordable:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-25-2011, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
benhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a straight component cable for my cable box and put the PS3 on HDMI. No flickering during gameplay, and haven't noticed the flicker while watching TV.

Must've been the 3-in-1 cable. Thanks for the suggestion!
benhar is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-25-2011, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What did you mean by "3-1 Component" a 3 way component splitter hooked up backwards?
walford is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-25-2011, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AmishFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: too close to kentucky
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

What did you mean by "3-1 Component" a 3 way component splitter hooked up backwards?

it's a cable with connectors for 3 different game systems at one end and then whatever video connectors (in this case component) at the other
AmishFury is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-26-2011, 05:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can you llink to a description of it? It sounds like a multipurpose cable to be connected to only one game and to only one video destination at a time.
walford is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-26-2011, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,412
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Yes... one "game system" at a time.


http://www.buy.com/prod/3-in-1-compo...212633023.html
Ratman is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-26-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AmishFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: too close to kentucky
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also i should mention i had a third party component cable for my PS2 and when i started using it with my PS3 it was fine at first but at some point had problems where the colors suddenly shifted (had a bit of a 2 strip technicolor look to it) buying a new cable fixed the problem
AmishFury is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-28-2011, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
benhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's the (maybe not THE) cable I was using, and yes, I only had my PS3 attached. My wife bought it and so I'm guessing it was the only component cable for PS3 avail where she was.
benhar is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off