HDMI to TV to Optical Out to 5.1 Speakers...will i get 5.1 audio? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-06-2012, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jorlanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok im getting a Toshiba 42Tl515U and a Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system...

The specs of the Toshiba 42Tl515U says it outputs Dolby Digital on Optical Out.
The specs of the Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system says it decodes Dolby Digital.

My plan was hooking up my PS3 and XBOX360 set on Bitstream hooked up to the TV via HDMI...then hook an Optical Cable from the TV to the 5.1 Reciever...

Will I get Dolby Digital 5.1 audio?
jorlanm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-06-2012, 02:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Probably not...
As discussed numerous times, the digital outs (optical or coax) will only pass DD from the TV's internal tuner, not passthrough from external devices.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-06-2012, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
topr is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-06-2012, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The BB has got to be smarter and anytime sumboy posts HDMI and OPTICAL in the same sentence, point them to a FAQ.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jorlanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to access the service menu for the Toshiba 42TL515U? Maybe i can set it there...
jorlanm is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorlanm View Post

Anyone know how to access the service menu for the Toshiba 42TL515U? Maybe i can set it there...

Set what? It is what it is.

I don't think the "service menus" would magically enable a hidden/secret audio passthrough menu. Personally, I would think that if the TV has that capability, it would work without going into service mode(s).

Good luck.
Ratman is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorlanm View Post

Anyone know how to access the service menu for the Toshiba 42TL515U? Maybe i can set it there...

This subject was beat to death in another thread recently. Some tv's may allow 5.1 out thru an optical via an HDMI input, others won't for sure. It's not real clear which tv's allow this as the mfr's support isn't always helpful or knowledgeable in that respect. Accessing the SM for a feature that your tv may not support is not a good idea because that's the quickest way to brick a set unless you are 100% sure of what you are doing.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Set what? It is what it is.

I don't think the "service menus" would magically enable a hidden/secret audio passthrough menu. Personally, I would think that if the TV has that capability, it would work without going into service mode(s).

Good luck.

Yeah, but that's where you're wrong. Some LGs, for example the LW6500, will allow you to enable it through the service menu. See thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21207851

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by sodaboy581 View Post

Yeah, but that's where you're wrong. Some LGs, for example the LW6500, will allow you to enable it through the service menu. See thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21207851

But his question concerns a Toshiba, not an LG. Sure, there are some features on some tv's that can be activated thru the SM but that's a very dangerous area to get into. And if it works, and then fails, it's probably not going to be covered by any warranty because you've modified the tv beyond that particular model's specs.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jorlanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Toshiba rep kinda gave me the spill...the Toshiba TL515U series will pass 5.1 Dolby Digital from HDMI to Optical Out...provided your sending raw Dolby Digital 5.1...No Bitsream mix or Dolby Digital WMA Pro and no DTS...

So I guess if the HDMI input is recieving Actual Dolby Digital 5.1 standard raw signal your good
jorlanm is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-07-2012, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorlanm View Post

Ok Toshiba rep kinda gave me the spill...the Toshiba TL515U series will pass 5.1 Dolby Digital from HDMI to Optical Out...provided your sending raw Dolby Digital 5.1...No Bitsream mix or Dolby Digital WMA Pro and no DTS...

So I guess if the HDMI input is recieving Actual Dolby Digital 5.1 standard raw signal your good

The Toshiba rep spill is just code for...yes it will pass 5.1 with OTA signals, like pretty much all displays with an ATSC tuner. Your best bet is the owners thread if you are going to try the service menu route, but as Otto said, you can brick your TV in there.
topr is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-11-2012, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jorlanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok my Logitech Z906 speakers came in yeasterday...I verifiied that the Toshiba 42TL515U does pass through 5.1 Digital from HDMI To Optical Out!

Only if I use Dolby Digital 5.1 though...

The Z906 tells you how many speakers its using depending on the Source material...when its recieving Dolby Digital you cant even use the Special Effects feature and cant even set how many speakers its using...

Basicslly in the Case of TRON Blu-Ray on my PS3...Its only available in English on 7.1 DTS or 2.1 DD...on DTS the TV converts it to PCM and when my Reciever gets the signal I can set how many speakers are on even use the Special Effects feature...but on 2.1 DD the TV passes that through and when the reciever gets it it is locked at 2.1 speakers and cant use special effects...

Once I use something with 5.1 Source like my some of my Xbox360 Games and PS3 Games... In the case of Final Fantasy XIII-2 PS3 and Soul Calibur V Xbox360 they were passing through 5.1 DD and the reciever locks it at 5.1 speakers and cant use special effects...

I only got to play with the TV with the reciever for like 30 minutes last night but it seems like in the case of the Toshiba 42TL515U it does pass through 5.1 Dolby Digital from HDMI To Optical Out!

Sorry for some mispels...im doing this on my iphone

I forgot that TRON Blu-Ray has 5.1 in other languages...popped the disc in and tried it again...as Expected it locked my Z906 to 5.1!!!
jorlanm is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-28-2012, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
flytallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting jorlanm! I too recently purchased a TL515U series TV and was concerned by comments from naysayers that it wouldn't pass through 5.1 audio to the Polk Audio SurroundBar IHT 6000 that is now on it's way. I'll be gaming through an XBox 360 and running pretty much all my video and audio content on an HTPC running XBMC which should convert all audio sources to 5.1 Dolby Digital. Both will be solely connected to the TV via HDMI. From your comments it sounds like it should work great! How has your experience been so far?
flytallguy is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off