Grainy Picture - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > Grainy Picture

LCD Flat Panel Displays

Vaqua55's Avatar Vaqua55
10:53 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 9
02-14-2012 | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
My set up is Samsung 46 LCD with directv HD dvr in main living room going thru yamaha rvx667 receiver and another hd dvr to my bedroom Samsung 46 LCD . My main living room tv has occasional grainy , fuzzy hard to describe picture, see attached picture for better understanding. It happens quite frequently and when it does it continues with my apple tv in the same tv thus I'm not convinced its directv dvr issue , you think it is tv issue? Already changed the HDMI cable 2 times with no success. Again Apple tv is not connected thru HDMI and has the same issue.Need desperate help, thanks



Attachment 237319
LL
walford's Avatar walford
08:30 AM Liked: 12
post #2 of 9
02-15-2012 | Posts: 16,789
Joined: May 2003
A grainy picture normally occurs when a poor quality upscaling chip is used to upscale a lower resolution to higher resolution. The cable is not the cause. What is the native resolution of your TV and what resolution are you sending the program content to the TV in from the DVR. A pixelated picture normally is caused by a bandwidth reception problem in the DVR. How are the DVR's connected to the DirecTV antenna?
Vaqua55's Avatar Vaqua55
02:58 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 9
02-15-2012 | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
Directv hd dvr is set at 1080 and is connect thru hdmi cable thru my yamaha rvx 667 receiver and from there to my 2011 model Samsung LCD (also set at 1080 resolution) via another hdmi cable.
wxman's Avatar wxman
03:48 PM Liked: 279
post #4 of 9
02-15-2012 | Posts: 2,006
Joined: Apr 2003
Bypass your yamaha and connect directly via HDMI to your tv. If it still continues, it's likely your tv.
walford's Avatar walford
06:28 PM Liked: 12
post #5 of 9
02-15-2012 | Posts: 16,789
Joined: May 2003
Are your TVs 1080p models or 720P models?
You did not answer how the two separate DVRs were connected to the same antenna?
Vaqua55's Avatar Vaqua55
08:16 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 9
02-15-2012 | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
Both TVA are 1080 living room version where the problem
Is one with 3d and the bedroom is regular 1080.

I'll try to bypass receiver if I have long enough cable. But if it happened this way I'm Not sure how we can conclude why it might be the tv and not the directv receiver issues??? Next week ill switch the living room tv and bedroom tv for apples to apples comparison and if it continues then its either the dvr or the receiver for sure!All directv receivers re connected thru swim installed by directv and have the network connection.
wxman's Avatar wxman
12:08 AM Liked: 279
post #7 of 9
02-16-2012 | Posts: 2,006
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaqua55 View Post

Both TVA are 1080 living room version where the problem
Is one with 3d and the bedroom is regular 1080.

I'll try to bypass receiver if I have long enough cable. But if it happened this way I'm Not sure how we can conclude why it might be the tv and not the directv receiver issues??? Next week ill switch the living room tv and bedroom tv for apples to apples comparison and if it continues then its either the dvr or the receiver for sure!All directv receivers re connected thru swim installed by directv and have the network connection.

An easy way to find out is connect you apple tv directly to your tv with HDMI. Apple tv will connect via wifi, so no running extra cables needed, just an HDMI cable. This is all you need to do. If it works fine, then you have a receiver problem. If you had you apple tv connected through your Yamaha receiver and had the same problem, connecting directly to you tv will rule out your DirecTV and TV as the problem if it displays correctly.
Vaqua55's Avatar Vaqua55
12:44 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 9
02-16-2012 | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks problem is it comes and goes making this whole mess harder to pinpoint. Almost feels like it starts with fast moving scenes and bright light back grounds and once it's starts then it keeps going for couple of hours and then might stop and not do it whole night?so frustrating i guess I can plug the apple directly once it starts doing it and see what happens?
Vaqua55's Avatar Vaqua55
04:55 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 9
06-11-2012 | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
After all it was the TV with defective machanism and they have replaced it for me! Thanks for all your input!
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3