Official Sony HX820 Owner's Thread (46HX820, 55HX820) - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2584 Old 08-26-2011, 09:10 PM
yel
Member
 
yel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks I just got my HX820 55 delivered few days back and so far I am in awe with the pic quality..., have watched Dark knight, Avatar and Megamind. However when I connected my ps3 today....I noticed a bright patch of light at the bottom left hand corner (enclosed pic). I am not sure if this is defective TV or just needs some calibaration. Please do share your views/ccomments/suggestions
LL
yel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2584 Old 08-26-2011, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yel View Post

Folks I just got my HX820 55 delivered few days back and so far I am in awe with the pic quality..., have watched Dark knight, Avatar and Megamind. However when I connected my ps3 today....I noticed a bright patch of light at the bottom left hand corner (enclosed pic). I am not sure if this is defective TV or just needs some calibaration. Please do share your views/ccomments/suggestions

I don't see the spot. The XMB is naturally a little uneven. Try a different theme. Maybe a dark background and take a pic?

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #273 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by yel View Post

Folks I just got my HX820 55 delivered few days back and so far I am in awe with the pic quality..., have watched Dark knight, Avatar and Megamind. However when I connected my ps3 today....I noticed a bright patch of light at the bottom left hand corner (enclosed pic). I am not sure if this is defective TV or just needs some calibaration. Please do share your views/ccomments/suggestions

Hello. Congrats on the new TV

I can't really see the "bright spot" in this pic. But I also agree with Aguayonex LEDs are "naturally a little uneven."

Also, when I view the PS3 home screen on my HX820 I always see uneven brightness and shades of color as the PS3 "wave" graphic crosses the screen.


However, if it really looks odd to you, perhaps try Adjusting TV backlight and/or brightness lower.

BTW are you using High Speed HDMI cable?

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #274 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 06:34 AM
yel
Member
 
yel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, connected via Monster HDMI cable ...says it supports 10.2 gbps+ speed. btw, thanks for the quick responses....will take a pic with different image and see if the spot is similar.
yel is offline  
post #275 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
kuzco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got this TV in last night from UPS (Last night is about 9:30 PM) set it up watched a few minutes of it, looked nicely colored and deep blacks. Do I need to set it up (calibrate) it anymore than what was already setup by Sony? Is there a difference in PQ if I do calibrate it? thanks. BTW: Have original PS3 (HDMI), DirecTV (HDMI), 360 Slim (HDMI), and Nintendo Wii (A/V). all plugged in.

Oh and one other question...I think I currently have a HDMI cable version 1.3 from my DTV to my TV but my TV can detect the 3D signal from my DTV box and my DTV box can detect 3D from my TV, do I need to get HDMI 1.4 for good quality?

thanks.
kuzco is offline  
post #276 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzco View Post

I got this TV in last night from UPS (Last night is about 9:30 PM) set it up watched a few minutes of it, looked nicely colored and deep blacks. Do I need to set it up (calibrate) it anymore than what was already setup by Sony? Is there a difference in PQ if I do calibrate it? thanks. BTW: Have original PS3 (HDMI), DirecTV (HDMI), 360 Slim (HDMI), and Nintendo Wii (A/V). all plugged in.

Oh and one other question...I think I currently have a HDMI cable version 1.3 from my DTV to my TV but my TV can detect the 3D signal from my DTV box and my DTV box can detect 3D from my TV, do I need to get HDMI 1.4 for good quality?

thanks.

Kuzco--I think you are going to have a lot of fun with this TV and all those devices you've got hooked up

Here's a reference for the HDMI cables on wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI Scroll down to the HDMI version chart--you will see according to Wiki author 1.4 is the only cable that supports ARC ( Audio Return Channel). So if you ever hook up an external A/V receiver or sound bar, "The Audio Return Channel in HDMI 1.4 enables a TV, via a single HDMI cable, to send audio data “upstream” to an A/V receiver or surround audio controller, increasing user flexibility and eliminating the need for any separate S/PDIF audio connection." Here's a link to illustrate ARC capability http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/arc.aspx

As far as all your other components, HDMI 1.3 a, b, or c should be okay for 3D and everything else. Seems like you are all set there with the cables you are already using

BTW--the inexpensive HDMI cables work just a well as those other expensive HDMI cables--so don't let any marketing or sales people convince you otherwise. As long as they are high-speed 1.3 a, b or c, or 1.4 that's all that really matters.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #277 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
kuzco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post

Kuzco--I think you are going to have a lot of fun with this TV and all those devices you've got hooked up

As far as all your other components, HDMI 1.3 a, b, or c should be okay for 3D and everything else. Seems like you are all set there with the cables you are already using

BTW--the inexpensive HDMI cables work just a well as those other expensive HDMI cables--so don't let any marketing or sales people convince you otherwise. As long as they are high-speed 1.3 a, b or c, or 1.4 that's all that really matters.

Thanks.

I've been looking for Vudu so I can watch 3D movies on my TV, doesn't seem like its on it, but, I'm not entirely sure, so I am curious if anyone knows if Vudu is on it, and if so, where would I find it? thanks.
kuzco is offline  
post #278 of 2584 Old 08-27-2011, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzco View Post

Thanks.

I've been looking for Vudu so I can watch 3D movies on my TV, doesn't seem like its on it, but, I'm not entirely sure, so I am curious if anyone knows if Vudu is on it, and if so, where would I find it? thanks.

Vudu was not included on the HX820. However,you can get it on the PS3--you just have to download the app to the PS3 from the PS3 network.

Qriocity, Sony's streaming video app (included on the HX820) has both free 3D content and 3D movies for rent. Also check out Sony's 3D experience ( several free 3D clips) on the video app menu as well. Enjoy!

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #279 of 2584 Old 08-28-2011, 12:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up the new Sony 3D kit with the Chronicles of Narnia and 2 pairs of their newest glasses.

I have to say, these things are down right rubbish. I have never put something so uncomfortable on my head. I am so thankful I have a pair of the older BR100's or I would be done with 3D. They are so completely narrow on the back of my head even my wife (smaller person with small head) can't wear them without getting visible dents in her scalp.

I am shocked that Sony can put these cheap flimsy pieces of crap out for sale when Samsung is offering like 4 ultra comfort choices.

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #280 of 2584 Old 08-28-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
seeverett40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys....Has anyone hooked this TV up to your PC. Is their any way to do this without
a D-sub 15 cable. Any help would be appreciated...
seeverett40 is offline  
post #281 of 2584 Old 08-28-2011, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found a stuck/dead pixel. It appears to be red and stuck, but looks sort of black'ish on other other colors.


Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #282 of 2584 Old 08-28-2011, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mah702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeverett40 View Post

Hey Guys....Has anyone hooked this TV up to your PC. Is their any way to do this without
a D-sub 15 cable. Any help would be appreciated...

It depends on which connections your PC has. You can connect it to the TV via HDMI or use a DVI to HDMI adapter if your PC supports one of those.
mah702 is offline  
post #283 of 2584 Old 08-28-2011, 08:07 PM
Member
 
seeverett40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mah702 View Post

It depends on which connections your PC has. You can connect it to the TV via HDMI or use a DVI to HDMI adapter if your PC supports one of those.

So, I don't have to follow the directions that the imanual gives? I can connect it to any input?
seeverett40 is offline  
post #284 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquayonex View Post

Just found a stuck/dead pixel. It appears to be red and stuck, but looks sort of black'ish on other other colors.


I was able to get rid of most of it with some pressure, however I can see a faint mark only at certain angles (not dead-on.)

I've tried tapping it, thinking it was dust but I have no idea. In any case, you can't see it unless your 2-3 feet from the screen and REALLY looking for it. I mean, I have a hard time trying to find it.

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #285 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Mr-Homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this tv (55) for about 2 months now. Pretty happy with it. I have noticed some unevenness with the brightness as you go across the screen (kinda like a fog in some spots). Not terribly noticeable and I have spent no time at all tweaking the settings, so I'm not too concerned.

However, last night I fired you ModNation Races on the ps3. When driving around in a constant circle, I see the scenery 'stutter' every now and then. I really haven't noticed this before. But now it's all I can focus on. I tried the game on a 46" sony I have and it's as smooth as silk. However, there is one difference-- the 46" has a ps3 slim hooked up to it and my hx820 (55) has the 60gb original launch model.

Anyone know if there is a difference between the slim and fat models of the ps3? Differences that any affect speed or screen rendering?

I guess my next step is to swap the ps3s and see if the slim 'stutters' on the 820. Just thought I would ask before I went to that trouble (tearing these apart out of the entertainment centers is not easy).
Mr-Homer is offline  
post #286 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Homer View Post

I have had this tv (55) for about 2 months now. Pretty happy with it. I have noticed some unevenness with the brightness as you go across the screen (kinda like a fog in some spots). Not terribly noticeable and I have spent no time at all tweaking the settings, so I'm not too concerned.

However, last night I fired you ModNation Races on the ps3. When driving around in a constant circle, I see the scenery 'stutter' every now and then. I really haven't noticed this before. But now it's all I can focus on. I tried the game on a 46" sony I have and it's as smooth as silk. However, there is one difference-- the 46" has a ps3 slim hooked up to it and my hx820 (55) has the 60gb original launch model.

Anyone know if there is a difference between the slim and fat models of the ps3? Differences that any affect speed or screen rendering?

I guess my next step is to swap the ps3s and see if the slim 'stutters' on the 820. Just thought I would ask before I went to that trouble (tearing these apart out of the entertainment centers is not easy).

Sony's official answer is that there is no difference in specs. However, reality is that the fat models are older, have been used more and thus have more dust in them so they tend to be a little buggier. They also use a larger, hotter and less efficient processor. So I'm not at all surprised by what you noticed. I'm a huge gamer and have noticed that, although this TV looks awesome, it does require so extra work if you really want to remove input lag.

ModNation is a great game BTW! Really wish I didn't trade my copy in a few months ago.

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #287 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Mr-Homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquayonex View Post

.... I'm a huge gamer and have noticed that, although this TV looks awesome, it does require so extra work if you really want to remove input lag.

Any suggestions? I just selected Game Scene and saw that all the extra processing stuff was turned off. I thought that was the best I could do for gaming.
Mr-Homer is offline  
post #288 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
isrararrafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just bought a 5.1 Sony speaker system SA-vs310 I think it's called. With two tall front speakers. Had to buy a seperate receiver tho since it didn't come with any... Sony Str-dh820. And so far LOVING it. Btw..got the speaker system for 200 bucks in bb while amazon had it for 350. So great deal there. But got the receiver from amazon..a 70 dollar save. Overall a 500 dollar purchase.

P.s. I ain't no audiophile and I am glad for that. Will post some pics tomorrow morning
isrararrafi is offline  
post #289 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Mr-Homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Homer View Post


I guess my next step is to swap the ps3s and see if the slim 'stutters' on the 820. Just thought I would ask before I went to that trouble (tearing these apart out of the entertainment centers is not easy).

So I did that. No difference. So it's not the ps3 fat vs slim. However, I did look close on the 46". It does seem that there is a little jerking. Wondering if the size difference makes it more noticeable.
Mr-Homer is offline  
post #290 of 2584 Old 08-29-2011, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Homer View Post

Any suggestions? I just selected Game Scene and saw that all the extra processing stuff was turned off. I thought that was the best I could do for gaming.

It does turn everything off, but the picture looks like crap in my opinion.

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #291 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 08:17 AM
Member
 
mystic54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquayonex View Post

It does turn everything off, but the picture looks like crap in my opinion.

So what did you turn on to improve the picture but make sure lag didn't increase? I'm a huge gamer as well and would love to get my games looking their best. Currently I play a lot of COD:BO and Borderlands so I cover a wide range of graphics, necessary input time, etc.

Q9450 @ 3.4GHZ| Asus P5Q Pro| EVGA GTX 280| Corsair Dominator (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066| Corsair 620HX| Vista Ultimate x64| Antec P182
mystic54 is offline  
post #292 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by isrararrafi View Post

Just bought a 5.1 Sony speaker system SA-vs310 I think it's called. With two tall front speakers. Had to buy a seperate receiver tho since it didn't come with any... Sony Str-dh820. And so far LOVING it. Btw..got the speaker system for 200 bucks in bb while amazon had it for 350. So great deal there. But got the receiver from amazon..a 70 dollar save. Overall a 500 dollar purchase.

P.s. I ain't no audiophile and I am glad for that. Will post some pics tomorrow morning

Wow! You are on your way to a very nice surround sound environment to go along with that fantastic TV. I think you can go beyond 7.1 with STR-DH820--if you include a second sub-woofer ( one SW in front, one SW in back).

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #293 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic54 View Post

So what did you turn on to improve the picture but make sure lag didn't increase? I'm a huge gamer as well and would love to get my games looking their best. Currently I play a lot of COD:BO and Borderlands so I cover a wide range of graphics, necessary input time, etc.

I just go with the same settings I use elsewhere. Honestly, the lag has not affected my KDR at all. But I'm pretty mediocre (1.0 KDR.)

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #294 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 11:00 AM
Member
 
mystic54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquayonex View Post

I just go with the same settings I use elsewhere. Honestly, the lag has not affected my KDR at all. But I'm pretty mediocre (1.0 KDR.)

Like your latest settings on page 9 for example?

Not sure if I have just been playing worse lately or if there was a tiny increase in lag between my Samsung 32LNA550 and my HX820 but my KDR has definitely been going down as of late (3.4 to 3.35). So I will definitely have to tread lightly when adding in the processing options. Which one do you think made the most difference in PQ once enabled?

Q9450 @ 3.4GHZ| Asus P5Q Pro| EVGA GTX 280| Corsair Dominator (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066| Corsair 620HX| Vista Ultimate x64| Antec P182
mystic54 is offline  
post #295 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic54 View Post

Like your latest settings on page 9 for example?

Not sure if I have just been playing worse lately or if there was a tiny increase in lag between my Samsung 32LNA550 and my HX820 but my KDR has definitely been going down as of late (3.4 to 3.35). So I will definitely have to tread lightly when adding in the processing options. Which one do you think made the most difference in PQ once enabled?

Yes, the ones on page 9 are my settings. Except I have switched to "clear" vs. "standard" under Motionflow.

They all impacted the PQ (improved it), which is why I keep them on. Plus, my primary source of TV/Movie is Hulu Plus, Netflix and Vudu. Both my Xbox 360 and PS3 hook directly into my receiver via HDMI and the reciever sends one HDMI to the TV. I switch back and forth on the receiver between Xbox and PS3 depending on what I'm doing. So that means the TV really only has one active input and the idea of fiddling around with my TV settings every time I watch Netflix, or play CoD, or watch a Bluray annoys me so I went with one all around "best picture" setting and stick with it. To be honest, the lag really doesn't impact anything. I still have good games and bad games and don't feel anything at all. I think if someone really cared about lag and gaming they would have their concern better spent on making sure they have a super high speed internet connect and they keep in wired, not wireless. That makes more of a difference than anything IMO.

But...., if you really want to limit the lag, turn off the MotionFlow and CineMotion. These two will account for most of the lag you'll experience in gaming. The subtle adjustments (detail enhancement, black corrector, clear white, etc.) won't really have any impact whatsoever. Of course, the downside is that believe it or not, they really do help smooth out the picture which in video games includes A LOT of fast movement.

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
post #296 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
isrararrafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The new ht system

the surround speakers...
isrararrafi is offline  
post #297 of 2584 Old 08-30-2011, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by isrararrafi View Post

The new ht system

the surround speakers...

Looking good!

This weekend I had the opportunity to watch an epic 2 disk blu-ray movie Director John Woo's "Red Cliff " (Mandarin: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 w/ English subtitles). This movie looks and sounds GREAT--maybe something to try on your new entertainment center.

http://www.amazon.com/Red-Cliff-Inte...4741146&sr=8-2

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #298 of 2584 Old 08-31-2011, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
isrararrafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
lbj2, thanks. will check it out. already got master and commander, tron and the island to check out the sound in the next 2 days. heard great stuffs about the sound of these movies in avs. next will be red cliff for sure
isrararrafi is offline  
post #299 of 2584 Old 08-31-2011, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LBJ2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
FYI: New HX820 firmware update PKG3.407AAA. If you haven't done so already--you might want to check for your update. I don't know what the update includes as they haven't posted the details on the Sony support site yet. They still list the old firmware version at http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...ab=downloadTab

From past experience I haven't seen Sony post firmware updates details for at least a couple of weeks after they release a new version.

LB
LBJ2 is offline  
post #300 of 2584 Old 08-31-2011, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Aquayonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBJ2 View Post
FYI: New HX820 firmware update PKG3.407AAA. If you haven't done so already--you might want to check for your update. I don't know what the update includes as they haven't posted the details on the Sony support site yet. They still list the old firmware version at http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...ab=downloadTab

From past experience I haven't seen Sony post firmware updates details for at least a couple of weeks after they release a new version.
It seems like the last several updates have just been IPTV features, not really panel performance.

Since mine is set to auto update, I presume it has already updated or will since I leave it in standby mode when not in use. ?

Site: Sony KDL-55HX820 | Sony KDL-55NX810 | Sony KDL-40XBR
Sound: Onkyo TX-SR608 | Energy Take Classic 7.2 w/ M8 SW
Input: Playstation 3 Slim 320gb | Xbox 360 S 250gb | Roku XDS | Samsung BD-C6800
Aquayonex is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia Kdl55hx820 55 Inch 1080p 3d Led Hdtv With Built In Wi Fi Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off