Official Samsung LNxxD550 owners thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 240 Old 10-31-2011, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer View Post

I see this model LN40D550 is onsale at a bargain price this week at both Best Buy and Target in their ads: $100-200 off the regular price.
Thats in the normal price range of the 32" model in this series for this sale.

We like the LN32D550 so much, I just bought a LN46D550 for our living room. It was on sale at BestBuy at $90 off. Signing up for a BestBuy credit card (no annual fee) gets a $20 flat rate discount off the first purchase over $50. So we ended up with a $110 discount.

Love the fact that the LNxxD550 series has two combo "component/composite" video inputs, the analog audio output, two USB ports and the ethernet port. (aside from the 4 HDMI input ports) A later LED model that I looked at only has a plug-in dongle for one component input which minimizes flexibility. Some sets don't have analog audio out to easily attach headphones. Seems that component & composite inputs are going away so it's a good time to buy now if those inputs are important to the buyer. The D550 series appears to be one of the last models with a lot of ports.

Sky
Skylark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 240 Old 11-01-2011, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm thinking about buying a 50 foot cat5e cable to connect our LN32D550 to our Belkin router. Before I do that, hope some folks can answer my questions.

1. Will a standard cat5e cable work by just plugging one end into the D550 and the other end into one of the ports on the router?

2. Will I be able to play a video from my desktop PC's hard drive using a player of my choice and see the video on the TV set? (I want to use the VLC player to force VIDEO_TS subtitles on.) --- Or is the video playback functionality like playing a video from a USB connected external hard drive? (In which case there is no way to force subtitles to play from VIDEO_TS folders.)

Thanks,
Sky
Skylark is offline  
post #93 of 240 Old 11-02-2011, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylark View Post

Love the fact that the LNxxD550 series has two combo "component/composite" video inputs, the analog audio output, two USB ports and the ethernet port. (aside from the 4 HDMI input ports) A later LED model that I looked at only has a plug-in dongle for one component input which minimizes flexibility. Some sets don't have analog audio out to easily attach headphones. Seems that component & composite inputs are going away so it's a good time to buy now if those inputs are important to the buyer. The D550 series appears to be one of the last models with a lot of ports.

Sky

Yes indeed.
Thats why I went with this LCD model series as well, the LED models had that weak dongle and only a single composite/component input.
I preferred the connectors on the panel itself and two such inputs for older devices that aren't HDMI.
The equivalent LED model cost more too for less inputs...
Joxer is offline  
post #94 of 240 Old 11-02-2011, 05:42 PM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to turn off the auto-dimming feature on this tv set like you can with the older samsung models via service menu???
mknlb50 is offline  
post #95 of 240 Old 11-02-2011, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknlb50 View Post

Is there a way to turn off the auto-dimming feature on this tv set like you can with the older samsung models via service menu???

unfortunately no, but setting shadow detail to +2 will minimize it
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #96 of 240 Old 11-03-2011, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylark View Post

I'm thinking about buying a 50 foot cat5e cable to connect our LN32D550 to our Belkin router. Before I do that, hope some folks can answer my questions.

1. Will a standard cat5e cable work by just plugging one end into the D550 and the other end into one of the ports on the router?

2. Will I be able to play a video from my desktop PC's hard drive using a player of my choice and see the video on the TV set? (I want to use the VLC player to force VIDEO_TS subtitles on.) --- Or is the video playback functionality like playing a video from a USB connected external hard drive? (In which case there is no way to force subtitles to play from VIDEO_TS folders.)

Thanks,
Sky

Question-1 was answered in another thread, here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post21163801

Sky
Skylark is offline  
post #97 of 240 Old 11-06-2011, 02:28 PM
Member
 
gf1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2. No. Not unless you connect a PC or laptop to the panel and just use it as a monitor. In most cases this will not be required as the D550 has a built in player (simple but has subtitle support) so you can stream the video via USB or over your network.

ps: Firmware 1025 (T-MST4DEUC 1025.0) is available in Australia. Does anyone know what these updates offer?
gf1966 is offline  
post #98 of 240 Old 11-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylark View Post

2. Will I be able to play a video from my desktop PC's hard drive using a player of my choice and see the video on the TV set? (I want to use the VLC player to force VIDEO_TS subtitles on.) --- Or is the video playback functionality like playing a video from a USB connected external hard drive? (In which case there is no way to force subtitles to play from VIDEO_TS folders.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gf1966 View Post

2. No. Not unless you connect a PC or laptop to the panel and just use it as a monitor. In most cases this will not be required as the D550 has a built in player (simple but has subtitle support) so you can stream the video via USB or over your network.

Thanks for your reply. I'll connect my laptop to view ripped DVDs with subtitles. Hope Samsung provides a way to force subtitles on in the future. They are so close now. Just one little change in the USB firmware could do it.

Sky
Skylark is offline  
post #99 of 240 Old 11-10-2011, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
These are my most up-to-date settings using the new SpectraCal C6 Colorimeter.
LL
LL

 

Picture menu.pdf 3.8828125k . file
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #100 of 240 Old 11-10-2011, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Add me to the list of owners soon I haven't looked at the whole thread yet but has anyone used any of the media options?

I've been reading the manual it seems confusing as far as the channel info.. but I'm really using this for a PC monitor (HDMI) and for my PS3 with a DTA antenna.
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #101 of 240 Old 11-12-2011, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a 40D550 from Best Buy and it has a HN02 panel. Does anyone know the manufacturer of this panel? Pros and cons compared to SQ panels? I love this set but I do have a little clouding in the middle of screen but no flashlights. Does anyone have a 40D550 with a SQ06 or any other Samsung panel? I might take it back and try to find a S panel or go to the 46". Best bang for the buck for sure!
hurtz777 is offline  
post #102 of 240 Old 11-13-2011, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I took the 40D550 back to Best Buy and got the 40D630 with SQ01 panel and I will never look back. The 120hz on clear setting actually sharpened up the pq and there is no light bleed on edges, blacks are black, no clouding in the middle of screen, and the colors pop just like a Samsung panel should be. The PQ is very comparable to my 52B750 with SS02 panel except the 40D630 seems to have slightly more contrast. I would highly recommend the 40D630 and there is no better set for under $1000.
hurtz777 is offline  
post #103 of 240 Old 11-14-2011, 10:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylark View Post

We like the LN32D550 so much, I just bought a LN46D550 for our living room.

Did not unbox the LN46D550 until today, 14 days after buying it. Decided to make "sure" we like our new LN32D550 before unboxing the 46 incher.

The LN46D550 has a HJ02 panel so I was a little apprehensive whether the picture quality would be as good as our LN32D550 which has a SQ04 panel. Happy to report that the picture quality of the HJ02 panel is as good as the SQ04 panel.

Sky
Skylark is offline  
post #104 of 240 Old 11-15-2011, 10:29 AM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much ghosting/trailing is normal on this set?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lF1Jz0o_7g

I'm seeing the same effect shown in this video... Is this normal? Or should I return this tv?
mknlb50 is offline  
post #105 of 240 Old 11-15-2011, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknlb50 View Post

How much ghosting/trailing is normal on this set?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lF1Jz0o_7g

I'm seeing the same effect shown in this video... Is this normal? Or should I return this tv?

Does that happen with all sources? If so, that is not typical for a LNxxD550.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #106 of 240 Old 11-15-2011, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknlb50 View Post

How much ghosting/trailing is normal on this set?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lF1Jz0o_7g

I'm seeing the same effect shown in this video... Is this normal? Or should I return this tv?

We don't play games on our D550s so can't compare.

Did you tell your D550 what kind of video is being input using the "Edit Name" function? Edit Name is not just a name. It actually changes the functionality of the HDMI input depending on the name. Enter the "Edit Name" function by pressing "Source > Tools". Then select the appropriate name for the type of video you are inputting.

Sky
Skylark is offline  
post #107 of 240 Old 11-15-2011, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylark View Post

We don't play games on our D550s so can't compare.

Did you tell your D550 what kind of video is being input using the "Edit Name" function? Edit Name is not just a name. It actually changes the functionality of the input depending on the name. Enter the "Edit Name" function by pressing "Source > Tools". Then select the appropriate name for the type of video you are inputting.

Sky

only for PC, DVI, and DVI PC
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #108 of 240 Old 11-16-2011, 08:45 PM
 
mkn0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

Does that happen with all sources? If so, that is not typical for a LNxxD550.

I'm getting mixed answers everywhere. Normally it's not apparent... Only when there's a black object in a white background or a white object in a black background I notice ghosting/trailing/blur. I also see them in dark scenes in general.

Yes this happens with all sources even in PC mode.

I currently have an SQ06 panel. Should I return it and get something else (SQ05, 04, etc...)? Which panel do you recommend I get?

Thanks for your help.
mkn0927 is offline  
post #109 of 240 Old 11-17-2011, 08:23 AM
 
mkn0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"It had some jittering of moving edges, slight stairstepping which became more prominent in 1080 interlaced resolution, and typical blurring."

Source: http://www.televisioninfo.com/conten...iew/Motion.htm

This review suggests that blurring/trailing is typical for this set...
mkn0927 is offline  
post #110 of 240 Old 11-17-2011, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkn0927 View Post

"It had some jittering of moving edges, slight stairstepping which became more prominent in 1080 interlaced resolution, and typical blurring."

Source: http://www.televisioninfo.com/conten...iew/Motion.htm

This review suggests that blurring/trailing is typical for this set...

I haven't really noticed that on mine, especially with video games running at 60 fps.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #111 of 240 Old 11-18-2011, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #112 of 240 Old 11-18-2011, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
justbeingme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for sharing! Great info...
justbeingme is offline  
post #113 of 240 Old 11-18-2011, 04:47 PM
 
mkn0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I haven't really noticed that on mine, especially with video games running at 60 fps.

Which panel do you have? SQ01/02/03?
mkn0927 is offline  
post #114 of 240 Old 11-18-2011, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkn0927 View Post

which panel do you have? Sq01/02/03?

sq01
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #115 of 240 Old 11-21-2011, 04:49 PM
Member
 
gf1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have SQ02.

Has anyone made any use of the DLNA feature and the ability of the TV to stream online RSS feeds from the internet. I have had some success with serviio and streaming youtube which works very nicely. No luck so far with streaming realtime video however.....
gf1966 is offline  
post #116 of 240 Old 11-21-2011, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by gf1966 View Post

I have SQ02.

Has anyone made any use of the DLNA feature and the ability of the TV to stream online RSS feeds from the internet. I have had some success with serviio and streaming youtube which works very nicely. No luck so far with streaming realtime video however.....

The D550 doesn't have the ability to stream online RSS feeds from the internet or stream youtube or serviio. Are you sure you have the D550 LCD?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #117 of 240 Old 11-21-2011, 05:45 PM
Member
 
gf1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, tv model is correct It is streaming youtube, albiet only from a fixed url (currently most popular list). Most DLNA TV's have this feature.

on the D550 when you select the DLNA source, Videos, then "Online feeds" (you may have to page onto the 2nd screen to see it). You can see the RSS video feeds that are configured on your DLNA server... I am using serviio which seems to have some limitations... hence I am asking if someone else has made some progress in this area.
gf1966 is offline  
post #118 of 240 Old 11-28-2011, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
neowesker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone post there settings i have the 32 inch and sq01. is sq01 bad or good?
and can you post settings directly im on ps3 and cant read files.
neowesker1 is offline  
post #119 of 240 Old 11-28-2011, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
phantom85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, can someone post calibration settings for SD chanels? Thanks
phantom85 is offline  
post #120 of 240 Old 11-28-2011, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just got my screen the panel is AA01
SubaruB4 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 32 Inch Lcd Hdtv Ln32d550 , Samsung Ln37d550 Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln46d550 46 Inch 1080p 60hz Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Ln40d550 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off