Europe/America electrical question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-21-2012, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Fueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question regarding electrical properties of a TV set which I hope the experts of this forum will be able to answer.

I have a 3-year old Sony KDL40W4000 TV which is in perfect working condition. It was bought in Europe and, according to its specs, works with 220-240V 50hz electrical current.
Now, I'm moving back to Canada in a few months and since I thought it wouldn't work there, I've been looking to sell it. But the best price I saw someone get for the same model on a used goods site was 300CHF, whereas I paid 1350CHF for a new one, 3 years ago...

That's why I've been doing some more research on what it could take to make it work in Canada. I've found out there are step-up converters like this one which could be used to feed the TV with 240V current.
Where I'm not sure is whether the 50Hz frequency will be a problem or not. I'm talking about the electrical current powering the TV, and not the frequency of the TV signal; I'm using the TV as a HTPC monitor only, so the TV signal is a non-issue.
I've asked Sony support specifically for their opinion on this, and the only response I got was that Sony does not recommend using European devices in America, which I understand from an "official" point of view, but I'd still be interested in finding out what would really happen if I would plug it in a step-up converter in Canada.

So, I'm hoping the nice people of this forum can shed light on my issue. Recommendations are appreciated.

Cheers!
Fueled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-21-2012, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Should work, and if it doesn't I doubt it, it should not damage it.

technical answer: as long as the voltage is correct, that's all it should matter. Only very old (more than 20 years) equipment care about the 50/60hz frequency.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-21-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pete4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Frequency of mains is totally irrelevant as long as voltage/amperage is close to what's needed. However, most of Europe uses PAL/Secam not NTSC, so that could be an issue and also tuner will probably not work at all.
pete4 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-23-2012, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Fueled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you both for your responses! I feel more confident that it will work in Canada.
Regarding the PAL/NTSC issue, as I mentioned in my original post I'm using the TV as a monitor for my PC, and it's connected with HDMI, so the encoding system is not an issue for me, as is the tuner.

So I'll just have to get a step-up converter that can handle at least three times my TV's wattage (which is 200W), and I should be fine.
Fueled is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off