4:4:4 Chroma Sampling - Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey :-)

I recently purchased the 'LD460' LG LCD. It's mainly used for HD Movies (720p or 1080p) and Video Games.

The forum have a post here about the fact 4:4:4 sampling will not work on HDMI to HDMI connection due to a driver bug in both ATI and Nvidia. I'm guessing that the Playstation 3 (or the Wii for that matter) using some sort of ATI or Nvidia chipset (I'm not aware to any other graphical chip set companies) , so it will also won't display a real 4:4:4. Also - as far as I understand, there is no 'option' to turn on 4:4:4 on the TV Set - it just displays it if the video displayed is 4:4:4 right?

I tried to have a look just for the research. According to the post above, I can test is using two ways:

1. Using this file, I should be able to read the 'Red' easily. I wasn't at the start - but playing around with the LCD Settings (Dynamic Contract and Black Level) made is look crisp and clear. As far as I know - 4:4:4 should not be a subject to color settings so I'm guessing this is not it?

2. Using this chart . See the attached picture. The 'blue' in the middle seems to point the 4:4:4 does not work?

Why is the difference between the two tests?

If I'm summing it up - There is no way to enjoy 4:4:4 on my Console at the moment right? Unless somehow ATI/Nvidia will fix this HDMI Bug and sony will push a new system update?
For the PC, I know there is an option to find an DVI to HDMI Cable, or use a fix that disables sound on the HdMI?

Thanks!
LL
Tall-Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 09:54 AM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my set (Westinghouse VR-3225) I have tested it two ways:

1) VGA native resolution 1920x1080.

The color text chart is clear & sharp.
The modified Bell-Nuit chart shows red pixel columns with SOME left & right pixel spill.
Normal text is sharp & clear.

2) DVI-HDMI 1920x1080

The color text chart is sharp & clear.
The modified Bell-Nuit chart shows well defined 'one pixel wide' red columns with NO left & right pixel spill.
Normal text is sharp & clear.

You could argue that test 1 fails Bell-Nuit and thus fails 444, but it passes the color text chart and displays normal computer text sharp & clear. The color text chart might not be a definitive 444 test.

Your Bell-Nuit chart suggests your TV is not doing 444, there seems to be too many red pixel columns. I get clean sharp well defined 'one pixel wide' red columns on mine. In other words, the red columns have a width of only ONE pixel.
dlipter is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see.

Well, since the Playstation 3 don't have any DVI Output, is it safe to say nothing I will do make 4:4:4 work on Playstation 3?
Even more then that, according to that : NO ONE else that owns playstation 3 can make 4:4:4 work at the moment?
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 10:22 AM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not a gamer.......

You'll have to wait for more experienced users for PlayStation 3 info.

P.S. I'm not sure 444 is important for gaming. For me it's very important for clear computer text, but for gaming, it might be a non-issue.
dlipter is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, someone mentioned 4:4:4 is 'useful' for Consoles and PCs. Some console games have a lot of reading going in the game, and it's just another source that don't use pre-rendered stuff.

Will wait for more comments. Thanks :-)
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 11:40 AM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To expand on my point....

Video like movies and TV shows is usually 4:4:3 which might be what your PlayStation is outputting.

The text that 4:4:4 is needed for is small text like from emails and this message.
dlipter is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ermm, I'm wondering - this bug only happens on HDMI to HDMI when it carries the sound data. If I'll connect the PS3 to a Receiver, Does the HDMI will no longer carry the sound data (which will allow it to do a 4:4:4?)?
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 12:09 PM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use your Bell-Nuit chart and play around.

Look for sharp single pixel wide columns.

I use a 5x loupe (10x or 20x would be better).

A Hastings Triplet would be great for this (I think).
dlipter is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think i'll try picking an SPDIF cable. Out from the Playstation 3 and in into the TV (as I don't have a receiver). This might work, as the Playstation 3 have an option to pick the sound output (HDMI or SPDIF).
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 04:29 PM
Member
 
51dueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Radeon 6000 series don't have a problem with chroma sampling. Some of the 4000 and 5000 series did which requires the EDID fix.

I've been using a 32" Insignia for over a year as a computer monitor, first with a Nvidia 9600GT (DVI-HDMI through a Denon AVR-1508) and in March I bought a Radeon 6970. I still used the DVI-HDMI cable as my Denon AVR-1508 didn't support HDMI audio. Last month I upgraded to a Denon AVR-1712 and a HDMI cable for true 6 channel audio.

My Denon AVR will display HDMI signal information. This is what I can output from my Radeon.
DVI:
8 bit 4:4:4 RGB
10 bit 4:4:4 RGB
HDMI:
8bit 4:4:4 RGB 16-235 white
8bit 4:4:4 RGB 0-255 white
10bit 4:4:4 RGB 16-235 white
10bit 4:4:4 RGB 0-255 white
8bit 4:2:2 YCbCr
10bit 4:2:2 YCbCr
8bit 4:4:4 YCbCr
10bit 4:4:4 YCbCr

However my Denon Blu Ray BDP-1610 will output 12bit 4:4:4 YCbCr. I assume it could do other settings but I haven't messed with Deep Color and RGB settings.
51dueller is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some more research. After tweaking my TV abit, I manage to get to the attached picture.

I only photoed 1 Red Column (zoomed it).
Can anyone confirm this is indeed 4:4:4?

By the way Dlipter, I saw some one Column only 4:4:4 screenshot (for example this: http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5999/proper444.jpg). Perhaps it's an old Bell Chart? Does you also get 'one' column using the chart on the first message?

Thanks
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 11-06-2011, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
sjetski71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tall-Guy View Post

I did some more research. After tweaking my TV abit, I manage to get to the attached picture.

I only photoed 1 Red Column (zoomed it).
Can anyone confirm this is indeed 4:4:4?

By the way Dlipter, I saw some one Column only 4:4:4 screenshot (for example this: http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5999/proper444.jpg). Perhaps it's an old Bell Chart? Does you also get 'one' column using the chart on the first message?

Thanks

i don't see your attached picture, unless you meant the imageshack link?
sjetski71 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 12:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ermm, It didnt attach it on the first time. Trying again :-)
LL
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 04:07 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
If the PS3 outputs RGB you are getting 4:4:4. By definiton RGB is 4:4:4 (no chroma subsampling to save space). YCbCr only comes in various "flavors". (4:4:4, 4:2:2, 4:2:0)

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 04:11 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by 51dueller View Post

The Radeon 6000 series don't have a problem with chroma sampling. Some of the 4000 and 5000 series did which requires the EDID fix.

I've been using a 32" Insignia for over a year as a computer monitor, first with a Nvidia 9600GT (DVI-HDMI through a Denon AVR-1508) and in March I bought a Radeon 6970. I still used the DVI-HDMI cable as my Denon AVR-1508 didn't support HDMI audio. Last month I upgraded to a Denon AVR-1712 and a HDMI cable for true 6 channel audio.

My Denon AVR will display HDMI signal information. This is what I can output from my Radeon.
DVI:
8 bit 4:4:4 RGB
10 bit 4:4:4 RGB
HDMI:
8bit 4:4:4 RGB 16-235 white
8bit 4:4:4 RGB 0-255 white
10bit 4:4:4 RGB 16-235 white
10bit 4:4:4 RGB 0-255 white
8bit 4:2:2 YCbCr
10bit 4:2:2 YCbCr
8bit 4:4:4 YCbCr
10bit 4:4:4 YCbCr

However my Denon Blu Ray BDP-1610 will output 12bit 4:4:4 YCbCr. I assume it could do other settings but I haven't messed with Deep Color and RGB settings.

From what I remember, until HDMI supported deep color, 8bit RGB and YCbCr 4:4:4 were the only "uncompressed" color spaces supported. You could do 10 and 12bit YCbCr 4:2:2.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ermm, I'm not sure if the Playstation 3 is RGB or not really :-(
Maybe you can identify 4:4:4 based on the picture above?
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 05:47 AM
Member
 
51dueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the ps3 will let you output a RGB signal, you will get 4:4:4 as I highly doubt your tv would convert that to YCbCr 4:2:2 or 4:2:0

Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

From what I remember, until HDMI supported deep color, 8bit RGB and YCbCr 4:4:4 were the only "uncompressed" color spaces supported. You could do 10 and 12bit YCbCr 4:2:2.

Most people will only see 12 or 16 bit from there blu ray player as the only way to get that from a pc is to have a workstation videocard. Then your also converting from display port to hdmi. Kind of a moot point since workstation cards aren't good for gaming and tvs aren't good for high colour playback.
51dueller is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the more I read about 4:4:4, the more the picture I posted above looks right. Cheers for the help guys :-)
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 11-07-2011, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tall-Guy View Post

Hey :-)

I recently purchased the 'LD460' LG LCD. It's mainly used for HD Movies (720p or 1080p) and Video Games.

The forum have a post here about the fact 4:4:4 sampling will not work on HDMI to HDMI connection due to a driver bug in both ATI and Nvidia. I'm guessing that the Playstation 3 (or the Wii for that matter) using some sort of ATI or Nvidia chipset (I'm not aware to any other graphical chip set companies) , so it will also won't display a real 4:4:4. Also - as far as I understand, there is no 'option' to turn on 4:4:4 on the TV Set - it just displays it if the video displayed is 4:4:4 right?

I tried to have a look just for the research. According to the post above, I can test is using two ways:

1. Using this file, I should be able to read the 'Red' easily. I wasn't at the start - but playing around with the LCD Settings (Dynamic Contract and Black Level) made is look crisp and clear. As far as I know - 4:4:4 should not be a subject to color settings so I'm guessing this is not it?

2. Using this chart . See the attached picture. The 'blue' in the middle seems to point the 4:4:4 does not work?

Why is the difference between the two tests?

If I'm summing it up - There is no way to enjoy 4:4:4 on my Console at the moment right? Unless somehow ATI/Nvidia will fix this HDMI Bug and sony will push a new system update?
For the PC, I know there is an option to find an DVI to HDMI Cable, or use a fix that disables sound on the HdMI?

Thanks!

It's not a driver bug AFAIK. On my samsung HDTV it seems to turn off 4:4:4 itself unless you label and input PC mode and then 4:4:4 works (but sadly PC mode also disables most of the calibration controls )
skibum5000 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 11-08-2011, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tall-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, Annoying. It seems like the bug mentioned on the LD450 thread, it fixed with ATI Driver at least. I heard some old Nvidia drivers still have tons issues.

And those TV specific issues like you have with the Samsung :-)
Tall-Guy is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 11-08-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post

YCbCr only comes in various "flavors". (4:4:4, 4:2:2, 4:2:0)

Do you happen to know which of those three the PS3 uses for YCbCr output while playing DVDs and BDs?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 11-08-2011, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum5000 View Post

It's not a driver bug AFAIK. On my samsung HDTV it seems to turn off 4:4:4 itself unless you label and input PC mode and then 4:4:4 works (but sadly PC mode also disables most of the calibration controls )

So even if you send YCbCr 4:4:4 to the Samsung TV, it converts it into something lower?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off