Samsung AnyNET and Onkyo Not Working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi!

I'm trying to get the HDMI-CEC to work on my Samsung UN55B7100 LCD TV and my Onkyo NR5007 receiver. I've turned the HDMI-CEC on in the receiver and the AnyNet+ on the TV. When I "discover devices", it finds a "Receiver" in the discovery phase, but does not populate it in the found devices.

Does anybody have any suggestions or ideas on how to get this thing to work?

Thanks!
wiz561 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have teh Onkoy 608B (2010 model) with HDMI 1.4a/3D.

The Anynet works fine wtih my Samsung PN58C7000. Volume control is fine.

Be sure you enable the HDMI funcations you want in the Receiver (volume/on off I presume).

In addition, you made need to start over, delete device, and plug in the HDMI in the HDMI-CEC order suggested.

I struggled until I read the manual and some posts. I think it is TV first -> plug in Onkyo OFF, Onkyo ON wtih HDMI -CEC. Enable Anynet -> SCAN.

I think the 5007 and the 608B should be similiar
sjchmura is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the info.

For some strange reason, I enabled the CEC on the receiver again, then went into the TV and enabled it in there. It automatically found the receiver and added it. Strange stuff.

Is there a way to disable the Samsung onscreen menu for the volume control? I have the Onkyo receiver volume pop up at the bottom of the screen, but now it also pops up with...

"TX-NR5007 | "

Thanks for the response and the information.
wiz561 is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Everyday I read, it seems this HDMI thing was made half-baked.

I eagerly await the new Apple TV, I bet they can make something SEAMLESS that works every time.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wiz561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought appletv a few years ago, but quickly found it wasn't meeting my expectations. I've since moved to XBMC and have been extremely happy with it.

There's lots of positives to HDMI, but I do wish things would work better. But like every new technology, it's deployed first and does not play well with others. Hopefully, over the years, things will be refined and work in harmony...
wiz561 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-21-2012, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
sbonkyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1.HDMI ISSUES;working with samsung smart tv (with any net ).
first few days I dint understand how to get it(anynet/ARC) ,worried much that am unable to get sound from receiver for tv apps like netflix and USB movies.
SOLUTION-JUST GO TO SETTINGS-HARDWARE IN LIST-TURN ON HDMI/RIHD..SIMPLE
still u have problem mail me
sbonkyo is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-19-2014, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
krishnavarahan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi

 

I have Onkyo TX-SR508 that worked perfectly fine with my old TV. I recently got Samsung UE-55F6340 and I am having a tough time to get audio via Onkyo. Video works perfectly fine and when i tried to configure AnyNet, it recognizes the device at the scanning stage and thereafter it does not appear in the list.

 

I have connected in HDMI2 which has ARC.

 

Thanks

krishna

krishnavarahan is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off