Official Sony NX720 Owner's thread (KDL60NX720, KDL55NX720, KDL46NX720) - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3439 Old 06-22-2011, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
beast625's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a 60NX720 today under the Sony optical block replacement program. I haven't had time to tweak the settings, but WOW! Amazing PQ. I was concerned it wouldn't live up to the XBR2, but it does, and then some.

I saw earlier posts regarding firmware updates. My set is connected to the internet. Does it update automatically? I didn't see a menu choice for this.

Thanks.
beast625 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3439 Old 06-22-2011, 01:59 PM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beast625 View Post

I received a 60NX720 today under the Sony optical block replacement program. I haven't had time to tweak the settings, but WOW! Amazing PQ. I was concerned it wouldn't live up to the XBR2, but it does, and then some.

I saw earlier posts regarding firmware updates. My set is connected to the internet. Does it update automatically? I didn't see a menu choice for this.

Thanks.

it may, but it is real easy to do the update, in the menu you can find that setting and initiate yourself
randys1 is offline  
post #363 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyone here that can comment on how the cross talk is on the NX720 compared to the EX720?
nikonosis is offline  
post #364 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 10:43 AM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonosis View Post

Is there anyone here that can comment on how the cross talk is on the NX720 compared to the EX720?

I have never asked this, crosstalk is what now?

I watch mine every-night, other than the color being slightly less deep/rich as my old bravia (cant explain it any better than that, to get the color as deeply rich as the old sony I need to tweak things and when I do it reduces quality in other areas) i have seen NO issues.
randys1 is offline  
post #365 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randys1 View Post

I have never asked this, crosstalk is what now?

I watch mine every-night, other than the color being slightly less deep/rich as my old bravia (cant explain it any better than that, to get the color as deeply rich as the old sony I need to tweak things and when I do it reduces quality in other areas) i have seen NO issues.

Its when the image is doubled or tripled when viewing 3D.
nikonosis is offline  
post #366 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 11:15 AM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonosis View Post

Its when the image is doubled or tripled when viewing 3D.

dont think i see that...i do want to compare plasma and led/lcd side by side though, while mine is good the glasses that sony sells requires it link to a trasmitter built into tv, the glasses i bought amazon must have it built in cuz it works when the others dont when i have speaker bar covering front
randys1 is offline  
post #367 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
The Main Event's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonosis View Post

Is there anyone here that can comment on how the cross talk is on the NX720 compared to the EX720?

I'd like to know too. An extensive 3D test would be great (different sources, games, movies, Side-by-Side content, etc)... The review posted earlier does mention some crosstalk issues.
The Main Event is offline  
post #368 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randys1 View Post

dont think i see that...i do want to compare plasma and led/lcd side by side though, while mine is good the glasses that sony sells requires it link to a trasmitter built into tv, the glasses i bought amazon must have it built in cuz it works when the others dont when i have speaker bar covering front

If they don't sync with the transmitter on the TV, then how do they sync with the TV?
nikonosis is offline  
post #369 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 03:10 PM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonosis View Post

If they don't sync with the transmitter on the TV, then how do they sync with the TV?


I think the glasses I bought

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00462RMS6

have a transmitter in them, i know that you push button several times till it syncs with a sony vs a samsung, etc...so I assume it has something built in
randys1 is offline  
post #370 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randys1 View Post

I think the glasses I bought

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00462RMS6

have a transmitter in them, i know that you push button several times till it syncs with a sony vs a samsung, etc...so I assume it has something built in

Why did you choose glasses that cost twice as much as the Sony glasses if you don't know anything about them?
nikonosis is offline  
post #371 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 04:05 PM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonosis View Post

Why did you choose glasses that cost twice as much as the Sony glasses if you don't know anything about them?

i was told here i think it was that these were good and that they would fit over my regular glasses better, it was a lucky coincidence that i did buy them otherwise i would have to move the speaker bar
randys1 is offline  
post #372 of 3439 Old 06-24-2011, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by randys1 View Post

i was told here i think it was that these were good and that they would fit over my regular glasses better, it was a lucky coincidence that i did buy them otherwise i would have to move the speaker bar

I did some reading about them and they work the same exact way the Sony glasses work. They pick up on the IR signal from the TV.
nikonosis is offline  
post #373 of 3439 Old 06-25-2011, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
3draroma3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi every one,
Can some one please tell me If I can connect to the web without connecting PC to the TV. I have 60" nx720. I can connect to the netflix and other sony provided links only. Internet Conection is wireless.
Thanks
3draroma3 is offline  
post #374 of 3439 Old 06-26-2011, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
nikonosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3draroma3 View Post

Hi every one,
Can some one please tell me If I can connect to the web without connecting PC to the TV. I have 60" nx720. I can connect to the netflix and other sony provided links only. Internet Conection is wireless.
Thanks

Why would you need a PC for the TV to connect to the internet? No you don't to answer your question.
nikonosis is offline  
post #375 of 3439 Old 06-26-2011, 10:59 PM
Member
 
quicksilverrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if I could use a logitech keyboard with the nx720? It has a usb port so I'm guessing I could plug it in?
quicksilverrs is offline  
post #376 of 3439 Old 06-28-2011, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Matt Stieg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the Asia CNET review:

Quote:
It is a pity this TV lacks a dot-to-dot aspect ratio or else it could have been a flawless showing since we did not encounter any issue during HQ-HQV's Video and Film Resolution Loss tests.
Wow! Is this true? I can't believe that in 2011 we would get a TV this classy WITHOUT a "just scan" or "pixel-to-pixel" option. Was seriously considering this TV but this could be a dealbreaker for me.
Matt Stieg is offline  
post #377 of 3439 Old 06-28-2011, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hughh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Wow! Is this true? I can't believe that in 2011 we would get a TV this classy WITHOUT a "just scan" or "pixel-to-pixel" option. Was seriously considering this TV but this could be a dealbreaker for me"


From post #356 - "I was really surprised they said that. I've been feeding my TV a wide variety of signals (cable, PS3, HTPC) and I haven't noticed this at all. In fact, it seems to correctly scale every single PC resolution I've thrown at it so far -- i.e. the Windows start bar is always perfectly aligned. My old A2000 had terrible (and uncorrectable) overscan, so I'm thrilled with how the NX720 performs."

There you have it!
hughh is offline  
post #378 of 3439 Old 06-28-2011, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Matt Stieg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well this may sound strange, but I actually like having the option of zero overscan vs. a little overscan. On my current LG LCD, if I have it set to standard 16:9 it performs minor overscan, which is perfect when watching DVDs because some widescreen DVDs have a little bit of black bars on the sides during zero overscan. Also, 1.33:1/4:3 material is a bit too narrow in zero overscan, but with a little overscan at the top and bottom it looks just right. For blu-rays I like to use "just scan" which is LG's zero overscan setting.
Matt Stieg is offline  
post #379 of 3439 Old 06-28-2011, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with the power switch on the rear of my NX710. I can't figure out if it is "by design", and I am just missing the point, or if there is actually something wrong with the set.

I have ALL power saving options turned off. This includes face detection, ambient light sensor etc. The rocker switch (power), on the side of the TV is in the ON position at all times.

Here's the deal:
  1. I turn ON the TV, using the remote control, and the green LED, in the bottom left corner of the set illuminates. I turn OFF the TV, using the remote control, and the red LED, in the bottom left corner of the set illuminates. So far, all is as expected.
  2. Next, I walk to the TV, and press the POWER button (not the rocker switch). The RED LED, in the bottom left corner of the TV turns off, but I don't get the green LED nor a picture. This is not what I expect to happen (I expect the TV to turn on).
  3. Press the power button again, and the TV Sony logo appears on screen followed by a picture.
At any time, I can use the remote to turn the TV on and off, with one button press, and I expect the power button to do the same thing.

If you are reading this, will you please try this on your set, and tell me if you get the same results?

UPDATE: I am using the latest firmware (PKG3.121AAA). Also, I can't find any information regarding my situation, in the manual (online & iManual), or by doing an internet and forum search.
DCIFRTHS is offline  
post #380 of 3439 Old 06-29-2011, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCIFRTHS View Post

I am having a problem with the power switch on the rear of my NX710. I can't figure out if it is "by design", and I am just missing the point, or if there is actually something wrong with the set.

I have ALL power saving options turned off. This includes face detection, ambient light sensor etc. The rocker switch (power), on the side of the TV is in the ON position at all times.

Here's the deal:
  1. I turn ON the TV, using the remote control, and the green LED, in the bottom left corner of the set illuminates. I turn OFF the TV, using the remote control, and the red LED, in the bottom left corner of the set illuminates. So far, all is as expected.
  2. Next, I walk to the TV, and press the POWER button (not the rocker switch). The RED LED, in the bottom left corner of the TV turns off, but I don't get the green LED nor a picture. This is not what I expect to happen (I expect the TV to turn on).
  3. Press the power button again, and the TV Sony logo appears on screen followed by a picture.
At any time, I can use the remote to turn the TV on and off, with one button press, and I expect the power button to do the same thing.

If you are reading this, will you please try this on your set, and tell me if you get the same results?

UPDATE: I am using the latest firmware (PKG3.121AAA). Also, I can't find any information regarding my situation, in the manual (online & iManual), or by doing an internet and forum search.

my 929 does the same. The power button on the set switches between green and no led. the remote switches between green and red standby.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #381 of 3439 Old 06-29-2011, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

my 929 does the same. The power button on the set switches between green and no led. the remote switches between green and red standby.

If you press the power button, on the TV a second time, after the red LED turns off, does your set turn on?
DCIFRTHS is offline  
post #382 of 3439 Old 06-29-2011, 12:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCIFRTHS View Post

If you press the power button, on the TV a second time, after the red LED turns off, does your set turn on?

yes it goes on and off when you press the button, but never get the red lied.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #383 of 3439 Old 06-29-2011, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Tomaskovic View Post

yes it goes on and off when you press the button, but never get the red lied.

The TV goes on, when you press the button, and then off, when you press it again? If so, it sounds like the behaviour you are seeing, is different from what I am seeing.
DCIFRTHS is offline  
post #384 of 3439 Old 06-29-2011, 03:38 AM
Member
 
jintekken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I am a Italian user and I want to have some information about nx720.

1 - the 40nx720 as a measure the input lag in standard mode? and in game mode?

2 - it's perfect to play with the ps3 or xbox 360?

3 - nx720 suffer from clouding or shadowing? the image is clean?

thanks to who answers me
jintekken is offline  
post #385 of 3439 Old 06-30-2011, 05:43 AM
Member
 
jintekken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
up
jintekken is offline  
post #386 of 3439 Old 06-30-2011, 10:25 AM
Member
 
quicksilverrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilverrs View Post

does anyone know if I could use a logitech keyboard with the nx720? It has a usb port so I'm guessing I could plug it in?

bump!
quicksilverrs is offline  
post #387 of 3439 Old 06-30-2011, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Redoryx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pickering,On
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any news on wht the new firmware did?

GAMERTAG: ORYX
 

Redoryx is offline  
post #388 of 3439 Old 07-01-2011, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
erik535353's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jintekken View Post
nobody answer me? please
It matters what you compare it to. I have the 60nx720 and except for some crosstalk when playing 3D it is a top notch TV . And the 3D still looks cool.
erik535353 is offline  
post #389 of 3439 Old 07-01-2011, 08:04 PM
Member
 
jintekken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1 - the 40nx720 as a measure the input lag in standard mode? and in game mode?

2 - it's perfect to play with the ps3 or xbox 360?

3 - nx720 suffer from clouding or shadowing? the image is clean?

thanks
jintekken is offline  
post #390 of 3439 Old 07-02-2011, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was in a store today looking at the Sony NX720 and HX820. When viewing from off angle, I noticed that the black/dark areas turned grey/blue-ish. This was especially apparent when watching from off center vertical angles (but also from horizontal angles). Also, when the screen was totally black I didn't notice the problem so much (probably because the dynamic LED switches off the backlight?). It was however very obvious when most of the screen was black, but there were some bright objects (e.g. when using the on-screen menus).

I also compared the NX720 and HX820 with the Samsung D8005 next to them, but the Samsung didn't seem to have so much problems with this.

So I just wonder if this is something that others have noticed as well with the NX720 and HX820 (i.e. black/dark areas turning grey/blue when viewed off angle)? If so, is it something that can be improved by changing any setting?
Fjodor2000 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Displays , Sony Bravia Kdl46nx720 46 Inch 1080p Wifi 3d Led Hdtv , 3d Hdtv , Component Receivers , Sony Bravia Kdl55nx720 55 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off