Problem with Vizio VO47LFHDTV10A /Backlight inverter? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
webdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with Vizio VO47LFHDTV10A /Backlight inverter?

I was watching TV last night when it started making a high pitched buzzing noise and the screen began to flicker and darken. I have a Vizio VO47LFHDTV10A. Power cycling and unplugging did nothing. I decided to take it apart and see if I could figure out what the problem was despite knowing very little regarding TVs. I found the part that was making the noise. There is one of these boards on each side of the TV. The part number listed on it is 6632L-0392A KUBNKM133A Rev 1.0; it is an LG part. By searching I find that it is a Backlight inverter Master.

Removing the power from this board stops the noise, but also prevents the display from lighting at all. So I thought, this must be the problem. I decided to unplug the opposing side, while leaving the left side plugged in. This also stopped the noise, but this time the display lit up and displayed the picture, but only was backlit only on the side that was still plugged in.

My question is...am I right in assuming that this left side board is going out? Could I just replace this piece and have my TV back in working condition? Let me know if there is anything I need to elaborate on. I have taken pictures and am able to supply them if it would be helpful.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone is able to give me!
webdoggy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
webdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upon further looking, I see the other side is marked Slave. That would answer why unplugging the left side (master) would disable the display completely, while the right side (slave) would only disable that half of the backlight.

Would less of a pull on the master board stop the sound and flickering?
webdoggy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 12:41 PM
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 146


Try a Master Reset before thinking of a hdwe solution?

With TV OFF, press and hold both Source/Input and Vol- buttons on the TV (not the remote). Hold for 5-10 sec.

This works on my 47" Vizio LCD and it should be the same for all?


PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
webdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried holding both input and vol - buttons. I didn't see anything happen. Does the TV make any notification to show that it was successfully done?
webdoggy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-30-2011, 01:21 PM
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 146
No indication on mine, but it did clear a problem I had. Called Vizio which gave me that reset procedure that worked. Vizio must be OFF when doing this.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-30-2011, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
webdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was off when I tried it. Even tried it on. Went to Reset all Settings in Menu. Didn't seem to make a difference either. Thanks for the help.
webdoggy is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-15-2011, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
webdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Replaced both backlight inverters. Didn't do the trick. I'm at a loss.
webdoggy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-18-2011, 04:45 AM
Newbie
 
youstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sounds like a power supply issue check your caps on the main power board if the voltage is low they whine
youstop is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-03-2015, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the same issue, I am guessing this is a warranty issue?

Anyone get a replacement due to this?
f_399 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-05-2015, 10:18 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Thread moved.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off