Official Sharp AQUOS LC-80LE844U Owners thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3651 Old 04-08-2012, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph3 View Post

I think I am ready.

I am starting to get very nervous and excited. Fingers crossed for no shipping damage, manufacturing defects, or trouble lifting it onto the mount!

make sure you have 3 able bodies to lift on to the mount ,2 to lift & 1 to stabilize it while it's being lifted ...
Also I practiced with the display mount frame on how the frame connects to the wall mount assy before I mounted the Display frame to to the display & had my helpers all understand as well how the two pieces went together "before " we actually placed the display on the mount .. it really did help ..

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3651 Old 04-08-2012, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Joseph3
Its printed with Victoria Secret girls(who wants to stare at a blank sheet of paper?). Taped it up to the wall and kept moving it around. Had the center at eye level and it seemed to low. I have a coffee table that elevates for laptop/keyboard mouse, and it just seemed like it would block the view that low. So I decided to go about 8 inches above eye level.

mine is 30" from the floor to the lower edge & I have my mount slightly tiled down . Works for me & my recliner

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #363 of 3651 Old 04-08-2012, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
JTTechnology's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I wasn't really putting much thought into the idea of it being defective from the start and or self shipping damage. I'm glad you both gave me the info that they will cover it if it arrives damaged.
JTTechnology is offline  
post #364 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 02:44 AM
Member
 
masterslacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After watching the picture for awhile, I have 2 pea sized dimmer areas in the middle of the screen during white backgrounds. It's odd as they just appear to be not as bright as the rest of the screen. Almost look like a smudge on the screen but I don't see anything.

Not sure if it's a real defect or something else. I'm trying to find an adequate blu-ray scene to see if it's TV or content as I've only seen it so far with cable.

Any ideas?
masterslacker is offline  
post #365 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 04:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
rjruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nazareth, PA, USA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastslappy View Post

make sure you open the display up & inspect the panel for shipping damage Before the driver leaves ' I never sign the shipping paperwork until I inspect for inside damage . Any Question of damage NOTE ON THE BILL of Lading.
if the box has bumps & dents NOTE that on the bill ..

Do any of the shippers use ShockWatch labels on their shipments?
rjruby is offline  
post #366 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 04:21 AM
Member
 
crownman6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by planetweckesser View Post


If you look at the pictures in the manual referring to wall mounting it shows "angular mounting" (page 81 of the TV manual) but the models referred to an LC-80LE847U (what ever that is - 847 and not 844-maybe a typo).

Has anyone had experience with using the large Chief PDR-UB articulating arm wall mount (I have it in anticipation of using it to mount my 844 which should arrive this coming Tuesday). It seems exremely well built, sturdy and heavy (70 lbs). It is a bit pricey but needed it to "float" the TV just outside a built in entertainment center (that now houses a Mitsubishi 73") - the 844 will perfectly frame the opening for the TV and should look good.

I have the Chief PNR-2000 which is essentially the same as the PDR. It works great. It is extremely sturdy. The TV seems a lot less sturdy than the mount. Sharp should have had wider holes for mounting (like my prior Panasonic)
crownman6 is offline  
post #367 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 04:47 AM
Member
 
aupton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone test out the integrated netflix client yet? Im curios if it supports dd 5.1?

Also, anyone do any gaming on their 844 yet? Im curious how the xbox 360 or ps3 performs on the 844?

Thanks!
aupton is offline  
post #368 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Did this set happen to come with its own mounting screws ?

I think they show the depth of the M8 holes as (31/64) so the 12mm should work but I do like using the ones that come with the set if they are provided.
samendolaro is offline  
post #369 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Don't forget if you don't need a tilt mount the sanus ll11 is the thinnest mount to get for.this tv. About 60 at amazon
Suzook is offline  
post #370 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by achenator View Post

What is everyone using for 3d glasses? best ones? where to buy? Ideally looking for 4pairs. Can I use the Samsung glasses I have for my d7000?

I am told these are the best ones but not cheap. But I figure if I am going to watch 3D I might as well get the best experience.

http://www.amazon.com/True-Depth-3D-...3980067&sr=1-3
dreaux is offline  
post #371 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

I am told these are the best ones but not cheap. But I figure if I am going to watch 3D I might as well get the best experience.

http://www.amazon.com/True-Depth-3D-...3980067&sr=1-3


I picked up one pair of the Sharp AN3DG20B and a pair of cheaper GBSG03-JP: iTrek.

I need to get about 6-8 pairs so it was worth it to check out a high and low end pair before spending a bunch if I don't need to.

I get my TV on Thursday afternoon so I'll let you know how the comparison goes.
samendolaro is offline  
post #372 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 08:19 AM
Member
 
crownman6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

I am told these are the best ones but not cheap. But I figure if I am going to watch 3D I might as well get the best experience.

http://www.amazon.com/True-Depth-3D-...3980067&sr=1-3

i got the Sharp ones from Amazon for about $50. They work well. Dont know if there would be a difference if you got the True-Depth one, but you cant beat the price for the Sharp ones.
crownman6 is offline  
post #373 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 08:21 AM
Member
 
crownman6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post

Did this set happen to come with its own mounting screws ?

I think they show the depth of the M8 holes as (31/64) so the 12mm should work but I do like using the ones that come with the set if they are provided.

The mount comes with the screw (at least mine did). The bracket attached to the TV is made specifically for the TV you get. In addition, some TV's take a "Universal" bracket. I was told that the Universal one would work with the 80LE844, but I opted for the TV specific one.
crownman6 is offline  
post #374 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by crownman6 View Post

i got the Sharp ones from Amazon for about $50. They work well. Dont know if there would be a difference if you got the True-Depth one, but you cant beat the price for the Sharp ones.

Since these glasses work with all Sharp 3D sets, I take it that Sharp glasses are not blue tooth. Was Sharp not a player in the 2012 3D glasses standard?
jbug is offline  
post #375 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 09:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

Since these glasses work with all Sharp 3D sets, I take it that Sharp glasses are not blue tooth. Was Sharp not a player in the 2012 3D glasses standard?

They were not. 4 companies are: Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, Xpand

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #376 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

They were not. 4 companies are: Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, Xpand

S~

Thanks. Blue tooth is more reliable so I wonder why Sharp stayed away.
jbug is offline  
post #377 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Why isn't the 80LE844U on the Sharp website?
Jim Clark is offline  
post #378 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
And, the BBs that I've been to still don't have it on display.
jbug is offline  
post #379 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

Since these glasses work with all Sharp 3D sets, I take it that Sharp glasses are not blue tooth. Was Sharp not a player in the 2012 3D glasses standard?

No.. thank goodness...

That means the range of the glasses are much better. My experience with BT is not good.
samendolaro is offline  
post #380 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

And, the BBs that I've been to still don't have it on display.

BBs I've been to haven't even found it in their computer.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #381 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
cfal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Clark View Post

Why isn't the 80LE844U on the Sharp website?

Try sharp.ca. It's on there.
cfal is offline  
post #382 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 11:57 AM
Member
 
masterslacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found a red pixel today. Almost in the middle. I didn't see it before on previous close up looks but now I do. I can't see it from where I sit.

At least red scenes won't be affected.
masterslacker is offline  
post #383 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterslacker View Post

I found a red pixel today. Almost in the middle. I didn't see it before on previous close up looks but now I do. I can't see it from where I sit.

At least red scenes won't be affected.

try the massage ....

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #384 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Does sharp have a dead pixel policy ?
samendolaro is offline  
post #385 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Joseph3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my TV!!!!!! WOW I love this TV! The Picture looks great, and I don't even have it calibrated yet.

Box had very bad damage on the corner noted it on my shipment slip and took some pictures. The delivery guys said the damage was like that when they got it. They removed it from the box mounted the brackets and hung it on the wall for me. Then let me plug it in and test my PS3 on it before I signed. Everything looks perfect solid black screen has no off color pixels. Solid white screen looks uniform edge to center. I cant find anything wrong for now.

I am having trouble getting 3d on my PS3 to work properly. I cant find anything in the game options of Mortal Kombat or Pain to turn 3d on. The games are both listed with 3d support and Pain even shows 3d on the level select. I got my PS3 to recognize the 1080p 3d and ask me what size TV I had. The only 3d I have gotten to work is the 2d-3d image selection under the 3d button on the remote.

Heres a pic of my family and TV
Joseph3 is offline  
post #386 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 12:58 PM
Member
 
planetweckesser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph3 View Post

Got my TV!!!!!! WOW I love this TV! The Picture looks great, and I don't even have it calibrated yet.

Box had very bad damage on the corner noted it on my shipment slip and took some pictures. The delivery guys said the damage was like that when they got it. They removed it from the box mounted the brackets and hung it on the wall for me. Then let me plug it in and test my PS3 on it before I signed. Everything looks perfect solid black screen has no off color pixels. Solid white screen looks uniform edge to center. I cant find anything wrong for now.

I am having trouble getting 3d on my PS3 to work properly. I cant find anything in the game options of Mortal Kombat or Pain to turn 3d on. The games are both listed with 3d support and Pain even shows 3d on the level select. I got my PS3 to recognize the 1080p 3d and ask me what size TV I had. The only 3d I have gotten to work is the 2d-3d image selection under the 3d button on the remote.

Where did you buy your TV from? I can't believe the delivery guys actually mounted and hung the TV for you? I assume you gave them a tip but did you pay upfront (with the company) for extra service?
planetweckesser is offline  
post #387 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Joseph3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by planetweckesser View Post

Where did you buy your TV from? I can't believe the delivery guys actually mounted and hung the TV for you? I assume you gave them a tip but did you pay upfront (with the company) for extra service?

I purchased it through amazon. Fulfilled by Pauls TV. Free shipping. I was upgraded to white glove and got 4 sets of 3d glasses for $159 after complaining about a $210 price drop 3 days after my purchase. Even though TV shot up to $5700 later that same day.

I tipped them after. I think they were willing to help because of the amount of damage to the corner of the box.
Joseph3 is offline  
post #388 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph3 View Post

[IMG]

I am having trouble getting 3d on my PS3 to work properly. I cant find anything in the game options of Mortal Kombat or Pain to turn 3d on.
Heres a pic of my family and TV

Are you going from PS3 to TV or through a receiver/HDMI switch? Is the switch complaiant?

even my 2008 Mits DLP sees the 3D PS3 games
sjchmura is offline  
post #389 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph3 View Post


I purchased it through amazon. Fulfilled by Pauls TV. Free shipping. I was upgraded to white glove and got 4 sets of 3d glasses for $159 after complaining about a $210 price drop 3 days after my purchase. Even though TV shot up to $5700 later that same day.

I tipped them after. I think they were willing to help because of the amount of damage to the corner of the box.

Jeez is that blond chick like 6 foot 8. She towers over the 80!!!
Suzook is offline  
post #390 of 3651 Old 04-09-2012, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Joseph3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI is going directly into port 1 on the TV.

Love those long legs.
Joseph3 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp , Sharp Lc80le844u 80 Inch 3d Led Tv , Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc 70le632u Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc70le847u 70 Inch Lcd 70 Class Quattron Led Smart 3d Tv , Sharp Aquos Lc 80le844u 80 Inch Led Hdtv , Sharp Aquos Lc60le847u 60 Inch 1080p 240hz 3d 1080p Led Lcd Tv
Gear in this thread - Lc80le844u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off