Official Samsung UNXXEH6000 Owners' Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2571 Old 02-16-2013, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Anyone with EH6000 have an SQ01 panel/version?
Justin Sullins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2571 Old 02-16-2013, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
BruceOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 50" EH6000 set with one input source, a DirectTV HD box connected via HDMI.

Does anyone know if I can turn off the info display that pops up when I change channels on DirectTV? Or is there a way I can reduce the amount of time it stays on?

I believe it is the TV displaying the information, not DirectTV. It is showing the specs of the input signal but it stays on such a long time, obscuring part of the picture, that it is annoying.

I have done a lot of experimenting with the TV's parameters using the Samsung remote, but cannot seem to find a way to change that display.

Thanks
Bruce
BruceOmega is offline  
post #2073 of 2571 Old 02-16-2013, 06:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceOmega View Post

I have a 50" EH6000 set with one input source, a DirectTV HD box connected via HDMI.

Does anyone know if I can turn off the info display that pops up when I change channels on DirectTV? Or is there a way I can reduce the amount of time it stays on?

I believe it is the TV displaying the information, not DirectTV. It is showing the specs of the input signal but it stays on such a long time, obscuring part of the picture, that it is annoying.

I have done a lot of experimenting with the TV's parameters using the Samsung remote, but cannot seem to find a way to change that display.

Thanks
Bruce

You need to change the DirecTV resolution output to a fixed resolution (1080i). You can even check the 1080p box because it will only change to 1080p when you watch something on Directv Cenema that's in 1080p. Take Directv off Native as well. That should help.
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2074 of 2571 Old 02-17-2013, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

Anyone with EH6000 have an SQ01 panel/version?

there is no SQ01 (or Sxxx for that matter) in 2012.... Txxx is what the current S-PVA's are called (TSxx and THxx)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2075 of 2571 Old 02-17-2013, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is the TS0x the best panel for the EH6000? I had CHxx, I think, EH6000 last summer but returned due to popping noises while the tv was on. It had terrible purplish tint on grey colors that was not mentioned by anyone else in this forum. You think the color issue I was having could've been the different panel version? Thanks for the info.
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2076 of 2571 Old 02-17-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

Is the TS0x the best panel for the EH6000? I had CHxx, I think, EH6000 last summer but returned due to popping noises while the tv was on. It had terrible purplish tint on grey colors that was not mentioned by anyone else in this forum. You think the color issue I was having could've been the different panel version? Thanks for the info.

The S-PVA panels are best for viewing angles and black levels. The panel you had was a S-MVA and has the worst viewing angles and the blacks washout and turn purple quickly off-axis whereas the blacks on a S-PVA washout out much slower and don't glow as much off-axis (not to mention no purple tint off-axis to blacks). A-MVA panels fall somewhere in between S-PVA and S-MVA in terms of viewing angles.

Regarding the purple tint on grays/whites, that is something a grayscale calibration could easily fix (provided you have a accurate meter and calibration software or hire a good pro). I had a S-PVA EH6000 (TS02) before I got my current S-PVA EH6030 (TS01) and the grayscale on that EH6000 did need quite a bit of correction (too much red and blue in grayscale/white balance). Also, the blues on the EH6000 had quite a bit of red in them, making them violet/purplish.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2077 of 2571 Old 02-18-2013, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

The S-PVA panels are best for viewing angles and black levels. The panel you had was a S-MVA and has the worst viewing angles and the blacks washout and turn purple quickly off-axis whereas the blacks on a S-PVA washout out much slower and don't glow as much off-axis (not to mention no purple tint off-axis to blacks). A-MVA panels fall somewhere in between S-PVA and S-MVA in terms of viewing angles.

Regarding the purple tint on grays/whites, that is something a grayscale calibration could easily fix (provided you have a accurate meter and calibration software or hire a good pro). I had a S-PVA EH6000 (TS02) before I got my current S-PVA EH6030 (TS01) and the grayscale on that EH6000 did need quite a bit of correction (too much red and blue in grayscale/white balance). Also, the blues on the EH6000 had quite a bit of red in them, making them violet/purplish.

Thank you. I'm more than a little interested in this set especially since it's so cheap at the moment. I'll make sure I get a TS01 Panel. I do have a viewing distance question. I've always had 55" sets but since the EH6000 60" is rather affordable I might get the bigger set. My distance from couch to tv is around 12' 4''. Would a 60" show more imperfections in the tv signal with that viewing distance and a 60"?
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2078 of 2571 Old 02-18-2013, 03:14 PM
Member
 
scrambler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have the same viewing distance and recently went from a 57" to the 60" and at that distance, bigger is better.
You are far enough that you are not going to pickup any defects.
scrambler3 is offline  
post #2079 of 2571 Old 02-18-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

Thank you. I'm more than a little interested in this set especially since it's so cheap at the moment. I'll make sure I get a TS01 Panel. I do have a viewing distance question. I've always had 55" sets but since the EH6000 60" is rather affordable I might get the bigger set. My distance from couch to tv is around 12' 4''. Would a 60" show more imperfections in the tv signal with that viewing distance and a 60"?

I agree with Scrambler, at that distance, a 60" will be fine and look better than a 55". I use my 46" from just 5' away and I sometimes get closer for gaming.

EDIT: I don't think the S-PVA panels are available in the 60" size... those are typically Sharp panels.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2080 of 2571 Old 02-18-2013, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I agree with Scrambler, at that distance, a 60" will be fine and look better than a 55". I use my 46" from just 5' away and I sometimes get closer for gaming.

EDIT: I don't think the S-PVA panels are available in the 60" size... those are typically Sharp panels.

That sucks. Are the Sharp Panels any good? I heard some horror stories from the ES8000 people that have 60"-65" with Sharp Panels. Guess I'll just save the extra $200 and get the 55" w/ TS01 Panel. Thanks for the heads-up.
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2081 of 2571 Old 02-18-2013, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
BruceOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

You need to change the DirecTV resolution output to a fixed resolution (1080i). You can even check the 1080p box because it will only change to 1080p when you watch something on Directv Cenema that's in 1080p. Take Directv off Native as well. That should help.

That worked, problem solved. Thank you.
BruceOmega is offline  
post #2082 of 2571 Old 02-19-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

That sucks. Are the Sharp Panels any good? I heard some horror stories from the ES8000 people that have 60"-65" with Sharp Panels. Guess I'll just save the extra $200 and get the 55" w/ TS01 Panel. Thanks for the heads-up.

given your past experiences with the CMO (S-MVA) panel, I'd go with the 55" Samsung (S-PVA) over a 60" Sharp panel just to be safe
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2083 of 2571 Old 02-19-2013, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceOmega View Post

That worked, problem solved. Thank you.

No problem. I had that same issue a few years ago with my Tivo and a Samsung TV. Very annoying.
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2084 of 2571 Old 02-19-2013, 03:31 PM
Member
 
lm 808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

That sucks. Are the Sharp Panels any good? I heard some horror stories from the ES8000 people that have 60"-65" with Sharp Panels. Guess I'll just save the extra $200 and get the 55" w/ TS01 Panel. Thanks for the heads-up.

Got the Sharp 60" panel and blacks are fine for me but I watch in a moderately lit room. However, viewing angle is limited. Unless your'e viewing straight on all colors washout pretty noticably. People have reported the blue-purple ghosting issue but someone posted that this goes away if the brightness level is above a certain point. Can't remember what that point was but mine was above it and I don't see the ghosting. I was thinking of exchanging for the 55" Samsung panel but I watched the 60" too long and got used to the size. 55" now looks too small from 11'. I think as long as you're currently happy with 55", going with the 55" TS-01 is a good choice.
lm 808 is offline  
post #2085 of 2571 Old 02-19-2013, 04:23 PM
Member
 
marshall110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
May be pointless as I have a Harmony remote, but does anybody know if the EH6000 remote can be programmed? what are the uses for the colored buttons, etc? Thank you.
marshall110 is offline  
post #2086 of 2571 Old 02-20-2013, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
monkonmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to the forum...wow, the info on here is ridiculous.

Anyway, to my two questions..

I recently purchased an open item from BB, specifically the UN60EH6003, Great price at $940, I thought.

I have run through multiple settings and am pretty happy with most of my tv viewing which is quite diverse as many people on here seem to say. I am coming from a Samsung LN52A650 that I bought in 2008 and it is making its way to the bonus room, so a new tv was in order, or so I thought.

One more additional note that I believe is relavent...Panel is an HH01 as indicated on the back and the current firmware is 1003.

1. Is there any way to improve the purple or bluish tinge that happens at off angle viewing? This is the biggest complaint from the wife that the old tv did not do this.

2. The Samsung website does not indicate any sort of firmware update for this tv. Is there any way to upload firmware from say a 6000 series or other model for improved performance?

Thanks for all the help. Loving the amount of info and detai, even if I don't understand a good portion of it.

Sincerely,
Jason
monkonmonk is offline  
post #2087 of 2571 Old 02-20-2013, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by lm 808 View Post

Got the Sharp 60" panel and blacks are fine for me but I watch in a moderately lit room. However, viewing angle is limited. Unless your'e viewing straight on all colors washout pretty noticably. People have reported the blue-purple ghosting issue but someone posted that this goes away if the brightness level is above a certain point. Can't remember what that point was but mine was above it and I don't see the ghosting. I was thinking of exchanging for the 55" Samsung panel but I watched the 60" too long and got used to the size. 55" now looks too small from 11'. I think as long as you're currently happy with 55", going with the 55" TS-01 is a good choice.

yeah, from what I've read the S-PVA does have better viewing angles than the Sharp
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2088 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Justin Sullins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkonmonk View Post

New to the forum...wow, the info on here is ridiculous.

Anyway, to my two questions..

I recently purchased an open item from BB, specifically the UN60EH6003, Great price at $940, I thought.

I have run through multiple settings and am pretty happy with most of my tv viewing which is quite diverse as many people on here seem to say. I am coming from a Samsung LN52A650 that I bought in 2008 and it is making its way to the bonus room, so a new tv was in order, or so I thought.

One more additional note that I believe is relavent...Panel is an HH01 as indicated on the back and the current firmware is 1003.

1. Is there any way to improve the purple or bluish tinge that happens at off angle viewing? This is the biggest complaint from the wife that the old tv did not do this.

2. The Samsung website does not indicate any sort of firmware update for this tv. Is there any way to upload firmware from say a 6000 series or other model for improved performance?

Thanks for all the help. Loving the amount of info and detai, even if I don't understand a good portion of it.

Sincerely,
Jason

I think the purple tinge is from the panel so a firmware update would probably do no good. Is it only purple off-angle or are you seeing it from the sweet-spot as well?
Justin Sullins is offline  
post #2089 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 11:50 AM
Member
 
marshall110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe I stumbled upon another difference between the EH6000 and the EH6050. From what I recollect, the EH6050 Auto Motion Plus settings were universal to all inputs. Meaning, if you set it to Standard while in HDMI 1, the setting stayed in Standard for all inputs. The EH6000 has AMP specific settings per input. I thought it was the same as the EH6050 and kept it on Clear for DirecTV and changed it to Standard in PS3 for MW3 under HDMI 2 and forgot about it. Was watching a Bluray and it looked odd. Double checked and sure enough the 2 separate inputs are remembering different AMP settings.
marshall110 is offline  
post #2090 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
drl74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow... First of all, I want to thank everyone on this site. I've been reviewing & researching TVs, attempting to decide which one was the right one to go with. After finding this site, the 46eh6000 was the one to replace a 32" Insignia Plasma with semi-permenant "Image Retention"

I waited & searched for the best possible price.

This past weekend, Amazon had a crazy President's Day 48hr sale.

I snagged the 46" 6000 for $599 with no shipping (Prime member), and then waited for the results of the "Panel Roulette".

It arrived yesterday, and behold the model number TS02 stamped on the box... happy day.

Now comes the calibration.... thinking I'll pick up the Disney WOW BluRay to get the best image out of this great TV.

What are your thoughts on the Disnet WOW set?

Thank you to all for a great place to discuss this great TV.
drl74 is offline  
post #2091 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 01:27 PM
Member
 
photogold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshall110 View Post

I believe I stumbled upon another difference between the EH6000 and the EH6050. From what I recollect, the EH6050 Auto Motion Plus settings were universal to all inputs. Meaning, if you set it to Standard while in HDMI 1, the setting stayed in Standard for all inputs..

No, I have an EH6050, and it retains the different AMP settings on each input. At least mine does.

You said that you found "another" difference? What were the other differences?
photogold is offline  
post #2092 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 07:28 PM
Member
 
lm 808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drl74 View Post

Wow... First of all, I want to thank everyone on this site. I've been reviewing & researching TVs, attempting to decide which one was the right one to go with. After finding this site, the 46eh6000 was the one to replace a 32" Insignia Plasma with semi-permenant "Image Retention"

Now comes the calibration.... thinking I'll pick up the Disney WOW BluRay to get the best image out of this great TV.

What are your thoughts on the Disnet WOW set?

Thank you to all for a great place to discuss this great TV.

Got a WOW BR from Amazon for around $20 and downloaded the free AVS disk. Calibrated with WOW first and then double checked with AVS. Settings were identical so either works fine. However, you will need the blue glasses that comes with the WOW to calibrate the color and tint. AVS has more test screens but both disks have pretty much what you need to calibrate brightness, contrast, color, and tint. Beyond that you need other equipment to set white balance which I was not willing to spend more money on. For all the other settings, I would search this thread and start with an "average" of what others recommend. Then just play with each setting until you are satisfied. A lot of the other settings are subjective so there are usually no right or wrong settings. Just whatever looks best to you.

By the way, sounds like you got a great deal and got lucky with the lottery!
lm 808 is offline  
post #2093 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
monkonmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Sullins View Post

I think the purple tinge is from the panel so a firmware update would probably do no good. Is it only purple off-angle or are you seeing it from the sweet-spot as well?

Mostly I get the purple tinge and washout quite far to the sides. But, due to the washout occurring almost as soon as you are to the edge of the television. This is at roughly an 11' viewing distance. I am still within the 30 day return period at BB and I think it may be going back. I have only had it for 5 days. The scary part is I am definitely already used to the bigger size.
monkonmonk is offline  
post #2094 of 2571 Old 02-21-2013, 08:38 PM
Member
 
lm 808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkonmonk View Post

Mostly I get the purple tinge and washout quite far to the sides. But, due to the washout occurring almost as soon as you are to the edge of the television. This is at roughly an 11' viewing distance. I am still within the 30 day return period at BB and I think it may be going back. I have only had it for 5 days. The scary part is I am definitely already used to the bigger size.

I think that someone posted that the ghosting goes away if Brightness is at 46 or higher but that might only be for straight on viewing. If the set was calibrated in Movie mode your brightness should be 46 or above. You might see if that helps. However, if the set is frequently watched off-angle there is not much you can do about the washout.
lm 808 is offline  
post #2095 of 2571 Old 02-22-2013, 03:32 PM
Member
 
nwener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lm 808 View Post

Got a WOW BR from Amazon for around $20 and downloaded the free AVS disk. Calibrated with WOW first and then double checked with AVS. Settings were identical so either works fine. However, you will need the blue glasses that comes with the WOW to calibrate the color and tint. AVS has more test screens but both disks have pretty much what you need to calibrate brightness, contrast, color, and tint. Beyond that you need other equipment to set white balance which I was not willing to spend more money on. For all the other settings, I would search this thread and start with an "average" of what others recommend. Then just play with each setting until you are satisfied. A lot of the other settings are subjective so there are usually no right or wrong settings. Just whatever looks best to you.

By the way, sounds like you got a great deal and got lucky with the lottery!

I'd like to echo this sentiment. Really the only thing I've found necessary is to decrease the brightness just a tad and bring the backlight down to where it is just good enough for your environment. That and setting the picture to "screen fit" are the best things you can do to maximize this TV.

If you really want to play with the color and all that then you will probably need a calibration disc. Personally I was fine with just knocking the color back a few notches. I did eventually do a calibration with the WOW disc and didn't find that it improved the TV in any appreciable way, but some are more refined than I.
nwener is offline  
post #2096 of 2571 Old 02-22-2013, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
blitz960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, new to the post but not new to the site..
So, after looking around for quite awhile between Vizio 60 and Samsung UN60EH6000, well, I went with the Samsung. Got it from Amazon for $1098. Finally got it yesterday. Pretty stoked about it.
Messed with the calibration for awhile and I think I've got it close to how I'd want it but definitely will calibrate it further when I get the WOW BD.

So, mine is the HS01 version. The picture looks great. Love it.. Got couple of questions though...

1) I have ATT Uverse. Didnt opt for the HD channels when I had my Panny LIFI. Now, I'm getting cropped picture connected with HDMI directly to the ATT box. Both 16:9 & Screen Fit gives me cropped top and sides black bars... arrghh.. I'm resorting to Wide Fit but I'm losing the edges of the picture.. eg: I can't even see the channel line-up menu entirely... This sucks. Can this problem be solved if I get HD channels/signals? If it is, I'll call ATT and get the HD package.

2) I just bought the Yamaha V373 as well to replace my old Yamaha receiver. Also got a Panny bluray player. So, my question is, as far as connections, am I correct if I say all I have to do is connect both the blu-ray and ATT Uverse box to the Yamaha with HDMI and also TV to Yamaha through HDMI as well? That's it? Do I need optical cable? I have Paradigm speakers that I'll connect directly to the Yamaha.

3) Lastly, why can't I get Close Caps with any TV channels? When I pressed the CC button on the remote, it says, "Not Available".... Now, if I change my source from HDMI to TV, I'll get CC. What can I do to get CC with HDMI?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, especially with the black bars on top and sides... really hard to watch anything. Thanks guys!!

p/s: the Yamaha and Bluray player is not here yet. Should be here next week.
blitz960 is offline  
post #2097 of 2571 Old 02-23-2013, 09:18 AM
Member
 
GeForceFX5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As I am getting quite desperate in my search for a TV capable of playing street fighter, I saw in the EH5xxx thread that 46 6030 had no input lag and no ghosting. But I'm having a hard time finding the input lag numbers on 6030, and of course subjective statement on no perceived lag for a street fighter player is a bit scary to just go by.
Does anyone know or would be kind enough to test their 6030 for input lag? smile.gif
GeForceFX5200 is offline  
post #2098 of 2571 Old 02-23-2013, 07:25 PM
Member
 
lm 808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitz960 View Post

Hello guys, new to the post but not new to the site..
So, after looking around for quite awhile between Vizio 60 and Samsung UN60EH6000, well, I went with the Samsung. Got it from Amazon for $1098. Finally got it yesterday. Pretty stoked about it.
Messed with the calibration for awhile and I think I've got it close to how I'd want it but definitely will calibrate it further when I get the WOW BD.

So, mine is the HS01 version. The picture looks great. Love it.. Got couple of questions though...

1) I have ATT Uverse. Didnt opt for the HD channels when I had my Panny LIFI. Now, I'm getting cropped picture connected with HDMI directly to the ATT box. Both 16:9 & Screen Fit gives me cropped top and sides black bars... arrghh.. I'm resorting to Wide Fit but I'm losing the edges of the picture.. eg: I can't even see the channel line-up menu entirely... This sucks. Can this problem be solved if I get HD channels/signals? If it is, I'll call ATT and get the HD package.

Screen Fit is the recommended setting. However, SD broadcasts will be letterboxed, pillarboxed or even both. The only way to fill the screen is with Wide Fit but the picture is distorted and you lose content. HD channels will usually fill the screen but not always. There is nothing wrong with the set. It's what resolution and aspect ratio that the broadcast source is sending out that determines if you get the full screen or not. Not familiar with your old set but you must have been watching it in some kind of wide or full screen mode so whatever you were watching before must have had similar distortion as Wide Fit. Maybe you just got used to it.

I'd get the HD package. However, not all the channels you watch may be available in HD. For the SD channels you either have to go to Wide Fit or get used to the pillarboxing in Screen Fit. I transitioned from a 4:3 CRT and though it took a couple of days, the pillarboxing does not bother me at all anymore.
lm 808 is offline  
post #2099 of 2571 Old 02-24-2013, 03:09 PM
Member
 
neggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im so confused alot of info here anyone can just point me to the correct link.

i just bought the UN40EH6000 and looking to calibrate it. It has the TS02 Panel on it.

thank you in advance:)
neggie is offline  
post #2100 of 2571 Old 02-25-2013, 09:14 AM
Member
 
absoluteczech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello everyone.

im hoping i can get a non biased answer since this is the eh6000 thread.

im debating whether or not to get the unxxes6100 or the unxxeh6000. should i pay the extra $200 and get the ES ? I dont care about the "smart" features but i heard the panel is slightly better
absoluteczech is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55eh6000 Led Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Samsung Ln37d550 Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Un55d6000 , Samsung Un46eh6000 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv , Samsung 40 Inch Led 3d Hdtv Un40eh6030 , Samsung Ln46c630 46 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off