NANO LG LV9500 Official Owner's thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 1747 Old 08-07-2011, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jvolkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboy1234 View Post

I think a simple yes would have been a bit more kind.

I wasn't completely certain about it myself. I figured pointing you in the right direction was more helpful than not responding at all.
jvolkman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 01:44 AM
Member
 
arkasi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, so another quick update on the quest to enable 3D.
I was somewhat concerned that the 3d material I was testing with (ESPN 3D via Foxtel satellite) may have potentially been an issue as the box is HDMI 1.3.

My new Oppo BDP-93 arrived today (yay!) so I bought Tron 3D blu ray.

Unfortuntately, still no luck. I had the Oppo plugged directly to the TV and had to set the Oppo to "force" for 3D playback, otherwise I got an error from the disk saying 3D wasn't supported (even manually enabling 3D on the TV). Force mode successfully played the disk, but still no sync with the glasses.

I've pretty much tried everything I can at this stage. Hopefully once these screens start shipping, someone smarter than me might be able to proceed further.

On the upside, at least I can use the 3D-2D conversion to watch ESPN now - that alone is a bonus with X Games on now
arkasi55 is offline  
post #153 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 04:04 AM
Newbie
 
castropa531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I ordered mine when there was 1500 sold. It was shipped on 8/3 and is now at the local sorting facility. I will update with any info when I get it
castropa531 is offline  
post #154 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkasi55 View Post

OK, so another quick update on the quest to enable 3D.
I was somewhat concerned that the 3d material I was testing with (ESPN 3D via Foxtel satellite) may have potentially been an issue as the box is HDMI 1.3.

My new Oppo BDP-93 arrived today (yay!) so I bought Tron 3D blu ray.

Unfortuntately, still no luck. I had the Oppo plugged directly to the TV and had to set the Oppo to "force" for 3D playback, otherwise I got an error from the disk saying 3D wasn't supported (even manually enabling 3D on the TV). Force mode successfully played the disk, but still no sync with the glasses.

I've pretty much tried everything I can at this stage. Hopefully once these screens start shipping, someone smarter than me might be able to proceed further.

On the upside, at least I can use the 3D-2D conversion to watch ESPN now - that alone is a bonus with X Games on now

There are many things you can do if you are interested in moving forward -

1. Share the screen information when you are in InStart mode, including the initial screen, system1, and system2 values. (screenshots)

2. Back out the THX-enabled settings, they may interfere with initialization of the RF module.

3. Dissassociate your mmr and keep it off.

4. Did you try the country change as I mentioned earlier?

-And don't forget to issue an InStop after making any changes

If you are willing to connect a serial cable you should be able to enable emitter functionality from the debug menus, since they allow you to override most configuration parameters. There are more complicated but doable methods such as examining &/or modifying Release.cfg, the master configuration file. You can also enable and inspect a detailed startup log file.

-nony
nony is offline  
post #155 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvolkman View Post

What's the difference between W and Y?

W - Version 5 LCD (typically found in the LX9500s, LEX8s, and some LW9500s) - primarily 2010 models

Y - Version 6 LCD (typically found in the LW56/57/6500s, LZ9600, and some LW9500s) - primarily 2011 models.

I can't tell you what the actual differences are, and if they have any visually discernable characteristics.

-nony
nony is offline  
post #156 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 05:40 AM
Member
 
arkasi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks nony.
Do you happen to know the debug commands? I haven't looked into that yet, but I believe it's a linux kernel - or at least a deriviative thereof? Or is it an actual menu.
Unfortunately with the panel wall mounted (and very close to the wall) i'll have to pull it down to connect to serial.

I'll grab screens of the In Start menu and post.

I did try changing the country code to SG and a couple of others, it seemed to auto InStop afterward but had no real effect I could see.
arkasi55 is offline  
post #157 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 06:23 AM
Member
 
arkasi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
arkasi55 is offline  
post #158 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 06:27 AM
Member
 
arkasi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
and some from EZ Start

This one's for anyone wondering about the local dimming ;-)
Attachment 219519

Attachment 219520

Attachment 219521
LL
LL
LL
arkasi55 is offline  
post #159 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 06:34 AM
Moderator
 
Barrybud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 2,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just a reminder to NOT post any prices besides MSRP.

Thanks

Quick Reference of Forum Rules
1) Do Not post pricing you found on-line or at a local dealer UNLESS IN A DEALS THREAD.
2) Do Not ask for, or offer, a receipt so people can price match.
3) Do Not say to "Call John Smith at ..." (you know what I mean)
4) Do Not put down someone else's choice in...

Barrybud is offline  
post #160 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WiWavelength's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
HSN is almost sold out once more. Only five remaining...

AJ
WiWavelength is offline  
post #161 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
jvolkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post

Just a reminder to NOT post any prices besides MSRP.

Thanks

I'm not sure anyone actually knows the MSRP. LG's website doesn't mention the model at all and HSN is the only retailer that carries it (currently).
jvolkman is offline  
post #162 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkasi55 View Post

and some from EZ Start

This one's for anyone wondering about the local dimming ;-)
Attachment 219519

Attachment 219520

Attachment 219521

Good Info. Plz add the other tool options (1,2,3), the Host Diagnostics screen, and obscure your serial number (precautionary measure).

-nony
nony is offline  
post #163 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

AFB73130512 - LCD Assembly LCM - 55LW9500-UA - KCCYLJR
Same info for both.

55LW9800 - No Data Found

Please provide the LCM part numbers as requested. The AFB73130512 by itself doesn't tell us anything. Each p/n requires 4 mouse clicks. This is not hard nor is it labor intensive.

There is no way that the 55LW9500-UA and all three shipping variants of the 55LV9500-UA have an LCM with that part number. To suggest that they do, is misleading. If you run into any difficulty, tell me and I will assist.

If you had no intention of helping with this effort, you could have said so -
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=131
But this was your response -
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=133
So I tried to assist you -
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=138


-nony
nony is offline  
post #164 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkasi55 View Post

Thanks nony.
Do you happen to know the debug commands? I haven't looked into that yet, but I believe it's a linux kernel - or at least a deriviative thereof? Or is it an actual menu.

Once you are in debug mode, you will presented with a menu-driven UI as detailed in the references below.

References -
http://openlgtv.org.ru/wiki/index.ph...ode_connection
http://openlgtv.org.ru/wiki/index.php/Wiki_index
http://lg-hack.info

-nony
nony is offline  
post #165 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
jvolkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiWavelength View Post

HSN is almost sold out once more. Only five remaining...

AJ

They now list it as sold out. Mine finally shipped today.
jvolkman is offline  
post #166 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
slothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvolkman View Post

Mine finally shipped today.

same here
slothy is offline  
post #167 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 03:55 PM
Member
 
cubsoxbullbears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I chatted with AIT, mine is not suppose to arrive in Dallas until Thursday, which means I probably won't get it until the 15th or 16th. I figured when they said it shipped on Friday, it wasn't going anywhere to soon
cubsoxbullbears is offline  
post #168 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 04:36 PM
Member
 
arkasi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nony View Post
Good Info. Plz add the other tool options (1,2,3), the Host Diagnostics screen, and obscure your serial number (precautionary measure).

-nony
remaining tool options.
I can't find a host diagnostics screen anywhere though?

Attachment 219570

Attachment 219571

Attachment 219572

Attachment 219573
LL
LL
LL
LL
arkasi55 is offline  
post #169 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkasi55 View Post
remaining tool options.
I can't find a host diagnostics screen anywhere though?
[/ATTACH]
The procedure on p.22 of the following doc should work -
http://136.166.4.200/contents/Displa...esentation.pdf

-nony
nony is offline  
post #170 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 07:30 PM
Member
 
loopyoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the host screen
LL
loopyoyo is offline  
post #171 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So....i'm one of the 1st couple hundred people to order. My friggin order shipped today. Go figure.
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #172 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jvolkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by loopyoyo View Post
Here is the host screen
Did you update the firmware since you received it?
jvolkman is offline  
post #173 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by nony View Post

The procedure on p.22 of the following doc should work -
http://136.166.4.200/contents/Displa...esentation.pdf

-nony

http://136.166.4.200/SubPages/Directview_LCD.htm
p5browne is offline  
post #174 of 1747 Old 08-08-2011, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tim Hess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Hess View Post

I ordered, I think in the 3500s - for two days I had the HSN price charge pending on my CC but now it is gone.

No update on shipping/cancellation so I will assume I am in the void.

Looks like it has been 'initiated' today! No time too soon as I am selling my TV tomorrow!
Tim Hess is offline  
post #175 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 03:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I hope this tv is as good in person as on this fourm.
My wife just found the shipping email and is not talking to me.
I am hoping that when she see the picture the tv will do the talking not her.
6athome is offline  
post #176 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 04:47 AM
Member
 
loopyoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvolkman View Post


Did you update the firmware since you received it?

Yep
loopyoyo is offline  
post #177 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 04:48 AM
Member
 
loopyoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6athome View Post

I hope this tv is as good in person as on this fourm.
My wife just found the shipping email and is not talking to me.
I am hoping that when she see the picture the tv will do the talking not her.

Sounds like ur in the shiz..good luck man!
loopyoyo is offline  
post #178 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
castropa531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by castropa531 View Post

Hello everyone,

I ordered mine when there was 1500 sold. It was shipped on 8/3 and is now at the local sorting facility. I will update with any info when I get it

I just called to see the status of the delivery. It's about 40 miles away from where I live. AIT transferred it to Interstate Express. The agent told me it will either be Friday 8/12 or Monday 8/15. I don't know the value of "free" shipping if it take so long to get to where it has to go. Really a week to travel 40 miles?
BTW I'm in the NE part of PA, so 16 days from order to delivery in my opinion seems too long.
castropa531 is offline  
post #179 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
slothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by castropa531 View Post

I just called to see the status of the delivery. It's about 40 miles away from where I live. AIT transferred it to Interstate Express. The agent told me it will either be Friday 8/12 or Monday 8/15. I don't know the value of "free" shipping if it take so long to get to where it has to go. Really a week to travel 40 miles?
BTW I'm in the NE part of PA, so 16 days from order to delivery in my opinion seems too long.

that's typical of freight shipments usually. Get spoiled with UPS/FEDEX less than a week anywhere in the US.
slothy is offline  
post #180 of 1747 Old 08-09-2011, 07:31 AM
Member
 
bboy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by castropa531 View Post

I just called to see the status of the delivery. It's about 40 miles away from where I live. AIT transferred it to Interstate Express. The agent told me it will either be Friday 8/12 or Monday 8/15. I don't know the value of "free" shipping if it take so long to get to where it has to go. Really a week to travel 40 miles?
BTW I'm in the NE part of PA, so 16 days from order to delivery in my opinion seems too long.

I would call them a tell them you will come and pick it up. 40 miles I would drive to get my tv.
bboy1234 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , 3d Hdtv , Displays , Lg 55lx9500 55 1080p 480hz 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Sharp
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off