Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 486 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14551 of 14595 Old 07-23-2014, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I will pose this question here...and perhaps I can get an "unjaded" answer

I have the opportunity to buy two display LED's....at a electronics retailer...both look to be functionally fine with no scratches or scuffs

Sharp Elite..60"....$1350.00.....no remote and no glasses

Sony 65" HX950..$1490.00....comes with remote

both would have full manufacturer warranty from the day I purchased ..I already called Sharp and Sony to verify this


price per inch the Sharp is less
the biggest deal on the Sony is that is is 5" larger..has the gorilla glass and has a more flat pane of glass look

The Sharp...to my eyes...has a little better off angle viewing and the rep at Sharp told me just about any Sharp remote will control the Elite. I assume they are like Samsung and have not changed remote codes in many years

This would be hung over a fireplace where a few year old 58" plasma is hanging now and will be for casual viewing

My more critical viewing/movie watching is done in a media room with my Samsung F8500 plasma


thoughts on which one to grab?

Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14552 of 14595 Old 07-23-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post
I will pose this question here...and perhaps I can get an "unjaded" answer

I have the opportunity to buy two display LED's....at a electronics retailer...both look to be functionally fine with no scratches or scuffs

Sharp Elite..60"....$1350.00.....no remote and no glasses

Sony 65" HX950..$1490.00....comes with remote

both would have full manufacturer warranty from the day I purchased ..I already called Sharp and Sony to verify this


price per inch the Sharp is less
the biggest deal on the Sony is that is is 5" larger..has the gorilla glass and has a more flat pane of glass look

The Sharp...to my eyes...has a little better off angle viewing and the rep at Sharp told me just about any Sharp remote will control the Elite. I assume they are like Samsung and have not changed remote codes in many years

This would be hung over a fireplace where a few year old 58" plasma is hanging now and will be for casual viewing

My more critical viewing/movie watching is done in a media room with my Samsung F8500 plasma


thoughts on which one to grab?

Warren
The Sharp has less blooming and, in my opinion, a slightly better overall picture. The Sony is an excellent set, though. If I was in your shoes, I'd probably go with the Sony because of the extra 5 inches.
gweempose is offline  
post #14553 of 14595 Old 07-23-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

Sharp Elite..60"....$1350.00.....no remote and no glasses

Warren
If you are getting the Sony...mind PM'ing the store info? I may want to pick up the 60" Elite

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #14554 of 14595 Old 07-23-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turnne1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post
If you are getting the Sony...mind PM'ing the store info? I may want to pick up the 60" Elite
dont know which one...still trying to make up my mind

I will make up my mind in the next couple of days be glad to let you know where the other unit is

Warren

Rm 1 Samsung 64F8500 Onkyo 5508 prepro Sherbourn 5/1500A amp Atlantic technology System 350 THX Ultra speakers
Rm 2 LG 47LE8500 Pioneer Denon 4520 Celestion 305 speaker system
Rm 3 Samsung 51E8000 Yamaha A2010 Kef 2005.2 speaker system
Rm 4 Panasonic 50ST50 Onkyo 5009/906 Mirage Omni sat speaker system
turnne1 is offline  
post #14555 of 14595 Old 07-23-2014, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post
I will pose this question here...and perhaps I can get an "unjaded" answer

I have the opportunity to buy two display LED's....at a electronics retailer...both look to be functionally fine with no scratches or scuffs

Sharp Elite..60"....$1350.00.....no remote and no glasses

Sony 65" HX950..$1490.00....comes with remote

both would have full manufacturer warranty from the day I purchased ..I already called Sharp and Sony to verify this


price per inch the Sharp is less
the biggest deal on the Sony is that is is 5" larger..has the gorilla glass and has a more flat pane of glass look

The Sharp...to my eyes...has a little better off angle viewing and the rep at Sharp told me just about any Sharp remote will control the Elite. I assume they are like Samsung and have not changed remote codes in many years

This would be hung over a fireplace where a few year old 58" plasma is hanging now and will be for casual viewing

My more critical viewing/movie watching is done in a media room with my Samsung F8500 plasma


thoughts on which one to grab?

Warren
I've had the 70" Sharp Elite and like it a lot and it is hanging above my fireplace


Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8801/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60 surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #14556 of 14595 Old 07-27-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
aprikh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Talking Sell me your 70" Elite!

Hello lucky Elite owners. I am in the market for the 70" version, if anybody is interested in selling, please PM me. I am in the DC, MD, VA area, but willing to drive within 300 miles to come pick-up the unit.

Thanks in advance.
aprikh1 is offline  
post #14557 of 14595 Old 07-31-2014, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have been waiting for something to come out to replace my Elite. So far there is nothing in the market that excites me except OLED. The limited size (55") and price of OLED is not appealing and no one seems to be in a rush to produce them. I want something larger but with equal picture quality, I should have purchased the 70" Elite.

Anyone else considering another TV to replace their Elite and if so what are you looking at?

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #14558 of 14595 Old 07-31-2014, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post
I have been waiting for something to come out to replace my Elite. So far there is nothing in the market that excites me except OLED. The limited size (55") and price of OLED is not appealing and no one seems to be in a rush to produce them. I want something larger but with equal picture quality, I should have purchased the 70" Elite.

Anyone else considering another TV to replace their Elite and if so what are you looking at?
The 65" 4k OLEDs have just been announced at a price of $7000 with an arrival date of end September. The 77" should follow shortly afterwards but at a much higher price. I have a 70" Elite and will be replacing it about this time next year if the 77" street price drops to around $7-8K and has no significant problems.
dsinger is offline  
post #14559 of 14595 Old 07-31-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
The 65" 4k OLEDs have just been announced at a price of $7000 with an arrival date of end September. The 77" should follow shortly afterwards but at a much higher price. I have a 70" Elite and will be replacing it about this time next year if the 77" street price drops to around $7-8K and has no significant problems.
LG right? Can't wait to see the first reviews. Though OLED may be too dim for my room

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8801/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60 surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #14560 of 14595 Old 07-31-2014, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
The 65" 4k OLEDs have just been announced at a price of $7000 with an arrival date of end September. The 77" should follow shortly afterwards but at a much higher price. I have a 70" Elite and will be replacing it about this time next year if the 77" street price drops to around $7-8K and has no significant problems.
Great news! Price needs to come down a bit and I am not keen on it being curved but I may be able to live with it.

Thanks for the info!

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #14561 of 14595 Old 08-02-2014, 02:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprikh1 View Post
Hello lucky Elite owners. I am in the market for the 70" version, if anybody is interested in selling, please PM me. I am in the DC, MD, VA area, but willing to drive within 300 miles to come pick-up the unit.

Thanks in advance.
I am in the Norfolk, VA area. I have the 70" Elite (Aug 2011 build).
Using N3W813's Aug 2011 THX Movie picture settings and have never looked back.
However, I am so sorry to tell you that I can't sell u mine till something bigger and better comes along.
markrubin likes this.
obxdiver is offline  
post #14562 of 14595 Old 08-03-2014, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Steve you , that was CRUEL!
AnotherDude is offline  
post #14563 of 14595 Old 08-05-2014, 11:25 AM
Member
 
aprikh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Steve you , that was CRUEL!
Not only does Steve has the TV that I want, but he is also geographically close. Sigh...
aprikh1 is offline  
post #14564 of 14595 Old 08-06-2014, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Of late, my Elite is having intermittent brightness pops. It usually lasts about a second or two. It kinda of glazes content over with a glittery pulse.

Here are my settings:

IVC - Advanced Low
OPC - Off
Backlight 3
Contrast 33
Brightness 0
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +1
Color Temp - Mid-Low
ME - 120low
Pcp - On
Active Contrast - On
Gamma 0
Film - Off
DNR - Auto
Mono - Off

I used to have IVC set to 'Local Dimming'.

I didn't have tv long b4 switching from LD>Adv low. Wifey likes the extra pop that 'Adv Low' gives.

Thinking maybe I should try reverting to LD & see of this anomaly rears its glittery head again?

Last edited by leftyguitar1963; 08-06-2014 at 02:18 PM.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #14565 of 14595 Old 08-06-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 105
^ I use IVC Low and have never had a problem with any unwanted brightness issues. Where your settings differ from most I have seen is backlight is very low, most use something around 15 or 16, Contrast is very high with most around 25-27 but your low backlight would cause a need to increase contrast. Most set color temp to low. Active contrast is always turned off by owners on this forum AND may be the source of your problem especially if you haven't cleaned the sensors on the bottom of the basel recently. Try turning that off especially since IVC Low has some of the same effect. Finally most users here would have DNR turned off unless they commonly have poor source material. Good luck.
dsinger is offline  
post #14566 of 14595 Old 08-06-2014, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
^ I use IVC Low and have never had a problem with any unwanted brightness issues. Where your settings differ from most I have seen is backlight is very low, most use something around 15 or 16, Contrast is very high with most around 25-27 but your low backlight would cause a need to increase contrast. Most set color temp to low. Active contrast is always turned off by owners on this forum AND may be the source of your problem especially if you haven't cleaned the sensors on the bottom of the basel recently. Try turning that off especially since IVC Low has some of the same effect. Finally most users here would have DNR turned off unless they commonly have poor source material. Good luck.
Thanks! Will give these a try...........
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #14567 of 14595 Old 08-08-2014, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pro-70X5Fd and Direct 3D Pay Per View

Anyone successfully play DirecTV 3D Pay Per View movies with Pro-70X5FD and HR34 or HR44.
My Pro-70X5FD kicks out error message only when trying to play DirecTV 3D Pay Per View movies with HR34 or HR44(TV does not support resolution), works with free 3D channel 107 and works with HR24 and DirecTV 3D Pay Per View channel .
Opened case with Directv and they closed case stating TV is not on their list of compatible 3D TV's.
TV has current firmware.


Scott
Sc0tt is offline  
post #14568 of 14595 Old 08-08-2014, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have to say every now and then I fire up the Elite and I am still amazed by its picture quality. Popped in Oblivion on BR and it looked amazing.
Sick Mother and AgentElite like this.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #14569 of 14595 Old 08-12-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sc0tt View Post
Anyone successfully play DirecTV 3D Pay Per View movies with Pro-70X5FD and HR34 or HR44.
My Pro-70X5FD kicks out error message only when trying to play DirecTV 3D Pay Per View movies with HR34 or HR44(TV does not support resolution), works with free 3D channel 107 and works with HR24 and DirecTV 3D Pay Per View channel .
Opened case with Directv and they closed case stating TV is not on their list of compatible 3D TV's.
TV has current firmware.


Scott
Interesting - I have not tried the pay for view 3D with my Genie but it has worked on their other channels like you experienced. Is there a possible cable issue? Is your HDMI going through a AV first before the TV?

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8801/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60 surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #14570 of 14595 Old 08-12-2014, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
Interesting - I have not tried the pay for view 3D with my Genie but it has worked on their other channels like you experienced. Is there a possible cable issue? Is your HDMI going through a AV first before the TV?
No it is not cable related. I run HDM1 cable directly from HR44 to TV, have tried different cables and different
HDMI inputs on TV with no success.


I believe it is a HR34/HR44 software issue as 3D pay per view works with TV and HR24 but not HR34 or HR44.


Scott
Sc0tt is offline  
post #14571 of 14595 Old 08-16-2014, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is there a command that i can press on remote or through system menu, that will show number of usage hours on my panel?
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #14572 of 14595 Old 08-16-2014, 09:31 AM
Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sharp has offered to replace my replaced 60X5 refurb with a new Sharp LC-70UQ17U. I've been waiting for a couple of months for another refurb but it seems like Sharp is not getting many refurbs. I've had the TV for a bit over a year and a half. There is a line across the top of the screen and my original set developed a line across the lower center of the screen.

The 70" Sharp is a little big for my space but I think it would work OK. Should I wait for another refurb or take the new set?
KRGM1 is offline  
post #14573 of 14595 Old 08-18-2014, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRGM1 View Post
Sharp has offered to replace my replaced 60X5 refurb with a new Sharp LC-70UQ17U. I've been waiting for a couple of months for another refurb but it seems like Sharp is not getting many refurbs. I've had the TV for a bit over a year and a half. There is a line across the top of the screen and my original set developed a line across the lower center of the screen.

The 70" Sharp is a little big for my space but I think it would work OK. Should I wait for another refurb or take the new set?
here is a review: http://www.cnet.com/products/sharp-lc-70uq17u/

and you might want to ask Scott Wilkinson here on the forums

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8801/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60 surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #14574 of 14595 Old 08-18-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
KRGM1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the link Audioguy. Looks like I need to hold out for another refurb replacement.
KRGM1 is offline  
post #14575 of 14595 Old 08-25-2014, 10:31 AM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if this is the right forum.

My sharp elite 70 blacks out very intermittently. The source is a dish receiver. The AV prepro is a Marantz av7005. HDMI cables. I could be the TV, Dish, cables, or the Marantz. So far it is fairly often on the dish. I would switch inputs on the marantz and that would not fix. When it came back, I would "rewind" the dish and there was no correlation with the content and the blackout. I tried switching cables with mixed results. I then tried straight Roku (also HDMI) and it played great for hours, then a brief blackout. Grrr......

I think next I will bypass the marantz for the video. If that has problems I will then use a blu ray and see.

Nothing has changed for years. The Marantz and dish are in a rack behind doors that is open in the back. I think heat is not a problem.

Any suggestions on tracking down an intermittent blackout? Could it be the TV?
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14576 of 14595 Old 08-25-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What are your cable lengths for each device
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #14577 of 14595 Old 08-25-2014, 12:37 PM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Between the sources and the AVR is 2 feet. Between the AVR and the TV 16 feet,. I think, it has been three years. If I go direct across the room I might be able to use a different shorter cable to test.
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14578 of 14595 Old 08-25-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 105
^ Do not use a shorter cable. HDMI design parameters were based upon using a 6 foot cable. Can't explain technical details but less than 6 ' can cause problems in some setups. I have an Elite and if I had this problem I would: 1. Change the HDMI input on the Elite by switching to an unused one and setting the picture mode to the same as on previous input which should keep the same settings. 2. If that didn't fix it I would replace the HDMI cable from the AVR to the TV with one known to work or a new one making sure new one was high speed rated. 3. If still not fixed, I would leave all the changes so far in place and replace the HDMI cables from the sources to the AVR using 6' or longer. Sounds like you have a cable issue. Some do fail otherwise have problems over time. Simply unplugging them and cleaning them may solve it. I have followed this thread from the beginning and don't remember anyone with this issue. Good luck
dsinger is offline  
post #14579 of 14595 Old 08-26-2014, 07:36 AM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shorter than 6 foot a problem? A little weird, but far from implausible. I had a printer that failed with a cable longer than 6 feet. To find that I went through three layers of tech support. Why they couldn't put that in the readme? Funny story- I fixed my home computer. I go to my business and the IT guy and a technical guy were struggling with the printer. I told them to use a 6 foot cable. They were incredulous. I said "indulge me its my business." I was the tech king for a while.

I suspect my short source to AV cable now. It worked fine last night when I bypassed the cable. Now I will replace it, and hope.
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14580 of 14595 Old 08-26-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjordan93436 View Post
Between the sources and the AVR is 2 feet. Between the AVR and the TV 16 feet,. I think, it has been three years. If I go direct across the room I might be able to use a different shorter cable to test.
16' is not that long. I had issues when I had my Marantz gear in the basement with 30ft long runs upstairs to the tv - and 20ft long runs from the blue-ray player to the Marantz and then to the TV. which is why I moved it all back upstairs to be closer to the TV.

Monoprice has some good cables for reasonable cost

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8801/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XL center channel, and SuperSat 60 surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds
Audiguy3 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 70x5fd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off