Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 487 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #14581 of 14619 Old 08-26-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiguy3 View Post
16' is not that long. I had issues when I had my Marantz gear in the basement with 30ft long runs upstairs to the tv - and 20ft long runs from the blue-ray player to the Marantz and then to the TV. which is why I moved it all back upstairs to be closer to the TV.

Monoprice has some good cables for reasonable cost
For long distances, I'd recommend the new RedMere cables ...

dsinger likes this.
gweempose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14582 of 14619 Old 08-28-2014, 02:30 AM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far so good with new cables. The RedMere is best for long runs and directly from the source to display, not the intermediate cables. That is according to the monoprice chat help desk.
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14583 of 14619 Old 09-14-2014, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This sucks. My 70in is unrepairable as well. Dammit I love this TV. Glad it was still just shy of warranty expiring. Only thing to replace it with was a Samsung 64F8500. My new TV comes Tuesday. I know I'm going to miss those 6 inches grrrrrrrrr. I would've held out for the lg 77in OLED, but that price! Why is there nothing else good at 70in......
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #14584 of 14619 Old 09-14-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,143
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geronimo.USMC View Post
This sucks. My 70in is unrepairable as well. Dammit I love this TV. Glad it was still just shy of warranty expiring. Only thing to replace it with was a Samsung 64F8500. My new TV comes Tuesday. I know I'm going to miss those 6 inches grrrrrrrrr. I would've held out for the lg 77in OLED, but that price! Why is there nothing else good at 70in......
Maybe the new Vizio P series 70" coming out on the 23rd. We'll know how good it is or isn't when we get our meters and eyes them.

Semper Fidelis Marine.

DaNang - '70-'71

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #14585 of 14619 Old 09-14-2014, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 38
*Just turn the Active Contrast to "Off"... That is the culprit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by leftyguitar1963 View Post
Of late, my Elite is having intermittent brightness pops. It usually lasts about a second or two. It kinda of glazes content over with a glittery pulse.

Here are my settings:

IVC - Advanced Low
OPC - Off
Backlight 3
Contrast 33
Brightness 0
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +1
Color Temp - Mid-Low
ME - 120low
Pcp - On
Active Contrast - On
Gamma 0
Film - Off
DNR - Auto
Mono - Off

I used to have IVC set to 'Local Dimming'.

I didn't have tv long b4 switching from LD>Adv low. Wifey likes the extra pop that 'Adv Low' gives.

Thinking maybe I should try reverting to LD & see of this anomaly rears its glittery head again?
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #14586 of 14619 Old 09-29-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm going to repurpose my 70" for a conference room at my workplace. What would be a fair price that I should on the books for the transfer? I bought it when they first came out in 2012, iirc. Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #14587 of 14619 Old 09-29-2014, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 114
^ Do a Google search you may find used for sale on ebay. 6 months or so ago there were 2 70" listed as used for sale on Amazon. Price as I remember was around $7k.
dsinger is offline  
post #14588 of 14619 Old 09-29-2014, 02:31 PM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I did an ebay search. The prices seemed really high. So I figured I get a reality check here, but it sounds like they may not be that out of line. Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #14589 of 14619 Old 09-30-2014, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
CrabRangoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got an opportunity to purchase a 60" locally for around $2k (or less, if I can work them down by any chance). They say no problems or scratches (I've yet to inspect it in person yet), but I'm still waiting to hear back regarding a serial number and/or production date from the tag on the set. As a buyer, is there anything specific I should be looking for? I planned to call Sharp to ask about any history of claims/repairs on the set based on the serial. While I'd love to pay to extend the manufacturers warranty, this is by far the oldest of the used TV sets I've been shopping and I can't imagine Sharp would offer coverage this late in it's life.

I'm coming from a Samsung PN50C8000 that we've been pleased with from the start. About a year or so ago I decided to start shopping for open box / used Panasonic VT and ZT sets (new price of 60-65" wasn't in the cards), and have still never got one. I'd put off further decision-making until firsthand accounts of the Vizio P could come to light, but I can say that if I'm going to spend $2000+ on a set, I'd really rather it was one of the things I've been set on for so long (Sharp Elite, Panny VT/ZT, possibly a Sammy 5800 plasma) instead. I just have too much apprehension about any other LCD set and how disappointed I might be coming from plasma.

I've skimmed over this thread from time to time, but never really thought I'd actually get a shot at one from a local seller. I don't mind bringing my own content to test the screen, but as I'm really not very well educated on possible issues with this particular model I would love some insight as to what I should be looking for. I feel like the $2k asking price seems fair compared to the outlandish prices I see in the occasional Amazon/eBay listings, and it's in my budget so I probably shouldn't try negotiate much - yes?
CrabRangoon is offline  
post #14590 of 14619 Old 09-30-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Suggestion On Faulty HDMI PORT

My70" has bad hdmi port and warranty abut to go out and Sharp will not replace with new but only refubushed- I am worried what i will get with this as my unit has very few hours on it and Sharp reoair has said this unit can not be repaired.

I have extra HDMI ports but if more fail - I hav e problems too..

Thanks
dlmjr is offline  
post #14591 of 14619 Old 10-02-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
sjordan93436's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to change HDMI cables. My 70 Elite is wall mounted. I have no instructions and I did not do it. It does not swing. I assume that you lift up the TV to remove it. ???
sjordan93436 is offline  
post #14592 of 14619 Old 10-08-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
anyone using the oppo 105d with the 70" elite? my calibrator said to leave darbee off to get better bd pq but I partly got the 105d for the darbee. just looking for second opinion from an elite owner. I leave my darbee set to 35 and haven't done my own comparisons yet- thanks in advance!

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #14593 of 14619 Old 10-08-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 114
^ I have an Oppo 103 with an external Darbee. Love it and would never stop using it. Adds depth and detail to the PQ without making it look artificial. Leave it set at HD 50. A few "purists" don't like the Darbee but the vast majority of users are extremely happy.
dsinger is offline  
post #14594 of 14619 Old 10-08-2014, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I will try upping the darbee setting to 50 in addition to comparing with darbee off-

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #14595 of 14619 Old 10-09-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
^ I have an Oppo 103 with an external Darbee. Love it and would never stop using it. Adds depth and detail to the PQ without making it look artificial. Leave it set at HD 50. A few "purists" don't like the Darbee but the vast majority of users are extremely happy.
Count me as one of those "extremely happy" Darbee users ...

Oppo 103 + Sharp Elite + Darbee = Bliss

I also leave mine set to HD 50.
gweempose is offline  
post #14596 of 14619 Old 10-27-2014, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone!

I'm wondering if any of you fine folks would be interested in buying my used Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD? It's in pristine condition and I've never had any issues with it. I'm not sure what kind of price to ask, so maybe I'll entertain some offers and see what you guys think is a fair price? I'm located in Scottsdale, AZ. Local pickup would obviously be preferred, however I do have all the original shipping materials and would be happy to ship it insured at the buyer's expense if necessary. Please feel free to msg me for pics and any questions you may have, and thank you for your time! Cheers.

Chris
Thirty1Hz is offline  
post #14597 of 14619 Old 10-27-2014, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newbie Fail!

I just realized two things:

1. I should have posted this awesome display up for sale in the classifieds section. Please forgive me! I have now made an official classified post that can be seen by searching for my user name: Thirty1Hz

My apologies, but I cannot post links or images until I have at least 5 posts under my belt. (Does this count as 1???)

2. I am obviously a newbie and therefore cannot send PM's to anyone until I've made at least 15 posts. So, please allow me to hide in my newbie shame closet for a while and figure out what to do about the PM's I've received from you nice people. Any tips or advice on how to communicate with all the new friends I'm making here would be highly appreciated! Thanks.

PS. If you have PM'd me, please know that I have definitely received your msg and I am not yet able to respond, but I will be sure to respond to you in the order received. (Perhaps outside of the forum if you are so inclined to send me your email.) Thank you!
Thirty1Hz is offline  
post #14598 of 14619 Old 11-30-2014, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all. First post here. A lot of great, useful info from the forum. I really appreciate all of the contributions.

I was hoping someone could tell me the most ideal HD calibration for the pro-70. I have tried to find one in this thread, but it's been tough with almost 1500 posts to wade through. Any suggestions/tips from longtime owners would be greatly appreciated!
Crob1977 is offline  
post #14599 of 14619 Old 12-01-2014, 02:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crob1977 View Post
Hello all. First post here. A lot of great, useful info from the forum. I really appreciate all of the contributions.

I was hoping someone could tell me the most ideal HD calibration for the pro-70. I have tried to find one in this thread, but it's been tough with almost 1500 posts to wade through. Any suggestions/tips from longtime owners would be greatly appreciated!
I use N3W813's last settings. He has 2 sets of numbers.
I'll give you some history, since I have followed this thread since it was started back in September 2011 by RadTech. I purchased my 70" Elite on Black Friday 2011 from BestBuy, on sale, for $7200...and never regretted it....
N3W813 (Newbie) is an active member here at AVS forum. He has links to his Elite calibration numbers in his signature.
However, since AVS forum keeps changing the software, his links no longer work....I tried them.
Therefore, I found the 2 posts from him in this 487 page thread, and relinked them below. I also embedded his pictures here to this post.
Before his final numbers (2nd link below), he posted a big discussion with screen shots from Calman on Nov 7th, 2012 for his Aug 2011 Elite. See this link
N3W813's Nov 7 2012 Post - Initial 2011 ELITE Builds

Then, on Dec 3rd, 2012, he made 1 change
This link is for the FINAL set of numbers for Aug 2011 Elite builds.
With these settings, the picture is perfect in every way.....for me. Very accurate colors.
N3W813's Dec 3 2012 Post - FINAL 2011 Aug ELITE Builds

Menu Settings chart for Aug 2011 Elite Builds (I use these numbers since my TV was made then)




Then, on April 3rd, 2013, he posted numbers for the Nov 2012 Elite builds
These newer TV's seemed not as good as the 1st batch of Elites from Aug 2011.
Many owners reported green and red blobs on white backgrounds.
N3W813's April 3 2013 Post - FINAL Nov 2012 ELITE Builds

Menu Settings chart for November 2012 Elite Builds



Good Luck
See my signature for a picture of my 70" Elite using these Aug 2011 menu settings
The picture was taken while viewing The Science Channel HD via Direct TV (Monster Bug Wars)
The picture does not do the TV justice. !!

Last edited by obxdiver; 12-01-2014 at 04:38 AM.
obxdiver is offline  
post #14600 of 14619 Old 12-01-2014, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Steve, thanks for hunting down the settings posts! (I was too lazy to go through the thread :P)

Signature links updated

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #14601 of 14619 Old 12-01-2014, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Barney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post
Steve, thanks for hunting down the settings posts! (I was too lazy to go through the thread :P)

Signature links updated
NEWBIE,

I have been using your Nov 2012 settings without the 2.2gamma for some time now…. Should I be using the Nov 2012 settings with your 2.2gamma adjustments?

Thanks!
Barney1 is offline  
post #14602 of 14619 Old 12-02-2014, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post
Steve, thanks for hunting down the settings posts! (I was too lazy to go through the thread :P)

Signature links updated
Hello,


Thanks for posting your settings for use- if my Sharp Elite is early 2012 build date like April - August, which of your settings do you think would be best?

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #14603 of 14619 Old 12-02-2014, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post
Steve, thanks for hunting down the settings posts! (I was too lazy to go through the thread :P)

Signature links updated
Also, does leaving the motion interpolation (120 high/low) off make for sharper 1080p24 presentation?

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.

Last edited by Parrish; 12-03-2014 at 07:35 AM.
Parrish is offline  
post #14604 of 14619 Old 12-04-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post
Hello,


Thanks for posting your settings for use- if my Sharp Elite is early 2012 build date like April - August, which of your settings do you think would be best?
As far as I remember, there were only 2 builds of the Elite TV's. Aug 2011, and batch #2 came in Nov 2012.
The serial number of the TV also reveals what the build date is, but it is only found on the box as far as I remember.
Somewhere is this thread is the decoding of that serial number.
If your TV was new in April 2012, then I would say use the Aug 2011 settings
obxdiver is offline  
post #14605 of 14619 Old 12-04-2014, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post
Also, does leaving the motion interpolation (120 high/low) off make for sharper 1080p24 presentation?
You will have to experiment.
As I said, When N3W813 posted the FINAL menu settings for 2011 Elites, I entered that final change to RED HUE (-5), and I have not touched the settings since
I did lower my brightness by 1 click (to 0) to get even deeper blacks.
I sometimes go to "IVC Advanced LOW" on bright sunny days, otherwise it stays on LD ON
I use an Oppo BPD-93 with HDMI direct to the Elites HDMI 2 input, and the 1080p/24 is superb
I have no desire for anything else for years....as long as she keeps on throwing out this beautiful picture.
obxdiver is offline  
post #14606 of 14619 Old 12-04-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdiver View Post
You will have to experiment.
As I said, When N3W813 posted the FINAL menu settings for 2011 Elites, I entered that final change to RED HUE (-5), and I have not touched the settings since


I have no desire for anything else for years....as long as she keeps on throwing out this beautiful picture.

Do you have the post # for his final settings?? Are these new in the past 6 months? Did an advanced search and must be missing it.


I agree. Simply stunning picture. XBOX One is a great 24p player too
sjchmura is offline  
post #14607 of 14619 Old 12-04-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
^^^
Scroll Up to 14599...
obxdiver is offline  
post #14608 of 14619 Old 12-04-2014, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Barney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I have a 2012 build would I use NEWBIE’s first set of settings or the last one with the 2.2 gamma settings?
Thanks!
Barney1 is offline  
post #14609 of 14619 Old 12-05-2014, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Well...if it a Nov 2012 build, then use the Nov 2012 numbers
I thought that was written clear in my previous posts
obxdiver is offline  
post #14610 of 14619 Old 12-05-2014, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdiver View Post
You will have to experiment.
As I said, When N3W813 posted the FINAL menu settings for 2011 Elites, I entered that final change to RED HUE (-5), and I have not touched the settings since
I did lower my brightness by 1 click (to 0) to get even deeper blacks.
I sometimes go to "IVC Advanced LOW" on bright sunny days, otherwise it stays on LD ON
I use an Oppo BPD-93 with HDMI direct to the Elites HDMI 2 input, and the 1080p/24 is superb
I have no desire for anything else for years....as long as she keeps on throwing out this beautiful picture.
These settings are better than my isf night and day- I too drop brightness down by 1 or 2 clicks either on the tv settings or the oppo settings- is there a difference in which hdmi input I use on the Sharp elite? I think I am currently using hdmi input 1? definitely good settings though man! my newest set is the LG 55ea9800 OLED and the blacks levels on it are unbelievable- which is why I have to lower the brightness of the Sharp Elite by two clicks to be comparable.

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off