Sceptre X425BV-FHD from Wally World - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-05-2012, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeffredo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oroville, California
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just pulled the trigger on this TV. Got it for $360 fom Walmart, which is the cheapest 42" I've been able to find in my week of shopping (old 37" Vizio just died so I have to move fast). I hope I don't regret it - never have bought anything from nor heard much about Sceptre. I'll report back on Monday with my impressions and a photo or two.

http://www.sceptre.com/Products/LCD_...20MainPage.htm
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Sceptre-42...roduct+Reviews
Jeffredo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-07-2012, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
bmck316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh cool, I just got this TV also and I'll be watching to see what you report because I'm having problems. I may just be expecting too much from this or most LCD TVs in general.

Before telling you what my problem is I'll run down what I'm finding in general.

The sound isn't great. The reviews that say that are correct. You can tweak it though with the built in equalizer. There are several presettings and a user defined setting where you can adjust several bands. After playing around with it I don't find it that bad, although occasionally (not often at all) I'll hear a buzz there's just too much being pumped through the speakers. If you have any kind of sound system though that'll be perfect.

The remote is a bit odd. At first I had to aim it directly at the IR receiver, but now that's not the case for some odd reason.

Not counting analog, the picture looks great to me although you'll want to tweak that too. I don't have any point of reference for comparing up-scaling of the lower res digital channels. The lowest of these do look a bit pixelated.

There are three settings for smoothing digital content but I can't really tell that these do anything. I'd be interested to see if you agree with that.

Input through the composite inputs look excellent. I have a WDTV hooked up to it now but will switch that to HDMI. I haven't tried HDMI yet.

Now to my problem, which likely affect you if you have a cable/satellite box. I'm running cable directly into the set and that's how I'd prefer to keep it as I'm not looking for extremely high quality from all "extended cable" channels. Several of the analog channels are showing a white/light flickering horizontal bar that can may be anywhere on the screen. The bar is generally about 3/4 inch. Generally this is flickering jumps up and down and is contained in an area anywhere between 1-3 inches or so. I've also just noticed that at least on one channel this area scrolls from top to bottom then moves to the top, but it usually stays in one place.

General analog quality is actually better than I expected after what I'd read about this. The channels that aren't that great I don't mind, but this bar issue is a major distraction.

I also noticed on 1 or 2 analog channels that there is some audio static.

I'd be grateful to see if you're seeing the same thing so I know if it's a defect and worth exchanging or just a design quality issue like that speakers.

I may post a full description, if so I'll link to it. I posted in another forum but the general response I'm getting so far is that it's a cheap TV and that I should get an HDTV box. I'm not looking for that kind of quality from cable, I just don't want this distraction. Part of the forum name suggests it's for HD so maybe I just posted in the wrong forum That's actually how I found this site.

I've done a ton of troubleshooting so I might post it in the thread. I haven't put it all on the other site yet because of the response I've gotten so far.
bmck316 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-07-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hughh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure, but I think what you are seeing is common on analog channels. It's part of the signal being broadcasted and can be easily dealt with by adjusting the overscan.
hughh is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-09-2012, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
bmck316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Hughh

Thanks for the reply, but unless I'm missing something on overscan it's not the same thing. I started my own thread so I don't hijack Jeff's. There's a link to pics in the, the best I could get anyway.

The thread is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21466930
bmck316 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-09-2012, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hughh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmck316 View Post

Hi Hughh

Thanks for the reply, but unless I'm missing something on overscan it's not the same thing. I started my own thread so I don't hijack Jeff's. There's a link to pics in the, the best I could get anyway.

The thread is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21466930

No, you're right! After seeing the photos it's nowhere what I thought you meant.

Hard to diagnose from way out here, especially for me. I stopped watching analog content a long time ago.

Hang in here. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable will come and chip in.
hughh is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-09-2012, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
sjetski71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=743823

^^^^ May want to post there as well, for reference purposes.
sjetski71 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-09-2012, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jeffredo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oroville, California
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bit of a delay in my shipping (about a week). I will post in both threads (and my apologies for not using the sticky thread). I will be connecting the cable directly to the TV (no cable box) and will calibrate the picture of the set with a color meter.
Jeffredo is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off