Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 226 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 12:38 AM
Member
 
DYAUSWINTERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrussell View Post

Ironic that I've read probably thousands of posts arguing about shades of cyan, but the issues I end up having are mountain-sized by comparison.

First 70" I got lasted about 4 days and then wouldn't power up, just giving me a flashing power light. Sharp support was closed due to a blizzard. Best Buy had another in stock in town so I boxed it back up and exchanged it for a new one, was back up and running. (Talking to support later, they mentioned it might have been solvable by powering it up in the service menu.)

The new one lasted about 5-6 days. Watched Darknight again, and Thor in 3D one night. Next morning I turn it on and all of the HDMI inputs on the TV are dead. The component input works, as does the USB. But HDMI inputs 1-4 are dead, and if I plug anything into HDMI 5, the display showing what input it is on starts flashing like mad in the upper corner and I can't even bring up a menu because it'll just disappear as it flashes the display again, until I unplug HDMI 5 entirely. Tried a DTV DVR, PS3, Xbox 360, and a laptop with HDMI out, none of them will work on any of the HDMI inputs.

Sharp's repairman is supposed to be here tomorrow with a new circuitboard. I really hope this is the end of the problems. I absolutely love the PQ, but if for the third time it can't make it a whole week before breaking, I'm going to have to consider returning it for good while I'm still in my 30 day return window.

I haven't seen many other issues like these mentioned here so I'm just hoping it's bad luck. I started wondering if maybe one of my components could be causing it or something. My PS3 is the only component in common between the two different sets at the times they died, as I got a different DirecTV DVR that can handle 3D, didn't plug in a few other components I wasn't going to use yet, and also wired everything directly to the TV instead of going through the audio receiver first. This PS3 has worked with my previous Sony XBR2 for 4+ years, don't know how it would be the cause here. Unless something about the 3D signal is causing it, but I'd imagine other people would be seeing it by now if so?

Or just bad luck I got two TVs with bad circuitboards.

The same thing happen with my 70" the second day I had it. It turned on and worked fine the first day, then the next day I turned it on and none of the HDMI inputs worked. I tried turning it off and on and kept messing with it for about 25 min, then as I started to give up on it I decided to start everything all over, checking all the dynamics of the set up (cords, outlets, etc) then I re plugged in the tv and boom there it was the beautiful pq I was scared I had lost. I don't know if it was anything specific that I did or didn't do but I am glad it came back. And on the other hand, I'm sorry to hear yours didn't, I hope you have better luck with the next one.
DYAUSWINTERS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 04:37 AM
Member
 
nafai23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pannus View Post

Let me further elucidate on the above rec:

If you have 6 guys over from the AVS forum, place 4 in the center on the sofa, and two on the sides in chaises, the two AVS guys in the chaises will quietly note a small problem.

If you have 6 normal folks over to your house, NO ONE is going to notice. They will be like, "Oh s@!/, what a picture".

I have data on the 6 normal folks, several times over.

Hope that helps put some real perspective to it.

Drury


No way,

The off axis on this TV is not good.
My wife and non videophile TV friends notice it.
I came from an elite plasma and have IPS computer monitors.

i can't believe that IPS panels are not just the standard. THe sharp elite looks terrible off axis. Purple blacks, dim....etc

That said,

I like the tv, love the extra size from 50 to 60 and dead on most things looks great.

The easiest way for me to non technically compare the pioneer and sharp is that most material on the kuro looked like a 8-9 out of 10. The sharp is 5-10 out of 10.

The picture varies with the source more. Somethings like Cars 2 look better than the kuro and something like the untouchables that I watch the other day looks fairly worse. Skin tones vary greatly depending on the material, my kuro always seems to nail them.

It is fun to watch and that is what matters.
nafai23 is offline  
post #6753 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 07:56 AM
Member
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomboyter View Post

All I know is that I am "Seriously ready" for the next iteration of the Elite, and it appears that it's going to be 4K...I'm just fine with that as long as they can make the panels with no dead pixels. Folks who saw it at CES said the 4K screen appeared to have more detail, better resolution and an almost 3D effect even when viewing 2D content. What's not to like?

Do happen to know the ETA for the next gen Elite?
cssnms is offline  
post #6754 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZREOSpecialist View Post

Regarding your last item, above, I disagree. The Elite Quattron is not an IPS panel. The viewing angle is inferior to much less expensive IPS sets from Samsung and LG. If you walk around an IPS panel, you will notice changes in brightness and contrast, but not until you are at some extreme angles. The Elite, however, shows a significant drop in contrast, color fidelity, and a marked increase in blooming when you are more than 30 degrees off axis.

If viewing angle is important and your room requires a wide range, I would not recommend this TV. However, at about 10 feet four people seated on a normal sized sofa centered with the display will not have an issue. Add a chaise or two on either side of the sofa and you may start having issues.

Fully agree. I also own an LG 55LE8500 and the viewing angle is definitely better than in my 70X5 (and the stand too ). The LG is now a gorgeous digital picture frame for my landscape photography ...
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6755 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary cornell View Post

Yes, 9' is the calculated number but when i moved the chair to 9' i feel too close. Weird, you would think the constants remain. Moving a little further back allows me to take in the entire screen more comfortably - maybe it's just going from 50" to 60" - a bigger screen to get used to.

I* love my 70 at 9 feet ... but then I used to sit on 4th-5th row in the movies way back when ...
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6756 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssnms View Post

Do happen to know the ETA for the next gen Elite?

It was reported at CES around Sept timeframe.
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6757 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gary cornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post

I* love my 70 at 9 feet ... but then I used to sit on 4th-5th row in the movies way back when ...

You're not immersed, you're engulfed.
gary cornell is offline  
post #6758 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 09:24 AM
Member
 
siucity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrussell View Post

Ironic that I've read probably thousands of posts arguing about shades of cyan, but the issues I end up having are mountain-sized by comparison.

First 70" I got lasted about 4 days and then wouldn't power up, just giving me a flashing power light. Sharp support was closed due to a blizzard. Best Buy had another in stock in town so I boxed it back up and exchanged it for a new one, was back up and running. (Talking to support later, they mentioned it might have been solvable by powering it up in the service menu.)

The new one lasted about 5-6 days. Watched Darknight again, and Thor in 3D one night. Next morning I turn it on and all of the HDMI inputs on the TV are dead. The component input works, as does the USB. But HDMI inputs 1-4 are dead, and if I plug anything into HDMI 5, the display showing what input it is on starts flashing like mad in the upper corner and I can't even bring up a menu because it'll just disappear as it flashes the display again, until I unplug HDMI 5 entirely. Tried a DTV DVR, PS3, Xbox 360, and a laptop with HDMI out, none of them will work on any of the HDMI inputs.

Sharp's repairman is supposed to be here tomorrow with a new circuitboard. I really hope this is the end of the problems. I absolutely love the PQ, but if for the third time it can't make it a whole week before breaking, I'm going to have to consider returning it for good while I'm still in my 30 day return window.

I haven't seen many other issues like these mentioned here so I'm just hoping it's bad luck. I started wondering if maybe one of my components could be causing it or something. My PS3 is the only component in common between the two different sets at the times they died, as I got a different DirecTV DVR that can handle 3D, didn't plug in a few other components I wasn't going to use yet, and also wired everything directly to the TV instead of going through the audio receiver first. This PS3 has worked with my previous Sony XBR2 for 4+ years, don't know how it would be the cause here. Unless something about the 3D signal is causing it, but I'd imagine other people would be seeing it by now if so?

Or just bad luck I got two TVs with bad circuitboards.

I think it might have something to do with HDCP. If you unplug all your sources, turn on the TV, then plug in any source, does the picture show up?
siucity is offline  
post #6759 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
boulder_bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nafai23 View Post

No way,

The off axis on this TV is not good.
My wife and non videophile TV friends notice it.
I came from an elite plasma and have IPS computer monitors.

i can't believe that IPS panels are not just the standard. THe sharp elite looks terrible off axis. Purple blacks, dim....etc

I disagree and so do most of the professional reviews I read. David K. of CNET says he likes the Kuro more because of the cyan issue, but said the off-angle performance of the Sharp Elite was enough to beat the VT30 at reasonable angles.
boulder_bum is offline  
post #6760 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
pinktri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DYAUSWINTERS View Post

The same thing happen with my 70" the second day I had it. It turned on and worked fine the first day, then the next day I turned it on and none of the HDMI inputs worked. I tried turning it off and on and kept messing with it for about 25 min, then as I started to give up on it I decided to start everything all over, checking all the dynamics of the set up (cords, outlets, etc) then I re plugged in the tv and boom there it was the beautiful pq I was scared I had lost. I don't know if it was anything specific that I did or didn't do but I am glad it came back. And on the other hand, I'm sorry to hear yours didn't, I hope you have better luck with the next one.

I had something similar happen to me, when I powered up the elite the power light flickered a lot but no picture. I unplugged the TV and it came back up. From my understanding it's a handshake issue. I realized I would power up my STB in a specific sequence with my harmony remote which may have caused the issue. I now leave my STB on all the time and hasn't happened since

PRO-60X5FD
PRO-70X5FD
pinktri is offline  
post #6761 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by nafai23 View Post

No way,

The off axis on this TV is not good.
My wife and non videophile TV friends notice it.
I came from an elite plasma and have IPS computer monitors.

i can't believe that IPS panels are not just the standard. THe sharp elite looks terrible off axis. Purple blacks, dim....etc

As much as I dislike this TV, off axis from reasonable angles of this TV is not bad at all. Not as good as Elite Plasma or IPS monitors, yes, but at the same time, in most cases (at least in my case which I don't go beyond +/- 45-degree angle from on-axis) this TV is much better than 90% TVs out there.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #6762 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 11:46 AM
Member
 
gbrussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Are you seeing an input list on the Elite? If so, have you tried plugging a different source (e.g. Blu Ray player) into that same input? If that works, it may be that something happened to your box.

Have you tried a source on any other input (if you can)? Have you tried using the Sharp remote to bring up the menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by siucity View Post

I think it might have something to do with HDCP. If you unplug all your sources, turn on the TV, then plug in any source, does the picture show up?

It worked!

I had unplugged all of the inputs from it before, but I don't think I had done it with the power off. Nor powered it up without any inputs on it which is probably the important part.

This time I unplugged the TV from the power, removed all inputs, waited a few minutes, then plugged the TV back in, turned it on without any inputs connected. Added the DTV DVR to HDMI 1 and changed inputs to it, it worked. Added the PS3 to HDMI 2, it worked. Switched the PS3 over to HDMI 5 (the one that was causing the Display top right to flash continually) and it worked there too.

Thank you siucity. If you ever are in southeast Texas let me know and there will be a pitcher of your favorite beer on me. I'm going to call Elite support back and tell them the fix so next time someone has this issue they'll know what to try.
gbrussell is offline  
post #6763 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 12:01 PM
Member
 
gbrussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinktri View Post

I had something similar happen to me, when I powered up the elite the power light flickered a lot but no picture. I unplugged the TV and it came back up. From my understanding it's a handshake issue. I realized I would power up my STB in a specific sequence with my harmony remote which may have caused the issue. I now leave my STB on all the time and hasn't happened since

I use a Harmony remote as well, and have it using the Panasonic discrete input codes to switch inputs. I wonder if that might have contributed.

I think I'll remove that from the remote for now and just use the TV remote to switch inputs. My current AVR only supports HDMI 1.3, so won't pass a 3D signal to it. Planning to pick up a new one that supports 1.4a so I can just run everything through it and then to the TV so it doesn't need to change inputs on the TV.
gbrussell is offline  
post #6764 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RadTech51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
"P.S. I came across this just now over at HTS and I think it summarizes what I've said for quite some time. It comes from Leonard Caillouet an ISF calibrator "I would agree that the degree of error in the cyan that I have seen reported is not likely meaningful to most users. Most will use the set in a state with far more color error in other areas anyway. When calibrated, the error is not that bad. Not perfect, but a minor matter, relative to the error in most other products on the market."

Hmm, where did I hear that before?"

+1
Nice Ken, we should add this to our Signature. ;p

 

Sharp Elite PRO- 70X5FD 
Pioneer Elite VSX- 52 (A/V receiver)
Pioneer Elite BDP3FD (Blu-Ray) Player
Surround sound system: B&W (2) CM8's, (1) CENTER CHANNEL, (2) CM1 BOOKSHELF MONITORS's, (1) ASW10CM ACTIVE SUBWOOFER.
RadTech51 is offline  
post #6765 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

As much as I dislike this TV, off axis from reasonable angles of this TV is not bad at all. Not as good as Elite Plasma or IPS monitors, yes, but at the same time, in most cases (at least in my case which I don't go beyond +/- 45-degree angle from on-axis) this TV is much better than 90% TVs out there.

Wow David, you really 'dislike this TV'?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6766 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadTech51 View Post

"P.S. I came across this just now over at HTS and I think it summarizes what I've said for quite some time. It comes from Leonard Caillouet an ISF calibrator "I would agree that the degree of error in the cyan that I have seen reported is not likely meaningful to most users. Most will use the set in a state with far more color error in other areas anyway. When calibrated, the error is not that bad. Not perfect, but a minor matter, relative to the error in most other products on the market."

Hmm, where did I hear that before?"

+1
Nice Ken, we should add this to our Signature. ;p

Yeah Rad, that would be one hell of a signature!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6767 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 01:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by boulder_bum View Post

I disagree and so do most of the professional reviews I read. David K. of CNET says he likes the Kuro more because of the cyan issue, but said the off-angle performance of the Sharp Elite was enough to beat the VT30 at reasonable angles.

The reality is simple:

For some people the Elite's off-axis is unacceptable. For the majority of people, it will probably be more than acceptable.

If you fall into the first group, the opinions of "experts" about what a "reasonable angle" is are pointless. Otherwise, you'll be fine.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #6768 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrussell View Post

I'm going to call Elite support back and tell them the fix so next time someone has this issue they'll know what to try.

Don't get your hopes up.

We can thank Hollywood (fanfare music in the background) for providing all these hand shake puzzles for our entertainment.
htwaits is online now  
post #6769 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
frottage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrussell View Post

I use a Harmony remote as well, and have it using the Panasonic discrete input codes to switch inputs. I wonder if that might have contributed.

I think I'll remove that from the remote for now and just use the TV remote to switch inputs. My current AVR only supports HDMI 1.3, so won't pass a 3D signal to it. Planning to pick up a new one that supports 1.4a so I can just run everything through it and then to the TV so it doesn't need to change inputs on the TV.

I'm using the discrete input codes (and have been doing so) so about a month without issue.

After seeing all the various current HD providers, I really, really miss Voom
frottage is offline  
post #6770 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
frottage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

The reality is simple:

For some people the Elite's off-axis is unacceptable. For the majority of people, it will probably be more than acceptable.

If you fall into the first group, the opinions of "experts" about what a "reasonable angle" is are pointless. Otherwise, you'll be fine.

That statement is completely on-axis.

After seeing all the various current HD providers, I really, really miss Voom
frottage is offline  
post #6771 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 02:23 PM
Member
 
jh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by boulder_bum View Post

I disagree and so do most of the professional reviews I read. David K. of CNET says he likes the Kuro more because of the cyan issue, but said the off-angle performance of the Sharp Elite was enough to beat the VT30 at reasonable angles.

please definite reasonable angles. 15 degree or 30 degree? Right in the center, Elite has the best pic or whatever it claimed to be. Slight off axis, it is not even comparable to low end plasma or mid range LCD with IPS panel. The deterioration of pic quality when viewing off axis is so obvious. One night I was leaning at one end of my center sofa and noticed the same material did not appear as GOOD as before. I thought someone mess up my setting, but once I sit up right in the middle, all the deep black, great contrast came back.
I don't recall any reviews had put up a exact off-axis viewing angle measurement while compare to other TVs.
jh87 is offline  
post #6772 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 02:27 PM
Member
 
siucity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrussell View Post

It worked!

I had unplugged all of the inputs from it before, but I don't think I had done it with the power off. Nor powered it up without any inputs on it which is probably the important part.

This time I unplugged the TV from the power, removed all inputs, waited a few minutes, then plugged the TV back in, turned it on without any inputs connected. Added the DTV DVR to HDMI 1 and changed inputs to it, it worked. Added the PS3 to HDMI 2, it worked. Switched the PS3 over to HDMI 5 (the one that was causing the Display top right to flash continually) and it worked there too.

Thank you siucity. If you ever are in southeast Texas let me know and there will be a pitcher of your favorite beer on me. I'm going to call Elite support back and tell them the fix so next time someone has this issue they'll know what to try.

Glad to hear it worked for you! I'm no fan of HDCP, DRM, etc. I think they cause more problems than they solve.

Oh, and I had a party last night with an open bar. I think I'm good on alcohol for a while. (but I do want to add Texas to my list of states visited though)
siucity is offline  
post #6773 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I just can't believe How much this Display continues to impress me the longer I own it. People who don't own it are missing out on the best Display they will see in today's market.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
post #6774 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Watched H.P. & the Deathly Hallows 2 last night - this thing doesn't just have great shadow detail, it's got black detail ...
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6775 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Pannus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post

Watched H.P. & the Deathly Hallows 2 last night - this thing doesn't just have great shadow detail, it's got black detail ...

A lot of us waiting are the firmware update from Sharp before calibrating. I for one could not wait and had mine calibrated by Gregg Loewen. He calibrated it in THX mode and the picture is phenomenal. Truly.
Pannus is offline  
post #6776 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 06:05 PM
Member
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post

It was reported at CES around Sept timeframe.

Thanks. Any indication on pricing?

As someone looking to replace a Pioneer Elite that I've relocated from the basement to the living room knowing that perhaps an improved model will be availble in Sept does not make my decision any easier.
cssnms is offline  
post #6777 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 06:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenee View Post

I just can't believe How much this Display continues to impress me the longer I own it. People who don't own it are missing out on the best Display they will see in today's market.

I was watching Gladiator on it tonight and it was like the first time i had seen it. Utterly gorgeous.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6778 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,033
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pannus View Post


A lot of us waiting are the firmware update from Sharp before calibrating. I for one could not wait and had mine calibrated by Gregg Loewen. He calibrated it in THX mode and the picture is phenomenal. Truly.

Pannus, I'm having mine done in a couple of weeks. Did you notice any change in cyan? Any reason he didn't use ISF mode?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6779 of 14538 Old 01-31-2012, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Pannus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post


Pannus, I'm having mine done in a couple of weeks. Did you notice any change in cyan? Any reason he didn't use ISF mode?

Gregg said the THX mode was closest to 709 rec, but he was surprised how far off it was initially. He evidently was/is professionally involved in developing the THX standardization. There was some banding in the ISF modes.

He had some very nice equipment and produced excellent results. My dE's were all less than one.

Honestly, I wouldn't recognize the cyan problem unless another set was running next to it and displaying it properly. I asked Gregg about the cyan issue when he was done and he said it was a mild low luminance issue which he said I would not be able to discern.

I was talking to Chad B and he also saw some banding in the ISF modes. I would go with THX Ken.

Drury
Pannus is offline  
post #6780 of 14538 Old 02-01-2012, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
GeneWildersHair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I finally pulled the trigger on the 70" today, just waiting for it to ship now. Thanks for all the feedback.
GeneWildersHair is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off