TVs with 5.1 Passthrough from HDMI to SPDIF - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 206 Old 05-08-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 272
To clarify my OTA statement, we receive our tv audio and video OTA (Over the Air, antenna) using the internal ATSC tuner. The tv speakers are off so the video is displayed on the tv and the audio is sent to the receiver via the optical cable. If you use your internal ATSC tuner, or if you tv has SmartApps, this is the way to do it. Everything else, in our case, is connected to the receiver via HDMI so only video is sent to the tv and all audio is played thru the receiver.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 206 Old 05-08-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
mcginnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

OK thanks! If I stream netflix with my Blu-Ray player would it audio/video work via HDMI?

mcginnin is offline  
post #183 of 206 Old 05-08-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 272
It should. The audio would go to the soundbar and the video will go thru the soundbar and out to the tv via the HDMI out. The soundbar acts like a standalone receiver in that respect.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #184 of 206 Old 05-08-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcginnin View Post

OK thanks! If I stream netflix with my Blu-Ray player would it audio/video work via HDMI?
Yes. It would work just like playing a Blu-ray Disc. HDMI to the soundbar. The bar processes the audio and feeds video to the TV. If you don't have SmartTV apps or use an off air antenna and are feeding all sources through the soundbar, there's no use for the optical cable from the TV to the soundbar.
BIslander is online now  
post #185 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 04:51 AM
Member
 
mcginnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You guys rock! Streaming netflix via my Blu-Ray works perfect. Now I m just ready to get my system beefed up abit more but with a baby on the way in about 20 days my wife says Home theater is on the back burner hahah. I have other questions regarding Blu-Ray is it ok to just ask on this post? While I have your attention?

 

 

BLU-RAY settings.

 

24p was selected as off. Should this be on?

 

Should I adjust any down mixing settings?

 

Same with DTS NEO6

 

And should I select PCM

 

I have them all at factory settings now.

mcginnin is offline  
post #186 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcginnin View Post

You guys rock! Streaming netflix via my Blu-Ray works perfect. Now I m just ready to get my system beefed up abit more but with a baby on the way in about 20 days my wife says Home theater is on the back burner hahah. I have other questions regarding Blu-Ray is it ok to just ask on this post? While I have your attention?


BLU-RAY settings.

24p was selected as off. Should this be on?

Should I adjust any down mixing settings?

Same with DTS NEO6

And should I select PCM

I have them all at factory settings now.

I have that soundbar, so I can answer your questions:

1. Set 24p to "ON".
2. No need to adjust downmix...the soundbar handles bitstreamed multi-channel audio just fine.
3. DTS Neo6 sounds better, IMHO, with large speakers so leave that off.
4. See item 2 above. No need to use PCM.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #187 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
What player do you have?
Downmix handles the reduction of multichannel content to stereo by the player, so it doesn't matter in your setup.
DTS Neo:6 handles expansion of stereo content to multichannel, which also doesn't apply in your case.
I would not use PCM with your sound bar. But the correct setting there depends on the particular player you have.
24p depends on your TV.
BIslander is online now  
post #188 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 08:12 AM
Member
 
mcginnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Set up is as follows

 

Blu-Ray is Panasonic DMP-BD89

 

Sound bar is Sony HT-CT370

 

Tv Panasonic TC-P60ST60

mcginnin is offline  
post #189 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Set the Dolby and DTS outputs to Dolby and DTS, which may be called bitstream. Set secondary audio to off.
BIslander is online now  
post #190 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 05:57 PM
Member
 
mcginnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You guys are killing it!

 

My audio for Blu-Ray are like this now

 

dialog enhancer - off

 

dynamic range compression - off 

 

downmix - stereo 

 

dts neo6 - off

 

dolby d/dolby d +/dolby true hd - bitstream

 

dts/dts-hd - bitstream

 

bd video secondary audio - off

 

 

Also fooling with my sound bar 

 

I selected AAV on and the sound improves ten-fold! I assume I should leave this on? 

 

 

I feel like I should be paying you.

mcginnin is offline  
post #191 of 206 Old 05-09-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
When you set the output to bitstream, none of the other settings matter. The only exception is secondary audio, which needs to be off so that the player sends the lossless TrueHD and DTS Master Audio versions of the soundtracks instead of the lower resolution lossy versions.

All of those other settings operate on PCM. But, when set to bitstream, the player simply sends the encoded track to the soundbar, which does the decoding to produce PCM and any subsequent processing such downmixing and dialog enhancements.
BIslander is online now  
post #192 of 206 Old 05-10-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
mcginnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

What is the AAV setting that I turned on? Is this just a way to get a sound boost?

mcginnin is offline  
post #193 of 206 Old 05-10-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Advanced Auto Volume. The manual describes it as a way to reduce the volume differences when switching between sources. Can't imagine why it would improve the sound ten fold. But, if it sounds better to you, then, yes leave it on.
BIslander is online now  
post #194 of 206 Old 05-28-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
hondabbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davyo View Post


To my knowlege there are no brands of panels that will pass 5.1 thru the optical output on the panel with a device hooked to the panel via HDMI and that goes for all TV's, even the ones made in the last 2 years.

My new 70" and 80" Sharps wouldnt pass 5.1

May I ask how you "confirmed" that the brands you mentioned will pass 5.1 thru the optical ?

Cheers
Davyo

My Sharp lc70le757u will pass DD 5.1. I confirmed this through my new sonos system. On the controller you can see what signal the Playbar is receiving. That being said, It will pass DD 5.1 as long as the original device signal is DD 5.1.

hondabbq is offline  
post #195 of 206 Old 05-28-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondabbq View Post

My Sharp lc70le757u will pass DD 5.1. I confirmed this through my new sonos system. On the controller you can see what signal the Playbar is receiving. That being said, It will pass DD 5.1 as long as the original device signal is DD 5.1.

Do you actually hear discrete 5.1 thru all of the speakers?
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #196 of 206 Old 05-28-2014, 11:32 AM
Member
 
hondabbq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post


Do you actually hear discrete 5.1 thru all of the speakers?

Otto,

 

I do not currently have the surrounds up and running ( or own them yet) as I just bought my Playbar and sub this past Sunday. I too had concerns about the TV passing the signal down to the Playbar so I didn't want to invest in them if there was only going to be a mediocre gain without DD 5.1.

 

I can sincerely state that there is a noticeable difference in the DD5.1 over the Stereo/pcm sound coming from the soundbar. It does have a distinguished sound field and replicates the sound quite well. This will only be enhanced by the addition of the surrounds.

I don't understand how anyone can not hear a discernible difference.

hondabbq is offline  
post #197 of 206 Old 05-28-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Some tv's do in fact pass discrete 5.1 from either the internal ATSC tuner ( my tv does as an example for OTA) and some SmartApps via optical cable. If you use an external source that is not always the case. I don't know what your sources are. Pseudo-surround sound can sound very nice on higher end soundbars, which the Sonos is. All I'm suggesting is that even tho the display indicates that it's receiving a discrete 5.1 stream it may not be able to separate those tracks and push them to their respective speakers. The Sonos should be able to do that because you can add more speakers but maybe another Sonos owner who's invested in the speakers can confirm that.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #198 of 206 Old 05-30-2014, 01:48 AM
Member
 
drameddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the new M602I-B3 have the 5.1 passthrough?

I own the Vizio M602i-B3.
drameddie is offline  
post #199 of 206 Old 08-28-2014, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi AVS,

New here and apologies for not going through the entire thread.
I just bought the LG 55LA7400 and needed to confirm:

1. HDMI ARC on this TV is Stereo pass through only ?
2. Optical out is DD 5.1 ? (but not DTS 5.1)

I need this info to weigh in my soundbar purchase.
Most likely looking at building a Core i3 HTPC capable of outputting DTS HD-MA/ Dolby TrueHD via HDMI. (or even using my Asus EPE 121 Table @ Core i5 427um)

What would be my connection options ? HTPC direct to soundbar and HDMI out to TV or HTPC to TV and out via ARC to Soundbar.

Would anything over a 2.1 soundbar be wasted ? Looking at the LG NB4540 (choices are limited here in SEA/Malaysia). The LG is approx USD400 here. Was looking at the Philips HTL 5120 previously but it's no longer selling. The more expensive HTL 9100 is though @ USD900 or so.
Would a more expensive Sony ST3 soundbar (which supports DTS MA and true HD) be overkill ? it is 4.1 anyway. The ST3 is approx USD600.

Not looking for a proper/full fledged 7.1 (or even 5.1) setup. I like the soundbar approach and can live with the cons.

Many thanks!
Eoma is offline  
post #200 of 206 Old 08-29-2014, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 272
The best that ARC can do is discrete 5.1, just like optical. Neither one, ARC or optical, can send HD audio (DTS-MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc). HD audio does maintain a 5.1 core so if you send the HD audio stream, you should still be able to get the 5.1 depending on the capabilities of the receiver. However, ARC is not without it's issues because of the relationship that it has with CEC.

I don't have any experience with soundbars but they are limited in what they can do in comparison to a standalone receiver, which would be your best choice. There are some high end soundbars (expensive) that are more capable but you'd probably have to check out the soundbar specific forums for what they can, and can not do.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #201 of 206 Old 10-12-2014, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV's Tested that will do pass through

Came across this article on cnet. Answers a lot of questions here.


http://www.cnet.com/news/20-tvs-test...o-a-sound-bar/

John
lufters is offline  
post #202 of 206 Old 10-12-2014, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by lufters View Post
Came across this article on cnet. Answers a lot of questions here.


http://www.cnet.com/news/20-tvs-test...o-a-sound-bar/
They should've done much more thorough testing. Over the last decade and a half, and using TVs from Sony, Toshiba, Samsung, LG, and Mitsubishi, I have been able to get Dolby Digital 5.1 via Toslink from a Comcast/Xfinity cable box connected to the display via HDMI. This includes models where the manufacturer stated in the manual that this was not possible. If you're using a Comcast/Xfinity cable box, first turn the unit off, then immediately press the MENU button on the STB remote. In the USER SETTINGS MENU, you go into ADDITIONAL HDMI SETTINGS and set AUDIO OUTPUT to PASS THROUGH. Though this will not work with signals from a Blu-Ray player or other similar device connected via HDMI, Dolby Digital from the cablebox is passed by the TV through its optical output to the AVR. The Comcast cable boxes I've used were all either from Pace or from Motorola...it is my understanding that Time Warner boxes do not offer these options for HDMI audio.
Rudy1 is online now  
post #203 of 206 Old 10-15-2014, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
They should've done much more thorough testing. Over the last decade and a half, and using TVs from Sony, Toshiba, Samsung, LG, and Mitsubishi, I have been able to get Dolby Digital 5.1 via Toslink from a Comcast/Xfinity cable box connected to the display via HDMI. This includes models where the manufacturer stated in the manual that this was not possible. If you're using a Comcast/Xfinity cable box, first turn the unit off, then immediately press the MENU button on the STB remote. In the USER SETTINGS MENU, you go into ADDITIONAL HDMI SETTINGS and set AUDIO OUTPUT to PASS THROUGH. Though this will not work with signals from a Blu-Ray player or other similar device connected via HDMI, Dolby Digital from the cablebox is passed by the TV through its optical output to the AVR. The Comcast cable boxes I've used were all either from Pace or from Motorola...it is my understanding that Time Warner boxes do not offer these options for HDMI audio.

On my TW 8300 I set it to HDMI audio and 5.1 pass-through went from my Vizio to my receiver with no issues.

John
lufters is offline  
post #204 of 206 Old 10-16-2014, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if the 2014 LGs ( LB6300 in particular) will send 5.1ch through optical from HDMI source, what about OTA or Netflix or other network source? It seems to be working but I want to confirm somehow.
My Onkyo receiver is showing a DD source light, but I have no idea if the channels are source or some sort of matrixed output.
blue_cheese is offline  
post #205 of 206 Old 10-22-2014, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
micha019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does the Sony KD-**X8505 TVs Pass through 5.1 from HDMI to SPDIF?
What current 4k TVs work?
micha019 is offline  
post #206 of 206 Old 11-27-2014, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by lufters View Post
Came across this article on cnet. Answers a lot of questions here.


http://www.cnet.com/news/20-tvs-test...o-a-sound-bar/
That is useful. I will note that my Samsung TV in the menu area has the 5.1 option grayed out, so it's clearly not available.
Karyk is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Lg 55lx9500 55 1080p 480hz 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off