Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE735U Owners Thread - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1646 Old 04-23-2012, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
moovtune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Because not everyone agrees, visually at least, at what a proper picture looks like.
moovtune is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1646 Old 04-23-2012, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by moovtune View Post

Because not everyone agrees, visually at least, at what a proper picture looks like.

Exactly. That's why I had mine calibrated. I want to view the material that way it was intended to look, not that way I think it should look.
wxman is offline  
post #1533 of 1646 Old 04-24-2012, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
There is no proper color, diffrent cameras diffrent movie scans, there is no such one unique green or one unique purple, It just gives you the illusion of proper color, If you have only one camera calibrated for each scene condition and only one monitor that go with it, there you can make a point, just go ahead and pay a proffessional, I'm happy with my own calibration for my TV and projector and so do my friends, end of argument.
latreche34 is offline  
post #1534 of 1646 Old 04-24-2012, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

There is no proper color, diffrent cameras diffrent movie scans, there is no such one unique green or one unique purple, It just gives you the illusion of proper color, If you have only one camera calibrated for each scene condition and only one monitor that go with it, there you can make a point, just go ahead and pay a proffessional, I'm happy with my own calibration for my TV and projector and so do my friends, end of argument.

Glad to know that you decide when the discussion must end. Anyway, enjoy your tv. The 735 is a good tv.
wxman is offline  
post #1535 of 1646 Old 04-24-2012, 10:12 PM
Member
 
creativeoutleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to stop by this thread again and say my TV is still awesome. I read these threads for almost a year before I purchased anything and I can tell you are always going to find a little nit about any TV. Anyway still loving it.
creativeoutleh is offline  
post #1536 of 1646 Old 04-25-2012, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Zablon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Me too. Every once in awhile during a really good looking BR or even BR rip, I turn to the wife and say...man I love this tv
Zablon is offline  
post #1537 of 1646 Old 04-25-2012, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

There is no proper color, diffrent cameras diffrent movie scans, there is no such one unique green or one unique purple, It just gives you the illusion of proper color, If you have only one camera calibrated for each scene condition and only one monitor that go with it, there you can make a point, just go ahead and pay a proffessional, I'm happy with my own calibration for my TV and projector and so do my friends, end of argument.

You should tell SMPTE and ISF that they have no reason to exist.

So when a film or video is shot it goes directly into the magic tv machine and we see it exactly as shot?
If you will accept the fact that there is film and video editing do you think the editors run to BestBuy and buy a display off the shelf and edit the film/video?
In fact film/video editors use calibrated monitors to do their work. They are calibrated with meters not a retail calibration disk. Each color is measured at a specific saturation, hue, and luminance. There are standards as to what the colors should measure. Grayscale is also measured in 5 or 10% increments to a specific standard.

Not everyone likes a display that is calibrated to reference standards. Most people are not willing to pay the cost of a good calibration by a trained professional. Remember this is AV Science Forum and there are a lot of members here that study the science.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #1538 of 1646 Old 04-27-2012, 08:53 AM
Member
 
etype2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

I don't understant why are you guys spending hunderds of dollare for a so called "proffessional calibration". Its just a set of values that you can get from the internet or AV magazine and enter them yourself or get a calibration blu-ray disc and follow the instructions on the screen, I fill so stupid if I call somebody to come to my house and enter a bunch of numbers for me when a 15 yrs old kid can do it.

I suggest you educate yourself by reading articles written by ISF (Imaging Science Foundation), SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture Television Engineers) and others.

No two televisions will be the same. Under the current state of the art, the best way to achieve a color television image which comes close to reference industry standards is to have a professional ISF trained technician come to your home. They use expensive tools which the average person can not afford. Calibration disks only approximate to an individual eye which is not trained to know what the correct colors, gamma, grey scale, etc; should look like. You can get get good results but not as good as a professional calibration. You need scientific instruments to achieve the best result. I could post my calibration charts, but you would see they are different from others posted on this thread because although the same model they have variance during manufacture. The best ISF calibrators use the same standards to calibrate using a propitiatory computer program to achieve the final result.

If you are happy with your set, fine. Once you discover the benefits of calibration, how blacks are not crushed, how shadow detail improves, how retina burning, over saturated colors are toned down, you will appreciate professional calibration. It's money well spent.

Personal website dedicated to Vintage Micro TV http://www.visions4.net/journal/time-line/
etype2 is offline  
post #1539 of 1646 Old 04-27-2012, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Blablablabla, anyways any word on the new full array model because I can't seem to find this one.
latreche34 is offline  
post #1540 of 1646 Old 04-27-2012, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

Blablablabla, anyways any word on the new full array model because I can't seem to find this one.

Likely will not be any this year from Sharp other than the Elite. All the others are edge lit.
wxman is offline  
post #1541 of 1646 Old 04-28-2012, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Likely will not be any this year from Sharp other than the Elite. All the others are edge lit.

What is that the Elite cost twice as much as the 7 series, I was looking at both with the magnifying glass at bestbuy and I couldn't see any diffrence in the pixel structure, we know for a fact that they have the same electronic circuitry inside ?? and why they don't show them on Sharp website?
latreche34 is offline  
post #1542 of 1646 Old 04-28-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

What is that the Elite cost twice as much as the 7 series, I was looking at both with the magnifying glass at bestbuy and I couldn't see any diffrence in the pixel structure, we know for a fact that they have the same electronic circuitry inside ?? and why they don't show them on Sharp website?

Sharp has a seperate web site for the Elites. Elites have better blacks and also local dimming which is something the 735 does not have. Worth twice as much? For some yes, but not for me. The elites are comparable to the former Pioneer Kuros.
wxman is offline  
post #1543 of 1646 Old 04-28-2012, 06:18 PM
Member
 
etype2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Sharp has a seperate web site for the Elites. Elites have better blacks and also local dimming which is something the 735 does not have. Worth twice as much? For some yes, but not for me. The elites are comparable to the former Pioneer Kuros.

Yup and the 2012 Sharp Series 945 will have full array with local dimming available in June at a lower price point then the Elite.

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...&id=1327485177

Personal website dedicated to Vintage Micro TV http://www.visions4.net/journal/time-line/
etype2 is offline  
post #1544 of 1646 Old 04-28-2012, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

Sharp has a seperate web site for the Elites. Elites have better blacks and also local dimming which is something the 735 does not have. Worth twice as much? For some yes, but not for me. The elites are comparable to the former Pioneer Kuros.

The 735 does not have local dimming?? you've got to be kidding me, that's why I was looking for this TV, Then what makes it diffrent from edge lit one such as 847 ? Well I guess I will be heading to frys and get the LC-70LE847U at least it has Quad Pixel Plus 2 which the 735 lacks, any other diffrences?
latreche34 is offline  
post #1545 of 1646 Old 04-29-2012, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
neil0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

The 735 does not have local dimming?? you've got to be kidding me, that's why I was looking for this TV, Then what makes it diffrent from edge lit one such as 847 ?

In my opinion...the black levels are excellent on the 735. It is full array LED backlight, just not with local dimming. The only issue I have had with the 735 backlighting is the vignetting. Otherwise, after a proper calibration, I find it to be a very good picture for a set of that size and cost.

The Sony 929 is rated as one of the best and includes local dimming, but it only comes in a 65" and costs twice as much. You do not get twice as much picture quality, and you lose 5" of diagonal.
neil0311 is offline  
post #1546 of 1646 Old 04-29-2012, 09:35 PM
Newbie
 
BADZ1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Montgomery Tx.
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought one and picked it up for 2k even. Still in the box but does it require a lot of calibrations for a perfect picture?
BADZ1969 is offline  
post #1547 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 08:44 AM
Member
 
gb2319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

I had the same issue with the clouding at bottom right corner towards center of screen. It was very noticeable in a dark room. I had a 45 day return window with BB, so i waited about a month to see what would happen. Most of it faded after 30 days, so i decided to keep the tv. Not sure if yours will get better. I have had the tv for 2 1/2 months now and am satisfied. There is some DSE, but not that bad. Minor clouding can be seen on a blank screen, but not during actual viewing. I would say if the bright spot bothers you now, it will bother you even more after the return window closes, because you will wish you did. I forgot to ask, what do you have backlight set at? If you are watching in a dark room, don't have it set any higher than zero. That will reduce the clouding considerably, and will actually make the blacks look a little better. When I watch a movie in a dark room, I have it set to zero, and sometimes as low
as -4.

Took me awhile to get back to this thread, but I had the backlight set to -2 for the most part. I've taken it down to the lowest setting, however, and it didn't help. After a few weeks of use much of the clouding in the other areas of the screen lessened, but the largest, brightest, spot never did go away. Would have liked to keep the set, but it was just too annoying. The TV is being picked up for return today, but I will be ordering another one.
gb2319 is offline  
post #1548 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
SpudNuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Havn't been on here in a while but it is always the best place for A/V advice/info.

I just got notified of an upgrade (from 310U1110111 to 311U1204061) but everytime I try the upgrade through the tv it fails. Anyone seen a URL to download it from? Sharp is still showing the 310U1110111 as the latest.

Thanks
Spuds
SpudNuts is offline  
post #1549 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
NICKDAVIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had the same update info for the 632U - can't run Netflix without it... Very frustrating! Anyone find a solution?
NICKDAVIES is offline  
post #1550 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
e[X]ile-Hammack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
searched the whole of SHARPUSA for an update that could be downloaded and havent found anything. really frustrating.
e[X]ile-Hammack is offline  
post #1551 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
fromjusttheking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same thing here. Tried both wireless and wired internet connection. Failed every time. Also checked Sharp's website. No listing of 311U1204061 version firmware for my set either. It is very frustrating.
fromjusttheking is offline  
post #1552 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
MediaCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found the updates and successfully updated my LC60LE632U via USB thumb drive. I will try to get the three posts required to open up URL posting.
MediaCult is offline  
post #1553 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
MediaCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was very frustrating! I had to manually type in my model before I found the update even though it was already listed.
MediaCult is offline  
post #1554 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
MediaCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying again to post the solution in a few minutes. Frustrating, because I have direct URL access to the firmware, and instructions.
MediaCult is offline  
post #1555 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
MediaCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It only worked with a USB Thumb Drive. But here it is:
Instructions
http://www.sharp-idncservice.com/Sha...S%20UPDATE.PDF

Firmware
http://www.sharp-idncservice.com/Des...&From=SharpUSA
MediaCult is offline  
post #1556 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
MediaCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whew. I will watch to see if anyone has trouble with the download. It's simple. Download, unzip to the root of the thumb drive, choose manual update/usb from the menu and insert the thumb drive in the TV when prompted.
MediaCult is offline  
post #1557 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Danamnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the only way that I was able to download and install the firmware too. I was just fixing to post the same solution. Thanks for your persistance and help...I am sure a lot of people will be inquiring how to solve this problem and it looks as if this is the only way at this point!
Danamnw is offline  
post #1558 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Sharpster 69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this thread, can someone post the correct calibration... I would really appreciate it!
Sharpster 69 is offline  
post #1559 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
moovtune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There are several "correct" calibrations posted in this thread. I'd say try them and pick the best "correct" one fitting your preference. (Getting it professionally calibrated will be the best way to get a correct calibration for your set - but I'm using a variation of the CNET posted settings and am very satisfied).
moovtune is offline  
post #1560 of 1646 Old 04-30-2012, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
Sharpster 69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately the thread is 52 pages long I would love to find one of the previous calibrations.
Sharpster 69 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off