Official Sharp 2011 LC-70LE632U Owner's Thread - Page 50 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 1488 Old 02-11-2013, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Peter_in_PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieDoin View Post

@ Peter_in_PA

Any chance you might post your settings for us to try? I'm mostly pleased with the way hockey looks on my 632, but always looking to improve....

Sorry for not replying sooner. While I don't have the Post #s to share with you, I've been using settings DAGAMEPIMP posted elsewhere on this forum last year or maybe in 2011.

Leave the gun, take the cannoli ...
Peter_in_PA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 1488 Old 03-07-2013, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
tential's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I've had my 70LE632U for awhile now. I'm enjoying it a LOT but now I want some help calibrating. I been calibrating/setting up everything and I know I got some help here before on pulling the trigger but now I could really use some help. I'm getting a lot less contrast then other models. Colors are a little washed out. Colors seem more contrasted on samsung and smaller TVs. Maybe it's the size of the TV I'm not sure though. I know someone here was helping before that has this TV and they were VERY helpful. I could use some of that help now though lol.
tential is offline  
post #1473 of 1488 Old 03-08-2013, 02:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tential View Post

I've had my 70LE632U for awhile now. I'm enjoying it a LOT but now I want some help calibrating. I been calibrating/setting up everything and I know I got some help here before on pulling the trigger but now I could really use some help. I'm getting a lot less contrast then other models. Colors are a little washed out. Colors seem more contrasted on samsung and smaller TVs. Maybe it's the size of the TV I'm not sure though. I know someone here was helping before that has this TV and they were VERY helpful. I could use some of that help now though lol.

Try adjusting the Gamma to give more contrast -- then you can add color, if needed...
johnfull is offline  
post #1474 of 1488 Old 05-20-2013, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Peter,

I would connect a laptop directly to one of the TV's inputs, preferably HDMI if the PC has one. I use the monster all of the time with video from my PC and sound through the receiver.
ace5000 is offline  
post #1475 of 1488 Old 06-12-2013, 12:39 AM
Newbie
 
robertdunn1834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a aqous 70 LC-70Le632U. On my remote there is no apps button and I don't know how to get to the apps screen. I have my wifi on. Who've read through the manual and it says hit on of the A B C D buttons at bottom of remote but that doesn't work. Please help
robertdunn1834 is offline  
post #1476 of 1488 Old 06-12-2013, 12:52 AM
Newbie
 
robertdunn1834's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also there is no apps icon under menu
robertdunn1834 is offline  
post #1477 of 1488 Old 07-20-2013, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Twiztid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I was advised to make a post in this thread as it deals with a model very similar to mine (Sharp LC-70LE633U), which does not have its own thread/forum. I have forgotten the Secret Number (PIN #) and cannot figure out how to reset it. For some reason, this specific model does not seem to have a manual and reset methods for similar models do not appear to work (i.e., Hold down the Channel Up and Volume Up buttons simultaneously until a message appears). Additionally, I did a search here on AVSForums and didn't see anything already posted. Any guidance greatly appreciated.

If I have posted in the wrong place for this type of question, please let me know.

Many thanks in advance! Looking forward to your replies.
Twiztid1 is offline  
post #1478 of 1488 Old 07-21-2013, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiztid1 View Post

Hi. I was advised to make a post in this thread as it deals with a model very similar to mine (Sharp LC-70LE633U), which does not have its own thread/forum. I have forgotten the Secret Number (PIN #) and cannot figure out how to reset it. For some reason, this specific model does not seem to have a manual and reset methods for similar models do not appear to work (i.e., Hold down the Channel Up and Volume Up buttons simultaneously until a message appears). Additionally, I did a search here on AVSForums and didn't see anything already posted. Any guidance greatly appreciated.

If I have posted in the wrong place for this type of question, please let me know.

Many thanks in advance! Looking forward to your replies.
Page 34 of the operation manual found here:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&ved=0CFQQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Ffiles.sharp.ca%2FDownloads%2FForHome%2FHomeEntertainment%2FLCDTVs%2FManuals%2FLC70LE733U-LC-70LE633U-LC60LE633U_us3_en.pdf&ei=LdXrUYW8JtHK4AP75oHgAw&usg=AFQjCNELU4QiNndSouWfVEssOcldUxOq6w&bvm=bv.49478099,d.dmg

You can set and change the secret number by using
0-9.
Yes: Changes or sets the Secret No.
No: The confi rmation screen to clear the Secret No.
appears when the Secret No. has been set. When the
Secret No. has not been set, the previous screen will
be displayed.

Secret No. Clear
You can clear your secret number.
Yes: Your secret number is cleared.
No: Your secret number is not cleared

If you can't clear it, call Sharp.
myoda is offline  
post #1479 of 1488 Old 09-14-2013, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All - any new great calibration settings for this 70?
ace5000 is offline  
post #1480 of 1488 Old 11-20-2013, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Mounting bracket question for this TV. I am looking to put mine above my fire place mantle with a downward swinging bracket. Has anyone done this? If so which bracket did you go with and how do you like it?

I was looking at this bracket which has some pretty nice features but at a price of $199 + S&H it is a bit more costly than I would like. Are there any other options?

http://www.mantlemount.com/
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1481 of 1488 Old 01-02-2014, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Update - I did purchase/install the mantle mount bracket for this TV and it works great if anyone is interested in it.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #1482 of 1488 Old 03-13-2014, 12:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 133
After going through 3 calibration sessions, I believe I found the perfect settings that squeeze every ounce of performance out of this set. Although the black levels of this display are not very good to begin with, the picture quality it can produce if calibrated properly is quite amazing. Calibrating this set is quite difficult, as the CMS is not very good. Blue, red and cyan are the most difficult colors to get right and I believe I found just the right balance. I used an i1 display pro and colorhcfr software for the calibrations.

Your bluray player must be set to output ycbcr 422.

Mode movie (most accurate gamma and greyscale)
Opc off
Backlight -1 for 32ftl or -9 for 50ftl (I prefer 32ftl, gives it a plasma look)
Contrast 32
Brt 0
Color 0
Tint 0
Sharpness -1
Cms Hue
R -1
Y -1
G +13
C -3
B +6
M +2
Cms Sat
R 0
Y 0
G +18
C +11
B -2
M -7
Cms val
R +3
Y +3
G +9
C -6
B +12
M +3
Color temp
R lo 3
G lo 0
B lo -10
R hi 2
G hi 0
B hi -17
Motion enhancement off
Active contrast off
Gamma 0
Film mode off
Digital noise red off
Monochrome off
Range of opc
Max 1
Min 0
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #1483 of 1488 Old 04-24-2014, 08:04 AM
Member
 
HowieDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@makaveddie81

Over a month later for this reply, but if you could tell me what your lighting is like in the room?
HowieDoin is offline  
post #1484 of 1488 Old 04-24-2014, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieDoin View Post

@makaveddie81

Over a month later for this reply, but if you could tell me what your lighting is like in the room?

I have two giant windows to the right of the display. I calibrated to 32ftl since I don't watch it during the day anyways.
HowieDoin likes this.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #1485 of 1488 Old 04-25-2014, 07:00 AM
Member
 
HowieDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Similar to myself...I'll try out the settings and post my results.


Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

I have two giant windows to the right of the display. I calibrated to 32ftl since I don't watch it during the day anyways.
HowieDoin is offline  
post #1486 of 1488 Old 04-25-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
demroyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

I have two giant windows to the right of the display. I calibrated to 32ftl since I don't watch it during the day anyways.

I mostly watch at night, but my kids watch during the day (or play XBox during the day). We have a giant sliding glass door to the left of the TV, but often close the blinds to reduce glare. If 32ftl is what you would use for nighttime watching, what would you opt for during the daytime? Is that the 50ftl you indicate in your calibration settings?

Demian
demroyer is offline  
post #1487 of 1488 Old 04-25-2014, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by demroyer View Post

I mostly watch at night, but my kids watch during the day (or play XBox during the day). We have a giant sliding glass door to the left of the TV, but often close the blinds to reduce glare. If 32ftl is what you would use for nighttime watching, what would you opt for during the daytime? Is that the 50ftl you indicate in your calibration settings?

Demian

Yes 50ftl for day.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #1488 of 1488 Old 06-23-2014, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
ace5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: OHIO
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
makaveddi,

Those settings rock! Thanks for your hard work and post! Natural skin tones with no tint adjustment, just great. I do play with film mode and motion a bit because I like the 3D look, but overall a huge difference.
ace5000 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off