The Official Sony EX720 Owner's Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 2045 Old 02-13-2012, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
campb292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to change the menu color? I hate how it shifts from yellow to white to grey when editing picture settings.
campb292 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 2045 Old 02-16-2012, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
what's the difference from EX to NX?

Panny 55St60
Panny 55St50(gaming)
Sony 55 NX720
Samsung 42 Hpt(Plasma)
Panny 32Viera LCD (TX)
Klipsch surround
Denon HDMI Receiver
Bose Solo
Playstation4(BF4,Madden,Ghosts,NFS,KZ,FIFA)
XBox360
Ipad 1 & 2
Iphone 5S
RicFlair is offline  
post #1563 of 2045 Old 02-17-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
G.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Safety Glass NX...
G.B. is offline  
post #1564 of 2045 Old 02-17-2012, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
gfbuchanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post

what's the difference from EX to NX?

Glossy Gorilla Glass instead of a matte screen. This gives the TV a different look as the glass runs from edge to edge, covering the frame.

Also Local Dimming, which the EX doesn't have.

That is at least according to the Sony web site. I suggest you check out the Sony site to see what they say.
gfbuchanan is offline  
post #1565 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 06:10 AM
Member
 
kb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a 55EX723 from Best Buy. I put the stand together and after securing the TV to the stand I noticed the TV tilts to the right. I took it apart and tried again. The same thing. Anyone else have this problem with the 55 inch? Terrible design for a stand for a TV this heavy. I just dread
taking this apart and hauling it back to Best Buy for a replacement.
kb11 is offline  
post #1566 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 02:52 PM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mostly watch SD and HD TV shows and football matchs. I tried a lot of calibration settings but I did not satisfied and finally I use this settings:

-General Scene
Picture Mode: Custom
Backlight: 5
Picture: 94
Brightness: 52
Color: 55
Hue: 0
Color Temperature: Warm 1
Sharpness: 15
Noise Reduction: Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Motionflow: Standart (for sports: smooth) (still some motion blur. CLEAR or CLEAR PLUS does not work.)
CineMotion: Auto 1

--Advanced Settings menu--
Black Corrector: Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer: Off
Gamma: 0
Auto Light Limiter: Off
Clear White: Off
Live Color: Off
Detail Enhancer: Off
Edge Enhancer: Off
opua is offline  
post #1567 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
campb292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kb11 View Post

I noticed the TV tilts to the right. I took it apart and tried again. The same thing. Anyone else have this problem with the 55 inch? Terrible design for a stand for a TV this heavy. I just dread
taking this apart and hauling it back to Best Buy for a replacement.

I have the 40 and when it came it tilted right also. It is irrelevant for me, as I wall mount. Sony has really low QC standards these days - spend the 5 minutes unscrewing it (dread?) and take that baby back if you must use the stand. Just remember to plug your nose when you drive past the ND campus.
campb292 is offline  
post #1568 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
campb292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opua View Post

I tried a lot of calibration settings but I did not satisfied and finally I use this settings:

I am coming off a XBR4 and XBR9 and found the picture on this EX720 to be really mediocre. I usually have buddy and his gadgets calibrate my TV's and couldn't get this one close to color accurate. I can get red and blue close but nothing will make green consistent. For the value type TV it is, it is just acceptable.
campb292 is offline  
post #1569 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 04:20 PM
 
alec32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004HYG9YG/ref=mp_s_a_1?qid=1329697006&sr=8-1

Just wondering if this is a good price for the 60"? Thanks!
alec32 is offline  
post #1570 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 04:39 PM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by campb292 View Post

I am coming off a XBR4 and XBR9 and found the picture on this EX720 to be really mediocre. I usually have buddy and his gadgets calibrate my TV's and couldn't get this one close to color accurate. I can get red and blue close but nothing will make green consistent. For the value type TV it is, it is just acceptable.



please share your settings
opua is offline  
post #1571 of 2045 Old 02-19-2012, 04:44 PM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m.sharp View Post

Using the Disney WOW Blu ray I came up with

Backlight 3
Picture 97
Brightness 52
Color 51
Hue G1
Color temp Warm 1
Sharpness 15
Gamma -1

Power saving off
Light sensor off

TV is in my basement




I will try hue: g1 and gamma: -1

thanks.
opua is offline  
post #1572 of 2045 Old 02-21-2012, 12:10 PM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that if I watch with angle, all colors are washed out.

but,

Watch with angle on this TV, does anyone notice "noisy" image?

something like that:
http://www.gris.informatik.tu-darmst..._025_noisy.png
opua is offline  
post #1573 of 2045 Old 02-21-2012, 03:05 PM
Member
 
SweViking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opua View Post

I know that if I watch with angle, all colors are washed out.

but,

Watch with angle on this TV, does anyone notice "noisy" image?

something like that:
http://www.gris.informatik.tu-darmst..._025_noisy.png

With 2d picture 1 meters away..yes longer distance no! Hd tv/blueR no!

I really love this set! One minus though, i notice some dirty screen when I have a white bright picture and when watching for ex ishockey...any cure for this issue??
SweViking is offline  
post #1574 of 2045 Old 02-23-2012, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
campb292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opua View Post

please share your settings

Sorry for the delay - I hadn't visited in a few days. Here they are - keep in mind this isn't going for calibrated accuracy since I couldn't properly calibrate because of the green issue. This is a balanced brightness for a room that gets a lot of light in the morning hours and a moderate to minimal in the evening. At night it usually isn't watched but when it is I watch with large lights on in the room. Here are my current settings:

-Picture Adjustments menu--
Scene mode: General
Picture Mode: Custom
Backlight: 5
Picture: 95
Brightness: 50
Color: 58
Hue: G2
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Sharpness: 50
Noise Reduction: Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Motionflow: Standard
CineMotion: Auto 2

--Advanced Settings menu--
Black Corrector: Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer: Medium
Gamma: 0
Auto Light Limiter: Medium (I keep switching this from between off and med)
Clear White: Off
Live Color: Off (sometimes I move to Low)
Detail Enhancer: Off
Edge Enhancer: Off


--White Balance menu--
R-Gain: 0
G-Gain: 0
B-Gain: 0
R-Bias: -2
G-Bias: 0
B-Bias: -3

HDMI Dynamic settings ALL to Limited (Auto seems to default to limited).
Eco power savings are OFF.

Right now, I am still not thrilled but am learning to accept the set. I need to get a soundbar to put by it because a full 5.1/7.1 setup isn't practical for this location. I find the sound to be pitiful and disturbingly bad. I never expect much out of stock speakers in a flat panel, but these are really bad. I don't think this is something specific to this set; I have heard the XBR-46HX929 sound and it was pretty bad too. I just don't think speakers that face down/rear inside something only 1 inch thick can sound good. If I watch the TV for a couple days without visiting my plasma downstairs, it looks decent and I get used to it. If I visit my plasma I am brought back to reality.
campb292 is offline  
post #1575 of 2045 Old 02-23-2012, 03:39 PM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good settings..

but.. does color temperature (6500 K) damage with LIVE COLOR setting?
opua is offline  
post #1576 of 2045 Old 02-24-2012, 08:57 AM
Member
 
redrum801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got an offer from Sony for my 60" 60A2020 , $1375 plus sales tax for the EX720 . Not sure if I should do it , seems like there's alot of mixed feelings on this set on this thread ... Is the 3d really that bad on the 2011 Sonys ?? Got this offer on Facebook they won't budge , saying the NX is out of stock and there saving the HX for people who had bigger screens , smh
redrum801 is offline  
post #1577 of 2045 Old 02-24-2012, 02:41 PM
Member
 
3DFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrum801 View Post

Got an offer from Sony for my 60" 60A2020 , $1375 plus sales tax for the EX720 . Not sure if I should do it , seems like there's alot of mixed feelings on this set on this thread ... Is the 3d really that bad on the 2011 Sonys ?? Got this offer on Facebook they won't budge , saying the NX is out of stock and there saving the HX for people who had bigger screens , smh

Stay away from the EX's if your into 3D!! They ARE the worst performer. Spend your $$$$ on a Panny man.

Here is my current gear: Onkyo TX-NR809 Receiver, CarverTFM-35 Front Amp, Sony EX55-720 3D TV, Oppo BDP-103 3D Blu-Ray Player, Panasonic DMB-BD50 Blu-Ray Player (for Cinavia encrusted copy playback), Polk RTI-12 Fronts, Polk LSiM703 Rears, Polk DSW Pro600, Older Infinity Center.
3DFREAK is offline  
post #1578 of 2045 Old 02-24-2012, 06:51 PM
Member
 
nic66718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your intent is to watch 3D blu rays,this tv for the price is certainly enjoyable. Stay away from the cable 3D channels(I have Comcast) The picture really sucks. I have watched so many blu rays with my wife that we look foward to the next 3D release. My opinion only and if you're not satisfied, hopfully return. Mine was a replacement for a 60XRB and this tv was a fair exchange.
nic66718 is offline  
post #1579 of 2045 Old 02-25-2012, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
campb292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by opua View Post

good settings..

but.. does color temperature (6500 K) damage with LIVE COLOR setting?

Yes, live color oversaturates green quite a bit.
campb292 is offline  
post #1580 of 2045 Old 02-25-2012, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ingramba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas, East of the Pecos!
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DFREAK View Post

Stay away from the EX's if your into 3D!! They ARE the worst performer. Spend your $$$$ on a Panny man.


+1, Thats exactly what I did. I got a 40EX720 mainly for 3D. Very bad in the 3D department, nothing but a double image mess. TV was nice otherwise. I took it back and got a new Panny 42GT25 (closeout) Plasma and I am in 3D heaven.
ingramba is offline  
post #1581 of 2045 Old 02-26-2012, 05:38 AM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"adv. contrast enhancer" and "auto light limiter" are good for SD sources?


I guess Adv. Contrast Enhancer produce deep blacks without losing details? Is that right?
opua is offline  
post #1582 of 2045 Old 02-27-2012, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Briant73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick questions (I hope)

1) Does the ex720 optical out send 5.1 sound out correctly? I am thinking about using it for sound back to my AVR instead of the ARC channel.

2) Is there a way to increase the buffer/memory on the TV? I noticed on my kindle fire episodes I watch through amazon loads most of the episode in memory but watching using the ex720 amazon app it only load a couple minutes ahead worth of the video.
Briant73 is offline  
post #1583 of 2045 Old 02-28-2012, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
topher1078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had problems with the strength of the TV IR receiver for the remote? I've got the TV set up in an office conference room with florescent lighting. The remote doesn't work with the lights on (nor does an older Sony remote) yet it works fine with the lights off. Other TVs and devices work just fine in adjacent offices with similar lighting conditions.
topher1078 is offline  
post #1584 of 2045 Old 03-03-2012, 07:42 AM
Member
 
opua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for my bad english.

Can anyone send me some 1080p football match trailers or something else for test MOTION BLUR and DIRTY SCREEN EFFECT?

I google it but I didnt find. I need 1080p and left-right camera panning.

I will call sony techinical service and I need that kind of clips for prove DIRTY SCREEN EFFECT issue.
opua is offline  
post #1585 of 2045 Old 03-04-2012, 05:39 PM
Member
 
redrum801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the wireless adapter UWA-BR100 the only solution for this set , is there a cheaper or even better alternative to it ??
redrum801 is offline  
post #1586 of 2045 Old 03-05-2012, 03:14 AM
Member
 
Gregck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got the 46ex720 from Amazon for $650 in mid February. Great set, my first 1080p set so it was a big improvement over my 720 LG. 3D sucks as everyone here knows, but SD/2D is great. My only gripe is that my set emits a very feint high pitched sound (very very quiet), could this be from a setting or is my TV defective? Doesnt bother me too much because my computer is always on, and it's much louder than this high pitched sound. It almost sounds like an alarm clock, and it's definitely the TV. or i'm crazy..
Gregck is offline  
post #1587 of 2045 Old 03-07-2012, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
hassand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a 40ex720 and i have 2 questions. These questions might have been answered in the thread earlier but i could not find any relevant posts using the search button. Sorry in advance if they have been answered before.

I am planning on buying a 5.1 sound system which connects through the optical output of the tv. Can i get sound from this system with other hdmi inputs such as the ps3 or the pc when the sound system is only connected to the tv. Or should i plug it to the ps3 when im using the ps3 or to the pc when im using the pc? Just to be clear, i want all sound to come out of the 5.1 sound system regardless of the input(ps3, digital satellite decoder, cable tv, pc-hdmi)

Is it possible for me to use the play/pause/stop buttons on the tv remote to control the pc media player just as i can control the ps3 with the tv remote?
hassand is offline  
post #1588 of 2045 Old 03-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
wez97f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassand View Post

Can i get sound from this system with other hdmi inputs such as the ps3 or the pc when the sound system is only connected to the tv.

Yes, I do this now, provided you set the TV output to Audio Out it will pass the 5.1 from the ps3 HDMI through the TV optical into the reciever. if you do not change the TV output to Audio Out in the speakers setting it will pass a stereo signal through.

Don't know on the other question put I would assume if you can control the PC over HDMI then yes.
wez97f is offline  
post #1589 of 2045 Old 03-09-2012, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
DrGonzo_42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to express how much I am enjoying this TV (40EX720). I even enjoy watching 3D. This is my first 3D TV and by no means am I an expert, but have not seen much of the issues that people have discussed except for on Uncharted 3. I just watched a 'Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas' this past weekend and I thought it looked great. I have also watched 'Clash of the Titans 3D' with no problems. The picture on this TV looks way better than my 2010 55" Toshiba LED.

Anyway, I do have just one question; why is it when I turn on the TV via the power button (on the TV) that the red standby light goes off and I have to press the button once more for the TV to actually turn on? Furthermore, when I power off the TV via the same button the TV turns off, but the red standby light does not come on. However, if I turn the TV on via remote it powers on with only one press of the button and powering off only requires one press of the remote power button and the red standby light comes on? I hope that wasn't too confusing.
DrGonzo_42 is offline  
post #1590 of 2045 Old 03-09-2012, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
hassand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGonzo_42 View Post

Anyway, I do have just one question; why is it when I turn on the TV via the power button (on the TV) that the red standby light goes off and I have to press the button once more for the TV to actually turn on? Furthermore, when I power off the TV via the same button the TV turns off, but the red standby light does not come on. However, if I turn the TV on via remote it powers on with only one press of the button and powering off only requires one press of the remote power button and the red standby light comes on? I hope that wasn't too confusing.

The situation you're explaining is actually very common among TVs.

The button on the tv is not a stand by button, it actually cuts off the power to the tv. For example, when you press the "power" button on the remote it actually gets into stand by mode and the red light stays on. When you press the button on the tv, no power circulates in the tv anymore therefore no light appears.
the reason for this is:
after turning off the tv with the remote, to be able to turn it on again, the infra-red sensor on the tv has to be running so that it can recognize the signal from the remote. if you cut the power off using the side button during the stand by mode, you wont be able to turn on the tv with the remote.

so, in one sentence; the power button on the remote is a stand by button however the power button on the tv is a power button. thats why youre getting different results

i hope i wasnt too confusing
hassand is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Kdl40ex720 40 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv , Sony Bravia Kdl55ex720 55 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv Black , Sony Bravia Kdl60ex720 60 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv Black , Sony Bravia Kdl46ex720 46 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv Black , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off