Official Sharp Elite PRO-70X5 and 60X5 Owners Thread - Page 494 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14791 of 14815 Old 10-09-2016, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I agree with Mark. I have the 70 inch Elite and got a 75"940D. The blacks are as good and the 4K is stunning
markrubin likes this.
Audiguy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14792 of 14815 Old 10-09-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
I might jump in. Really want HDR gaming.

At 4K it's that or the vizio - vizio has DV which a lot of upcoming content especially PC high end games will support.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14793 of 14815 Old 10-09-2016, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I think this is the app: it costs $9.99: well worth it: please check for compatibility before you buy

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/simp...431497717?mt=8
Yeah, unfortunately only available on iOS, no Android.

jasonvr is offline  
 
post #14794 of 14815 Old 10-09-2016, 10:54 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't think that iOS app can remotely control a Sharp Elite TV without a working IR sensor. Perhaps your friend did replace the IR board and just/still uses his iPhone as a remote control?

The Sony 940D has a really good reputation but Sony's recently-announced XBR-65Z9D (65", there's also 75" and 100" available) is getting really good reports - even compared to the latest LG OLED TVs. The AVS forums are very competitive against each other. It seems to be a toss-up between the 65" Z9D and 65" OLEDs and the prices are comparable. The 75" Z9D is much less expensive than the 77" OLED so for that size the Sony is a better choice (unless price is no object).

You're lucky to have an applicable Best Buy warranty for your failed Elite -- I would take advantage of that credit to upgrade to a newer 4K LED or OLED with HDR and other modern features.
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14795 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 04:19 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 19,863
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1151 Post(s)
Liked: 2558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
I don't think that iOS app can remotely control a Sharp Elite TV without a working IR sensor. Perhaps your friend did replace the IR board and just/still uses his iPhone as a remote control?
I can confirm, through actual testing and use, that the Sharp Elite can continue to be controlled remotely by RS232 and/ or IP control, including the IOS app, after failure of the IR board

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #14796 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
I don't think that iOS app can remotely control a Sharp Elite TV without a working IR sensor. Perhaps your friend did replace the IR board and just/still uses his iPhone as a remote control?



The Sony 940D has a really good reputation but Sony's recently-announced XBR-65Z9D (65", there's also 75" and 100" available) is getting really good reports - even compared to the latest LG OLED TVs. The AVS forums are very competitive against each other. It seems to be a toss-up between the 65" Z9D and 65" OLEDs and the prices are comparable. The 75" Z9D is much less expensive than the 77" OLED so for that size the Sony is a better choice (unless price is no object).



You're lucky to have an applicable Best Buy warranty for your failed Elite -- I would take advantage of that credit to upgrade to a newer 4K LED or OLED with HDR and other modern features.


The app can. Uses Ethernet or wifi. IP control. It's on all high end stuff.

In fact is crazy harmony won't use this Am- I bet all your stuff can work. My denon 4200 has it, pioneer amps have it, even my 2014 vizio M has it. Logitech has been saying "soon" for 4 years


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14797 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey94025 View Post
I don't think that iOS app can remotely control a Sharp Elite TV without a working IR sensor. Perhaps your friend did replace the IR board and just/still uses his iPhone as a remote control?



The Sony 940D has a really good reputation but Sony's recently-announced XBR-65Z9D (65", there's also 75" and 100" available) is getting really good reports - even compared to the latest LG OLED TVs. The AVS forums are very competitive against each other. It seems to be a toss-up between the 65" Z9D and 65" OLEDs and the prices are comparable. The 75" Z9D is much less expensive than the 77" OLED so for that size the Sony is a better choice (unless price is no object).



You're lucky to have an applicable Best Buy warranty for your failed Elite -- I would take advantage of that credit to upgrade to a newer 4K LED or OLED with HDR and other modern features.


In fact the app has more direct control then the remote - each picture mode is mapped!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14798 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 05:56 AM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I can confirm, through actual testing and use, that the Sharp Elite can continue to be controlled remotely by RS232 and/ or IP control, including the IOS app, after failure of the IR board
Very cool! That's a nice option for anyone with a failed IR board.
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14799 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
I so wish harmony would add this. 100% rock solid. I love that I can program "HDMI 2 denon, tv HDMI 1 , game mode tv"

You would be programming "delay, menu, ok, down down down down ok" and hope it worked with IR


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14800 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 09:35 PM
Member
 
mikey94025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
I so wish harmony would add this. 100% rock solid. I love that I can program "HDMI 2 denon, tv HDMI 1 , game mode tv"

You would be programming "delay, menu, ok, down down down down ok" and hope it worked with IR
I have direct input selection with my Harmony remote. Their database has direct input selections (the codes may be from the Pioneer Kuro TV devices). Or are you referring to something else?
mikey94025 is offline  
post #14801 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
You don't have direct input of "game mode" do you? My harmony database (smart hub does not)

So with IP you can direct switch game mode to thx


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14802 of 14815 Old 10-10-2016, 09:53 PM
Member
 
rrussell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jenks, OK
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
Well, it looks like my IR board has finally given up the ghost (yesterday). Can no longer turn it on with my Harmony remote, nor the OEM one. Have to use the physical button. That makes the TV mostly unusable for a lot of things (changing inputs, watching Netflix, etc). It's still covered under a Geek Squad Protection Plan (until March). The part seems completely unavailable. Every place I searched says unavailable, no longer manufactured, or out of stock. None listed on eBay. My guess is that BB won't have any better luck, which means they either need to get someone to solder new chips (unlikely), or they'll need to provide replacement credit. Not sure how much they will give, but my guess is that the only things available that are even comparable to the Elite is an OLED, right?
There is a place in San Francisco area that used to repair most of the Elite remote IR boards. Anyway, I sent my board to them less than a year ago and they fixed it for around $135 + shipping. You have to remove the back panel to gain access to the board in the bottom right hand corner. It's worth a try. The repair shop was:


A-Plus Electronics
2111 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94109
415-474-2111
Michael Braude
aplus101 at earthlink dot net
rrussell is offline  
post #14803 of 14815 Old 10-12-2016, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Has anyone seen a native contrast measurmebt on the elite? I am considering upgrading? To a 940d for HDR and slightly bigger - it has only 96 zones vs my elite 300 and some - but damn in demos it's so hard to see blooming and blacks look so good

Wondering if the native contrast on the Sony (5500 measured) helps vs the elite


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14804 of 14815 Old 10-29-2016, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
A little update on my IR board repair. It looks like they are not going to be able to get the part (not unexpected). The tech still needs to come out and confirm the IR receiver is dead (I already know it is).

If I do go down the replacement route, I don't know what they will offer me (they claim they do it based on features, not price). I know the latest Vizio P series has been mentioned, as well as the Sony 940D and Z9D. Are those the only ones that are really comparable? Also, the 940D is a 75" which is too big for my space (I've got the 60" Elite). Is the 930D (65") the same quality? (edit: I just started reading some reviews - the 930D doesn't have the same backlighting system as the 940D so it is not the same level of quality unfortunately)

Of course the Vizio R series and the LG OLEDs also look great, but I don't think BB will let me go that high (without paying a differential). Maybe via the Open Box route though...

Are there others I should consider as a viable replacement that I have a reasonable shot at convincing BB to give me?

jasonvr is offline  
post #14805 of 14815 Old 11-11-2016, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
A little update on my IR board repair. It looks like they are not going to be able to get the part (not unexpected). The tech still needs to come out and confirm the IR receiver is dead (I already know it is).

If I do go down the replacement route, I don't know what they will offer me (they claim they do it based on features, not price). I know the latest Vizio P series has been mentioned, as well as the Sony 940D and Z9D. Are those the only ones that are really comparable? Also, the 940D is a 75" which is too big for my space (I've got the 60" Elite). Is the 930D (65") the same quality? (edit: I just started reading some reviews - the 930D doesn't have the same backlighting system as the 940D so it is not the same level of quality unfortunately)

Of course the Vizio R series and the LG OLEDs also look great, but I don't think BB will let me go that high (without paying a differential). Maybe via the Open Box route though...

Are there others I should consider as a viable replacement that I have a reasonable shot at convincing BB to give me?
Well, I got my phone call today telling me my replacement has been authorized. The model they offered is the LG 65UH9500 which looks to be nowhere near comparable and doesn't even have local dimming (it's edge lit). When I asked if there were any other options, such as the Vizio P series they said that they usually don't recommend Vizios since people don't like them and so they generally try to offer Samsung, LG, etc I have to imagine that actually means they get better pricing for those (or better kick backs) so they try to push them . The review for the Vizio are much better than the LG

http://4k.com/tv/lg-uh9500-4k-super-...9500-86uh9500/

So, my other option is a store credit for $2500+tax. At first I couldn't figure out where that number came from until I realized it was the selling price for the 65UH9500.

Opinions? I think I could probably parlay this into the LG OLED (open box) or the P series (since it is going for 2k), or maybe something else?

jasonvr is offline  
post #14806 of 14815 Old 12-11-2016, 12:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miki Brickham View Post
I too have had the same green line problem on my Elite Pro 70. Started some time last Fall, 2014. Did you ever resolve the issue?
Hi, just got the vertical green line problem on my 2013 70 Sharp Elite, still covered extended warranty. They dont change the panel, offer another, subclass tv.
Any luck on how to fix the green line anotherway?
Thanks. Would like to keep my Elite...
Chris101 is offline  
post #14807 of 14815 Old 01-14-2017, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
For anyone that has had their IR board go out and has no way to get a replacement or repair like I did, I have devised another way!

IR to RS232 bridge?

Basically, I built an IR to serial bridge using a Raspberry Pi. The only quirk is that the OEM remote still can't turn the TV on, but a Harmony with the discrete Power On code will. OEM remote will turn off the TV though.... Let me know if others are interested in more details
sjchmura likes this.

jasonvr is offline  
post #14808 of 14815 Old 02-14-2017, 02:38 PM
Member
 
ZackL04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure u have to replace the T-con board if its bad. Good way to check is to remove the back of the tv and wiggle all the connections to the board and see if it improves or degrades. I have one as a spare for my 60", let me know if your interested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris101 View Post
Hi, just got the vertical green line problem on my 2013 70 Sharp Elite, still covered extended warranty. They dont change the panel, offer another, subclass tv.
Any luck on how to fix the green line anotherway?
Thanks. Would like to keep my Elite...
ZackL04 is offline  
post #14809 of 14815 Old 04-05-2017, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
k_lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Beverly Hills 90210
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I think this is the app: it costs $9.99: well worth it: please check for compatibility before you buy

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/simp...431497717?mt=8
I just ran into the IR board failure issue on my PRO70X5D - of course I cannot find a replacement board, so will look into getting the existing board repaired. would be nice if we knew which specific component on the board fails.

Anyway- I found a GOOD IP REMOTE control for the Sharp Elite TVs and it is FREE!! Plus it is customizable with macros and custom screens. It blows away the $9.99 paid app.

Look in apple app store or google play store for "AnyMote" by Color Tiger. https://anymote.io/ They also make a hardware IP to IR blaster device you can buy and add on but it is optional- In short, it looks like you could do fairly easy complete IP / IR control of all devices with this setup. I am using it right now to control the Elite TV, two Roku boxes, and my DirecTV DVR - all over IP, and I set this up on two devices (iphone and galaxy tab E) in about 10 minutes. no kidding. And, it even let me set up hardware mappings so the volume hard buttons on my iphone and my samsung galaxy E will raise or lower the Elite volume. nice. and it was easy. There is an option to build your own custom remote screen and put onto it just the device buttons you want.

the discrete power buttons on page 2 turn the TV on and off. the volume slider does not work, but that is no big deal at all. the direct discrete inputs work as well. The AnyMote app found my Elite TV right away on the network with the default enabled IP control settings turned on in the TV. In the Elite TV I left the username / password blank, and default control port of 10002. very very good!

A/V Gear: Excessive.

Last edited by k_lewis; 04-05-2017 at 09:40 AM.
k_lewis is online now  
post #14810 of 14815 Old 04-12-2017, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Do you like the Sony much more? I have the 75" z9 now and for.SDR content I still.think the elite is great. Yes, z9 better but not as big of a upgrade as swapping a 65" Vizio M.in my bedroom for the elite - that quality floors my wife


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14811 of 14815 Old 04-14-2017, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
needing screw size

hello fellow Elite'ers

--this site is great - i am fairly new to it but certainly finding it very helpful!

--i am actually selling my Elite Pro 70 (see classified forum) as i went to Sony XBR

--i just took the Elite off the wall and put it on its stand and did not realize i dont have the 4 screws it requires (been on wall for 2 years) so i think they are now misplaced

anyone know the size screw it takes to attach stand?

any help would greatly be appreciated.

thanks,
JJ
JJ Cruzzz is offline  
post #14812 of 14815 Old 04-14-2017, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 3,834
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1204 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ Cruzzz View Post
hello fellow Elite'ers



--this site is great - i am fairly new to it but certainly finding it very helpful!



--i am actually selling my Elite Pro 70 (see classified forum) as i went to Sony XBR



--i just took the Elite off the wall and put it on its stand and did not realize i dont have the 4 screws it requires (been on wall for 2 years) so i think they are now misplaced



anyone know the size screw it takes to attach stand?



any help would greatly be appreciated.



thanks,

JJ


Curious if you like the 940d better for non hdr content?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #14813 of 14815 Old 04-16-2017, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I like my new Vizio P75-C1 better than my Elite 70. (after calibration) And yes, the Elite is going into the bedroom

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #14814 of 14815 Old 04-16-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i have a chance to sell my 70" elite for $1400. Should i let it go??? i have barely used it since i have no room for it at the moment, but im not sure if its worth it to keep for the future...
FreaKzZ is offline  
post #14815 of 14815 Old Today, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
k_lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Beverly Hills 90210
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hello all Sharp Elite owners - If you have the lame IR board issue, the problem stems from two bad capacitors on the IR board. the good news is these are not proprietary parts and easy to obtain.

sharp elite IR board repair part numbers sharp elite pro-70x5fd and pro-60x5fd
Replace two capacitors on the IR board to fix issue.
Official Sharp part name is:
rc-kza385wjzzy
Description: capacitors
Quantity needed: 2

How To fix the Sharp Elite TV IR board issue- You can't buy the replacement IR boards anymore (DUNTKF909FM01 etc) because for some reason, Sharp stopped making it. But you can buy IR boards for any other model of Sharp TV including their cheapest TV all the way back to mid 2000's. That really sucks. Sure let's exclude and stick it to your most high end and influential customers. Great business decision Sharp! You just lost all of them.

Replace the two existing SMD capacitors at board locations C107 and C108 with the new capacitors. That will fix it right up. Issue confirmed by Sharp in their internal service bulletin #LCDTV312

Keep in mind this info is for PRO70x5 but should apply to PRO60x5 boards as well, since they are having the exact same issue.

Sharp WILL NOT mail you the replacement capacitors - and they WILL NOT send you a copy of the repair bulletin. However, these capacitors are EASY to buy online. Just google for "rc-kza385wjzzy capacitors". The spec is "Capacitor 22 6.3v Ceramic" - these are small SMD devices that look like a tiny square tic-tac.



Some places to buy them:
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/RC-KZA385WJZZY
https://www.encompassparts.com/item/...2_6.3V_Ceramic

With care you can carefully remove and replace the two faulty capacitors. Or, you can have this work done through ANY Sharp service center - just have them CALL SHARP and ask for repair bulletin #LCDTV312 - which specifically states the issue with the capacitors and replacing both of them with the part number I listed. I suppose you could pull the board yourself to save some money but any repair shop is going to charge you $100 minimum.

Hope this helps you all as it took me 2 hours to gather this info and several calls- My opinion- Sharp Sucks and I will never buy anything Sharp again, ever! This issue with the IR board really should end up being a class action.

Official Sharp Servicers in the So Cal / Los Angeles area:
torrance - european hi tech 310-325-4601
northridge - watt tv service 818 708 3034
los angeles - george meyer tv and stereo 310-820-1113

Direct customer service number for Sharp: 1 866 264 0666

A/V Gear: Excessive.
k_lewis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Elite Black 70inch Pro 70x5fd Flat Panel 3d Led Hdtv , Sharp Elite Pro 60x5fd 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off