Official Sony NX720 Owner's thread (KDL60NX720, KDL55NX720, KDL46NX720) - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 3437 Old 07-17-2011, 02:11 PM
Member
 
doug33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a 60" nx720 delivered tomorrow and have a couple of questions.

1. I have hdmi 1.3a cables in the wall, do I need to replace with 1.4 if I want to view 3d content?

2. The specs state 2 hdmi on side, 2 hdmi bottom, if I hang the tv on the wall, does this mean the hdmi will stick out from the bottom or side? Ideally I'd like to just connect it to the back of the tv.

Thanks.
doug33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 3437 Old 07-17-2011, 04:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug33 View Post

I'm getting a 60" nx720 delivered tomorrow and have a couple of questions.

1. I have hdmi 1.3a cables in the wall, do I need to replace with 1.4 if I want to view 3d content?

2. The specs state 2 hdmi on side, 2 hdmi bottom, if I hang the tv on the wall, does this mean the hdmi will stick out from the bottom or side? Ideally I'd like to just connect it to the back of the tv.

Thanks.

1. Not necessarily. Try it out first before you change anything.

2. No, they won't stick out. See attached photo of the back connections.
LL

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #453 of 3437 Old 07-17-2011, 06:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 615
"1. I have hdmi 1.3a cables in the wall, do I need to replace with 1.4 if I want to view 3d content?"

I'm going further than Chris: You almost certainly do not need to replace the cables, unless they were garbage. The HDMI organization currently forbids the use of HDMI versions on cables, i.e. there are no 1.3 cables, 1.4 cables, because those designations are utterly meaningless. If you have a problem with your cabling (unlikely), seek out "high speed" cabling, which is the official name for the better grade of cabling.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is online now  
post #454 of 3437 Old 07-17-2011, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I am considering the 55NX720 (or 60NX720) and was wondering how the owners feel it does with fast motion like sports? I am concerned that it is a 120hz panel and not a 240hz panel like the NX810 or NX820. My other choise is the 55NX810 at a good discount which is a 240hz panel with the Bravia Engine 3. I have been told by Sony sales people that the NX720 may have a better picture due to the new X Reality Engine but I am concerned with the 120 hz panel since I will be watching alot of sports.

Sony sales people also recommended the HX729 since it has motion flow 480 and the X Pro Reality engine but does not have the momolithic design which I am told adds contrast and enhances colors and blacks.

Any comments and experience on these isuues would be helpful and appreciated. Thanks.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #455 of 3437 Old 07-17-2011, 11:27 PM
Member
 
doug33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post

1. Not necessarily. Try it out first before you change anything.

2. No, they won't stick out. See attached photo of the back connections.

Thanks a lot, that's a relief.
doug33 is offline  
post #456 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
stevedensmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you had a choice between the NX720 or HX729, which would you go with and why? I'm trying to decide between the two.
stevedensmore is offline  
post #457 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 02:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 615
It's a bizarre set of tradeoffs steve. My personal sense is that the right answer for me is the NX720. The design is stunning and the monolithic has some nice things to manage glare. That said, I haven't seen a live HX729 to compare it to, so I'm speculating based on other non-monolithic Sonys.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is online now  
post #458 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 09:07 AM
Member
 
vettesled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post

I am considering the 55NX720 (or 60NX720) and was wondering how the owners feel it does with fast motion like sports? I am concerned that it is a 120hz panel and not a 240hz panel like the NX810 or NX820. My other choise is the 55NX810 at a good discount which is a 240hz panel with the Bravia Engine 3. I have been told by Sony sales people that the NX720 may have a better picture due to the new X Reality Engine but I am concerned with the 120 hz panel since I will be watching alot of sports.

Sony sales people also recommended the HX729 since it has motion flow 480 and the X Pro Reality engine but does not have the momolithic design which I am told adds contrast and enhances colors and blacks.

Any comments and experience on these isuues would be helpful and appreciated. Thanks.

here is a site with the most technical process I ve seen other ratings just seem to be opinions by so called authorities on the subject.http://www.televisioninfo.com/d/reviews/Sony.htm
vettesled is offline  
post #459 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
stevedensmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

It's a bizarre set of tradeoffs steve. My personal sense is that the right answer for me is the NX720. The design is stunning and the monolithic has some nice things to manage glare. That said, I haven't seen a live HX729 to compare it to, so I'm speculating based on other non-monolithic Sonys.

I'm still having a hard time making a decision. I can get the NX for only $100 more. I looked at a 46HX729 today and the panel was so reflective it was like looking into a mirror. The features are nice, but I just wonder how much of a difference the X-Reality PRO engine would make compared to the 120hz panel.
stevedensmore is offline  
post #460 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 01:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 615
I really really doubt on a 46" display whatever is going on with the X Reality Pro engine and the extra refresh is going to make a ton of difference. But I admit I'm speculating.

I will say that I'm tired of seeing my venetian blinds in my plasma. Like really tired of it. So my bias would be away from reflectivity, even if that meant giving up some features. But that's my bias.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is online now  
post #461 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Avgass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettesled View Post

here is a site with the most technical process I ve seen other ratings just seem to be opinions by so called authorities on the subject.http://www.televisioninfo.com/d/reviews/Sony.htm

Testing 3:2 pulldown on a set that does native 24p? What? So the EX720 has great colour/motion but the NX720 has poor colour and motion? That just doesn't make any sense given that they share the same chipset and processing and other reviews have found these variables to be very good on the NXs.
I would tend to trust the review from cnet asia a bit more than this one.
Avgass is offline  
post #462 of 3437 Old 07-18-2011, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgass View Post

Testing 3:2 pulldown on a set that does native 24p? What? So the EX720 has great colour/motion but the NX720 has poor colour and motion? That just doesn't make any sense given that they share the same chipset and processing and other reviews have found these variables to be very good on the NXs.
I would tend to trust the review from cnet asia a bit more than this one.

It's not science, it's pseudo-science.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is online now  
post #463 of 3437 Old 07-19-2011, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
snash22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rockbridge County, VA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any luck "calibrating" the Gamma? I had to adjust it to the far left in order to start to come close to 2.2 according to my AVIA disc.

Not sure if Backlight, Picture and Brightness affect the Gamma as well.

Turning the Gamma down increased the "depth" of the picture, but it is a tad bit dark in some areas. I might tweak it back up a bit.
snash22 is offline  
post #464 of 3437 Old 07-19-2011, 01:35 PM
Member
 
doug33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I now have the nx720 mounted on the wall. I have a slim mount, and needed to add a 3/4" wood panel behind the mount so the plug and bulky hdmi cable could fit. I have a recessed panamax outlet but it's not recessed enough. Even 3/4" caused the tv to push out slightly at the bottom but I used 2 velcro straps to push it closer to the wall so it sticks out 2 1/2" to the front of the tv. Looks great.

I'm going to order Sony TDG-BR250 glasses but do I need to get a Sony blu-ray player like the BDP-S580 or can I just get the Panasonic DMP-BDT210 which gets better reviews? Thanks.
doug33 is offline  
post #465 of 3437 Old 07-19-2011, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
drumz2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am waiting on the arrival of my KDL-60NX720 to come in from SonyListens as the replacement for my KDS-60A2000. I am using a Denon AVR 3802 (no HDMI support) as my receiver I plan to connect my Xbox360, DirecTV DVR, and BDP-S1 via HDMI to the TV and connect the Wii with the component adapter/analog audio connections. The TV will be connected to the AVR with a S/PDIF optical connection.

My questions are:
1. Will the NX720 take the audio signal from the HDMI and send it to the AVR over the optical output? If not I will have to run an optical connection from each device to the AVR.
2. will the NX720 digitize the L/R analog input from the Wii and send it to the AVR over the optical output? If not I can run a L/R analog from the tv to the AVR.

Thanks for any help.
drumz2129 is offline  
post #466 of 3437 Old 07-19-2011, 02:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug33 View Post
I'm going to order Sony TDG-BR250 glasses but do I need to get a Sony blu-ray player like the BDP-S580 or can I just get the Panasonic DMP-BDT210 which gets better reviews? Thanks.
I am using the Panasonic DMP-BDT310 and it works fine with the Sony glasses.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #467 of 3437 Old 07-19-2011, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
dalisayrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumz2129 View Post
I am waiting on the arrival of my KDL-60NX720 to come in from SonyListens as the replacement for my KDS-60A2000. I am using a Denon AVR 3802 (no HDMI support) as my receiver I plan to connect my Xbox360, DirecTV DVR, and BDP-S1 via HDMI to the TV and connect the Wii with the component adapter/analog audio connections. The TV will be connected to the AVR with a S/PDIF optical connection.

My questions are:
1. Will the NX720 take the audio signal from the HDMI and send it to the AVR over the optical output? If not I will have to run an optical connection from each device to the AVR.
2. will the NX720 digitize the L/R analog input from the Wii and send it to the AVR over the optical output? If not I can run a L/R analog from the tv to the AVR.

Thanks for any help.
1. Yes it takes audio from HDMI (in my case from DVR). Then it sends the audio via optical to receiver.
dalisayrm is offline  
post #468 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 09:30 AM
Member
 
chemh0ser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, been enjoying my TV, however, I have had an issue where the screen goes black for a second every once in a while during Cable TV viewing. I still get sound but lose picture for a second or two. I'm sure it's a handshake issue but can't tell if it's my Anthem receiver or the TV. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?
chemh0ser is offline  
post #469 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
dalisayrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed if their panel is bowed from left to right (not perfectly straight). The curve is noticeable when looking at the edge. The bottom of the tv is perfectly straight but the top looks like a V to me, overemphasized of course.
dalisayrm is offline  
post #470 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 02:44 PM
Member
 
danielre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I have a 60NX720 and purchased a full motion wall mount from monoprice (which seems heavier then the TV ironically). After modifying the mount to fit my 24' spaced studs, I was saddened to learn that the bracket provided to attache to the TV is not long enough to fit the three mounting screws on the back of the screen. Has anyone mounted thier TV using two of the three screws on the TV? And, if I'm doing this would the top and middle, or middle and bottom screws be best?
danielre is offline  
post #471 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 03:29 PM
Member
 
doug33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only mounted using top and middle screws using the same mount as my last 46" tv, which weighed 5 lbs more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielre View Post

Hi. I have a 60NX720 and purchased a full motion wall mount from monoprice (which seems heavier then the TV ironically). After modifying the mount to fit my 24' spaced studs, I was saddened to learn that the bracket provided to attache to the TV is not long enough to fit the three mounting screws on the back of the screen. Has anyone mounted thier TV using two of the three screws on the TV? And, if I'm doing this would the top and middle, or middle and bottom screws be best?

doug33 is offline  
post #472 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
drumz2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielre View Post

Hi. I have a 60NX720 and purchased a full motion wall mount from monoprice (which seems heavier then the TV ironically). After modifying the mount to fit my 24' spaced studs, I was saddened to learn that the bracket provided to attache to the TV is not long enough to fit the three mounting screws on the back of the screen. Has anyone mounted thier TV using two of the three screws on the TV? And, if I'm doing this would the top and middle, or middle and bottom screws be best?

What was the product ID of the mount? I was about to purchase one for my 60nx720 and am wondering if it is the same one. The one I am looking at is rated for 175lbs
drumz2129 is offline  
post #473 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielre View Post

Hi. I have a 60NX720 and purchased a full motion wall mount from monoprice (which seems heavier then the TV ironically). After modifying the mount to fit my 24' spaced studs, I was saddened to learn that the bracket provided to attache to the TV is not long enough to fit the three mounting screws on the back of the screen. Has anyone mounted thier TV using two of the three screws on the TV? And, if I'm doing this would the top and middle, or middle and bottom screws be best?

Defiantly use top and middle. Too much stress on the middle if you go middle bottom.
chdwil is offline  
post #474 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

It's a bizarre set of tradeoffs steve. My personal sense is that the right answer for me is the NX720. The design is stunning and the monolithic has some nice things to manage glare. That said, I haven't seen a live HX729 to compare it to, so I'm speculating based on other non-monolithic Sonys.





I am considering the 55NX810 at a great deal. I am also considering the nx720 but I am concerned with the 120hz panel for ation and sports. The final tv I am looking at is the 55HX729,great specs but not a monolithic design which I like. I woud appreciate feedback and comments. Thanks.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #475 of 3437 Old 07-20-2011, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
stevedensmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do these sets ever have an issue of dust getting between the LCD panel and the protective glass? If so, I'll definitely end up going with the KDL55HX729.
stevedensmore is offline  
post #476 of 3437 Old 07-21-2011, 12:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 615
There's a layer of resin between the front glass (the Gorilla layer) and the LCD panel. I don't see how dust can get in there.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is online now  
post #477 of 3437 Old 07-21-2011, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
stevedensmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

There's a layer of resin between the front glass (the Gorilla layer) and the LCD panel. I don't see how dust can get in there.

Awesome, thanks for the quick response.
stevedensmore is offline  
post #478 of 3437 Old 07-21-2011, 06:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalisayrm View Post

Has anyone noticed if their panel is bowed from left to right (not perfectly straight). The curve is noticeable when looking at the edge. The bottom of the tv is perfectly straight but the top looks like a V to me, overemphasized of course.

I looked at mine last night and did not notice any curve in the panel.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #479 of 3437 Old 07-21-2011, 06:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chemh0ser View Post

Hello everyone, been enjoying my TV, however, I have had an issue where the screen goes black for a second every once in a while during Cable TV viewing. I still get sound but lose picture for a second or two. I'm sure it's a handshake issue but can't tell if it's my Anthem receiver or the TV. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Check your cable connections and make sure they are tight. Also try a different or better cable to see if the same thing happens.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #480 of 3437 Old 07-21-2011, 11:28 AM
Member
 
chemh0ser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post

Check your cable connections and make sure they are tight. Also try a different or better cable to see if the same thing happens.

All the connections are secure and the cables are fine, Monoprice 1.4 with ethernet.
chemh0ser is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Displays , Sony Bravia Kdl46nx720 46 Inch 1080p Wifi 3d Led Hdtv , 3d Hdtv , Component Receivers , Sony Bravia Kdl55nx720 55 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off