Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE632U Owner's Thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post


Do you have the diamond shadow on a bright screen?

More importantly, does anyone with a November build see the diamond shadow pattern? If not, sounds like the newer builds are the way to go to solve both problems
mjodotcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
rbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

More importantly, does anyone with a November build see the diamond shadow pattern? If not, sounds like the newer builds are the way to go to solve both problems

Can you display a shot of this diamond pattern? I ran through the WOW disc using the bright solid colors to look for screen inconsistencies. Is this the way to check for the clouding/diamond pattern?
rbanez is offline  
post #303 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

More importantly, does anyone with a November build see the diamond shadow pattern? If not, sounds like the newer builds are the way to go to solve both problems

I have never noticed this issue.
waltaz is online now  
post #304 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincey2kr1 View Post

September build here and I have the clouding on black screens, not noticeable during the movies though. Waltz so your saying you have no clouding on your November ? Any other November builds confirm? Hate to take back mine because it's such a pain load and drive an hour

I have minor clouding in two spots, on all-black screens. I have not tried to do anything about it (massaging it out), because it is minor, and it is not noticeable otherwise. Not a big deal to me.
waltaz is online now  
post #305 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
rbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

I have never noticed this issue.

I haven't noticed it either and I have a Sep 2011 build. No clouding as far as I can see but I haven't really brought backlighting down. Using center position for backlighting and haven't noticed clouding either. Just a very slight darkening of the corners but not noticeable to affect picture.
rbanez is offline  
post #306 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbanez View Post


Can you display a shot of this diamond pattern? I ran through the WOW disc using the bright solid colors to look for screen inconsistencies. Is this the way to check for the clouding/diamond pattern?

You can see the diamond Pattern when showing the all white slide and the clouding on the all black slide
mjodotcom is offline  
post #307 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 12:20 PM
Member
 
atstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbanez View Post

Can you display a shot of this diamond pattern? I ran through the WOW disc using the bright solid colors to look for screen inconsistencies. Is this the way to check for the clouding/diamond pattern?

Here are a couple of average shots from my phone.
LL
LL
atstarr is offline  
post #308 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post


Here are a couple of average shots from my phone.

Looks exactly like what I see
mjodotcom is offline  
post #309 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
rbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post

Here are a couple of average shots from my phone.

I wonder if Full LED Array tv's show this same pattern or if this is normal? If everyone else sees it. I'm not sure if this is due to this nature and if edge lit doesn't show it due to being only at the edges? I'm just thinking here..
rbanez is offline  
post #310 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 02:27 PM
Member
 
atstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbanez View Post

I wonder if Full LED Array tv's show this same pattern or if this is normal? If everyone else sees it. I'm not sure if this is due to this nature and if edge lit doesn't show it due to being only at the edges? I'm just thinking here..

I went to Best Buy today and looked at the other Sharps. Some had it including the 732 70" but the 632 80" did not.

I didn't see it on any other brand.
atstarr is offline  
post #311 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post

I went to Best Buy today and looked at the other Sharps. Some had it including the 732 70" but the 632 80" did not.

I didn't see it on any other brand.

And I thought 70" was big enough from 12 feet..now you tell me that if I want a perfect set, I need to go with the 80"?

Thanks for the information. Can others verify this?
rbanez is offline  
post #312 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone comment on what the "User" mode is for?

Is their any benefit to having one set of calibration settings for daytime viewing in a sunlit room and another setup calibration for night time viewing, is this even possible with the 632?

The consensus on this thread seems to be that "Movie" mode is the best for overall viewing correct?
Big Picture is offline  
post #313 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post


I went to Best Buy today and looked at the other Sharps. Some had it including the 732 70" but the 632 80" did not.

I didn't see it on any other brand.

What about the 734?
mjodotcom is offline  
post #314 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 03:18 PM
Member
 
atstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

What about the 734?

I'm not sure, there where a few different 73x and 78x. I didn't see it on the 3d 70" version but don't recall what specific model it was.
atstarr is offline  
post #315 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by atstarr View Post

I'm not sure, there where a few different 73x and 78x. I didn't see it on the 3d 70" version but don't recall what specific model it was.

IIRC:
- 632 non-3-D, non-Quattron 70"
- 732/33 non-3-D, Quattron 70"
- 734/35 3-D, Quattron 70"

733 and 735 being the Costco model numbers.

Most people have commented that the Quattron doesn't really do anything, and, in fact, may have a lesser PQ than the non-Quattron. YMMV...

And I, personally, don't need 3-D. I can get all the 3-D I want by turning Film Mode on, to get the SOE. In fact, I tried it on Low for Ice Age 3, and the effect was unbelievable, in a good way! I think that if you do that for any animated content, you'll get "SOE 3-D"...
waltaz is online now  
post #316 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 06:25 PM
Member
 
atstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke with Sharp technical support and sent a picture regarding the diamond shape shading. I'll report back when I hear from them.
atstarr is offline  
post #317 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
DevilDog151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

Watching the Browns-Steelers on NFL Network, and it looks ridiculously good...!!

YES! Very comparable to my Kuro. I was blown away how the Steelers black uniforms look so inky and yellow throwback helmets so vibrant. I did tweak the yellow CMS hue a little to the red to give the yellows a more gold color. But that was about it and I was blown away with the picture quality of NFL network in HD.

SEMPER FI
DevilDog151 is offline  
post #318 of 1488 Old 12-09-2011, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
grpape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post

Can anyone comment on what the "User" mode is for?

Is their any benefit to having one set of calibration settings for daytime viewing in a sunlit room and another setup calibration for night time viewing, is this even possible with the 632?

The consensus on this thread seems to be that "Movie" mode is the best for overall viewing correct?

I own the 732 and use two different setting for day and night. User mode for day (I have a lot of light coming) and Movie for night.

I'm not sure if the 632 has the same settings as the 732. If it does, when you set the color and tint, you have to make sure that the color gamut (I think) needs to be standard and not expand.
grpape is offline  
post #319 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameboy View Post

Interesting. So, it looks like the blue filter only works if the color temperature is set to low. I think that is why it works in the movie mode. Learn something new everyday...

Here are my setting after calibrating it with AVSHD videos.

AV Mode: Movie
All enhancements are turned off
Backlight: +16 (I like it bright since there are usually ambient lighting)
Contrast: +34
Brightness: -10
Color: +12
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0

The look is very natural and film like. Pretty nice indeed.

OK, just took a first pass through with the WOW disc, doing the "Basic" calibration. My results as follows:
- Did the calibration in a darkened room; same as how I'd watch a movie
- Input: HDMI from a Blu-Ray player
- Mode: Movie
- All enhancements turned off
- Backlight: 0 (I left this "neutral" as a baseline to calibrate against)
- Contrast: +30
- Brightness: +1
- Color: +12
- Tint: +3 (I struggled with Color and Tint; will do it again with some other eyes providing their opinion)
- Sharpness: 0
- Advanced Menu: Everything is Off

The settings carried over to the HDMI input from my Cox HD STB, and I'll be interested to see how they hold up. Additionally, the HD cable viewing will often be in a brighter (daytime) environment, while Blu-Rays will almost always be viewed in a darkened environment, so potential tweaks due to that.

Note: When doing the Contrast adjustment, I noticed the "diamond-crosshatch" pattern for the first time, on the all-white screen, when the Contrast is turned up super-high. I have never noticed this in "normal" viewing, and still don't. I think it may be a function of having the contrast set too high?

Let me know how it all looks!
waltaz is online now  
post #320 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grpape View Post

I own the 732 and use two different setting for day and night. User mode for day (I have a lot of light coming) and Movie for night.

I'm not sure if the 632 has the same settings as the 732. If it does, when you set the color and tint, you have to make sure that the color gamut (I think) needs to be standard and not expand.


Thanks for the confirmation on two viewing setups. Now I have to figure out if it's possible to program my Harmony 900 remote to switch between the two?
Big Picture is offline  
post #321 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it safe to do 632 firmware updates via wireless network, has anyone had issues after doing this?

Thank you.
Big Picture is offline  
post #322 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
skoolpsyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Juniper Hills, CA, USA
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by afletche View Post

does anyone know how big the box is for this? and is it ok to lay it down or do they need to be transported upright like plasmas? i'm thinking of getting one from best buy (they have them for pickup in the local warehouse vs 3-5 ay delivery) and want to make sure it'll fit in the van - thanks!

yeah, I'm still searching for the box measurements too. Is it on the website somewhere and I'm just not seeing it? Seems like it would be good info to provide...
skoolpsyk is offline  
post #323 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 11:44 AM
Member
 
otakonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the diamond pattern/cross hatching too on my set. It's really distracting when images pan from dark to light or in when a bright image is displayed on screen. I'm also a huge gamer and notice ghosting in "game" mode. :\\ I'm coming off a Samsung 61" DLP so there were big shoes to fill. HD movies and shows look amazing otherwise.
otakonx is offline  
post #324 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 632 remote has a View Mode button on it, when I pressed the button it was set to "stretch". I think I see an improvement for the better when I switch it to "Dot by Dot". Does anyone know what this mode is for and what the correct setting is?

Thank you.
Big Picture is offline  
post #325 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
John600rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just measured my box for you guys:

69" x 45" x 12"
John600rr is offline  
post #326 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post

The 632 remote has a View Mode button on it, when I pressed the button it was set to "stretch". I think I see an improvement for the better when I switch it to "Dot by Dot". Does anyone know what this mode is for and what the correct setting is?

Thank you.

Yes you want dot by dot. That is a direct pixel match to 1080i/p. otherwise, you are hiding some of the image
mjodotcom is offline  
post #327 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
skoolpsyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Juniper Hills, CA, USA
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by John600rr View Post

Just measured my box for you guys:

69" x 45" x 12"

awesome, really appreciate it!
skoolpsyk is offline  
post #328 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Picture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjodotcom View Post

Yes you want dot by dot. That is a direct pixel match to 1080i/p. otherwise, you are hiding some of the image

Thanks for the answer, odd is was set wrong from the factory.
Big Picture is offline  
post #329 of 1488 Old 12-10-2011, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
DevilDog151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post

Is it safe to do 632 firmware updates via wireless network, has anyone had issues after doing this?

Thank you.

I did mine and had no issues. So easy to do via WiFi network.

SEMPER FI
DevilDog151 is offline  
post #330 of 1488 Old 12-11-2011, 01:04 AM
Member
 
steveg.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Picture View Post

Is it safe to do 632 firmware updates via wireless network, has anyone had issues after doing this?

Thank you.

I was able to connect my TV to my wireless network, but was unable to figure out how to get firmware updates. Are these done automatically or do I need to download them?
steveg. is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off