Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE632U Owner's Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1488 Old 12-27-2011, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by somno View Post

I am having trouble getting non-HDMI (Toslink or coax) from my Blu-ray player (LG BD570) to my Denon 3805 receiver (may be a problem with the LG) so in the meantime I tried to use the optical sound out.

That connection seems to play in stereo only which is discussed in the manual but the manual seems to indicate there may be a way to get 5.1 digital sound out of that output. Any ideas if that is possible?

I would think so, but I really don't know. Is there an option in the Audio menu?

Regarding your BR player, maybe you need to check the Audio setup menu for that, to make sure it is set to output other than HDMI.

You probably checked all that, but just guessing...
waltaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1488 Old 12-27-2011, 05:16 PM
Member
 
somno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

I would think so, but I really don't know. Is there an option in the Audio menu?

Regarding your BR player, maybe you need to check the Audio setup menu for that, to make sure it is set to output other than HDMI.

You probably checked all that, but just guessing...

I did check all the audio menus in my LG Blu-ray player and it should work without any changes. I have another identical setup that works fine so unless I did something wrong to change it, I can't figure it out.
somno is offline  
post #453 of 1488 Old 12-27-2011, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_in_PA View Post


That pretty much describes me as well. I own 2 plasmas, an 8 yo 42" NEC and a 3 yo 50" Panasonic and really love their performance even considering they are only 480p and 720p, respectively. Never did I think I would give any serious consideration to an LCD for a primary viewing area in my home. I therefore imagine that my decision process is very similar to what you had to go through.

There are a few things I'm still wondering about so I'd welcome your comments. What made you decide on the 632 vs the 73x series? Is your tv part of an AVR-based system and what AVR are you using? Do you have cable or satellite - any issues - I have Directv? Does the TV have any issues with fast-paced live action, sports or fast pans? Have you experienced any of the lip synch problems being discussed in the 73x threads? How far off axis is the tv's acceptable viewing limit in your environment?

I probably will end up with a 70" Sharp but want to be better prepared for to might expect if I do. Thanks

Just to provide another perspective - I was between this set, a Panasonic ST30 and the Sharp 732 and ended up liking the 732 the most. There is a post a few pages back on it if you re interested, but overall I find the 732 to be a better set.

Of course, YMMV - best thing to do is evaluate both sets in conditions similar to your house spot using identical source material. I know that's hard to do, but all three made their way through my house lol
mjodotcom is offline  
post #454 of 1488 Old 12-28-2011, 10:48 PM
Member
 
somno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed that the picture appears very shaky on close up scenes with people running/moving fast. I turned off most of the options in the advanced menu section but the problem persists. It looks like the scenes were done by an amateur hand held camera.

Is this a problem of the very large screen or is there a way to fix this?
somno is offline  
post #455 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by somno View Post

I have noticed that the picture appears very shaky on close up scenes with people running/moving fast. I turned off most of the options in the advanced menu section but the problem persists. It looks like the scenes were done by an amateur hand held camera.

Is this a problem of the very large screen or is there a way to fix this?

I have not noticed this.
waltaz is offline  
post #456 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
have had this tv for 3 days now blurays are fantastic and hd tv is almost as good. the only problem i see is when i watched the best team in hockey last night THE BRUINS i noticed what looked like diamond shapes on the ice the all white parts. is ther any way to get rid of this with the settings.other than that the game looked fantastic. have a november build date. also are there any firmware updates for this tv
destiny 21 is offline  
post #457 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

have had this tv for 3 days now blurays are fantastic and hd tv is almost as good. the only problem i see is when i watched the best team in hockey last night THE BRUINS i noticed what looked like diamond shapes on the ice the all white parts. is ther any way to get rid of this with the settings.other than that the game looked fantastic. have a november build date. also are there any firmware updates for this tv

Try monkeying with the backlight...
waltaz is offline  
post #458 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
did that during the game had it at -2 put it to +6 made it a little less visible but made the game look to bright and not clear. hate to give this tv up for maybe the 733 or 734 because it has a fantastic picture.
destiny 21 is offline  
post #459 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
anyone have any calibrated settings for this tv i could use
destiny 21 is offline  
post #460 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
EProie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some settings that were recommended by a user reviewer:

Standard Picture setting:
OPC - off
Backlight +8
Contrast +25
Brightness -8
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +5
CMS Hue - no adjust
CMS Sat - no adjust
Color Temp - High
Mortion Enhancement - OFF
Quad Pixel - on
Active Contrast - On
Gamma +2
EProie is offline  
post #461 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Peter_in_PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

Some answers for you:
Good luck, and keep us posted!

Thanks for your input. I had some time today and began reading posts from page 10 on and saw that you addressed many of my questions in your earlier posts so I really appreciate your willingness to 'retread' old ground.

Unless there is some super compelling price drop in the next 2 weeks, I don't expect to make this purchase until after CES. In any event, I'll definitely post after I've had a chance to spend some quality time with my new (gulp) LED.

Leave the gun, take the cannoli ...
Peter_in_PA is offline  
post #462 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
i think those settings are for the other 70 inch models we dont have quad pixel plus on the 632
destiny 21 is offline  
post #463 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

anyone have any calibrated settings for this tv i could use

From a previous post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

After previously running through the "Basic" WOW calibration (settings posted earlier in this thread), I took a run through the "Advanced" this morning. Here are the results:
- Mode: Movie
- OPC: Off
- Backlight: +5 (this is not calibrated, per se, and is up to the user to set at whatever level is desired)
- Contrast: +32
- Brightness: +1
- Color: +7
- Tint: +4
- Sharpness: +2
In the Advanced Menu:
- Color Temp: Middle
- Gamma: -2
- Various enhancements, including Film Mode: All OFF

In the A/V sync section, I adjusted the surround sound to a 125ms delay.

I am now running the second WOW disc of HD "eye candy" (all of the various landscape scenes), and it is just utterly stunning. Crazy good!!

Regarding the various "issues," the only one that I really notice is the diminished off-angle viewing, at >30 degrees off-center, but it's not an issue for me, as I am always in the "sweet spot." I have noticed some very minor clouding, slight cross-hatching, slightly darkened corners, at times, but they are barely even noticeable, even when looking hard, and have no impact on the PQ. I consider them non-issues.

Again, this panel blows me away. I highly, highly recommend it!

I also watch hockey, and it looks great to me, without noticeable cross-hatching/diamond shapes. Might be a function of my overall settings...
waltaz is offline  
post #464 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
could you post your settings so i could try them with hockey
destiny 21 is offline  
post #465 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 08:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

could you post your settings so i could try them with hockey

See above...
waltaz is offline  
post #466 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
destiny 21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
okay thanks will try them and watch a hockey game tonight and hopefully will not see the cross diamond on the white surface
destiny 21 is offline  
post #467 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

okay thanks will try them and watch a hockey game tonight and hopefully will not see the cross diamond on the white surface

Let me know how it goes...

Could also be the Bruins...I'm a Sabres fan...
waltaz is offline  
post #468 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
atstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

okay thanks will try them and watch a hockey game tonight and hopefully will not see the cross diamond on the white surface

You will still see the diamonds. It is caused from an uneven backlight and is a hardware issue which can't be fixed by settings or firmware upgrade. Your options are to exchange and hope the replacement isn't as bad.
atstarr is offline  
post #469 of 1488 Old 12-29-2011, 06:52 PM
Member
 
atomic dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EProie View Post

Here are some settings that were recommended by a user reviewer:

Standard Picture setting:
OPC - off
Backlight +8
Contrast +25
Brightness -8
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +5
CMS Hue - no adjust
CMS Sat - no adjust
Color Temp - High
Mortion Enhancement - OFF
Quad Pixel - on
Active Contrast - On
Gamma +2

Thanks, But you are aware that our 623 does not have quad pixel technology. So these settings are useless.
atomic dog is offline  
post #470 of 1488 Old 12-30-2011, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
supirio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the 632u 70" from Best Buy over black friday. Unfortunately I notice the diamond patterns/dirty window very clearly during Hockey (Flyers) games.

Has anyone successfully replaced their tv and got rid of the issue? If so, how did you go about replacing yours?

Thanks.
supirio is offline  
post #471 of 1488 Old 12-30-2011, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
dmikester1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what are the advantages of the 732/3/4/5 over this set? Since this one has full array led just like those, it seems to me like the 632 would be the better bargain.
Thanks
Mike
dmikester1 is offline  
post #472 of 1488 Old 12-30-2011, 09:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmikester1 View Post

So what are the advantages of the 732/3/4/5 over this set? Since this one has full array led just like those, it seems to me like the 632 would be the better bargain.
Thanks
Mike

It sounds as if the 632 has fewer clouding issues, better MLL, and easier to calibrate without that stupid yellow pixel.

DavidHir is offline  
post #473 of 1488 Old 12-30-2011, 10:03 PM
Member
 
ellover009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just rewired my audio system. Had the tv output to the receiver through fiber optic. will only allow 3.1. so my options are narrowed down to see if the ps3 can output independently through fiber optic and hdmi to the tv to see if i can avoid lag or to just suck it up and run everything through the receiver. ubfortunately yhe receiver is old and doesnot have hdmi 1.3 might be 1.2 and only has 2 in and 1 out.
ellover009 is offline  
post #474 of 1488 Old 12-31-2011, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mjodotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmikester1 View Post

So what are the advantages of the 732/3/4/5 over this set? Since this one has full array led just like those, it seems to me like the 632 would be the better bargain.
Thanks
Mike

There are several posts on this topic in both the 632 and 732 threads. I recommend reading them first - as peoples opinions vary on the subject.
mjodotcom is offline  
post #475 of 1488 Old 01-01-2012, 08:50 AM
Member
 
SSFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have mounted this TV on a wall, what is the distance between the floor and bottom edge of this set?
SSFan is offline  
post #476 of 1488 Old 01-01-2012, 06:23 PM
Member
 
themoth33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after much reading pulled the trigger. I am replacing my 3 year 58 inch plasma with this 70. Also moving the penny to the bedroom or great tv!! I will post my experiences once it's delivered and see how it compares to the posted feedback. I'll be placing mine on a stand that sits 36inches high, is this too high? Seems like it will be ok. Same height I had the penny.
themoth33 is offline  
post #477 of 1488 Old 01-01-2012, 06:47 PM
Member
 
ellover009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK more playing around with it, I think I was able to get 5.1 on the ps3 by connecting the audio directly to the receiver through fiber optic, and hdmi to the tv. The audio lag was horrible though hdmi port 2, so I switch the ps3 to hdmi 1 and it was a lot better. So I got the tv though hdm2 and the ps3 hdmi1. Might need to check if my receiver has a voice delay option.
ellover009 is offline  
post #478 of 1488 Old 01-02-2012, 05:01 AM
Member
 
vdoefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can some one post their factory default settings for the "User" option on the 70" 632? I just want to make sure that mine are factory before tweaking. Thanks.
vdoefx is offline  
post #479 of 1488 Old 01-02-2012, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdoefx View Post

Can some one post their factory default settings for the "User" option on the 70" 632? I just want to make sure that mine are factory before tweaking. Thanks.

Why don't you just set everything back to Default, if that is where you want to start?
waltaz is offline  
post #480 of 1488 Old 01-02-2012, 05:46 AM
Member
 
vdoefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

Why don't you just set everything back to Default, if that is where you want to start?

Did that a few weeks ago, but when I do that now, the OPC does not come back on (and I was sure that this was defaulted on).

As such, I can't be sure that the following are factory for the "user" settings:

Mode user
OPC off (and I thought this was ON)
Backlight +5
Contrast +30
Brightness 0
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +2
CMS Hue
CMS Sat
Color Temp middle
Motion Enhancement 120 High
Active Contrast On
Gamma 0
Film Mode High
Dig Noise Reduction Auto

--Tom
vdoefx is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off