Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE632U Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Turboo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Picked up this set yesterday to replace a Sony SXRD ($5000 6 years ago!). I can't seem to get rid of a slight red tinge on black items. I was watching "Meet the Press" today and compared it to my new LG 42" LCD. The LG rendered perfect black suit jackets on the male guests, but the 632 rendered those same jackets with a slight red tinge. Any thoughts?? I tried to adjust many of the user controls.
Turboo2u is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Has anyone been able to use a DLNA and stream MKV files? What programs have you used if you have thanks
Holiday121 is offline  
post #633 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 08:12 AM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
rename mkv to avi and it will stream just fine as long as your connection is fast
gordon7 is offline  
post #634 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Sorry I haven't gotten to my review. I've been working on it this morning. I'll be putting it up this week. I'm no pro. But i still feel people need to hear what people think from an average viewer.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #635 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Jorge18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What settings from this thread are you guys using?

I've tried a lot of them and can't find one that makes the it look good. Always looks a little washed out. It's so bad, that I'm considering returning the TV.
Jorge18 is offline  
post #636 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I'm using the settings posted from CNET for the other model of this display. They work pretty darn good.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #637 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Jorge18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

I'm using the settings posted from CNET for the other model of this display. They work pretty darn good.

Quote:


Standard Picture setting:
OPC - off
Backlight +8
Contrast +25
Brightness -8
Color +2
Tint 0
Sharpness +5
CMS Hue - no adjust
CMS Sat - no adjust
Color Temp - High
Mortion Enhancement - OFF
Quad Pixel - on
Active Contrast - On
Gamma +2

Those?
Jorge18 is offline  
post #638 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorge18 View Post

Those?

Nope.


Quote:


--Picture Settings menu
OPC: Off
Backlight: +4
Contrast: +30
Brightness: +1
Color: 0
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0

--Advanced sub-menu
C.M.S. -Hue
R: 0
Y: +4
G: -5
C: +2
B: 0
M: +2

C.M.S. -Saturation
R: 0
Y: -2
G: -1
C: 0
B: -7
M: 0

C.M.S. -Value
R: +2
Y: 0
G: +9
C: +4
B: +3
M: 0

Color Temp: Low
R Gain (LO): +11
G Gain (LO): +7
B Gain (LO): +13
R Gain (HI): -2
G Gain (HI): -7
B Gain (HI): 0

Motion Enhancement: 120Hz High
Active Contrast: Off
Gamma Adjustment: +2
Film Mode: Off
Digital Noise Reduction: Off
Monochrome: Off
Range of OPC: [any]


I brought gamma down to 0 or -1
Motion Enhancement is off.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #639 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried to hang one on these? I wonder if it will lean forward or back? I have an angled down ceiling at the viewing wall. Thanks.
ace5000 is offline  
post #640 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
yes you can angle it down forward... I used the Mi bracket off amazon worked well
Holiday121 is offline  
post #641 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
what program are you running to dlna the mkv to avi file?
Holiday121 is offline  
post #642 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 03:29 PM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post

what program are you running to dlna the mkv to avi file?

change extension from mkv to avi
gordon7 is offline  
post #643 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
yes but what program are u using as your dlna server
Holiday121 is offline  
post #644 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 04:24 PM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you don't need anything if you have windows 7. Set up your media center. Google how to, very simple.
gordon7 is offline  
post #645 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
ok thanks i will try in a few hours .. hopefully can get it to work
Holiday121 is offline  
post #646 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another question as I will have one soon. Will I definatly have a lip snyc problem if I go to a receiver for sound? I have an older pioneer without an adjustment...
ace5000 is offline  
post #647 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 37
got it to work with media center but stuttering might be because its a mkv bluray file... i got a 30mb download 5mb upload line
Holiday121 is offline  
post #648 of 1488 Old 01-29-2012, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorge18 View Post

What settings from this thread are you guys using?

I've tried a lot of them and can't find one that makes the it look good. Always looks a little washed out. It's so bad, that I'm considering returning the TV.

Mine, posted earlier, and I love the PQ!
waltaz is offline  
post #649 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 05:26 AM
Newbie
 
Ellington66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robo24 View Post

Did you have to drill holes in the mount? It seems a lot of those reviewing it had to. I'm hoping to now have to do that.

no i didn't. but to get it even between the windows on the sides of my fireplace i had to push the tv farther to the right then there were holes for.(there are holes drilled in the mount that you put screws into to make the tv not slide left or right) this is hard to explain, like we hung it on the wall but to get it even we had to slide it far to the right and the screw is not right up against the bar. the screw is like 2 or so inches from the bar, so the tv will not fall off but it can still move left or right(it shouldnt move). so i could have drilled more holes to make it not move but i didnt think it was a problem as i have to really push on it to make it slide left or right. but this shouldnt be a problem for most people because where the studs are above my fireplace and where i needed the tv to be even between the windows i had to slide it farther to the right then most will
Ellington66 is offline  
post #650 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Jorge18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

Mine, posted earlier, and I love the PQ!

I'll give your settings a shot later tonight.

I tried the previous one posted and still doesn't look too great.

I'm hoping I can get it some where closer to my liking, if not, it's going back.
Jorge18 is offline  
post #651 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will have one of these models in just a few days, and know there are starter settings available. But, has anyone done a pro-type calibration with one of those spider sensors and shared settings yet?
ace5000 is offline  
post #652 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine will be here friday. BB will deliver and mount on wall. the price is $ 1,899 this week.
Just trying to decide on the height to have it mounted.
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #653 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
gtbdevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since bigger is always better, I have been looking at this set. Currently have the panny 65v10, can't decide whether the extra couple of inches is worth the hassle of de-mounting my current, just to mount this one.

Do you guys think it worth it?

Thanks
gtbdevs is online now  
post #654 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbdevs View Post

Since bigger is always better, I have been looking at this set. Currently have the panny 65v10, can't decide whether the extra couple of inches is worth the hassle of de-mounting my current, just to mount this one.

Do you guys think it worth it?

Thanks

I went from a 58" Sammy plasma to the 70" 632 because I couldn't justify upgrading to a 64/65" plasma for "just" 6-7". The 70-incher made it compelling, and made my switch from plasma to LCD. I have been thrilled!!

That said, since you already have 65", I don't know that "just" going to 70" is worth it...BUT...you have an option. Get the 80-incher!! I'm totally serious...if you can afford around $4,000, snap that baby up.
waltaz is offline  
post #655 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
gtbdevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

I went from a 58" Sammy plasma to the 70" 632 because I couldn't justify upgrading to a 64/65" plasma for "just" 6-7". The 70-incher made it compelling, and made my switch from plasma to LCD. I have been thrilled!!

That said, since you already have 65", I don't know that "just" going to 70" is worth it...BUT...you have an option. Get the 80-incher!! I'm totally serious...if you can afford around $4,000, snap that baby up.


I only got the OK for the 70, I tried, and tried for the 80, but that is not going to happen, unfortunately...Guess I'll try again when the price drops.

Thanks
gtbdevs is online now  
post #656 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 02:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbdevs View Post

I only got the OK for the 70, I tried, and tried for the 80, but that is not going to happen, unfortunately...Guess I'll try again when the price drops.

Thanks

Check the deals thread. It's under $4000 by . . . enough that maybe it makes the difference for you?

I'm trying with my boss as we speak

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #657 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Jorge18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltaz View Post

Mine, posted earlier, and I love the PQ!

I must say...those setting are looking GREAT.
Jorge18 is offline  
post #658 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorge18 View Post

i must say...those setting are looking great.

Awesome!! I hope they work for you!!
waltaz is offline  
post #659 of 1488 Old 01-30-2012, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Jorge18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only difference is that i turned on the active contrast, I feel it looks much better.
Jorge18 is offline  
post #660 of 1488 Old 01-31-2012, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
jarod7736's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this TV Sunday, and was trying to do some calibration/setup. Playing Netflix (True Grit) through my XBOX 360 resulted in the S.O.E., and I turned off film mode, motion enhancement, and active contrast. And I was still getting pretty serious SOE.

I modified the settings for the Film preset, as well as the User settings and it occurs in both modes. If I put the tv in game mode, it doesn't do it, but the color isn't quite right. The options for film mode, motion enhancement are blacked out in the 'Game' preset, but they aren't when i'm in 'Film' or 'User'. Are those things actually getting turned off?
jarod7736 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off