Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 43Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2016, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Not sure if this belongs here, but I didnt find an answer in the htpc forum. If you have an htpc just for video (blu ray, ect...) and you connect to a 4k tv should you set it to 4:2:2 or 4:2:0? 4:4:4 might not be an option.
Murilo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2016, 10:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post
Not sure if this belongs here, but I didnt find an answer in the htpc forum. If you have an htpc just for video (blu ray, ect...) and you connect to a 4k tv should you set it to 4:2:2 or 4:2:0? 4:4:4 might not be an option.
Is your PC doing the upscaling? If so, 4:2:2 is better.

Are you changing your output resolution to match the video's resolution (like switching to 1280x720 for a 720p video)? If so, then 4:2:0 is theoretically better.


Don't forget that, due to bandwidth limitations, HDMI 2.0 requires you to use either 30Hz* or 8bit in order to have 4k with 4:4:4 chroma.

*theoretically HDMI 2.0 could handle 4k 10bit 4:4:4 @ 52Hz or 4k 12bit 4:4:4 @ 45Hz; someone should totally try that out via custom resolutions.

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 09-09-2016 at 10:54 PM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 09-20-2016, 03:17 PM
Member
 
highnoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking at buying the Samsung UN40KU6300 for a pc monitor. Not for gaming, just desktop use. Right now, I'm using integrated graphics on a skylake i5. The motherboard claims both HDMI 2 and DP1.2 outputs.

Is my best option for connecting the monitor just straight HDMI?

TIA
highnoon is offline  
 
Old 09-20-2016, 10:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by highnoon View Post
I'm looking at buying the Samsung UN40KU6300 for a pc monitor. Not for gaming, just desktop use. Right now, I'm using integrated graphics on a skylake i5. The motherboard claims both HDMI 2 and DP1.2 outputs.

Is my best option for connecting the monitor just straight HDMI?

TIA
Assuming that you can get actual 3840x2160 @ 60Hz 4:4:4, then yeah just use HDMI since that TV doesn't have a DisplayPort input anyway.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-23-2017, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
upscale 4k

Hi,
just to clarify things in my mind,
htpc with gtx 1080 and kaby lake, tv lg b6,
planning to watch mainly upscaled 1080p and play game,
should I go only 4:4:4 blindly? Framerate will be limited if I understood correctly? Thanks!
Bill Omalta is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
htpc with gtx 1080 and kaby lake, tv lg b6
Do you already have all of this hardware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
should I go only 4:4:4 blindly? Framerate will be limited if I understood correctly? Thanks!
On the B6 OLED, if you use 4:4:4 chroma, your input lag will be considerably worse. If you set the TV to the fastest input lag mode, then it will automatically downsample the chroma to 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 (I don't know which; I just know it's not 4:4:4).

The only other thing to note is that 3840x2160 60Hz 4:4:4 is limited to 8bit due to bandwidth constraints. You theoretically might be able to do 3840x2160 50Hz 4:4:4 at 10bit, but I don't even know if the OLEDs TVs can handle that as the US-spec OLED TVs don't seem to support 50Hz input even with a custom resolution so I can't exactly test it out.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
Do you already have all of this hardware?



On the B6 OLED, if you use 4:4:4 chroma, your input lag will be considerably worse. If you set the TV to the fastest input lag mode, then it will automatically downsample the chroma to 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 (I don't know which; I just know it's not 4:4:4).

The only other thing to note is that 3840x2160 60Hz 4:4:4 is limited to 8bit due to bandwidth constraints. You theoretically might be able to do 3840x2160 50Hz 4:4:4 at 10bit, but I don't even know if the OLEDs TVs can handle that as the US-spec OLED TVs don't seem to support 50Hz input even with a custom resolution so I can't exactly test it out.
htpc is done and tv no, i'm still considering whether to invest that amount of money vs a samsung 65ks8000. Thing is that i don't upgrade too often so when i do it, "try" to do it "properly" ^^ ... But yes I read that anyway it does not make much sense to upscale content to 4:4:4 as the information that is not there can't be created out of nowhere...
Bill Omalta is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
htpc is done and tv no, i'm still considering whether to invest that amount of money vs a samsung 65ks8000. Thing is that i don't upgrade too often so when i do it, "try" to do it "properly" ^^
Then I guess I shouldn't mention that you totally shouldn't have bought your PC parts just yet (unless you were impatient! )

Regarding the TV, unless you're allergic to curved, the C6 OLED's input lag is a bit higher but for 4:4:4 the input lag is way better.

It's also worth noting that the 2017 OLED TVs should be available anywhere between February and May, and they supposedly have ~22ms of input lag, and it's also possible that they might support native 120Hz input. Of course, much like the PC advice, if you're impatient, then feel free to ignore this.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
aha I see, and why is that? Pls note that I'm coming from ground zero on the htpc, meaning that I did not upgrade from skylake which is indeed useless apparently.
Indeed impatient I am as I don't have a computer nor a tv anymore in my living room
so waiting another 6 months for a new tv that will cost 2k more on release day in EU is definitely a no. I'd have to wait another year to get them at the current price of the 2016s. And same story for the 2018s would start again... Or maybe go for a cheaper one like ks8000 to do a real upgrade when DDay comes
Regarding the pc, I didn't read that there would be huge upcoming changes in the chips in the coming months. Having an i7, DDR4 and a z270 chipset appeared quite safe to me for a while. What about a high end GPU ?..
Bill Omalta is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
waiting another 6 months for a new tv that will cost 2k more on release day in EU is definitely a no. I'd have to wait another year to get them at the current price of the 2016s. And same story for the 2018s would start again...
What gives you the impression that the 2017 models wouldn't cost similar to what the 2016 models currently cost? I mean, the 2016 models have been priced at their current price-point since early November and maybe even September/October, so it's not like they're done dropping in price.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
Regarding the pc, I didn't read that there would be huge upcoming changes in the chips in the coming months. Having an i7, DDR4 and a z270 chipset appeared quite safe to me for a while. What about a high end GPU ?..
CPU: AMD Ryzen (launch window is Feburary or March)
GPU: AMD Vega (launch window is March to June)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti (thought to be launching whenever AMD releases Vega)
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
What gives you the impression that the 2017 models wouldn't cost similar to what the 2016 models currently cost? I mean, the 2016 models have been priced at their current price-point since early November and maybe even September/October, so it's not like they're done dropping in price.
Precisely, they will be launched at the same price as the 2016 last year if not slighly higher in the internet shops because of the buzz, meaning around 5-8k€ in France, which is imo way too expensive for a TV ^^


Quote:
CPU: AMD Ryzen (launch window is Feburary or March)
GPU: AMD Vega (launch window is March to June)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti (thought to be launching whenever AMD releases Vega)
again, the GTX 1080 Ti is the expected followup to the GTX 1080, coming in at a lower price than the top-end Titan X which is around 1.2k€ in EU so the 1080 ti will sit around 1k. You can get a 1080 around 530€ atm which is twice less so no comparison possible with 1080 ti, it is most likely more powerful but
more expensive.
About AMD, rumors talk May as a release date which is like in half a year ^^
Here's the thing, I get your point, in computer industry (which i know quite well as a 10y programmer), it is indeed always a benefit to wait for the end of time cause for sure you'll get the best hardware possible.
But what is your advice? Should I sit in on the couch watching at the wall for another 6 months and spend 4k€ more on my new setup?
Bill Omalta is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 12:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Omalta View Post
But what is your advice? Should I sit in on the couch watching at the wall for another 6 months and spend 4k€ more on my new setup?
My advice is to only ever buy when a new generation product releases (at least within a month or so of that release) unless you're impatient or need to replace a broken item.


However, you don't actually have to buy the new gen product; the main thing is that you would compare the last generation product to the new generation product and then decide which you like better. This is especially useful since the old gen item almost always experiences a price-drop at that point in time.

From there, the new gen product shouldn't be seeing any price-drops for at least a few months (unless a competing product launches) while the old gen product shouldn't be getting many more price-cuts either.


The only exception to this "rule" of mine is when a competitor is going to launch a competing product relatively soon after because this can also lead to price-drops - a key example of this occurring is Geforce 260 & 280 vs the Radeon 4850 & 4870:
https://www.cnet.com/news/nvidia-cut...aphics-boards/

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 01-25-2017 at 12:12 AM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
it is true indeed, price drops will be greater at that time.
I think you're right about GPUs, 1080ti might be worth the wait either for 1080 low cost or for highest end purchase but I just bought the
last intel i7 architecture which did not bring much from sky lake but quite a bit from nothing...
About the TV, that is too much of a wait I'd say.
Bill Omalta is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 12:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Also, if the official test benches are to be believed, I would be shocked if Intel doesn't cut their prices when Ryzen launches.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 05:31 AM
Member
 
52LG60FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Trying to run Game Mode permanently when connected to my PC. I've got a 49KS8000 and it randomly goes from Game Mode to PC Mode automatically whenever I power on my display. Anyone know how to stop it from changing input types?

Reason I'm asking is because I'm fine with 4:2:2 since the text is pretty clear compared to 4:4:4 and would like the lower input lag.

Last edited by 52LG60FTW; 01-25-2017 at 09:14 AM.
52LG60FTW is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 03:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I built an HTPC with a i5-4590, 16GB DDR3, 500GB SSD and 2X 2TB 7200RPM HDD and a 2GHZ GTX 1060 6GB for $450, I just purchased a LG 50UH5530 for $400. I hope this setup works for playing NBA 2K17 and Dirt Rally at 4k 4:4:4 on medium-high.
rip ham is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
*I built an HTPC with a i5-4590, 16GB DDR3, 500GB SSD and 2X 2TB 7200RPM HDD and a 2GHZ GTX 1060 6GB for $450, I just purchased a LG 50UH5530 for $400. I hope this setup works for playing NBA 2K17 and GRID Autosport at 4k 4:4:4 on medium-high.
rip ham is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,556
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2554 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
The Vizio P-series now officially supports 4:4:4 for all resolutions and frame rates according to RTINGS.com. You may have to use the "Computer" profile for it to work on some HDMI inputs but I was able to get it to work with 1080p @ 120 FPS on HDMI 5 with the "Calibrated" input. Honestly, it doesn't make any difference to real world use but at least now it isn't even a concern to anyone.


http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/vizio/p-series-2016
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 10:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52LG60FTW View Post
Trying to run Game Mode permanently when connected to my PC. I've got a 49KS8000 and it randomly goes from Game Mode to PC Mode automatically whenever I power on my display. Anyone know how to stop it from changing input types?
This to me sounds like the HDMI metadata where it can specify what format and/or content is being displayed; some TVs automatically change their label and/or display mode based on this metadata.

The easiest way I know of to disable this "metadata" is to simply use CRU - Custom Resolution Utility and either set it to "no extension block" or "custom extension block" with the default settings (that is, with nothing in it).
52LG60FTW likes this.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 03-03-2017, 01:12 AM
Member
 
thuety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone here been able to get HDMI UHD 60Hz 4:4:4 to work using a PC with Intel HD graphics 500+?

I've tried with two DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 converters:
- onboard, MegaChips MCDP2800 FW 1.61
- external, Club3D CAC-1070 Paradetech PS176

The best I can do is 4:2:2... the colors (red, yellow) are so dull in this mode

Using the HD graphics control panel.. I can't force any settings.
It doesn't even show what it's doing (yet)
https://communities.intel.com/thread/111279 (wish list for future releases)

thanks
Stefan

Sony VPL-VW550ES, Oppo 103/203, Meridian 861v4, Meridian HD621, Genelec active 1037/1038, cellarcinema.info
thuety is online now  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by thuety View Post
Has anyone here been able to get HDMI UHD 60Hz 4:4:4 to work using a PC with Intel HD graphics 500+?

I've tried with two DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 converters:
- onboard, MegaChips MCDP2800 FW 1.61
- external, Club3D CAC-1070 Paradetech PS176
You didn't state it, so I must ask to clarify - for the display in question, are you able to get UHD 60Hz 4:4:4 with other types of graphics, such as AMD or Nvidia?

Because if you haven't, then it's quite possible that your display simply isn't capable of it (unless it's a monitor, then it really should be - but it really should also have a DisplayPort input as well).
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:36 PM
Member
 
thuety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
You didn't state it, so I must ask to clarify - for the display in question, are you able to get UHD 60Hz 4:4:4 with other types of graphics, such as AMD or Nvidia?

Because if you haven't, then it's quite possible that your display simply isn't capable of it (unless it's a monitor, then it really should be - but it really should also have a DisplayPort input as well).
Sorry about that, I'm using a Philips 43PUS6101/12 UHD TV, with HDMI3/4 set to 4:2:2/4:4:4 mode.
I've also tried four different HDMI cables and three other TVs (Samsung, LG, Panasonic)... could never get over 4:2:2.
I couldn't test any AMD/Nvidia card yet, that would clear things up.

I just wanted to know if anyone could do UHD 60 4:4:4 with a Intel HD graphics + DP-HDMI converter... if not I can stop trying and attack Intel/MegaChips/Paradetech.
My main suspicion is Intel, because in some situations (depending on driver release) I get no picture at all when windows is started
The lack of control options and dubug output is making it extremely difficult to pinpoint the problem.

Sony VPL-VW550ES, Oppo 103/203, Meridian 861v4, Meridian HD621, Genelec active 1037/1038, cellarcinema.info
thuety is online now  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by thuety View Post
My main suspicion is Intel, because in some situations (depending on driver release) I get no picture at all when windows is started
It may be worth trying to make a custom resolution - I know on a 26" 1080p Vizio that I've re-purposed as a monitor, the Intel graphics (or the display itself?) won't run at 4:4:4 unless I delete the old 60Hz resolution and create a new one specifically at 60.00Hz and not 59.94Hz.


Note that you may have to use the beta Intel driver:
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...er-Beta-15-45-

And then additionally use Custom Resolution Utility to actually make the custom resolution:
http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Th...on-Utility-CRU

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 03-03-2017 at 10:55 PM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Old Today, 08:35 AM
Member
 
thuety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- Philips 43PUS6101/12, internal media player: fail, Oppo 203: fail, Intel HD 500: fail, Nvidia GTX 960: fail
- Samsung UE43KU6070 (enable 'HDMI UHD Color', set HDMI input type to 'PC'), Intel HD 500: no picture
- Samsung UE48JU7580 (enable 'HDMI UHD Color', set HDMI input type to 'PC'), Intel HD 500 = perfect 4:4:4

quote from: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...502#pid2549502
"It isn't unheard of for TVs to convert every source to 4:2:2 YCbCr internally for processing purposes"

Sony VPL-VW550ES, Oppo 103/203, Meridian 861v4, Meridian HD621, Genelec active 1037/1038, cellarcinema.info

Last edited by thuety; Today at 08:40 AM.
thuety is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Lcd Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off