Official LG xxLK520 xxLK450 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
virotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@WeaponX Alpha

Seeing as I now own the 42LK450 that was on Kanedo's hands, we'll most likely perform a new calibration with the Eye-One Display LT over this coming weekend.
virotek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedo View Post

Okay, I just did a full calibration with the Eye-One Display LT. it came out much better than the one done by the Spyder2. Gamut was almost right on with the EODLT vs the inaccurately wide gamut my Spyder2 produced. I'm including my final calibration report using HCFR.

Since the EODLT can read much lower light than the Spyder2, I'm actually getting 700-800 contrast ratio. On top of that, the read time was much quicker. I was able to do the calibration in less than half the time it would take with a Spyder2.

My Spyder2 is officially retired.

Thanks for the info. Sounds like money well spent!

If I understand correctly, you sold your LK to virotek and picked up a LD450, so these results are for the LD450? I'm still really interested in how the colors come out on the LK with the new meter, so please post those results when you calibrate it.

EDIT: Sorry for asking the stupid question - couldn't see the attachment name when using the AVS android app on my phone...
djams is offline  
post #93 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 08:49 AM
Member
 
WeaponX Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by virotek View Post

@WeaponX Alpha

Seeing as I now own the 42LK450 that was on Kanedo's hands, we'll most likely perform a new calibration with the Eye-One Display LT over this coming weekend.

Thanks for the update. I'll wait then.
WeaponX Alpha is offline  
post #94 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the honeymoon was short.

I noticed some faint, transparent vertical bands/lines that become more visible when the camera moves over a pale surface (when watching a hockey game for instance).

I found a youtube video from someone with a similar issue, but I can't post a link just yet. (forum rules). If you search youtube for "Sharp LC52D92U Issues", it will be the first video at the top. The lines on my TV are a little less visible, but they're there.

I didn't notice it at first, but now that I know it's there, it's impossible for me not to see. It can be seen when watching TV, a blu-ray or playing a game.

It's going back for an exchange. Hopefully the next one will not have this issue.
Silent52 is offline  
post #95 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 10:15 PM
Member
 
kanedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaponX Alpha View Post

kanedo,

I would really appreciate that you share your settings with us. I have a brand new 42LK450, and lacking professional calibration equipment, your settings will serve me as a starting point to calibrate mine.

Will have settings for you by end of this weekend.
kanedo is offline  
post #96 of 2833 Old 05-23-2011, 10:19 PM
Member
 
kanedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

Thanks for the info. Sounds like money well spent!

If I understand correctly, you sold your LK to virotek and picked up a LD450, so these results are for the LD450? I'm still really interested in how the colors come out on the LK with the new meter, so please post those results when you calibrate it.

EDIT: Sorry for asking the stupid question - couldn't see the attachment name when using the AVS android app on my phone...

@djams. Correct. I sold the 42LK450 to Virotek because it was too big for my room. Couldn't resist buying it at such a low price when Fry's had it for sale at $477 a few weeks ago. Anyhow, I've since picked up last year's 32LD450 (CUSW) since I couldn't find any 2011 models of 32LK450 with S-IPS panels. The file I recently posted was of the 32LD450 with my new Eye-One Display LT. I expect similar results with 42LK450. But just to be certain, I'll run through the full calibration again on the 42LK450 this weekend with the EODLT.
kanedo is offline  
post #97 of 2833 Old 05-24-2011, 05:28 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaponX Alpha View Post
kanedo,

I would really appreciate that you share your settings with us. I have a brand new 42LK450, and lacking professional calibration equipment, your settings will serve me as a starting point to calibrate mine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkn0927 View Post
Any LK520 calibrated settings available so far? It would be greatly appreciated if someone could post theirs!

I've tried a few LD520's settings and it looked downright horrible.


For those with new LK models, based on what we've found with 2010 LG models, you will probably be just as well off, if not better, to download and use the AVS HD709 Calibration aid and follow the included instructions. * . Unless you have a colorimeter or plan to get one, the settings you obtain on your own TV using the AVS HD 709 will likely be better than using someone else calibration settings. * .The AVS HD 709 will get you within 95% of an equipment calibration for free and can easily be regularly checked by yourself. Also, as you add new Blu-ray players or other equipment to your TV, you will have a ready source to make the settings for any input you will be using.

Also, you really need to start with a back light setting of your own based on room lighting and personal tastes. A back light setting of 40 (higher for bright rooms) is a reasonable starting point. Then, using the AVS HD709 disc you burned, you make your basic settings of Contrast Brightness and Color (50%) and go onward from there to make the more detailed settings in the Expert menu. At night or for watching movies, you can use the "Energy Saving " switch on your remote set to Minimum or Medium which will reduce the back light about 20% to 25% for each step.

Here's the link for the free AVS HD709. You download and burn it as an ISO file on a regular DVD and it plays as a Blu-ray in AVCHD format on most Blu-ray players that support that format:


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496


Be sure to copy and follow the included (pdf file) instructions. It may also help to pause the test during the "flashing patterns" test for color adjustments.

Also included here are some starting points for using the AVS HD709 disc.

For those who want a quick initial setting, I've included one using the Cinema Preset. You may want to try this to get familiar with the menus and also give you a quick, decent picture with a range of recommended setting values to suit your taste.

 

AVS HD709 Staring Points.txt 0.810546875k . file

 

LG XXLD550 HDMI CINEMA (User) PICTURE 12-4-10 Usable Range.txt 0.8876953125k . file
Phase700B is offline  
post #98 of 2833 Old 05-27-2011, 09:02 AM
Member
 
quik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking to buy the LG 32LK450, decided to check it out at Best Buy, all they had was the... CUSD product code same with the one on display.

The black level on this TV is terrible... even the cheapest Dynex and Insignia TV near it had way better black levels.... I messed around with the settings for 20 mins while in the store, black level seemed to be grayed out if i recall correctly, but I messed around with every other PQ setting on the set, even the picture wizard deal. Not impressed at all, was hoping to get this set for a good price

I don't get it, does the IPS version of this TV have significantly better black levels????

quik
quik is offline  
post #99 of 2833 Old 05-27-2011, 02:38 PM
Member
 
kanedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by quik View Post

I was looking to buy the LG 32LK450, decided to check it out at Best Buy, all they had was the... CUSD product code same with the one on display.

The black level on this TV is terrible... even the cheapest Dynex and Insignia TV near it had way better black levels.... I messed around with the settings for 20 mins while in the store, black level seemed to be grayed out if i recall correctly, but I messed around with every other PQ setting on the set, even the picture wizard deal. Not impressed at all, was hoping to get this set for a good price

I don't get it, does the IPS version of this TV have significantly better black levels????

I'm not even sure there is an IPS version of the 32LK450. If they did, it'd be very similar to the 32LD450's IPS version. For LD450, the black level isn't the best. But if you're getting an IPS screen, you won't get the best black levels. However, you get so much more in terms of other benefits.
kanedo is offline  
post #100 of 2833 Old 05-27-2011, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by quik View Post

I was looking to buy the LG 32LK450, decided to check it out at Best Buy, all they had was the... CUSD product code same with the one on display.

The black level on this TV is terrible... even the cheapest Dynex and Insignia TV near it had way better black levels.... I messed around with the settings for 20 mins while in the store, black level seemed to be grayed out if i recall correctly, but I messed around with every other PQ setting on the set, even the picture wizard deal. Not impressed at all, was hoping to get this set for a good price

I don't get it, does the IPS version of this TV have significantly better black levels????

If you're playing around with the settings on a floor model, they probably have in in demo mode not home mode, so lot's of features etc will not be available to you. If you can't set the basics... contrast, brightness, sharpness, etc then all the other settings like color, tint, etc just won't look right. Nailing down the gray level is important, and doing that without a cal disk is difficult at best.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #101 of 2833 Old 05-29-2011, 01:25 AM
Newbie
 
dcfinla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I've been doing some research on the LK520 and have decided to go for it to be our bedroom tv. However, I wanted to know if anyone has done any input lag research with PS3s and X-Box 360s? It won't be my primary gaming system but I might drop in a console or two later on and want to be prepared. Thanks.

DCF
dcfinla is offline  
post #102 of 2833 Old 05-29-2011, 05:59 PM
 
mkn0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 weeks into owning a 42LK520... I have to say I'm very much pleased with the quality of the display.

It rivals my old GT25 panel AND my parent's Sony KDL-V4100, which they paid $2000 for when it came out.

Just gotta make sure you calibrate it right. And it seems like this is where LK450/520 shines the most... its ability to change so many settings while not sacrificing input lag (at least I haven't noticed while playing fast-paced games such as Black Ops).

My 47" LK520 is coming in next week. I'll keep you guys updated.
mkn0927 is offline  
post #103 of 2833 Old 05-30-2011, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkn0927 View Post
2 weeks into owning a 42LK520... I have to say I'm very much pleased with the quality of the display.

It rivals my old GT25 panel AND my parent's Sony KDL-V4100, which they paid $2000 for when it came out.

Just gotta make sure you calibrate it right. And it seems like this is where LK450/520 shines the most... its ability to change so many settings while not sacrificing input lag (at least I haven't noticed while playing fast-paced games such as Black Ops).

My 47" LK520 is coming in next week. I'll keep you guys updated.
Please do (about the 47LK520).

I've received the replacement before they even came to get the old one, so that's a good thing.

The bad thing is, I have the same problem: faint vertical lines/bands that are visible when the picture is moving. (look a few posts above to see directions to a similar problem). Another way of describing the problem: it's like the tv is dirty.

I haven't finished calibrating it yet (using the avsforum dvd), but I'm doubtful calibrating will resolve the issue.

I'm afraid this issue isn't really an issue: the tv is just made that way. Unfortunately, it looks like I'm sensitive to it. Though it's odd that no one is mentioning the problem.

The picture is otherwise very good, but this banding issue is very, very distracting, and I won't be able to get past it, unless the calibration proves me wrong.

Good thing is I have 90 days from the date of purchase to get a full refund, including shipping, so I can afford to wait and tinker with it as much as I can.

I'll keep you posted. In any case, I could post my calibrated settings before sending it back.
Silent52 is offline  
post #104 of 2833 Old 05-30-2011, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent52 View Post
Please do (about the 47LK520).

I've received the replacement before they even came to get the old one, so that's a good thing.

The bad thing is, I have the same problem: faint vertical lines/bands that are visible when the picture is moving. (look a few posts above to see directions to a similar problem). Another way of describing the problem: it's like the tv is dirty.
That's really unfortunate. I wonder if it's a manufacturing flaw with the LK series? I have last year's 47LD520 and don't have any of those banding issues (S-IPS panel).
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #105 of 2833 Old 05-30-2011, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
That's really unfortunate. I wonder if it's a manufacturing flaw with the LK series? I have last year's 47LD520 and don't have any of those banding issues (S-IPS panel).
This is a 47LK520-UA.ACCYLUR, though I'm not sure if this is the correct number to determine the panel.
Silent52 is offline  
post #106 of 2833 Old 05-30-2011, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
virotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I managed to pick up another IPS 42LK450 on sale this past weekend so we had two screens to calibrate. Calibrated with Kanedo's Eye 1 Display LT connected to a PC via DVI->HDMI cable.

Calculated Contrast Ratio
  • LCD 1: 807:1
  • LCD 2: 864:1

Here are our ISF settings:
Setting LCD 1 LCD 2
Backlight 31 33
Contrast 95 95
Brightness 55 55
H Sharpness 28 28
V Sharpness 53 53
Color 50 50
Tint 0 0
Expert Controls - -
Dynamic Contrast Off Off
Noise Reduction Off Off
Digital Noise Reduction Off Off
Black Level High (PC) High (PC)
Real Cinema Off Off
Color Gamut BT709 BT709
Edge Enhancer Off Off
Color Filter Off Off
Gamma 2.2 2.2
Method 10 Point IRE 10 Point IRE
Luminance@IRE100 125 125
Color Management System - -
Red Color 0 0
Red Tint 1 1
Green Color 0 1
Green Tint 0 0
Blue Color 2 2
Blue Tint -6 -6
Yellow Color 6 0
Yellow Tint 0 0
Cyan Color 0 -2
Cyan Tint 0 0
Magenta Color 4 5
Magenta Tint 0 0

10 Point IRE Settings:
Which LCD IRE 0 IRE 10 IRE 20 IRE 30 IRE 40 IRE 50 IRE 60 IRE 70 IRE 80 IRE 90 IRE 100
LCD 1 RED 0 -2 -2 -1 -2 -1 0 4 5 7 2
LCD 1 GREEN 0 -3 -6 -8 -12 -13 -14 -13 -11 -9 -6
LCD 1 BLUE 0 -7 -5 -5 -8 -10 -12 -11 -14 -12 -11
LCD 2 RED 0 -1 2 -4 4 7 7 10 9 8 17
LCD 2 GREEN 0 -3 -3 -3 -6 -6 -7 -7 -8 -8 -11
LCD 2 BLUE 0 -6 -1 2 1 0 0 0 -2 -1 -2

Hope these tables are clear enough.

HCFR readings attached:

 

42LK450-Al i1LT.zip 4.583984375k . file

 

42LK450-Amy i1LT.zip 3.2607421875k . file
virotek is offline  
post #107 of 2833 Old 05-31-2011, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

That's really unfortunate. I wonder if it's a manufacturing flaw with the LK series? I have last year's 47LD520 and don't have any of those banding issues (S-IPS panel).

Wrote to LG.

They replied with a number to call because they wouldn't otherwise be able to assist me correctly.

I'm curious to hear what they have to say.
Silent52 is offline  
post #108 of 2833 Old 05-31-2011, 03:23 PM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by virotek View Post

Well, I managed to pick up another IPS 42LK450 on sale this past weekend so we had two screens to calibrate. Calibrated with Kanedo's Eye 1 Display LT connected to a PC via DVI->HDMI cable.

Here are our ISF settings:
[table]Setting|LCD 1(Al)|LCD 2(Amy)
Backlight|31|33
Contrast|95|95
Brightness|55|55
H Sharpness|28|28
V Sharpness|53|53

Color|50|50
Tint|0|0
Expert Controls|-|-. . . . . .

The calibration is interesting on the two sets. I'm just wondering why the strong reduction in Horizontal Sharpness, but a slight boost in Vertical Sharpness?

On most recent LG models, "50" is neutral meaning no artificial processing of sharpness. Did you check the results on a test pattern such as the one provided in AVS HD709 Test media disc? If I cut my sharpness down to 28 on my TV it results in very blurred fine line resolution.
Phase700B is offline  
post #109 of 2833 Old 05-31-2011, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Antipodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

The calibration is interesting on the two sets. I'm just wondering why the strong reduction in Horizontal Sharpness, but a slight boost in Vertical Sharpness?

On most recent LG models, "50" is neutral meaning no artificial processing of sharpness. Did you check the results on a test pattern such as the one provided in AVS HD709 Test media disc? If I cut my sharpness down to 28 on my TV it results in very blurred fine line resolution.

My VA 32LK450 didn't have the correct sharpness out of the box. I tweaked it for about a minute and got close. Modifying the sharpness setting isn't introducing an artificial mode. Think of it as another calibration setting like changing the color values.

Try the sharpness page on lagom.nl and see if you see any lines/boxes after squinting. With the right sharpness setting, the outer rectangle should look uniform. The inner circle is for greyscale calibration and should also blend in if the greyscale is correct.
Antipodes is offline  
post #110 of 2833 Old 06-01-2011, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

The calibration is interesting on the two sets. I'm just wondering why the strong reduction in Horizontal Sharpness, but a slight boost in Vertical Sharpness?

On most recent LG models, "50" is neutral meaning no artificial processing of sharpness. Did you check the results on a test pattern such as the one provided in AVS HD709 Test media disc? If I cut my sharpness down to 28 on my TV it results in very blurred fine line resolution.

I get similar results with my set also (using AVS HD709). I can bring down H Sharpness a lot while V Sharpness has to stay closer to 50.
Silent52 is offline  
post #111 of 2833 Old 06-01-2011, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As it turns out, I see the same issue I have on my father's Samsung UN55B6000, and that set cost 2.5x more than the 47LK520 at the time of purchase...of course the Samsung is much bigger.

So perhaps I should bring my expectations lower.

I might keep this set after all, though I will go see others in case I see one I like more.
Silent52 is offline  
post #112 of 2833 Old 06-02-2011, 09:08 AM
Member
 
erray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently purchased an LG 42LK450 TV for our bedroom and love it. Down in the basement we have a Samsung TV and an LG BH200 combo Blu-ray/HD DVD player, and every time we turn on the player in the basement the LG TV upstairs turns itself on.

What on earth might could cause this type of interaction between the LG TV on one floor with the LG player in the basement?

Hope someone can help me with this.
Thanks
erray
erray is offline  
post #113 of 2833 Old 06-02-2011, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erray
Recently purchased an LG 42LK450 TV for our bedroom and love it. Down in the basement we have a Samsung TV and an LG BH200 combo Blu-ray/HD DVD player, and every time we turn on the player in the basement the LG TV upstairs turns itself on.

What on earth might could cause this type of interaction between the LG TV on one floor with the LG player in the basement?

Hope someone can help me with this.
Thanks
erray
Heh - that's curious, isn't it?

Does this happen both when using the remote and the power button on the player?

Are you sure that one of your family members isn't messing with you?
djams is offline  
post #114 of 2833 Old 06-02-2011, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erray View Post

Recently purchased an LG 42LK450 TV for our bedroom and love it. Down in the basement we have a Samsung TV and an LG BH200 combo Blu-ray/HD DVD player, and every time we turn on the player in the basement the LG TV upstairs turns itself on.

What on earth might could cause this type of interaction between the LG TV on one floor with the LG player in the basement?

Hope someone can help me with this.
Thanks
erray

Try turning off Simplink on the TV and on the BD/HD DVD player.

This is a feature (I hate it) designed to operate your equipment in your place, to make your life easier, but does it ?

In that case, you turn on your BD player, then Simplink turns on the TV so you don't have to, because obviously, there is no way that an LG BD player could be hooked up to something else than an LG TV !

My suggestion is to always disable these features. If you want your inputs and equipment to be switched/turned on automatically, you should get yourself a good remote. People seem to like Harmony remotes, but I've never used one.
Silent52 is offline  
post #115 of 2833 Old 06-02-2011, 03:16 PM
Member
 
erray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will take a look for Simplink on the two devices and turn them off.
Thanks.
erray is offline  
post #116 of 2833 Old 06-02-2011, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent52 View Post


Try turning off Simplink on the TV and on the BD/HD DVD player.

Simplink communicates over hdmi-cec. I thought about mentioning it as well, but I figured it unlikely that he has a hdmi cable running from the basement to an upstairs bedroom...
djams is offline  
post #117 of 2833 Old 06-03-2011, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Silent52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Longueuil, QC, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

Simplink communicates over hdmi-cec. I thought about mentioning it as well, but I figured it unlikely that he has a hdmi cable running from the basement to an upstairs bedroom...

I thought it was odd also. But now that I think of it, I assumed his problem happened whether he used the BD remote or the button on the player itself.

Perhaps it's the remote that's sending the signal all the way up to his TV ?

In any case, I keep Simplink turned off anyway
Silent52 is offline  
post #118 of 2833 Old 06-03-2011, 07:38 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I use SimpLink all the time without incident with my LG BD530, BD550, Sony BDP-S550 and Panasonic DMP-BD80 Bly-ray players. Of course, with non LG players it only "sees" when an HDMI device is turned on and selects it. In a few cases, basic functions like Play and Stop are all that works. But it only works through the HDMI cable as djams indicated. It is a wired feature and not capable or infrared or RF signal transmission through walls or floors.

It is a nice feature and works great for many owners.
Phase700B is offline  
post #119 of 2833 Old 06-03-2011, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@erray - any updates? I'm really interested in finding out what's causing this unusual behavior you are seeing.
djams is offline  
post #120 of 2833 Old 06-03-2011, 01:05 PM
Member
 
mesirtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A wealth of info in this and the LD-thread -- thanks, all...

Regards the LK's (including 37/42LK450 and/or the 42LK520/120hz) -- has anyone tried their 4:4:4 performance? Also, can anyone compare relative-merits of (for instance) similar models in 42"/37" as far as contrast/PQ/PC-text&performance differences between: CCFL/60hz [37/42LD450 & 37/42LK450] & 120hz [42LK520] and LED/60hz [37LV3500] & 120hz [37LE5300]? Maybe someone has calibrated some several of these?
With luck, all-above are available with the S-IPS panel -- a 'must', imo. One would imagine _some_ advantage (other than less 'buzz'/heat/energy) for the LED-versions, but others have dismissed them on speculation that 120hz affected red-text/4:4:4, or that edge-lighting produced PQ-issues of its own (albeit LED's offering superior brightness and/or dynamic-contrast/'pop'). The 37LV3500, with 60hz/LED, seemed likely as 'pick of litter' for me, but I've seen no comparative review here or elsewhere...
Also, has anyone hacked the LK to enable usb>movie-functionality with any method used on the LD-models?
mesirtoo is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47lk520 47 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 55lk520 55 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 42lk520 42 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 42lk450 42 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 32lk450 32 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Va Panel Hdtv , Lg 37lk450 37 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off