Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE632U Owner's Thread - Page 44 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 1488 Old 05-08-2012, 04:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Interesting...

I can tell you that more than likely the settings you posted will yield a very blue pushed brilliant white, which probably explains why you like the CAL for hockey.

The color temps suggested in that CAL range above 8000K and there does not appear to have been enough adjustment of blue to negate the drastic blue push that those color temps exhibit (at least based upon several 632's I have info on). All of the Pro level calibrations have been using Low color temp as it is the closest to 6500K out of the box, yet still high and blue pushed.

Now obviously none of these 'internet based' CAL's will be perfect set to set but there are some very consistent factors across all of them.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 1488 Old 05-08-2012, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
Research-Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DaGamePimp...

Are all your calibrations for movie/TV watching? I ask because I notice that all of them have the Temp option set to Low. Which setting is best for videogames? I usually switch the Temp option to Mid-Low for gaming and Low for video content.
Research-Ken is offline  
post #1293 of 1488 Old 05-08-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
In each mode a Color Temp of LOW is the closest factory preset to 6500K, thus the starting point for proper calibrations.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1294 of 1488 Old 05-08-2012, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Jet300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can I find Jason's calibration settings?

Thanks!
Jet300 is offline  
post #1295 of 1488 Old 05-08-2012, 08:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Check the link in my sig (below).

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1296 of 1488 Old 05-09-2012, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
Teiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason,
In my cable box should I choose ycc 444 or rgb in color space setting?
Teiga is offline  
post #1297 of 1488 Old 05-09-2012, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Well the 632's do not handle 4:4:4 properly but YCC would the correct choice unless the cable box has other errors that we are not aware of.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1298 of 1488 Old 05-10-2012, 06:10 PM
Member
 
demroyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using Jason's 40ftL Movie Mode settings for the past two weeks, and I like them (I'm using them across all inputs right now) - however, I'd like to try calibrating slightly more to my taste (for my panel), and was thinking of taking a run at my settings with the Disney WOW disc. Should I leave Jason's movie settings as my base and then tweak as necessary from there with the WOW disc, or set my TV to User Mode and start with a clean slate when running WOW? If I tried doing a visual calibration in User Mode this way, are there picture settings that will not be available? I saw a note from Jason earlier in the thread indicating that the Movie Mode setting had specific attributes that couldn't be found in other modes, making it the best one to try to adjust.

Thoughts?
demroyer is offline  
post #1299 of 1488 Old 05-11-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Movie mode is the most capable from my testing regarding accuracy so try your own CAL in Movie mode with WOW and see how you like it. If you tweak my CAL's you'll probably be ok as long as no drastic changes are made, a click here and there, but if you have to shift color/tint by many clicks then you may as well just clear my settings and do your own as it probably means my CAL's are not working for your display.

Best of luck,
Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1300 of 1488 Old 05-12-2012, 05:07 PM
Member
 
demroyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the general opinion about the latest firmware that Sharp released a week or two ago? I saw a note earlier in the thread that the firmware update may mess with the color setting,s but then it wasn't mentioned again. Was wondering if it is safe to update to this latest release...

Demian
demroyer is offline  
post #1301 of 1488 Old 05-13-2012, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
plut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be getting my 632 on Thursday. My question is which mount to get that will allow me to put it in the corner on the room. I have found a bunch that will hold the TV but I don't know how much it needs to extend from the wall to be able to get a 45° angle.
plut is offline  
post #1302 of 1488 Old 05-14-2012, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hey all. I'm having a few problems with my 632U which I've only had a little over a month.

Anyway I contacted the company and they've offered to send me a LC70LE640U as a replacement.

Good move or bad move? Anyone have any experience comparing the two models?

Thank you!
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1303 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 04:45 AM
Member
 
TomInCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: london, ontario, canada
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

Hey all. I'm having a few problems with my 632U which I've only had a little over a month.

Anyway I contacted the company and they've offered to send me a LC70LE640U as a replacement.

Good move or bad move? Anyone have any experience comparing the two models?

Thank you!

I don't believe the 640 is a full array backlit.. so it's probably a bad move. Everything else between them is basically the same I believe.

Expert in training ;)
TomInCanada is offline  
post #1304 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Gotcha, I'll have to research that a little. I know the 640 adds the 4th pixel color which in reading through the threads seems debatable as to whether it's a pro or a con.

I guess it would make more sense for them to swap out the 632 with another 632.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1305 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 06:50 AM
Member
 
TomInCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: london, ontario, canada
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

Gotcha, I'll have to research that a little. I know the 640 adds the 4th pixel color which in reading through the threads seems debatable as to whether it's a pro or a con.

I guess it would make more sense for them to swap out the 632 with another 632.

You're talking about the quad pixel.. like the 732u has.. but I don't believe the 640 has that feature.

It's probably for the best anyway - near as I can tell it's a marketing gimmick that artificially changes the picture. Not something I'd want.

Expert in training ;)
TomInCanada is offline  
post #1306 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I researched it and the 640U does have the quad pixel and it is edge lit. Doesn't really sound like a step up from my 632U. Hopefully the company can swap it out with a 632, unfortunately they are tough to come by now
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1307 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
waltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Walt,

The movie mode CAL's are going to be more accurate, Game mode requires service menu calibration to get close to the accuracy of Movie mode (Chad B said the service menu is a bear to deal with so I am not tinkering around in there ).

The 50 ftL should do well in a very bright room as long as the settings cross over well to your set (obviously luck of the draw here, as always).

Jason

For the Coyotes Game 1 on Sunday, I tried the 50 ftL Game settings. In my opinion, they were definitely "brighter", but the colors seemed to be somewhat oversaturated, blacks seemed a bit crushed, the picture didn't seem as "crisp" as the Movie settings (I had been using the 40 ftL Movie settings) and the audio was slightly out-of-sync. So I changed to the new 35 ftL Movie settings, and everything looked way better, despite the slightly darker picture. Overall, the Movie settings blow away the Game settings, IMO.

BTW, the audio was fine too...I was running the sound through my Sammy Bly-Ray HTIB, and have a slight delay set to account for the Movie mode. Going to Game screwed that up...
waltaz is offline  
post #1308 of 1488 Old 05-15-2012, 01:30 PM
Member
 
TomInCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: london, ontario, canada
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

I researched it and the 640U does have the quad pixel and it is edge lit. Doesn't really sound like a step up from my 632U. Hopefully the company can swap it out with a 632, unfortunately they are tough to come by now

Sharp's own website lists it as a non quattron (sharpusa.com and sharp.ca).

I'm just wondering where you read that it was a quattron panel? I'm curious to know the truth here.

Expert in training ;)
TomInCanada is offline  
post #1309 of 1488 Old 05-16-2012, 02:31 AM
Member
 
vdoefx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by demroyer View Post

What is the general opinion about the latest firmware that Sharp released a week or two ago? I saw a note earlier in the thread that the firmware update may mess with the color setting,s but then it wasn't mentioned again. Was wondering if it is safe to update to this latest release...

Demian

I'd like to know this as well. Anyone?

--Tom
vdoefx is offline  
post #1310 of 1488 Old 05-16-2012, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdoefx View Post

I'd like to know this as well. Anyone?

--Tom

I installed it when it was released and havn't noticed any change in picture settings. Looks as good as before update.
Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #1311 of 1488 Old 05-17-2012, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You are correct; I must have read that wrongly on one of the many sites selling that model.

Anyway, what in everyone's opinion is an acceptable replacement model for the 632U? Sharp warranty service will be out to repair mine tomorrow, but the salesman said if I'm not happy with the result after that he'll replace it with a newer model.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1312 of 1488 Old 05-18-2012, 08:41 AM
Member
 
TomInCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: london, ontario, canada
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

You are correct; I must have read that wrongly on one of the many sites selling that model.

Anyway, what in everyone's opinion is an acceptable replacement model for the 632U? Sharp warranty service will be out to repair mine tomorrow, but the salesman said if I'm not happy with the result after that he'll replace it with a newer model.

You're not likely to convince them to give you anything better than the 640 I'd guess. If you're still not happy, either return the 632U if you can.. or take the 640. I doubt there is much of a real world difference between the full array (without local dimming) & the edge lit.

Expert in training ;)
TomInCanada is offline  
post #1313 of 1488 Old 05-19-2012, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Are there any models better than the 640 I should attempt to squeeze from them instead? I'm not too familiar with the rest of the 70" line, especially the current models.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1314 of 1488 Old 05-19-2012, 02:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Doubtful they will do it (unless you add in a slight upgrade fee) but the 73x/74x series will give you some more calibration options (of course you also move into a quad pixel set and the benefits there are debatable).

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1315 of 1488 Old 05-20-2012, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Gotcha. Well, the first step is to see if they can get my 632 to 100%. Hopefully so, then no need for an upgrade.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1316 of 1488 Old 05-28-2012, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieDoin View Post

I found these settings on another site and seem to work the best for me....I input them with USER setting, but the author suggests STANDARD....anyways, hockey looked really good with this setting, as well as regular sitcoms etc....I have to say that this tv might haver the WORST factory settings ever...lol...anyways, give it a try and let me know if it improves anything for anyone...especially the hockey fans!....................................................... ................




Before Calibration - The TV LOOKED AWFUL!!!!! skin tones were way off and so on .

Settings Starting from top to bottom top written here Left to Right or Red first
wich for Hue would be +6 and work your way down

TINT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LEAVE AT 0
HuE +6 0 -16 0 0 0 Skin tone fix
Saturation 0 -18 -4 -30 -13 -30 Rgb ballance
Value +10 0 -7 0 +20 0 Color Depth and Accuracy.
Each one of these changes affect 2 colors at a time thats why its hard to get them just right.Value affects
how strong Hue looks and so on .Saturation also affects how strong you set tint and Value .This is the closest
you will get without paying best buy 200bucks for calibration and you might not even notice any difference.

Color temp
You can use Med or Low Med user preference but set
0 0 0 +8 0 -10

Gama -1 / 0 looks better on shows like Icarly bc theres no shadow detail. Infact use 0 on those bright shows.
Backlight +2(turning backup up to high makes cablebox look to noisy) you need really high end HD to turn up to 16
Contrast 31 (32 makes faces wash out on sunlight eventhough calibration paterns say 32 is fine but its not)
Color +7 or your preference
brightness +1
sharpness +2
All you guys know to turn smooth motion off ,
noise reduction off, BUT you can set noise
reduction to low on your cable box or BluRays that have noticible noise. You can use Dynamic contrast as you wish bc it does help nexflix shows like 30rock wich tend to be on the greyish side .

These settings look great - Many thanks!
ace5000 is offline  
post #1317 of 1488 Old 05-29-2012, 05:18 AM
Member
 
HowieDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@ace5000

We must have similar lighting environments.....these settings are still the best so far for me...while still not perfect....
HowieDoin is offline  
post #1318 of 1488 Old 05-29-2012, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieDoin View Post

@ace5000

We must have similar lighting environments.....these settings are still the best so far for me...while still not perfect....

I agree, they really look 3Dish at times. But, I'm still looking for great skin tones which seem elusive on this TV. Coming from Infocus projectors, I'm used to the best I've ever seen. Almost out of the box with golden brownish tones... beautiful.

I don't think "proper calibration" can bring this on this set.
It has to be tweaked to perfection, which I can't do without help...
ace5000 is offline  
post #1319 of 1488 Old 05-29-2012, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I think I mentioned this before but those settings are likely to be very blue pushed 'brilliant white' and over sharpened. All of the Pro/pro-level calibrations I have seen (including my own) will start with Low color temp as it is the closest factory pre-set to 6500K, Med & Low Med are sitting at 8000K +.

I can see them being very Vivid however, so that is probably where the preference lies and if they look good to you then that's what matters most.

An issue with these sets (as noted previously) is that a setting against proper calibration is required to achieve more accurate skin tones due to their native issue with Red.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1320 of 1488 Old 05-29-2012, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK then, I must have skipped over something. Do we have good calibrations settings in Movie mode for this exact model? I ask because I really like some of those features at times. Thanks.

Also, for some reason 6500 on my Infocus projector did not look as yellow as this set... I can't argue if it is a true measurement - understood.
ace5000 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off