Official Sony NX720 Owner's thread (KDL60NX720, KDL55NX720, KDL46NX720) - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 3430 Old 01-21-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive had my nx720 now for a little over two years and love it. Ive been very happy with the picture quality. Before I got the Sony, I probably had 10 TVs in a span of 10 years. I just couldnt find one with picture quality that satisfied me. That changed when I got the nx720. Im still amazed at the black levels it produces for an edge lit set.
tboo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 3430 Old 01-22-2014, 06:43 PM
Member
 
koan00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only problems with this set seem to be software related. On the plus side, its nice its still getting firmware updates. On the minus side the thing still randomly reboots.
koan00 is offline  
post #3423 of 3430 Old 02-21-2014, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
sexydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey guys,

 

I have been reading this forum for a long time. Got one issue with my own tv, so thought of asking experts here.

 

I have a sony NX720. There was an issue previously with the tv and it got dead with red blinking lights. I got it fixed from a mechanic who change the led driver board. But since then i saw half of the screen darker than other half. It was not not too much previously but now it has become more darker so i am not sure what may be the cause. It may be due to that led driver board replacement? should i again contact that mechanic if thats the case? I already spent 250 bucks on it and dont want to keep spending more of it if this is a different issue.

sexydude is offline  
post #3424 of 3430 Old 02-21-2014, 08:20 AM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine still shuts off by itself once in a while and i have the presence thing off

the energy saver button on the side of the tv is very confusing, first i dont know if pushing the top of it is on or off, literally dont know which way to push button to turn it on or off

then i dont know what it is doing, what I want is for the tv to NEVER shut off unless I shut it off
randys1 is offline  
post #3425 of 3430 Old 04-17-2014, 04:58 PM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've had one of these units (55") for several years now and thus far no issues. I have a somewhat large traditional RS antenna in a one-story attic, with both VHF/UHF elements, making an approximate 50' run of coax to this TV for backup access to OTA channels (use Verizon FiOS/TiVO DVR for primary viewing). Several weeks back I placed a dedicated Winegard FreeVision FVHD30H antenna behind (to the north) of the south facing RS antenna to use as a dedicated antenna to an inherited Toshiba HDTV in my master bedroom with surprisingly excellent results. I am picking up HOT TV and Retro TV with the much smaller antenna but am not finding it when scanning with the larger antenna running to the Sony set. The question is where is the issue? Sony TV ATSC tuner? Shorter run of coax though from a smaller antenna going to the Toshiba set allowing these channels to be found? Any suggestions? Towers are approximately 30-35 mi. to the south but that should be irrelevant here since the much smaller antenna is pulling in the two channels.
teasip is offline  
post #3426 of 3430 Old 04-21-2014, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
naved777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys suddenly my 40" NX720 started showing horizontal lines



the TV is now 3 years old and is out of warranty.Ant suggestion what to do ?
naved777 is offline  
post #3427 of 3430 Old 04-22-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
jedclampit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As simple as this may seem , have you tried unplugging the set for a few minutes and the restarting it? There also may be some way to do a factory reset. I see if I can find how and post if I find it.



BTW is this from any input or one with something connected?
jedclampit is offline  
post #3428 of 3430 Old 04-22-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Did these sets have a lot of issues and break downs?

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #3429 of 3430 Old 04-22-2014, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Sounds like an issue with one of the video processing boards. Sony service center can probably fix it.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #3430 of 3430 Old 07-02-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was watching TV last night and my KDL46NX720 randomly shut off. When it shut off, I heard the "click" normally heard 3-4 seconds after hitting the power button. Immediately after hearing the click, the red standby light began to blink in twice and has been doing so since last night. I've tried to hard reset the TV by unplugging it from the power source and watching a minute along with plugging it into different outlets. The TV was plugged into a surge protector and everything else connected to that surge protector still functions. Has anybody had an experience similar to this?
takeuptime is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Displays , Sony Bravia Kdl46nx720 46 Inch 1080p Wifi 3d Led Hdtv , 3d Hdtv , Component Receivers , Sony Bravia Kdl55nx720 55 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off