Please help me choose beween Sony and LG - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 10-10-2011, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am in a very tight spot not being able to choose the right HDTV and would like to know your opinion.
My have narrowed my choices to:

LG (42LW5300) - http_://www.lg.com/us/tv-audio-video/televisions/LG-led-tv-42LW5300.jsp
SONY (KDL-40HX720) - http_://www.sony.lv/product/tv-102-40-lcd/kdl-40hx720

They both have pros and cons.
In my perspective:

LG-
* 42" instead of 40" of SONY.
* Cinema 3D- Passive glasses so very convenient because I wear glasses.

SONY-
* Better picture quality
* "True" 3D
* DLNA

Please help me to choose.
This will be quite a long time purchase. I will use this for atleast 2 years.
When I compare the two, I could clearly see that SONY picture quality is slightly better. It had that glossy quality (I'm not technically sound in this area). The SONY is also 240Hz, but I dont think that really matters.

So what would you recommend? LG is IPS and SONY is backlit LED. I don't think I would watch a lot of 3D stuff right now, but I don't know in the future.

Please advice.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-10-2011, 06:57 AM

well if the Sony does 10:10 pulldown at 240hz with 24p I would buy that!
post #3 of 9 Old 10-10-2011, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I don't know if this will help, but I bought an LG set (47LK520) a few weeks ago and end up returning it and getting a Sony (46NX720) instead. My experience with LG was positive on some of their small (19-inch) sets, so I thought it would translate into the larger ones, but I was wrong.