Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 375 Old 07-12-2014, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgexander View Post
I wish it was edid. @asou68 how old is your tv? Is it a Samsung?

Shouldn't matter unless it's an older CRT . oh .....4:4:4: is not gamma it is chroma (color )
Could be the Onkyo does not want to pass 4:4:4

I don't know why it wouldn't in direct mode though but then it is an Onkyo
they have had HDMI issues since there was HDMI and still do .

.Have you tried overriding or turning off EDID in AMD Catalyst ?

Quote:
August 1994, DDC standard version 1 – EDID v1.0 structure.
April 1996, EDID standard version 2 – EDID v1.1 structure.
1997, EDID standard version 3 – EDID structures v1.2 and v2.0
February 2000, E-EDID Standard Release A, v1.0 – EDID structure v1.3, EDID structure v2.0 deprecated
September 2006 – E-EDID Standard Release A, v2.0 – EDID structure v1.4
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extende...ification_data

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-12-2014 at 06:14 PM.
tubetwister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 375 Old 07-14-2014, 12:03 PM
Member
 
asou68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
EDID is working like it should ☺ Try playing DVD in PC to tv see what happens DVD/BD is natively 4:4:2 anyway though.
Do you mean for me to play a DVD in my laptop when it's connected to the TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgexander View Post
I wish it was edid. @asou68 how old is your tv? Is it a Samsung?
It was bought a few years ago, it's a 40" Samsung D5003, I think.
asou68 is offline  
post #363 of 375 Old 07-18-2014, 12:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by asou68 View Post
Do you mean for me to play a DVD in my laptop when it's connected to the TV?



It was bought a few years ago, it's a 40" Samsung D5003, I think.
yes from your laptop if it has HDMI or mini HDMI or mini display port video output you may need an adapter cable or adapter + HDMI cable to plug into HDMI on TV .

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #364 of 375 Old 07-20-2014, 11:58 AM
Member
 
asou68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
yes from your laptop if it has HDMI or mini HDMI or mini display port video output you may need an adapter cable or adapter + HDMI cable to plug into HDMI on TV .
When I play a blu-ray in my laptop & display it on the TV, nothing happens; PC mode isn't turned off or anything. This the expected result, no? I mean, how could the TV know the laptop is playing a Blu-ray as apposed to say.... a video game?

Also another question, I use PC mode for my Xbox 360. I find it gives a crisper picture & improved input, but does it still make sense to use the Brightness & Contrast settings I've gotten from the AVS 709 HD basic patterns on my blu-ray player? The Color, Tint & Color Space options are all greyed out on PC Mode, so I assume they are irrelevant.

One more question: in PC mode, Sharpness is set to 50, which from what I read on the previous pages is necessary for PC mode. And this sharpness test image has been posted:

http://web.comhem.se/zacabeb/reposit..._test_1080.png

...what am I looking for in this image to check sharpness?

Thanks!
asou68 is offline  
post #365 of 375 Old 09-15-2014, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Light95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering, is there any way to enable 4:4:4 on a Samsung TV (UE32EH5000 in this case) without using PC Mode? Because PC Mode looks horrible, and many settings can't be changed in that mode.
Light95 is offline  
post #366 of 375 Old 09-21-2014, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a x850b but can't test 4k/60hz at 4:2:0 until next week when my 980gtx comes in. Does anyone have experience playing games at 4:2:0 and can speak to how noticeable for it. I've heard some say for fast action games that sampling is hardly detectable.

Currently, I'm deciding whether to keep the x850b or trade it in for a Vizio P, which is rumored to have 4:4:4 at 4k/60hz.
Jadders is offline  
post #367 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Snipe3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Its been confirmed that the P series can not do 4:4:4 at 4k/60hz. So far only the latest LGs can do this, but of course they have horrible input lag.

*Edit:
I believe the Toshiba 65L9400U can do this as well, not sure what the input lag on those are.

Multi-Projector Edge-Blending & Geometry correction for games and simulations.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Snipe3000; 09-28-2014 at 01:15 PM.
Snipe3000 is offline  
post #368 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
maxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipe3000 View Post
Its been confirmed that the P series can not do 4:4:4 at 4k/60hz. So far only the latest LGs can do this, but of course they have horrible input lag.

*Edit:
I believe the Toshiba 65L9400U can do this as well, not sure what the input lag on those are.
Please clarify - cannot do it AT ALL or cannot do it via HDMI? So, can you get full color resolution or just RGB signal via displayport, for example?
maxl is offline  
post #369 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 05:26 PM
Member
 
traumadisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxl View Post
Please clarify - cannot do it AT ALL or cannot do it via HDMI? So, can you get full color resolution or just RGB signal via displayport, for example?
Well hdmi is the only choice what are you unsure of? Early reports are no it can't do it. Am I missing something friend?
traumadisaster is online now  
post #370 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Snipe3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxl View Post
Please clarify - cannot do it AT ALL or cannot do it via HDMI? So, can you get full color resolution or just RGB signal via displayport, for example?
If you want to do it on the Vizio, you'll have to run at 30hz, there is no display port on the vizio. It would work on the vizio, but there is HDCP 2.2 on the port needed, so thats the main reason why it will not work.
The Vizio P series owners thread has loads of info for you.
maxl likes this.

Multi-Projector Edge-Blending & Geometry correction for games and simulations.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Snipe3000 is offline  
post #371 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 06:11 PM
Member
 
traumadisaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipe3000 View Post
If you want to do it on the Vizio, you'll have to run at 30hz, there is no display port on the vizio. It would work on the vizio, but there is HDCP 2.2 on the port needed, so thats the main reason why it will not work.
The Vizio P series owners thread has loads of info for you.
When I play a pc game in 4k30 4:4:4 and then go to 4k60 4:2:0 I don't see any difference in the quality of the game color or detail. Do games display in 444? I'm using a titan and have tried on seiki, lg, Samsung and sony 4k sets.
thanks
traumadisaster is online now  
post #372 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Snipe3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by traumadisaster View Post
When I play a pc game in 4k30 4:4:4 and then go to 4k60 4:2:0 I don't see any difference in the quality of the game color or detail. Do games display in 444? I'm using a titan and have tried on seiki, lg, Samsung and sony 4k sets.
thanks
When things are moving on the screen, you might not notice the color sampling compression. Its mostly an issue for those looking at still images and text.

Im also trying to decide on if Im going to get the Vizio P, and just deal with the 4:2:0, or maybe try out the Toshiba, which I think allows full 4:4:4 at 4k/60hz

Multi-Projector Edge-Blending & Geometry correction for games and simulations.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Snipe3000 is offline  
post #373 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 06:24 PM
Member
 
maxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipe3000 View Post
If you want to do it on the Vizio, you'll have to run at 30hz, there is no display port on the vizio. It would work on the vizio, but there is HDCP 2.2 on the port needed, so thats the main reason why it will not work.
The Vizio P series owners thread has loads of info for you.
Got it, thanks. I assumed it had more inputs than just HDMI. I'm looking for a large display (70" or larger) for high-res photo slideshows, and lack of color resolution would definitely be noticeable in this use case. Too bad - it looks like a very good and bargain-priced option otherwise.
maxl is offline  
post #374 of 375 Old 09-28-2014, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Snipe3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxl View Post
Got it, thanks. I assumed it had more inputs than just HDMI. I'm looking for a large display (70" or larger) for high-res photo slideshows, and lack of color resolution would definitely be noticeable in this use case. Too bad - it looks like a very good and bargain-priced option otherwise.
You might be a candidate for the Toshiba if it does what they say. Although it is 5 inches smaller and cost a few hundred more.

Multi-Projector Edge-Blending & Geometry correction for games and simulations.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Snipe3000 is offline  
post #375 of 375 Old 09-30-2014, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
LJ25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Samsung 60F5300 plasma accepts 4:4:4 without issues?


PSN: J_Rodz2588
LJ25 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lcd Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off