Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 489 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14641 of 14668 Old 04-03-2015, 11:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MitchMurray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received my new PRO-70X5 in Jan2012. It has been working great, except the remote stopped connecting with the TV about 6 months ago. I had purchased a spare genuine Elite PRO-70X5 remote, which I fired up, and it connects with the TV fine. So it appears that the original remote went bad. I decided to order another spare genuine Elite PRO-70X5 remote.
MitchMurray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14642 of 14668 Old 04-04-2015, 04:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Has anyone news about the new Sharp TV'S? CES 2015 Sharp said it was coming out with a 80in WCG FALD. What was interesting, list posted at that time of six grand, if it is like the pro, look out Samsung someone is about to run you over! Samsung's 9500 is almost the same price of LG'S OLED"S.ARE THEY NUT"S?
6athome is online now  
post #14643 of 14668 Old 04-05-2015, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprikh1 View Post
Not only does Steve has the TV that I want, but he is also geographically close. Sigh...
Are you still looking for the 70 elite?
cmascali is offline  
post #14644 of 14668 Old 04-05-2015, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
NHHobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidergames View Post
is there any owners out there who had the elite from day one and never had the IR remote problem.... Does anyone have the IR remote problem?
Hi:


Have a 60" Elite. Original owner, bought from Chris at Cleveland Plasma back in Dec 2011. No problem with the IR. Did buy a spare board a year back as a "just-in-case". Love this frigging thing. Have 17,000 hours on it. Yeah...that's a real ####. Between in-laws and...working different hours than my wife this puppy gets a real work out. Just got it calibrated last summer by Greg L. at Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc. Am very pleased with this set.
NHHobie is offline  
post #14645 of 14668 Old 04-12-2015, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I've had my Elite 70" since Nov 2011.
Never had one problem with remote or any thing else with the TV.
The TV continues to perform flawless.
I did not buy the extended warranty...never do.
Is there a TV out there for sale now that will surpass this Elite?
I have not been keeping up with TV's since I got the Elite.
Just wondering if anything 70"+ has it beat or equal in PQ.
obxdiver is offline  
post #14646 of 14668 Old 04-13-2015, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdiver View Post
Just wondering if anything 70"+ has it beat or equal in PQ.
Yup, LG 77" OLED, if you can afford it.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #14647 of 14668 Old 04-16-2015, 07:30 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Infamous IR sensor failure strikes again

Darn! My PRO60X5FD IR sensor just went out, and it's also one month after the 1-year Sharp extended warranty. So it took 3+ years to fail.

I found quite a few IR sensor boards (part no. DUNTKF909FM01) for sale on Ebay so I'll try getting one of those and finding someone to install it. Manually turning on the TV via the power switch gets old really fast!

Last edited by mikey94025; 04-17-2015 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Found part on Ebay
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14648 of 14668 Old 04-22-2015, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
Darn! My PRO60X5FD IR sensor just went out, and it's also one month after the 1-year Sharp extended warranty. So it took 3+ years to fail.

I found quite a few IR sensor boards (part no. DUNTKF909FM01) for sale on Ebay so I'll try getting one of those and finding someone to install it. Manually turning on the TV via the power switch gets old really fast!
I search Ebay everyday for the last month. No DUNTKF909FM01 boards listed on EBay that I can find.

So you found one?
Last edited by mikey94025; 04-17-2015 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Found part on Ebay

Pls let me know what you put in as a search. I need one.

Anthem D2v, McIntosh MC205, Elite PRO-70X5FD, Oppo BDP-103, Richard Gray Power Company 400S, B&W Nautilus, JL audio Fathom f113, Harmony One, lighter wallet

Last edited by bekindrewind; 04-22-2015 at 05:49 PM.
bekindrewind is offline  
post #14649 of 14668 Old 04-22-2015, 07:21 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
I search Ebay everyday for the last month. No DUNTKF909FM01 boards listed on EBay that I can find.
I searched (USA) Ebay for "DUNTKF494FM01" and found a lot of listings. Some of the circuit board pictures vary quite a bit, so I went with the one that looks like a narrrower version (i.e., hopefully a newer, simpler version of the same circuitry) board picture in the YouTube instructional video (look at time 4:54):

This is the Ebay item I purchased but I won't know if it works until I find someone to try and install it: http://www.ebay.com/itm/371011595753
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14650 of 14668 Old 04-25-2015, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
svukelich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The remote on my 60X5 quit working. I contacted a Sharp repair man and he determined it was not the remote but the IR board in the TV that failed. He contacted Sharp and was informed that they do not make that IR board anymore, nor have any in stock. They did send him a repair procedure and the replacement chips that failed. He de-soldered the old chips and soldered the new ones. The two chips were each approx. 0.1 x 0.1 inch so to take on this job you have to be good at soldering; he finished the job in under an hour and it cost me $125.
mikey94025 likes this.
svukelich is offline  
post #14651 of 14668 Old 04-27-2015, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
I searched (USA) Ebay for "DUNTKF494FM01" and found a lot of listings. Some of the circuit board pictures vary quite a bit, so I went with the one that looks like a narrrower version (i.e., hopefully a newer, simpler version of the same circuitry) board picture in the YouTube instructional video (look at time 4:54): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCJhNDz_VdQ

This is the Ebay item I purchased but http://www.ebay.com/itm/371011595753
The correct board is DUNTKF909FM01
You searched for DUNTKF494FM01....why?

I doubt the board you bought will fit or work. The board you bought is not the board the tv uses.
I've attached a photo of the correct one (1st photo) and the one you bought (2nd photo) Boards are not the same dimentions at all. Look at where the IR sensor is on both. Lengths, wrong, width wrong, sensor in wrong place, etc.

As far as..."I won't know if it works until I find someone to try and install it" you posted a link on Youtube where the guy shows you how to do it. The Video shows how simple it is. Only need one philips screwdriver for the entire job. How easy is that.

So, why are you not doing it?
Then you can let us know the outcome.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	41Jk-y2kbBL._SS500_.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	690081   Click image for larger version

Name:	$(KGrHqN,!lcFHCENgY91BR1dcY!4JQ~~60_57.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	241.0 KB
ID:	690089  

Anthem D2v, McIntosh MC205, Elite PRO-70X5FD, Oppo BDP-103, Richard Gray Power Company 400S, B&W Nautilus, JL audio Fathom f113, Harmony One, lighter wallet

Last edited by bekindrewind; 04-27-2015 at 04:49 PM.
bekindrewind is offline  
post #14652 of 14668 Old 04-28-2015, 05:59 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
As far as..."I won't know if it works until I find someone to try and install it" you posted a link on Youtube where the guy shows you how to do it. The Video shows how simple it is. Only need one philips screwdriver for the entire job. How easy is that.

So, why are you not doing it?
Then you can let us know the outcome.
Yeah, it would be easy if you have the use of two hands. But I don't.

I did have someone come out today and as you predicted, my part did not work because the ribbon clip is a slightly different width. As you pointed out, I searched for the wrong part number. I didn't notice that the Ebay search results for "DUNTKF909FM01" returns many parts with the other part number.

The guy is going to check with his suppliers but I'm not hopeful. I'm afraid I won't be able to repair my IR unless someone out there with a spare IR board is willing to sell me theirs... PM me and I'll make it worth your while... :-)
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14653 of 14668 Old 04-28-2015, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post

The guy is going to check with his suppliers but I'm not hopeful. I'm afraid I won't be able to repair my IR unless someone out there with a spare IR board is willing to sell me theirs... PM me and I'll make it worth your while... :-)
Hey neighbor! I live in San Leandro, you know across the bay bridge.
If anyone has an IR board they are willing to sell, I'll make it worth your while too, being I've been searching longer than mikey, lol.
Mikey, if you need any help, PM me. Always willing to help a fellow AV guy out if I can.
Cheers,
bekindrewind

Anthem D2v, McIntosh MC205, Elite PRO-70X5FD, Oppo BDP-103, Richard Gray Power Company 400S, B&W Nautilus, JL audio Fathom f113, Harmony One, lighter wallet

Last edited by bekindrewind; 04-28-2015 at 06:27 PM.
bekindrewind is offline  
post #14654 of 14668 Old 05-02-2015, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The ir board is bad on my Pro 60x5 also. The remote never worked well from day 1 on my set.
I can't find anyone in my area who will repair my original board and Sharp support is not being very helpful. svukelich can PM me the phone number of your repair man? He seems like the guy who can help me. Thanks
MrTuck is offline  
post #14655 of 14668 Old 05-04-2015, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
svukelich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
My repair was performed by MidAmerica Service, 328 Jungermann Road, St. Peters, MO 63376-5350
(636) 442-4786. Go to appliancerepair-stlouis for their web site.

Sorry, I cannot PM yet (not enough posts) so I am replying globally here.

Last edited by svukelich; 05-04-2015 at 04:46 PM.
svukelich is offline  
post #14656 of 14668 Old 05-05-2015, 06:40 AM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by svukelich View Post
My repair was performed by MidAmerica Service, 328 Jungermann Road, St. Peters, MO 63376-5350
(636) 442-4786. Go to appliancerepair-stlouis for their web site.
Thanks for posting that info globally. I'm desperate for a solution. Perhaps we can all send our broken IR boards to this St. Peters, MO repair shop and have them repaired... I'm serious!
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14657 of 14668 Old 06-05-2015, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
same green line problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftyguitar1963 View Post
Here are a couple more. Just e-mailed Sharp with these & a few others per their request. I imagine there are no longer any replacements? Not willing to take comparably priced edge-lit 4k panel. Any hope for a refund?
Did Sharp help you fix this problem? I now have the same issue on the right side of screen.
urgentclock6 is offline  
post #14658 of 14668 Old 06-15-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
PepperOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know this is a very old thread but I'd like some help with something with the Elite 60.

I remember reading the thread where someone was mentioning a Power button, and a Power Saving button on the Elite remote. I believe there were complaints about one of those buttons (I think it was the Power Saving one) that effected the quality of the Elite and to turn it off.

Would someone refresh my mind on what to do with the Power Saving button on the remote?
PepperOne is offline  
post #14659 of 14668 Old 06-15-2015, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 271
The bottom of the remote has a flip up panel. Under that you will find a button for power save so you can turn it off.
dsinger is offline  
post #14660 of 14668 Old 06-16-2015, 07:23 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another place to repair your broken IR board!

My local San Francisco electronics shop was able to repair my broken board so my TV works again (remotely). It cost me a bit more because of two home visits (the first to try installing the wrong board I bought from eBay, the second to install my old board after they fixed it), but they estimate a $100 repair charge for any such boards mailed into and back out of their shop.

Here's their contact info if anyone else desperately needs a repair:

A-Plus Electronics
2111 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94109
415-474-2111
Michael Braude
aplus101 at earthlink dot net
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14661 of 14668 Old 06-16-2015, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
My local San Francisco electronics shop was able to repair my broken board so my TV works again (remotely). It cost me a bit more because of two home visits (the first to try installing the wrong board I bought from eBay, the second to install my old board after they fixed it), but they estimate a $100 repair charge for any such boards mailed into and back out of their shop.

Here's their contact info if anyone else desperately needs a repair:

A-Plus Electronics
2111 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94109
415-474-2111
Michael Braude
aplus101 at earthlink dot net
You the man mikey!
Thank you for sharing that, for the IR board is going bad in a lot of these one year wonder tv's and no more replacement boards to be had. Lucky for me, SF is right over the Bay Bridge. Yahoooooo!

Anthem D2v, McIntosh MC205, Elite PRO-70X5FD, Oppo BDP-103, Richard Gray Power Company 400S, B&W Nautilus, JL audio Fathom f113, Harmony One, lighter wallet
bekindrewind is offline  
post #14662 of 14668 Old 07-18-2015, 03:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 24,018
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 958
my trusty Elite 70 Pro is acting up:

HDMI input 1, which is the only connected input seems to have an HDCP issue, even though nothing in my HT has changed

It is fed through a Gefen 8x8 matrix switcher and when I change inputs to DirecTV or Tivo through the matrix, the Sharp goes blank and other monitors connected to the matrix give an HDCP error and tell me to use component video cables

when I switch the feed to Sharp HDMI input 3, all works fine again

I am wondering if this is something anyone else has seen? I have the link control shut off in the Sharp menu

btw: the IR eye on mine went bad several months ago: but I am using the serial port for control: I have a new IR eye to be put in someday

tia

please take the high road in every post
If you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
Beware: Copy Protection Flags are coming

Last edited by markrubin; 07-18-2015 at 07:14 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #14663 of 14668 Old 07-24-2015, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I have (4) pair of the 3-d glasses that came with my 60 Elite. Of the 4 pair, only 1 pair was taken out of factory box, none of which were ever used. PM me if anyone interested.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #14664 of 14668 Old 07-24-2015, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
TVMAN1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anybody with a 60 or 70 elite LED wanna trade for my pn64f8500 Sammy plasma? Northeast I'll bring to you. And I can put cash on top for the 70
TVMAN1991 is offline  
post #14665 of 14668 Old 07-31-2015, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
TVMAN1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Or if anyone wants to sell outright?
TVMAN1991 is offline  
post #14666 of 14668 Old Yesterday, 05:14 PM
Member
 
clemdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've got the dreaded IR failure issue.

Any repairmen in the Los Angeles area? Specifically northern LA county?
clemdog is online now  
post #14667 of 14668 Old Today, 12:32 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clemdog View Post
So I've got the dreaded IR failure issue.

Any repairmen in the Los Angeles area? Specifically northern LA county?
Sorry to hear it. Worst case, you can mail your IR board to my repair guy in San Francisco. Check with him if you can't find any local solution:

A-Plus Electronics
2111 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94109
415-474-2111
Michael Braude
aplus101 at earthlink dot net
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14668 of 14668 Old Today, 04:31 PM
Member
 
clemdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks mikey. I found the name of the local dealer Sharp had come out 2 years ago. Yup. This will be the second time this same issue has happened on this panel. I sent them an email and will see what happens.
Called Sharp this morning and they wanted to do the whole unplug and then plug back in thing...
clemdog is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off