Official Sharp AQUOS LC-80LE844U Owners thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 03:51 PM
Member
 
ajax-jp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Not quite Dallas, TX
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGG View Post

The bolts are M8's 30 mm

Wasn't looking for the thread length, but thanks.
What's the horizontal distance between the 2 mounting bolts?
ajax-jp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by djwilso View Post

I think the audio from the Roku Stick would get to the A/V receiver either via ARC (audio return channel) on the HDMI cable or via the TV's optical audio output.

To be able to use ARC, your receiver would need to support that feature on its HDMI 1.4+ ports.

I found that when a signal gose back to a AVR then that introduces sync issues , I would only want one that could be at the AVR & then on to the display .
BUT this might do what I want it to. I will have to investigate further

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #903 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 04:28 PM
Member
 
stevekaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West LA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, and thank you all for the good, defined opinions. I am considering a projector, but light control will be an issue, and it certainly has impacts with the wife factor and cost.

This seems like a very good alternative.....good opinions here, and it is near projector big. But, I am spoiled by Kuro blacks (600m). Does anyone have any experience with a calibrated Kuro vs. a calibrated 844?

Also the Kuro blocks some on fast motion, how does that compare with the 844?

Thanks....
stevekaden is offline  
post #904 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
SonyHome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajax-jp View Post

Any recommendations on mounts?
I'm currently considering this:Sanus LT25

and:
Peerless ONE-TP

Obviously I need tilt capability. I can't use a low profile mount as I have an electrical outlet with a surge protector sitting directly behind the TV. It currently fits fine behind my 52" Samsung.

Also, is the manual online anywhere? It'd be nice to have the mounting bolt width just so I can be sure before I go buy a mount. Sharp's site doesn't seem to have it.


I think someone else used this one from mono price.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...=2#description
SonyHome is offline  
post #905 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 39
[quote=
Also, is the manual online anywhere? It'd be nice to have the mounting bolt width just so I can be sure before I go buy a mount. Sharp's site doesn't seem to have it.[/QUOTE]
Funny - I googled:
lc-80le844u manual
and the first thing that came up was the owner's manual here:
http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&...dhDVFPKVix9igg
billdag is online now  
post #906 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 06:41 PM
Member
 
ajax-jp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Not quite Dallas, TX
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post

Funny - I googled:
lc-80le844u manual
and the first thing that came up was the owner's manual here:
http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&...dhDVFPKVix9igg

That is so messed up. The first thing I did was google it.. I wonder if I left out the hyphen...
ajax-jp is offline  
post #907 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyHome View Post

I think someone else used this one from mono price.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...=2#description

No No no no......I tried this one on my 80-632U and it was TERRIBLE. LOTS of flexing on the front plate - about 15 degrees. I love Monoprice but this bracket is way over-rated capacity wise.

Here's the one people are having good luck with:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
billdag is online now  
post #908 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
If you want the cadillac of mounts full tilt side to side movement , pulls out about30" built like a tank get this Sanus XF228

http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/...on-mount/XF228

best price here $335===>
http://www.amazon.com/Sanus-Systems-...uct/B002JBCYSO

these can go for $600 ....
here's a Video of it in action ....http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/...n-mount/XF228#

it's pretty Cool I angle it almost 45 degrees ....

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #909 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 10:25 PM
Member
 
NallaAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote="GGG"][quote="
The bolts are M8's 30 mm[/QUOTE]
Did you really use 30mm bolts? The manual says the depth of the mounting holes is 31/64 (12). Would anyone else please advise the length of M8 bolts you have used? Much appreciated.
NallaAVS is offline  
post #910 of 3654 Old 05-05-2012, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
SonyHome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post

No No no no......I tried this one on my 80-632U and it was TERRIBLE. LOTS of flexing on the front plate - about 15 degrees. I love Monoprice but this bracket is way over-rated capacity wise.

Here's the one people are having good luck with:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Thanks for this information. It looks like this one also extends up to 30" which will work with mounting inside my cabinet.
SonyHome is offline  
post #911 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 06:28 AM
Member
 
planetweckesser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyHome View Post

Thanks for this information. It looks like this one also extends up to 30" which will work with mounting inside my cabinet.

I have found this mount (about the same price as the Sanus if you look for discounts on the web) to be the perfect mount - I had 2 Mitsu's 73" in cabinets 24" deep and this works perfectly - incredibly heavy and more room for lateral and vertical adjustments http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/PDRUB
and here is where to buy (at best discount)
http://www.thefinalclick.com/Chief-P...4_a_7c40076828 - add to cart for price. Depending on the depth of your cabinet, it is nice to have the extra extension (28" vs 37"). It is also a heavier mount (75 pounds) and is rock solid.
planetweckesser is offline  
post #912 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
SonyHome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by planetweckesser View Post

I have found this mount (about the same price as the Sanus if you look for discounts on the web) to be the perfect mount - I had 2 Mitsu's 73" in cabinets 24" deep and this works perfectly - incredibly heavy and more room for lateral and vertical adjustments http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/PDRUB
and here is where to buy (at best discount)
http://www.thefinalclick.com/Chief-P...4_a_7c40076828 - add to cart for price. Depending on the depth of your cabinet, it is nice to have the extra extension (28" vs 37"). It is also a heavier mount (75 pounds) and is rock solid.

Thanks. What is the advantage of this over the mount from mono price? This is over 5 times the cost. My cabinet is 24" deep so 37" extension could make working behind it nicer than 30" but not sure if it warrants 5 times the price.
SonyHome is offline  
post #913 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyHome View Post

Thanks. What is the advantage of this over the mount from mono price? This is over 5 times the cost. My cabinet is 24" deep so 37" extension could make working behind it nicer than 30" but not sure if it warrants 5 times the price.

both this & the sanus mount are very smooth to use ,can be done by a finger tip , they also have a clean modern look instead of a stamped sheet look . That sanus one is made with cast AL arms

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #914 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 08:01 AM
GGG
Senior Member
 
GGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NallaAVS View Post

Did you really use 30mm bolts? The manual says the depth of the mounting holes is 31/64 (12). Would anyone else please advise the length of M8 bolts you have used? Much appreciated.

Literally "screw" metric, i'm looking at the bolt in front of me , the bag says 30mm but it is an inch long, with the thread itself 3/4 in long...hope that helps
GGG is offline  
post #915 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 08:18 AM
Member
 
planetweckesser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastslappy View Post

both this & the sanus mount are very smooth to use ,can be done by a finger tip , they also have a clean modern look instead of a stamped sheet look . That sanus one is made with cast AL arms

I agree - with a TV of this size and weight you want smooth movements - the arm tensions (at least on the chief) are very adjustable - if I want to swivel the screen (depending on seating pattern) I can use one finger to rotate the screen. SONYHOME - if you have a Best Buy near you with a decent Magnolia section they usually have both of these mounts set up with dummy thick glass panels and you can move them all around and see how they work up close.
planetweckesser is offline  
post #916 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
SonyHome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by planetweckesser View Post

I agree - with a TV of this size and weight you want smooth movements - the arm tensions (at least on the chief) are very adjustable - if I want to swivel the screen (depending on seating pattern) I can use one finger to rotate the screen. SONYHOME - if you have a Best Buy near you with a decent Magnolia section they usually have both of these mounts set up with dummy thick glass panels and you can move them all around and see how they work up close.

Thanks for the input. Next time I'm in bestbuy I'll take a look. But since my main purpose is to have my display flush with front of the cabinet and have it also be straight up or very slightly tilted forward I may be ok with cheaper mount. I doubt I'll be changing it once I have it set up.
SonyHome is offline  
post #917 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
Royal/Popolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the LC-80LE633U 3D.... Well is the tv cable of seeing 3D
Royal/Popolo is offline  
post #918 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
Royal/Popolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*capable
Royal/Popolo is offline  
post #919 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royal/Popolo View Post

Is the LC-80LE633U 3D.... Well is the tv capable of seeing 3D

No! the 844 is the only 80" 3D display .....

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #920 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Royal/Popolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, what is the price difference between the two????
Royal/Popolo is offline  
post #921 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Royal/Popolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much more does the 844 cost slappy???
Royal/Popolo is offline  
post #922 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
elbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well I decided to upgrade my home theatre. I just ordered the 844 along with some new electronics. Now the waiting game, It should be all here in a week or so. Can't wait. It's weird. I basically bought the unit sight unseen. No one around here has one on display. I only saw the 632 which looked pretty good so I "assume" I'll like the 844 more.
elbig is offline  
post #923 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 05:12 PM
Member
 
CiaranAnthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royal/Popolo View Post

How much more does the 844 cost slappy???

Read the pricing thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1386054
CiaranAnthony is offline  
post #924 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 08:03 PM
Member
 
NallaAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGG View Post


Literally "screw" metric, i'm looking at the bolt in front of me , the bag says 30mm but it is an inch long, with the thread itself 3/4 in long...hope that helps

Thanks for measuring the bolts, GGG. I was very nervous about getting the length right, what with all the warnings about not to over tighten. Appreciate your help.
NallaAVS is offline  
post #925 of 3654 Old 05-06-2012, 11:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbig View Post

Well I decided to upgrade my home theatre. I just ordered the 844 along with some new electronics. Now the waiting game, It should be all here in a week or so. Can't wait. It's weird. I basically bought the unit sight unseen. No one around here has one on display. I only saw the 632 which looked pretty good so I "assume" I'll like the 844 more.

This happens more often than you would think. In the end, for the price and size, this set has a HUGE value to it.

Forum Sponsor // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1-866-651-0049 // \\
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #926 of 3654 Old 05-07-2012, 05:37 AM
Member
 
marky22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I became the proud owner of a LC-80-LE844U on Friday. WOW what a set. Spend a little time over the weekend messing around with the settings as per some of the posts here. The end result was a excellent poppy picture. THEN is noticed a little problem while watching the Yankee game yesterday. In the Aqua Motion 480 setting I saw vertical shadow like lines from the top of the screen to the bottom. Tried a little Nascar and the same problem was there. Just for the heck of it I when down to the 240 setting and they disappeared. What the heck was that? Feedback?
marky22 is offline  
post #927 of 3654 Old 05-07-2012, 07:57 AM
Member
 
ajax-jp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Not quite Dallas, TX
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by marky22 View Post

I became the proud owner of a LC-80-LE844U on Friday. WOW what a set. Spend a little time over the weekend messing around with the settings as per some of the posts here. The end result was a excellent poppy picture. THEN is noticed a little problem while watching the Yankee game yesterday. In the Aqua Motion 480 setting I saw vertical shadow like lines from the top of the screen to the bottom. Tried a little Nascar and the same problem was there. Just for the heck of it I when down to the 240 setting and they disappeared. What the heck was that? Feedback?

Take a photo of it?
It could just be artifacts caused by motion interpolation. The screen is a 120hz display so any setting above that is just interpolation.
ajax-jp is offline  
post #928 of 3654 Old 05-07-2012, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
saamvapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All. long time lurker, first time poster here...

I just got this TV last week and I'm seeing Graininess with almost all high def video specially Blu ray. Please see attached pictures for what I mean. Has anyone else seen this? Can someone please take a look and tell me what you think.

I see this with almost all blurays but more so with movies like:
- 3:10 to Yuma
- Matrix
- 300
- Crash

I do NOT see this with any of the animated movies like Cars. I do not see this with Avatar either.

I am using fixed dynamic mode most often.

Here is what I have tried so far without any success:

- viewed all modes
- turned down brightness, contrast and sharpness with little effect

Thanks all in advance.
LL
LL
LL
saamvapi is offline  
post #929 of 3654 Old 05-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
mrselfdestruct66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to replace my Mitsubishi dlp 73835 and am curious how this TV will compare. It is going in home theatre setting with controlled lighting and no windows. I generally have it very dark when watching movies so I am hesitant with LCD/LED due to black levels and screen unforminity. However I always preferred the sharpness and pop they give vs other technologies. All my edge lit Lcds have suffered some minor light bleeding in a corner or 2 and a dark room only made it worse so i am curious how full array compares. Are the blacks decent and is the screen uniform on a black screen in a dark room?
mrselfdestruct66 is offline  
post #930 of 3654 Old 05-07-2012, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Islandborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saamvapi View Post

Hi All. long time lurker, first time poster here...

I just got this TV last week and I'm seeing Graininess with almost all high def video specially Blu ray. Please see attached pictures for what I mean. Has anyone else seen this? Can someone please take a look and tell me what you think.

I see this with almost all blurays but more so with movies like:
- 3:10 to Yuma
- Matrix
- 300
- Crash

I do NOT see this with any of the animated movies like Cars. I do not see this with Avatar either.


Here is what I have tried so far without any success:

- viewed all modes
- turned down brightness, contrast and sharpness with little effect

Thanks all in advance.

Saw the tv in magnolia with avatar playing. colors were a little washed out at first. When I turned off most of the Auto motion processing and backed off the brightness and contrast, the colors and overall pic improved a lot...Try turning off or down the processing and see if it helps..
Islandborn is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp , Sharp Lc80le844u 80 Inch 3d Led Tv , Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc 70le632u Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc70le847u 70 Inch Lcd 70 Class Quattron Led Smart 3d Tv , Sharp Aquos Lc 80le844u 80 Inch Led Hdtv , Sharp Aquos Lc60le847u 60 Inch 1080p 240hz 3d 1080p Led Lcd Tv
Gear in this thread - Lc80le844u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off