42LG50 Will Not Recognize PS3 via HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-25-2011, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nirvanadude220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help!
I bought my 42LG50 brand new from Best Buy in Winter 2008 and have a 4 year warranty.

Christmas 2010, my wife bought me a spankin new PS3.

I hooked it up via HDMI in each different HDMI port on the TV. Each time, the SimpLink recognized a new input, asks if I'd like to 'enjoy' that connection, I select yes. After a few moments, it always reads, 'No Signal'.

I've plugged it in with the AV cables (red, yellow, white) that come with the PS3 and try to change the settings in the 'display setup' on the PS3, but no matter what, it will not switch to the HDMI setting and only broadcasts in 480p.

I've contacted Best Buy multiple times which resulted in them coming to my house twice and replacing the TV's motherboard, but it didn't fix the issue. They blame PS3.

I've called PS3 about 6 times, each time they ran me through every possible option they could, but to no avail. They blame the TV.

I've also contacted LG 3 times, they run me through all their troubleshooting options, then their 'specialists' snidely remark that it's the PS3's fault.

I've used 3 different HDMI cables, ranging from cheap to very expensive, and none work (one of which I snagged from the PS3 at work).

What's even MORE frustrating is that I plugged the PS3 into another crappier/smaller/older TV. It's an AKAI from 2006, and the TV recognized it immediately via HDMI and broadcasts in 1080i !!
The Geek Squad, Playstation and LG each know of this fact and none of them have answers.

In the meantime, I have a 42" 1080p HD TV that has never worked at full potential, and a crappy no-name 32" TV that runs circles around the better brand. Has ANYONE else had this problem??

PLease help! I'm losing faith in LG.
nirvanadude220 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-25-2011, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gagit811's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sounds like you are having hdmi handshaking issues. Try unplugging your tv and PS3 from the wall for at least 2 mins, this should reset the hdmi HDCP. I've had and seen this issue many times before, the problem is the copy protection of hdmi. If there is any issue with the handshake it won't let the device work, only way to fix it is rest the copy protection.
gagit811 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-25-2011, 11:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What resolution are you trying to send over the HDMI cable conection? I assume you are not tryng to send 480p. The A/V cables only support 480i SD analog with video over Yellow, and stereo sound over the Red and White connectors and you should not need them at all.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-25-2011, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
does the tv recognize other sources like cable or satellite boxes connected via HDMI?

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-25-2011, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AmishFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: too close to kentucky
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
have you tried holding on the PS3 power button (on the console itself) for a few seconds to let the system do a reset?
AmishFury is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off