DVI>HDMI PC>HDTV No Signal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question because there's a good possibility that it is a computer related issue. However, I just purchased a new 55lw5700 and I'm trying to connect my computer to the TV via DVI>HDMI. For whatever reason the TV is not getting a signal from the computer and just displays "No Signal" on the screen. I thought there may be an issue with the HDPC compatibility but before I purchased the LG I had the same computer hooked up to a 32 Phillips LCD with no problems. I've tried updating drivers and and changing the computer back to its native resolution. Any help would be appreciated.
hollatbk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hooked my DVI>HDMI cable into my Sony BDV e580 home theater system and boom it shows up. So there must be some sort of issue with my TV.
hollatbk is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What resolution are you sending over HDMI to your new TV? Is it a resolution that the new TV's user manual says it will accept over HDMI?
Were you using HDMI also with your previous TV?
Have you tried different HDMI input ports on the TV?
walford is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

What resolution are you sending over HDMI to your new TV? Is it a resolution that the new TV's user manual says it will accept over HDMI?
Were you using HDMI also with your previous TV?
Have you tried different HDMI input ports on the TV?

it works on the Phillips LCD and it also works when connected to the Home Theater system that is hooked to the new TV. Both via dvi>hdmi cable. The resolution is being set automatically when windows detects the device. The TV is not getting a signal from the PC because when i switch it to the hdmi input it just says "No Signal". im wondering if its a windows 7 problem.
hollatbk is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:


What resolution are you sending over HDMI to your new TV? Is it a resolution that the new TV's user manual says it will accept over HDMI?
Have you tried different HDMI input ports on the TV?

You didn't answer these questions. Just because windows sets the resolution automatically, doesn't mean it's a resolution the tv can accept.
sitlet is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-18-2012, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
sjetski71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What resolution are you sending over HDMI to your new TV?

What refresh rate are you sending over hdmi to your new TV?

Have you tried different HDMI input ports on the TV? <<<--------- Most TV's have one specially programmed hdmi port to be used with PC's.
sjetski71 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-19-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The "No Signal" alert is also often used to when the TV can not process the resolution that is being received.
walford is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off