Official Sharp 2011 LC-60LE6300U Owner's Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 247 Old 12-26-2011, 09:13 PM
Newbie
 
supraman1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I'm feeling pretty stupid right now. When I went to Comcast to pick up the HD cable box, I asked if I could get a list of the HD channels? The lady said that I just needed to use my normal channels for HD. Well after making all of the suggested settings, I still thought the picture should have been better than it was even for this lower end unit. On a whim....I logged on to the comcast website and looked at the list of channels. I saw the listings for the local network channels in HD and immedialtely went to one of them. I was pleasantly suprised in the nice picture I was seeing. Then I went to ESPN HD to watch the Falcons and the Saints.....and it was much better with basically no blurry movement on the field. I don't know how Comcast trains their people but there is definitely a disconnect there somewhere. So I'm feeling alot better about this TV now!!
supraman1989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 247 Old 12-30-2011, 03:52 AM
Member
 
G342's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by supraman1989 View Post

OK I'm feeling pretty stupid right now. When I went to Comcast to pick up the HD cable box, I asked if I could get a list of the HD channels? The lady said that I just needed to use my normal channels for HD. Well after making all of the suggested settings, I still thought the picture should have been better than it was even for this lower end unit. On a whim....I logged on to the comcast website and looked at the list of channels. I saw the listings for the local network channels in HD and immedialtely went to one of them. I was pleasantly suprised in the nice picture I was seeing. Then I went to ESPN HD to watch the Falcons and the Saints.....and it was much better with basically no blurry movement on the field. I don't know how Comcast trains their people but there is definitely a disconnect there somewhere. So I'm feeling alot better about this TV now!!

Glad to hear you're liking this TV, I was beginning to think I'd be all alone in this thread
G342 is offline  
post #183 of 247 Old 12-30-2011, 04:27 AM
Member
 
jjg247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G342 View Post

Glad to hear you're liking this TV, I was beginning to think I'd be all alone in this thread

Not alone. I think this tv is fantastic.
jjg247 is offline  
post #184 of 247 Old 12-30-2011, 06:10 PM
Member
 
lcdvspls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have this wall mounted? What VESA standard does it adhere to?
lcdvspls is offline  
post #185 of 247 Old 12-31-2011, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
grantlsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any luck in finding HDMI related settings in a service menu? don't know if the prior posts imply we're out of luck if we want to use anything other than composite.
grantlsmith is offline  
post #186 of 247 Old 01-01-2012, 12:53 PM
Member
 
ajbent86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grantlsmith View Post

any luck in finding HDMI related settings in a service menu? don't know if the prior posts imply we're out of luck if we want to use anything other than composite.


+1 I hope Sharp adds the color settings into the menu in a future firmware update.
ajbent86 is offline  
post #187 of 247 Old 01-01-2012, 12:57 PM
Member
 
ajbent86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what HDMI version this TV has? Does this TV have ARC features in the HDMI ports?
ajbent86 is offline  
post #188 of 247 Old 01-01-2012, 04:55 PM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbent86 View Post

+1 I hope Sharp adds the color settings into the menu in a future firmware update.

I wouldn't count on that, I had to pay $300 more to get color controls upgrading to 60LE632U. No regrets, it was worth it.
gordon7 is offline  
post #189 of 247 Old 01-03-2012, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
dep7011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased this tv. Can someone please share the settings that you use for XBOX 360 calibration. I've messed with the colors a bit, but can't seem to get them right.

Thanks in advance.
dep7011 is offline  
post #190 of 247 Old 01-07-2012, 09:39 PM
Member
 
ajbent86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that use the digital tuner on the TV, What is the typical signal strength? (Menu -> Setup -> CH Setup -> Signal Strength)


My TV sits at 76 for both Current and Max. (Picture looks fine)


I was under the impression with Digital television; you simply have a signal or you don't. (There is no fade or degrading picture quality). Is there any benefit to installing a cable amplifier to bring the signal up to 100?
ajbent86 is offline  
post #191 of 247 Old 01-08-2012, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
No benefit. If signal strength is inadequate the picture will freeze up intermittently, if yours isn't doing that you're ok.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #192 of 247 Old 01-18-2012, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
ztbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I realize I posted earlier that this set has really deep black levels...but after gaming on it for a while and having my butt handed to me in any type of night time or dark scenes, something is off. I went to an in-game calibration in Max Payne 2...it said to adjust the set until you could read the text...off-white text on a white block looked fine. but dark gray text on a black box....i could NOT adjust this TV to where i could even see a hint of text there! I tried cranking the brightness all the way up and down, the contrast...adjusted the color temp. even tried both extremes on the backlight. So no wonder...anything CLOSE to black just turns black, and my night-time scenes look like i'm locked in a dark closet. Seeing how this set is primarily for gaming, I'm a tad bit upset now...anybody else see this issue, or overcome it? I've been quite happy with this set for anything BUT dark scene gaming.
ztbishop is offline  
post #193 of 247 Old 01-18-2012, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
JoeBel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ztbishop View Post

I realize I posted earlier that this set has really deep black levels...but after gaming on it for a while and having my butt handed to me in any type of night time or dark scenes, something is off. I went to an in-game calibration in Max Payne 2...it said to adjust the set until you could read the text...off-white text on a white block looked fine. but dark gray text on a black box....i could NOT adjust this TV to where i could even see a hint of text there! I tried cranking the brightness all the way up and down, the contrast...adjusted the color temp. even tried both extremes on the backlight. So no wonder...anything CLOSE to black just turns black, and my night-time scenes look like i'm locked in a dark closet. Seeing how this set is primarily for gaming, I'm a tad bit upset now...anybody else see this issue, or overcome it? I've been quite happy with this set for anything BUT dark scene gaming.

I also experienced the same problem when I was calibrating the brightness in Crysis 2 on my 360. It said to lower the brightness until you can barely see the pic/text but I never saw it no matter where I adjusted it.

It's a mid-level set, you can't expect a ton out of it, I paid $874 for mine so I am happy with it still. I find the black levels are good enough for the price point. If I paid anything like its MSRP of $1300-$1500 i would def have gotten a Panasonic GT30 plasma, but that is more than double what I paid.

I still think it plays most blu-rays beautifully though.
JoeBel is offline  
post #194 of 247 Old 01-19-2012, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Kythyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think what you gamers are encountering is that this set is not adjustable for gamma. Not even through the service menus.
Kythyn is offline  
post #195 of 247 Old 01-20-2012, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Ny finest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bought this tv today noticing those two lines on the screen as mentioned in this thread not sure if i should return it
Ny finest is offline  
post #196 of 247 Old 01-21-2012, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Ny finest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingillini View Post

I picked up this TV on Sunday and it looks really great with one exception. There is occasionally a section of the screen about 4 inches wide running from top to bottom with a slightly different brightness/color than the rest of the screen. It comes and goes, and is more/less noticeable depending on the video being displayed.

I've uploaded pictures of it here. It's kind of hard to see in the picture, so I drew some arrows. It's one of those things that once you see it, you can't unsee it which is pretty annoying on a TV. So did I get a defective TV? Do other people notice this? Should I return it, or contact sharp? Or is it possible that once the TV is broken in it won't do this? Or is there an A/V setting that will cause this?

Did you get this problem fixed or did you return your tv?
Ny finest is offline  
post #197 of 247 Old 01-22-2012, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
shockme66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can i download the manual, I can't seem to find it on the Sharp website. Thanks
shockme66 is offline  
post #198 of 247 Old 01-22-2012, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
This is now on sale at BB for an unbelievable price. Picked one up and after reading some forum settings for advice on tweaking, more than happy for the picture for the price!

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #199 of 247 Old 01-22-2012, 06:43 PM
Member
 
rochoa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much
rochoa21 is online now  
post #200 of 247 Old 01-22-2012, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sickboy013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
$999.99, I picked one up too and it's being delivered on Saturday, but I may look at going with the model that is one up from this. Don't know yet.

sickboy013 is offline  
post #201 of 247 Old 01-23-2012, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Injected Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just sold my 55ex720 and saw this model on todays playoffs commercials. Would love to go 60" but the motion blur complaints has me somewhat worried.

I mainly use the display for xbox/ bluray/ and hd cable. Is the input lag terrible? On my old ex720 it was bearable.

XBL GTÂ vFLOODv
Injected Sin is offline  
post #202 of 247 Old 01-23-2012, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injected Sin View Post

Just sold my 55ex720 and saw this model on todays playoffs commercials. Would love to go 60" but the motion blur complaints has me somewhat worried.

I mainly use the display for xbox/ bluray/ and hd cable. Is the input lag terrible? On my old ex720 it was bearable.

Why did you get rid of your 55EX720? Just wanted something bigger?

This model is fine for motion... That is, if you don't use the "High" setting. Using "Low" or "Off" has been fine for me and I watch TV as well as game.

Input lag is fine in AV Mode "Game".

I can't do any scientific tests but SHARP brand is typically known for great input lag in "Game" mode. I found no fault with it.

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #203 of 247 Old 01-23-2012, 03:17 PM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sodaboy581 View Post

I can't do any scientific tests but SHARP brand is typically known for great input lag in "Game" mode. I found no fault with it.

It is whole 30 ms

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21537385
gordon7 is offline  
post #204 of 247 Old 01-23-2012, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Injected Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sodaboy581 View Post

Why did you get rid of your 55EX720? Just wanted something bigger?This model is fine for motion... That is, if you don't use the "High" setting. Using "Low" or "Off" has been fine for me and I watch TV as well as game.

Input lag is fine in AV Mode "Game".

I can't do any scientific tests but SHARP brand is typically known for great input lag in "Game" mode. I found no fault with it.

Yes I wanted to go bigger. Saw the attractive $999 price and thought it's a good deal.

In a nutshell is this tv worth it?

XBL GTÂ vFLOODv
Injected Sin is offline  
post #205 of 247 Old 01-23-2012, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injected Sin View Post

Yes I wanted to go bigger. Saw the attractive $999 price and thought it's a good deal.

In a nutshell is this tv worth it?

For $999.99, hell yes!

I only have 2 problems with it.

1) You can't customize color that well. (You can by going into the service menu for non-HDMI inputs, but for HDMI you're SOL.)

With that said, my HDMI color is acceptable for me. I have only ever really noticed some inaccuracy (a little too red) when playing Super Street Fighter IV in the stage with the elephants. The fighters looked a little bit red. I adjusted the tint and color control a bit and it's decent enough now.

2) Like all LED LCDs, I can see a couple of clouds (? I think they're clouds, like a couple of splotches on the screen) in a completely dark room.

I don't ever use my TV in a completely dark room, though, so I'm fine.


I don't suffer from any motion problems either. I keep Motion Enhancement on Low, and typically have Film mode set to "Low" while watching TV and movies. I turn Film mode to "High" when watching animation and keep it off (or use Game Mode) when using the PC or playing games.

I'm happy with my purchase.

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #206 of 247 Old 01-24-2012, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Injected Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response.

Went to my local BB and they didn't even have it on display. So tomorrow I'll have to take a longer drive out to another BB in the area to see it first hand.

XBL GTÂ vFLOODv
Injected Sin is offline  
post #207 of 247 Old 01-24-2012, 06:33 AM
Member
 
MiamiBourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to Best Buy yesterday and they didn't have it on display either. They said they also never really had the Tv in stock. I was already set in a Panny GT30 55" and I wanted it by this weekend. The price of this TV had me wanted to check it as it seems like a great deal. So after looking around the store at other LED's and plasmas I decided to order the Panny GT30 from Amazon.
MiamiBourne is offline  
post #208 of 247 Old 01-24-2012, 07:15 AM
Member
 
gordon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It is not really necessary to see specifically 6300 in person. If 632 or 633(Costco) available on display then you can get very good idea about 6300 look and performance. These TVs look identical outside and use same LCD panel. 6300 will have different very basic menu and no fine color adjustments in the menu. I wouldn't base any of my decisions on the store display though. TVs in the store not calibrated properly and also set in the "torch" mode. There is plenty information in this forum to make educated decision instead of buying most colorful and brightest TV on the store shelf. This is not bad TV for the money but I went with 632 myself for a bit more.
gordon7 is offline  
post #209 of 247 Old 01-24-2012, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Injected Sin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^Thanks for the costco tip. I just need to see the bezel, screen in person. All I've seen are pics on the net so I just wanted to verify how the bezel and screen reflections are.

As far as viewing content I know the display isn't going to be accurate and will be in "torch" mode. Hopefully I can ask a member to find the remote so I can mess with it. Most times @ Sam's they just leave the remote next to the display so I just go ahead and play with the settings.

I hope the motion blur isn't going to bother me. I had the Sony 55EX500 and the judder really bothered me 'motion flow' off.

XBL GTÂ vFLOODv
Injected Sin is offline  
post #210 of 247 Old 01-25-2012, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I found my first major gripe with the TV.

It doesn't seem to accept RGB 4:4:4 or YCbCr 4:4:4 over HDMI. At least, it didn't from my Mac Mini (2011 model with Radeon 6630M).

I forced the pixel format in Windows via Catalyst Control center, but it didn't look good. Red Text on Black, especially bad. Setting to YCbCr 4:2:0 was the best looking over HDMI, but still not 4:4:4.

I found a workaround, though, since I need HDMI audio through my receiver (yes, I tried the HDMI test w/o the receiver). I just hooked up the video using VGA and the audio using HDMI (to the receiver), and set ATI to duplicate the displays and used the "PC IN" on the SHARP.

I'm happy now. Got my surround audio in games, movies, etc. plus 4:4:4

Have two cables from the Mac Mini, but what else can I do, really? :-)

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp Lc60le6300u 60 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off