Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 487 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14581 of 14597 Old 08-26-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
16' is not that long. I had issues when I had my Marantz gear in the basement with 30ft long runs upstairs to the tv - and 20ft long runs from the blue-ray player to the Marantz and then to the TV. which is why I moved it all back upstairs to be closer to the TV.

Monoprice has some good cables for reasonable cost
For long distances, I'd recommend the new RedMere cables ...

dsinger likes this.
gweempose is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14582 of 14597 Old 08-28-2014, 02:30 AM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far so good with new cables. The RedMere is best for long runs and directly from the source to display, not the intermediate cables. That is according to the monoprice chat help desk.
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14583 of 14597 Old 09-14-2014, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This sucks. My 70in is unrepairable as well. Dammit I love this TV. Glad it was still just shy of warranty expiring. Only thing to replace it with was a Samsung 64F8500. My new TV comes Tuesday. I know I'm going to miss those 6 inches grrrrrrrrr. I would've held out for the lg 77in OLED, but that price! Why is there nothing else good at 70in......
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #14584 of 14597 Old 09-14-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,087
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post
This sucks. My 70in is unrepairable as well. Dammit I love this TV. Glad it was still just shy of warranty expiring. Only thing to replace it with was a Samsung 64F8500. My new TV comes Tuesday. I know I'm going to miss those 6 inches grrrrrrrrr. I would've held out for the lg 77in OLED, but that price! Why is there nothing else good at 70in......
Maybe the new Vizio P series 70" coming out on the 23rd. We'll know how good it is or isn't when we get our meters and eyes them.

Semper Fidelis Marine.

DaNang - '70-'71

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #14585 of 14597 Old 09-14-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 35
*Just turn the Active Contrast to "Off"... That is the culprit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by leftyguitar1963 View Post
Of late, my Elite is having intermittent brightness pops. It usually lasts about a second or two. It kinda of glazes content over with a glittery pulse.

Here are my settings:

IVC - Advanced Low
OPC - Off
Backlight 3
Contrast 33
Brightness 0
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +1
Color Temp - Mid-Low
ME - 120low
Pcp - On
Active Contrast - On
Gamma 0
Film - Off
DNR - Auto
Mono - Off

I used to have IVC set to 'Local Dimming'.

I didn't have tv long b4 switching from LD>Adv low. Wifey likes the extra pop that 'Adv Low' gives.

Thinking maybe I should try reverting to LD & see of this anomaly rears its glittery head again?
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #14586 of 14597 Old 09-29-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm going to repurpose my 70" for a conference room at my workplace. What would be a fair price that I should on the books for the transfer? I bought it when they first came out in 2012, iirc. Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is online now  
post #14587 of 14597 Old 09-29-2014, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 112
^ Do a Google search you may find used for sale on ebay. 6 months or so ago there were 2 70" listed as used for sale on Amazon. Price as I remember was around $7k.
dsinger is offline  
post #14588 of 14597 Old 09-29-2014, 02:31 PM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I did an ebay search. The prices seemed really high. So I figured I get a reality check here, but it sounds like they may not be that out of line. Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is online now  
post #14589 of 14597 Old 09-30-2014, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
CrabRangoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got an opportunity to purchase a 60" locally for around $2k (or less, if I can work them down by any chance). They say no problems or scratches (I've yet to inspect it in person yet), but I'm still waiting to hear back regarding a serial number and/or production date from the tag on the set. As a buyer, is there anything specific I should be looking for? I planned to call Sharp to ask about any history of claims/repairs on the set based on the serial. While I'd love to pay to extend the manufacturers warranty, this is by far the oldest of the used TV sets I've been shopping and I can't imagine Sharp would offer coverage this late in it's life.

I'm coming from a Samsung PN50C8000 that we've been pleased with from the start. About a year or so ago I decided to start shopping for open box / used Panasonic VT and ZT sets (new price of 60-65" wasn't in the cards), and have still never got one. I'd put off further decision-making until firsthand accounts of the Vizio P could come to light, but I can say that if I'm going to spend $2000+ on a set, I'd really rather it was one of the things I've been set on for so long (Sharp Elite, Panny VT/ZT, possibly a Sammy 5800 plasma) instead. I just have too much apprehension about any other LCD set and how disappointed I might be coming from plasma.

I've skimmed over this thread from time to time, but never really thought I'd actually get a shot at one from a local seller. I don't mind bringing my own content to test the screen, but as I'm really not very well educated on possible issues with this particular model I would love some insight as to what I should be looking for. I feel like the $2k asking price seems fair compared to the outlandish prices I see in the occasional Amazon/eBay listings, and it's in my budget so I probably shouldn't try negotiate much - yes?
CrabRangoon is offline  
post #14590 of 14597 Old 09-30-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Suggestion On Faulty HDMI PORT

My70" has bad hdmi port and warranty abut to go out and Sharp will not replace with new but only refubushed- I am worried what i will get with this as my unit has very few hours on it and Sharp reoair has said this unit can not be repaired.

I have extra HDMI ports but if more fail - I hav e problems too..

Thanks
dlmjr is offline  
post #14591 of 14597 Old 10-02-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to change HDMI cables. My 70 Elite is wall mounted. I have no instructions and I did not do it. It does not swing. I assume that you lift up the TV to remove it. ???
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14592 of 14597 Old 10-08-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
anyone using the oppo 105d with the 70" elite? my calibrator said to leave darbee off to get better bd pq but I partly got the 105d for the darbee. just looking for second opinion from an elite owner. I leave my darbee set to 35 and haven't done my own comparisons yet- thanks in advance!

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #14593 of 14597 Old 10-08-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 112
^ I have an Oppo 103 with an external Darbee. Love it and would never stop using it. Adds depth and detail to the PQ without making it look artificial. Leave it set at HD 50. A few "purists" don't like the Darbee but the vast majority of users are extremely happy.
dsinger is offline  
post #14594 of 14597 Old 10-08-2014, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will try upping the darbee setting to 50 in addition to comparing with darbee off-

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #14595 of 14597 Old 10-09-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
^ I have an Oppo 103 with an external Darbee. Love it and would never stop using it. Adds depth and detail to the PQ without making it look artificial. Leave it set at HD 50. A few "purists" don't like the Darbee but the vast majority of users are extremely happy.
Count me as one of those "extremely happy" Darbee users ...

Oppo 103 + Sharp Elite + Darbee = Bliss

I also leave mine set to HD 50.
gweempose is online now  
post #14596 of 14597 Old 10-27-2014, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone!

I'm wondering if any of you fine folks would be interested in buying my used Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD? It's in pristine condition and I've never had any issues with it. I'm not sure what kind of price to ask, so maybe I'll entertain some offers and see what you guys think is a fair price? I'm located in Scottsdale, AZ. Local pickup would obviously be preferred, however I do have all the original shipping materials and would be happy to ship it insured at the buyer's expense if necessary. Please feel free to msg me for pics and any questions you may have, and thank you for your time! Cheers.

Chris
Thirty1Hz is offline  
post #14597 of 14597 Old 10-27-2014, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newbie Fail!

I just realized two things:

1. I should have posted this awesome display up for sale in the classifieds section. Please forgive me! I have now made an official classified post that can be seen by searching for my user name: Thirty1Hz

My apologies, but I cannot post links or images until I have at least 5 posts under my belt. (Does this count as 1???)

2. I am obviously a newbie and therefore cannot send PM's to anyone until I've made at least 15 posts. So, please allow me to hide in my newbie shame closet for a while and figure out what to do about the PM's I've received from you nice people. Any tips or advice on how to communicate with all the new friends I'm making here would be highly appreciated! Thanks.

PS. If you have PM'd me, please know that I have definitely received your msg and I am not yet able to respond, but I will be sure to respond to you in the order received. (Perhaps outside of the forum if you are so inclined to send me your email.) Thank you!
Thirty1Hz is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off