XVT323SV - problem (image tears) on one channel - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-10-2011, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
awaters2879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It seems to me this problem is due to the channel and not the set, but it is odd.

I have basic comcast cable in chattanooga, tn. 2-13? (my primary use is streaming netflix/pandora etc.)

I used to have a 22" LG w/ a qam tuner in it and wanted to bring that shelf down and replace w/ a larger tv closer to eye level in that room. So I chose the XVT323SV. It worked just fine out of the box, and even picked up a few more digital channels than the LG. Namely the biggest surprise channel was 32-5 (espn). I should not get espn, but it was an interesting surprise. Anyway that channel's reception was fine for over a week. Suddenly yesterday morning the channel began displaying pixelation. These pixelations/tears in the image were worse when there was a moving camera/image. This only happens on that channel, and the sound is fine. Now considering I should not really receive this channel I can't really blame it on comcast or the tv, but I am just wondering why the channel is suddenly worse.

I tried unplugging the tv for a bit and restoring settings.
I tried moving it downstairs to see if a different jack made any progress.

Any explanation for the sudden change?

Perhaps this thread should go in another forum.

Thanks for any tips you share.
awaters2879 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-11-2011, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If it's just the one channel it's definitely not the tv but the signal, probably comcast is overcompressing that channel a lot.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-11-2011, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
awaters2879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks steve. hopefully it will improve, but at the same rate i do not really pay for that channel. just oddly convenient that the one channel i miss from 'regular' cable came through.
awaters2879 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-11-2011, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is this a QAM channel? Sometimes I feel the cable co just get that signal from its own aerial, then stuff it all into their own coax then deliver them to us, with all the delectable consequences of OTA.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-11-2011, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
awaters2879's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
bob, it might be. i searched around and found a pretty good source.

if i visit here

http://www.silicondust.com/support/channels/

and type in my zip then choose comcast cable, then scroll down i can find this;

qam256 32-5 UNKNOWN 480x480i 4:3

(with a picture of espn's standard broadcast screen of upcoming stories etc.)
awaters2879 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off