Why a HDMI input is labeld DVI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2011, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In 2 of my Samsung sets, among the many HDMI inputs, there is a special one wich has DVI between Brackets.

Why is that? Can I only connect DVI-HDMI devices on this particular input? Can I connect normal HDMI-HDMI devices on it?

Also, my sets have a VGA + PC sound input. If I use the HDMI (DVI) input for video only, will it get sound from the PC sound input?
LeandrodaFL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2011, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
You can buy cables from monoprice with HDMI on one end and DVI on the other. They also sell adapters. About the sound it's been so long since I used DVI that I forget.
joed32 is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since DVI to HDMI cables cannot carry sound, I suspect that there is a red and white audio connector pair associated with that one input. It could be the VGA+PC sound input you suspect. The only way to find out is in the manual or trial and error.

My Samsung LN52B550 has this setup with red and white audio input connectors specifically labeled for the DVI(HDMI) input.

Brian...reporting from the left coast...
Grandude is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off