Official LG xxLK520 xxLK450 - Page 84 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
I have started seeing a pretty obvious dirty screen effect when the camera pans on bright white scenes quickly. It was always there to some extent but seems to be getting more noticeable recently. Not sure if it actually got worse or I just got more sensitive to it.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I have started seeing a pretty obvious dirty screen effect when the camera pans on bright white scenes quickly. It was always there to some extent but seems to be getting more noticeable recently. Not sure if it actually got worse or I just got more sensitive to it.

I noticed that the first day I got my 42LK450, I thought there was plastic film on the screen. The trade off is better off-axis viewing and 24p, my old set would wash out off-axis and judder badly on motion.
moviegeek is offline  
post #2493 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
I just don't see that with my LD520, and I know DSE has been a problem for a few. Nobody else in the house has complained about it, even when I asked them to look for it (they thought I was crazy) so it's not these old eyes that just doesn't see it. I'm about 15 months into my set.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2494 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I just don't see that with my LD520, and I know DSE has been a problem for a few. Nobody else in the house has complained about it, even when I asked them to look for it (they thought I was crazy) so it's not these old eyes that just doesn't see it. I'm about 15 months into my set.

maybe the LD series was different

one thing worth mentioning is that I've noticed this mostly on HD cable content so that may be a relevant factor... I'll need to watch some BD movies with lots of bright white over the entire screen while the camera pans quickly to be certain.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2495 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

all of the ips panel LGs I've seen show no color or gamma shifts in the horizontal viewing axis... the image only gets a little dimmer overall at extreme angles, which is barely noticeable unless you move left and right while watching the picture.

Top of tv was about 5 ft above eyes.(to discourage people touching tv).Probably wouldnt notice it as much if eye level.Its not like we are moving all over the place when watching tv.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #2496 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 07:43 PM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I just don't see that with my LD520, and I know DSE has been a problem for a few. Nobody else in the house has complained about it, even when I asked them to look for it (they thought I was crazy) so it's not these old eyes that just doesn't see it. I'm about 15 months into my set.

I have no such issue with DSE either. In fact, mu 42LD550 has a very uniform and clean display. I've put up IRE fields in the high and mid ranges where DSE would normally show up and the display looks clean. Even in movies or TV programs with white, near white or solid color backgrounds pans across the screen reveal no smeary or "dirty" looking areas.

This makes me wonder about late model TV of many brands, although the Samsun EH5000 and EH6000 I have been looking at also look very good also even with what I believe to be S-PVA panels.
Phase700B is offline  
post #2497 of 2833 Old 04-20-2012, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

maybe the LD series was different

one thing worth mentioning is that I've noticed this mostly on HD cable content so that may be a relevant factor... I'll need to watch some BD movies with lots of bright white over the entire screen while the camera pans quickly to be certain.

I think you may be correct about the LD series. Maybe LG gets it correct every other iteration I don't have cable/sat so this is OTA only. Never could buy into escalating costs and questionable quality/support BD movies have not been a problem either, at least so far
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2498 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


I just don't see that with my LD520

Quote:


I have no such issue with DSE either. In fact, mu 42LD550 has a very uniform and clean display.


Well this is an LK520 and LK450 thread.
moviegeek is offline  
post #2499 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by moviegeek View Post

Well this is an LK520 and LK450 thread.

Point? There appears to be not much difference from the LD to the LK series as far as functionality goes. As with all tv's, there are good sets and troublesome sets within both series, but the basic information and troubleshooting is applicable to both
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2500 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by moviegeek View Post

Well this is an LK520 and LK450 thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Point? There appears to be not much difference from the LD to the LK series as far as functionality goes. As with all tv's, there are good sets and troublesome sets within both series, but the basic information and troubleshooting is applicable to both

His point is that while the LD and LK series are similar in some key areas they are not exactly the same and so when an owner of the LK series notes a problem/issue, being told the LD series doesn't have it is not helpful or relevant in a thread dedicated to the LK series. It's really very simple.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2501 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
luisreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

I'll buy a 42 LG LCD, current available models in Argentina are:

42LD460 (2010-11)
42LD650 (2010-11)
42LD655 (2011?)
42LK450 (2011-12)

LK450 being the most widely available nowadays.

- Main Use: Blu-Ray 24fps from Pioneer BR
- Secondary Use: HDTV
- Third Use: STD (PAL-N 50hz)
- I won't use it for gaming/120hz/sports...

Questions:
- Any reason not to buy LK450 and look for any of the others?
- LK450 IPS code is W or Y?
- Any tip on the best model with lowest clouding/best contrast-black levels/color reproduction (after calibration)


Thank you!
Luis
Argentina
luisreg is offline  
post #2502 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Regarding the Host Diagnostics screen, what does extended colorimetry refer to? It always says XVYCC601 on my TV for all HDMI sources (PS3, HD Cable Box, and X360). What does that mean?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2503 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

Regarding the Host Diagnostics screen, what does extended colorimetry refer to? It always says XVYCC601 on my TV for all HDMI sources (PS3, HD Cable Box, and X360). What does that mean?

I'm not sure it actually means anything. It's supposed to mean that the TV is receiving video in a format that uses an extended-gamut YCC colour space (xvYCC), but the Host Diagnostics screen says this even when the video in an RGB format that is fundamentally incompatible with the xvYCC colour space.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #2504 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

His point is that while the LD and LK series are similar in some key areas they are not exactly the same and so when an owner of the LK series notes a problem/issue, being told the LD series doesn't have it is not helpful or relevant in a thread dedicated to the LK series. It's really very simple.

An expected response. You are so predictable.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2505 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

An expected response. You are so predictable.

If you already knew and expected this response why did you ask for it?
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #2506 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

An expected response. You are so predictable.

Then why don't you address my response directly by telling us why owners of the LD series feel the need to discuss 2010 models in the 2011 thread and make irrelevant comparisons to the LK520 and LK450 regarding issues like DSE?

I've seen that there are dedicated threads for the LD models, so why post here?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2507 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Michaelll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by luisreg View Post

Hi!

I'll buy a 42 LG LCD, current available models in Argentina are:

42LD460 (2010-11)
42LD650 (2010-11)
42LD655 (2011?)
42LK450 (2011-12)

LK450 being the most widely available nowadays.

- Main Use: Blu-Ray 24fps from Pioneer BR
- Secondary Use: HDTV
- Third Use: STD (PAL-N 50hz)
- I won't use it for gaming/120hz/sports...

Questions:
- Any reason not to buy LK450 and look for any of the others?
- LK450 IPS code is W or Y?
- Any tip on the best model with lowest clouding/best contrast-black levels/color reproduction (after calibration)


Thank you!
Luis
Argentina

I don't know a whole lot about the LD models you mentioned, but the LD655 is probably the best out of the tvs you named. If you aren't going to use the tv as a computer monitor or for games with a fast response needed, than just look for the one with the most features and best picture. 120hz is a nice thing to have, even just to have the option of using it. A "Y" is what you should look for in the product code for an IPS panel for the LK450. I believe a "W" is what you would want for the LD series.
Michaelll is offline  
post #2508 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post


I've seen that there are dedicated threads for the LD models, so why post here?

For the same reasons you've posted there, and other threads. I'm surprised you haven't posted your "troll in a can" here in response to me (which was removed by the mods, or you). But this discussion serves no purpose so let's just leave it alone.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2509 of 2833 Old 04-21-2012, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

For the same reasons you've posted there, and other threads. I'm surprised you haven't posted your "troll in a can" here in response to me (which was removed by the mods, or you). But this discussion serves no purpose so let's just leave it alone.

never posted in the LD threads but yes let's just leave it alone
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2510 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 12:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Plasma and Otto,you guys are what keep this thread and probably a lot of the site going.Kinda looks badwhen your fighting though.That's my 2cents
Vic12345 is offline  
post #2511 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 272
^^^^^ thanks. I'm not too keen on it either so I'll extend the olive branch and maybe we can work together, and not at each other.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2512 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
Kully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After about a week and a half of messing around with the 42LK450 I couldn't get it to look right, but I was told that the panel was broken (lines like ~ were showing up on the screen).

The guys at the store let me trade it in for a 42LK520 and a 50 refund because they were out of LK450's.

I'd like help configuring this TV. The product code is 42LK520-UA.ACCYLUR, and the panel ID is LC420WUF-SCA2. Will be using it for gaming 99% of the time.
Kully is offline  
post #2513 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic12345 View Post

Plasma and Otto,you guys are what keep this thread and probably a lot of the site going.Kinda looks badwhen your fighting though.That's my 2cents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

^^^^^ thanks. I'm not too keen on it either so I'll extend the olive branch and maybe we can work together, and not at each other.

yes, it's better that way

I was just trying to explain moviegeek's point of view, which I agree with given that there are significant differences between the LD and LK models in some areas like DSE (but not all areas like you mentioned).
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2514 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kully View Post

After about a week and a half of messing around with the 42LK450 I couldn't get it to look right, but I was told that the panel was broken (lines like ~ were showing up on the screen).

The guys at the store let me trade it in for a 42LK520 and a 50 refund because they were out of LK450's.

I'd like help configuring this TV. The product code is 42LK520-UA.ACCYLUR, and the panel ID is LC420WUF-SCA2. Will be using it for gaming 99% of the time.

you'll want to start out with a setup/calibration disc:

the best free option is AVSHD709, which you can burn to a DVD or BD and play on a BD player

a good alternative is Disney WOW, which comes in both DVD and BD versions for about $25


do you have a BD player? what gaming consoles do you plan on using (PS3 is a BD player)?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2515 of 2833 Old 04-22-2012, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
Kully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

you'll want to start out with a setup/calibration disc:

the best free option is AVSHD709, which you can burn to a DVD or BD and play on a BD player

a good alternative is Disney WOW, which comes in both DVD and BD versions for about $25


do you have a BD player? what gaming consoles do you plan on using (PS3 is a BD player)?

I do have a PS3 to use as a Blu-Ray player. I'll try out those options, thanks

I'll be using a PS3/360/Wii and maybe an older system or two with this TV
Kully is offline  
post #2516 of 2833 Old 04-25-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

maybe the LD series was different

one thing worth mentioning is that I've noticed this mostly on HD cable content so that may be a relevant factor... I'll need to watch some BD movies with lots of bright white over the entire screen while the camera pans quickly to be certain.

I did some checking and the issue has yet to show itself on any BD content or while gaming on my Xbox 360. I do see some uniformity issues on a static full white screen that seems to show the gaps between the EEFL tubes within the TV but that effect is not what I noticed on HD Cable when I thought I was seeing the DSE. So, these two issues appear to be independent.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2517 of 2833 Old 04-29-2012, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Guys, I'm trying to use my 37lk450 as my computer monitor and it's great for video but the audio is giving me a little trouble. My desktop only has toslink and 3.5mm audio outs. The toslink is out since the tv has no toslink input so that leaves the 3.5mm. Is there a way to assign the 3.5mm input to one of the hdmi inputs instead of the rgb input? Any help would really be appreciated.

Edit: I should have put in a little effort reading the manual before posting. Apparently the 1st hdmi input is already set to use the 3.5mm input for its audio.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #2518 of 2833 Old 04-29-2012, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post

Guys, I'm trying to use my 37lk450 as my computer monitor and it's great for video but the audio is giving me a little trouble. [...] Is there a way to assign the 3.5mm input to one of the hdmi inputs instead of the rgb input?

Check to see if your video card can output audio over HDMI, if it does then that should be the simplest solution.

Otherwise the manaul suggests what you want to do is possible, but it doesn't seem to say how. Labeling the HDMI input as "PC" might do the trick.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #2519 of 2833 Old 05-07-2012, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

EDIT: Chad B was in the area and offered to re-calibrate my set as a good will gesture. He used his Jeti 1211 reference spectro for the majority of the calibration and then created a profile for my C6 and used it to set grayscale and gamma at the 10% and 20% steps. The CMS worked ideally at 75% sat, 100% stim and very minimal changes were made to the main color control and to the CMS (one click differences in a few settings).

The C6 wasn't too accurate on its own, since it left behind a grayscale that was too warm, and dEUV was a steady 5 above 30% gray.

The advanced color management report is from ChromaPure and was taken with the Jeti and 100% stim patterns were used for the saturation sweep. The image is the CalMAN post-cal data taken with my profiled C6. I won't be posting my new settings since he prefers I don't.

The main thing I took away from the pre-cal readings with the Jeti (which I don't have a copy of unfortunately) was that my C6 is next to useless on it's own when doing grayscale (color). It is pretty good for gamma and decent for gamut but not for white balance. You really need to profile a colorimeter with a spectro to get meaningful results, regardless of the price of the colorimeter or whether it's the standard or enhanced version.

see attached...
LL
LL
LL
LL
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2520 of 2833 Old 05-08-2012, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
ltoth45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung compact camera makes 1280x720 videos picture excellent, but
the sound after cca. 6 sec dissapears for a moment, MP4, Video: H.264, Audio: AAC.
Can anybody solve this problem?

Firmware update could help to 5 version?
ltoth45 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47lk520 47 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 55lk520 55 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 42lk520 42 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 42lk450 42 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lg 32lk450 32 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Va Panel Hdtv , Lg 37lk450 37 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off