Official Samsung LNxxD630 Owner's Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 608 Old 10-16-2011, 01:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
benjamin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuamus View Post

1. I read something about the panel lottery for Samsung LCDs, and I understand that a lot of folks have the SQ02 version. I have a SN02 (yes.. SN not SQ)... what does that mean?

Previous SN versions were Samsung panels but from the looks of this parts list it appears to be a CMO panel.

Model..................Version........P/N ..................Part Description
LN40D630M3FXZA -SN02 -BN07-01037A -LCD Display Panel, V400H1-LHA, CM40H1A
benjamin2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 608 Old 10-17-2011, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
babuamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamin2 View Post

Previous SN versions were Samsung panels but from the looks of this parts list it appears to be a CMO panel.

Model..................Version........P/N ..................Part Description
LN40D630M3FXZA -SN02 -BN07-01037A -LCD Display Panel, V400H1-LHA, CM40H1A

Thanks for the clarification... too bad I got the "bad panel".
However since I have nothing to compare it to I am still very happy with my purchase!

I was confused with that SN instead of SQ, but I thought it started with S so it must be Samsung... those cheeky bastards! (it was also the only one available so I didn't really have a choice)

Happy viewing!
babuamus is offline  
post #153 of 608 Old 10-17-2011, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
benjamin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuamus View Post

Thanks for the clarification... too bad I got the "bad panel".
However since I have nothing to compare it to I am still very happy with my purchase!

Each panel has its strengths and weaknesses and some prefer CMOs.
If your panel is performing to your satisfaction I wouldnt worry about it.
If all SQ panels performed alike it might be a different story but like panels from other manufacturers there are also some poor performing SQ panels out there, possibly due to minor flaws, poor quality control, poor assembly or for some other reason.

Quote:


I was confused with that SN instead of SQ, but I thought it started with S so it must be Samsung.

That was the case in previous years but it looks like Samsung has changed it
this year. Will be interesting to see if other non-Samsung panels are
identified with S.
Its also possible that "tvserviceparts.com" where I got that info has the wrong panel description for SN02. Time will tell

At any rate if SN02 is a Samsung panel, its not a SQ.
I believe there isnt any difference between SQ panels whether they are labelled
SQ01, SQ02 or SQ10, however SQ, SS, SX etc and SN if it proves to be Samsung are all different panels.
benjamin2 is offline  
post #154 of 608 Old 10-19-2011, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
rporonga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mr interested: what other TVs did you compare the Samsung to? I am considering the LG 47LK520 and was wondering if you compared the Samsung to it.
rporonga is offline  
post #155 of 608 Old 10-20-2011, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
jtskier11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. I just picked up a 46D630 (SQ01 panel) a few nights ago. FAR cry better than the UN46D6000 I bought before. Clouding, flashlighting, overall crappy picture..... That thing was terrible! So far im really pleased with the 630. Even out of the box colors looked pretty good. I turned down the backlight a good bit and tweaked a few things.

Side note. Do any of you guys know wether or not one of the nicer glass stands will fit the D630 series LCD's? Like the one that the D6000 came with? My 630 came with the plain black plastic one and I thought about swapping it to the glass if it will work.
jtskier11 is offline  
post #156 of 608 Old 10-22-2011, 06:56 PM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife and I were watching This Old House on our Samsung and there is a lot of blur whenever the camera is panning. I checked the signal and it is 24hz. We have the Auto Motion setting turned off. Is there anything that can be done to improve the picture?
rta53 is offline  
post #157 of 608 Old 10-22-2011, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by rta53 View Post

My wife and I were watching This Old House on our Samsung and there is a lot of blur whenever the camera is panning. I checked the signal and it is 24hz. We have the Auto Motion setting turned off. Is there anything that can be done to improve the picture?

I'm watching a 24 Hz movie right now with AutoMotion set to CLEAR. No blurring, no jerky motion.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #158 of 608 Old 10-29-2011, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by rta53 View Post

My wife and I were watching This Old House on our Samsung and there is a lot of blur whenever the camera is panning.

Could it have been production quality?

I have occasionally noticed blurring during motion, and occasional jerkiness, on our LN46D630, and other times not. Most times not, actually. I just assumed it was due to production quality.

Jim
SEMIJim is offline  
post #159 of 608 Old 10-29-2011, 11:32 AM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought about that also. They do a lot of handheld camera work on TOH and maybe that is the issue. I turned AMP back on with the custom settings that others have suggested. Will see how it does tonight when we watch.
rta53 is offline  
post #160 of 608 Old 10-31-2011, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I think maybe I'll just leave the default settings.

I found the three different sets of suggestions for this TV and copied them into a file. Then I started comparing them and found big differences in recommendations. Too many. So I ran the file thru a filter and found, just on the "basic" settings:

Backlight: 10
Backlight: 4
Backlight: 7-10

Brightness: 44
Brightness: 47
Brightness: 60

Contrast: 60
Contrast: 94
Contrast: 95

DigitalNoiseFilter: Auto
DigitalNoiseFilter: Off

HDMIBlackLevel: Low
HDMIBlackLevel: Normal

MotionPlus: Custom, BlurReduction: 10, JudderReduction: 0
MotionPlus: Custom, BlurReduction: 10, JudderReduction: 2

MPEGNoiseFilter: Auto
MPEGNoiseFilter: Off

Sharpness: 0 for HD content, 20-30 for SD
Sharpness: 37
Sharpness: 5

Tint: G49R51
Tint: G49R51
Tint: Neutral (5050)

Jim
SEMIJim is offline  
post #161 of 608 Old 11-04-2011, 10:57 PM
Member
 
flentge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, just brought home a ln46d630 and love it so far. I have it hooked up to an original fat PS3 via HDMI. When I play the Disney WOW disc I cannot get contrast right, now matter how high I turn it. Am I missing something or is that how it is?

Thanks
Josh
flentge is offline  
post #162 of 608 Old 11-06-2011, 01:03 PM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How good/bad is the input lag on this model? I currently have a D550 (SQ panel) and thinking about upgrading to a D630 soon!
mknlb50 is offline  
post #163 of 608 Old 11-06-2011, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Maverickaim9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
@mknlb50 how is the lag on the d550 with SQ panel?
Maverickaim9 is offline  
post #164 of 608 Old 11-06-2011, 05:51 PM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverickaim9 View Post

@mknlb50 how is the lag on the d550 with SQ panel?

Haven't actually tested it using FlatpnalesHD's input lag test, but it's just as responsive as my Samsung TN panel monitor. The only negative thing I could say about this tv is that you can see the trailing in dark backgrounds, which is normal for an S-PVA panel (There is no trailing/smudging/smearing seen in PC mode).

I'm hoping that D630 is just as responsive as D550.
mknlb50 is offline  
post #165 of 608 Old 11-13-2011, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I took the 40D550 I just got as an extended warranty replacement for my cloudy Sony 40V3000 back to Best Buy and got the 40D630 with SQ01 panel and I will never look back. The 120hz on clear setting actually sharpened up the pq and there is no light bleed on edges, blacks are black, no clouding in the middle of screen, amazing contrast, and the colors pop just like a Samsung panel should be. The PQ is very comparable to my 52B750 with SS02 panel except the 40D630 seems to have slightly more contrast. I would highly recommend the 40D630 and there is no better set for under $1000.
hurtz777 is offline  
post #166 of 608 Old 11-20-2011, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
HybridShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I just purchased the Samsung LN46D630 and it has noticeable vertical banding during similar color panning shots such as skies and grays. Is this common with these models or should I exchange it?
HybridShadow is offline  
post #167 of 608 Old 11-21-2011, 06:30 PM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't noticed any of this on mine.
rta53 is offline  
post #168 of 608 Old 11-22-2011, 03:37 PM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this tv (SQ01) and have a question. Is it normal to see lines on the screen like you would see on a CRT tv? Because this is the first time I've seen something like this on a 1080p LCD...

I had D550 (SQ06) before and haven't noticed this. On the plus side, the PQ is much MUCH better. The difference between 630 and 550 is night and day.
mknlb50 is offline  
post #169 of 608 Old 11-23-2011, 10:50 PM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edge Enhancement doesn't do anything on this set. Is it like this with anyone else's?
mknlb50 is offline  
post #170 of 608 Old 11-25-2011, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknlb50 View Post

Edge Enhancement doesn't do anything on this set. Is it like this with anyone else's?

It did on our set. I think of it as "soap opera effect enhancement." I turned it off immediately.

Jim
SEMIJim is offline  
post #171 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Alpione's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got the LN46D630 coming today from Amazon. Can't wait! Will report results...

Adam
Alpione is offline  
post #172 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 08:34 AM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpione View Post

I've got the LN46D630 coming today from Amazon. Can't wait! Will report results...

Adam

I have been very pleased with this tv. The picture quality is excellent. Hope you enjoy yours too.
rta53 is offline  
post #173 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 08:37 AM
Member
 
mknlb50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to say this.

From what I've seen so far. D630's PQ beats the hell out of the supposedly better UND6000 LED sets.

On D630, watching TV(duh, it's a tv)/Movies are the best. However, with it having such a high input lag, Gaming/PC use is not recommended.

I'm hoping Samsung makes an affordable LED set that has a PQ just as good as this model next year with much lower input lag! Cheers.
mknlb50 is offline  
post #174 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 01:02 PM
Member
 
walshfever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ln40d630, and the picture is great, no complaints. I have noticed that the TV's Blur and Judder reduction cause the movie to skip every now and then. It is a very noticeable stutter. Even with Blur and Judder at 1 it still happens. Has anyone figured out how to reduce this without simply turning it off?
walshfever is offline  
post #175 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Alpione's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpione View Post

I've got the LN46D630 coming today from Amazon. Can't wait! Will report results...

Adam

Very early impressions - PQ is great, especially with Bluray. I'm coming from a 720p DLP set, though, so "anything" at 1080p is a big step up.

I'm almost overwhelmed by the number of controls I can use, so I'll need some time to figure that out.

A couple of questions off the bat:

1. I believe I'm seeing some frame drops when, for example, I'm watching ESPN and the ticker scrolls by. It's not always smooth like it should be. I obviously need to fool around with the AMP settings, but anyone else see that? Any suggestions?

2. For calibration, is there a tutorial somewhere for using the Samsung built-in test patterns in the menu? Are those patterns useful?

Adam
Alpione is offline  
post #176 of 608 Old 11-29-2011, 05:40 PM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like I do see some frame drops but I was thinking it was just related to recorded programs. Don't think I have noticed it with live tv.
rta53 is offline  
post #177 of 608 Old 11-30-2011, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Bikergofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mknlb50 View Post

I'm going to say this.

On D630, watching TV(duh, it's a tv)/Movies are the best. However, with it having such a high input lag, Gaming/PC use is not recommended.

.

I'm looking to try one of these, for mainly gaming and bluerays, any other users comment on their gaming performance? (PS3)
Also, I'm going to search this thread for panel types and the 'lottery' for when I pick it up, but can someone quickly explain what type to look for, thx.

And can any owners post what picture settings they use, I've got the unit at home but with default settings it looks much worse than the LG 42lk I had before. I do like the blackness of the screen, and there's no bleedthru from the corners, even low definition cable tv looks as good as my old crt. Now if only the colours can be tweaked to ISF quality.

Really hoping for some feedback.
Bikergofast is offline  
post #178 of 608 Old 12-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Newbie
 
dcnaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I received the LN40D630 by fedex on Thursday. Set it up with HD cable box, DVD player (upscaling) and Xbox360 all connected with HDMI. From the first time I set it up till now when I first turn on the set it will not recognize any devices connected via HDMI. It states "no signal" even though it's plugged in and turned on. Ultimately I have found the set will recognize the devices after the TV is turned on and off 4 times. I contacted Samsung service which was no help. I'm setting up a return to the seller but that is a pain and I don't want to have the technician come for a brand new TV. Anyone have any thoughts on a resolution or what might be causing this? I have had these cables for awhile and they were all connected to a SONY and worked with no problems the same day the Samsung arrived. Thanks!
dcnaka is offline  
post #179 of 608 Old 12-04-2011, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Bikergofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well dcnaka, from my limited experience with hdmi devices, and owning this tv for less than a week, I'd say you got a bad unit. My 46" screen detects both hdmi and component devices first time, every time.

Now, for the bad, after playing with settings for the weekend, I simply cannot get it looking as good as I think it should, (even after trying the suggestions on the first few pages of this thread [thanks guys]), and now there's even a brighter bar across the screen right in the middle, about 1.5inches wide, that's only bright enough to see when playing a game on ps3 and the screen is very dark. Anyone watching tv would probably not notice it. I don't think I'm keeping this unit, and may even switch it for another LG.

edit: so here's someone talking about a banding problem with certain Samsung's, pretty much convinced me to try the Sony EX500
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ght=kdl46ex500
Bikergofast is offline  
post #180 of 608 Old 12-05-2011, 04:34 AM
Member
 
rta53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you refer to banding, would you see it, let's say, when you turned on just the tv with no signal? Or does it need a video source AND a black screen?
rta53 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Ln46d630 46 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv Black , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off