Official Sharp AQUOS LC-60LE745U & LC-70LE745U Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 318 Old 04-05-2012, 08:09 AM
Member
 
quicsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsc168 View Post


Motion Enhancement: 120Hz High
Quad Pixel Plus: On
Active Contrast: Off
Gamma Adjustment: 0
Film Mode: Off
Digital Noise Reduction: Off
Monochrome: Off
Range of OPC: [any]

Does this TV have the quad pixel plus option? I didn't think it had that 4th yellow pixel or is that something different?
quicsand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 318 Old 04-05-2012, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
scsc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, ignore that. like i said, this is copied from 732u's setting. i just use it on my 745u.
scsc168 is offline  
post #93 of 318 Old 04-05-2012, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsc168 View Post

yeah, ignore that. like i said, this is copied from 732u's setting. i just use it on my 745u.

Yeah but I don't think these settings will apply as the 732 as that extra yellow subpixel. Our sets are just the typical RGB and will have different color settings as a result.
mikecoscia is offline  
post #94 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
timcsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who bought the 745, I know there is a web browser feature that allows you to view URLs. But does it support Flash and can play multimedia or not ? (Sites such as Hulu basic, HGTV, Food network, CNN/NBC/ESPN video.....etc)

The reason I asked is I'm comparing the Samsung TV web browser with the Sharp. Samsung web browser currently supports Flash and plays multimedia just fine. But I couldn't find any info whether this Sharp 745 model web browser supports video playing.

Also a search on Google shows that East Coast TV has the cheapest price. Anyone has experience ordering from this vendor ? If you need to return how do they do it ?

Thanks.
timcsi is offline  
post #95 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweep49 View Post

Actually, mine did come with a paper manual which is the same multi-model manual that can be downloaded via link in the previous post.

Same here, from Costco though.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #96 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecoscia View Post

Yeah but I don't think these settings will apply as the 732 as that extra yellow subpixel. Our sets are just the typical RGB and will have different color settings as a result.

try these settings they are from a 632 80" done by a calibrators
called Suzook's settings

Quote:


OPC Off
Backlight +1
Contrast +28
Brightness +1
Color 0
Tint 0
Sharpness 0

Advanced Value
C.M.S. - Hue
R 0
Y +2
G -10
C -9
B 0
M +2

C.M.S. - Saturation
R 0
Y -10
G -5
C 0
B 0
M 0
C.M.S. - Value
R -2
Y -2
G +3
C -18
B +10
M -12
Color Temp. Low
R Gain (LO) +1
G Gain (LO) 0
B Gain (LO) +1
R Gain (HI) 0
G Gain (HI) 0
B Gain (HI) -8
Motion Enhancement 120Hz Lo
Active Contrast Off
Gamma Adjustment 0
Film Mode Off
DNR Off
Monochrome Off
Range of OPC NA

these are for Sharp 3 pixel color display & have been applied with success on various Sharp Displays

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #97 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 01:15 PM
Member
 
seanthome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quicsand View Post

Mine is coming from Paul's also. It's the 70". I didn't get any glasses yet because I want to make sure I like it first. 3d is just a bonus anyways, I can live without it. How bad would you say the DSE is?

I saw this at a Paul's TV. They said they just put it up for display. The picture was not that good looking. So assuming they have not properly calibrated it yet. Didn't it come with 2 pairs of 3D glasses? That's the bundle they have on their site.
seanthome is offline  
post #98 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Talk2Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marin,CA./ Burton, OH
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Costco comes swith 2 pair active.
Talk2Me is offline  
post #99 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
timcsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello ? anyone knows if the web browser on LC-60LE745U supports Flash and can play videos ?
timcsi is offline  
post #100 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 02:29 PM
Member
 
quicsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanthome View Post

I saw this at a Paul's TV. They said they just put it up for display. The picture was not that good looking. So assuming they have not properly calibrated it yet. Didn't it come with 2 pairs of 3D glasses? That's the bundle they have on their site.

Mine didn't come with any glasses. I bought it through Amazon. Sold by Paul's but fulfilled by Amazon. The price was very good.

The thing that stinks about their free super saver shipping is that they milk it to the last day it seems. The TV shipped from Phoenix, AZ. I live 4 hours away in a small town in AZ. I ordered it April 1st. It was shipped on April 4th from Phoenix to Las Vegas. On the 5th it said it left Vegas (which is an hour and a half away from me) and there have been no updates for 4 days now. My estimated delivery is on the 11th. Bummer.
quicsand is offline  
post #101 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Haelphadreous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So no Quattron on this set is confirmed? I did not think that there were non Quattron panels coming out of the gen X plant? And Sharps website lists the spec's as 8 million sub pixels (x4). That is kind of a downer I was under the impression that this set was Quattron when I ordered it, oh well at least it should get here soon I hope.

And wow, quicsand I ordered from Abes of Maine on the 1st, it shipped on the 4th, mine left NYC on the 5th, and I am still waiting with no updates, I spent the extra for the "white glove" delivery.
Haelphadreous is offline  
post #102 of 318 Old 04-09-2012, 03:16 PM
Member
 
quicsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haelphadreous, it looks like we are both in the same boat, the hurry up and wait boat!
quicsand is offline  
post #103 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Daryl RSV4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern burbs, Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastslappy View Post

try these settings they are from a 632 80" done by a calibrators
called Suzook's settings


these are for Sharp 3 pixel color display & have been applied with success on various Sharp Displays


Just got my 70LE745U yetserday and I'm going to try these settings. Fastslappy, question, which AV mode should I tweak these settings from?
Thanks!
Daryl RSV4 is offline  
post #104 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl RSV4 View Post

Just got my 70LE745U yetserday and I'm going to try these settings. Fastslappy, question, which AV mode should I tweak these settings from?
Thanks!

I use the "movie" setting with these settings , along with " dot to dot " scanning

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #105 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Daryl RSV4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern burbs, Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These are recommended settings for all around tv viewing or just movies? Thanks again slappy!
Daryl RSV4 is offline  
post #106 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl RSV4 View Post

These are recommended settings for all around tv viewing or just movies? Thanks again slappy!

Press view mode on the remote & toggle to "dot by dot"

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #107 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl RSV4 View Post

These are recommended settings for all around tv viewing or just movies? Thanks again slappy!

I use that for all around viewing

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #108 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 11:35 PM
 
8traxrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do these TVs have any control for overscan and position (usually labeled HWidth, VSize and HPosition/VPosition?) That's the main thing I like about my Vizio TV, but since it's having problems it may be replaced with a Sharp soon.

(Looking at the manual online, looks like it at least has position controls. Would like to control the overscan since my laptop computer has a black border around the edges- my Vizio has 4 different presets so I have one set to zoom in and hide the black borders from the computer. My normal position has zero overscan, which usually shows too much picture but that's how I like it.)
8traxrule is offline  
post #109 of 318 Old 04-10-2012, 11:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 163
It is seeming thus far that the 2012 models are indeed different when it comes to calibration and doubtful that any previous model calibrations will work well (and could possibly make things look worse). The odds of calibrations done on an 80" 632 crossing over well to the 60" & 70" 745 is going to be very slim, especially considering we found a solid variance from the 60" & 70" 632 to the 80" 632. Just a heads up to those hoping for some 'ballpark accurate' settings for their 745, you'll likely have to wait for some pro level settings that were actually done on a 745.


8traxrule,

Those are analog adjustments by nature and not something you would typically find when using a digital connection on a digital display. There is an Overscan (View Mode) setting however.


Best of luck,
Jason

My Twitch Game Stream [PS4/Xone/PC]...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #110 of 318 Old 04-11-2012, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
mikecoscia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastslappy View Post

try these settings they are from a 632 80" done by a calibrators
called Suzook's settings


these are for Sharp 3 pixel color display & have been applied with success on various Sharp Displays

Thank you!!
mikecoscia is offline  
post #111 of 318 Old 04-11-2012, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Daryl RSV4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern burbs, Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for the experts. I watch a lot of motorcycle racing(constant fast moving screen) and I'm noticing a lot of lag (for lack of a better term).

Is there a setting I can use to get rid of this or is it because it's 120 hz? Would 240hz completely eliminate this?

I'm well under my 30 days to return it and upgrade to the 847 with 240 hz. Is there a noticable difference between the 2 sets?

Thanks guys.
Daryl RSV4 is offline  
post #112 of 318 Old 04-11-2012, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8traxrule View Post

Do these TVs have any control for overscan and position (usually labeled HWidth, VSize and HPosition/VPosition?) That's the main thing I like about my Vizio TV, but since it's having problems it may be replaced with a Sharp soon.

(Looking at the manual online, looks like it at least has position controls. Would like to control the overscan since my laptop computer has a black border around the edges- my Vizio has 4 different presets so I have one set to zoom in and hide the black borders from the computer. My normal position has zero overscan, which usually shows too much picture but that's how I like it.)

yeah on a Sharp it's called dot by dot . you change it by using the remote , hit view mode & set to "dot by dot"
I find it works well with my W7 desktop , as I also set my PC vid card to show 100% scan & the W7 desktop fills the screen with no black edges & still have the whole image

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #113 of 318 Old 04-11-2012, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Daryl RSV4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern burbs, Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl RSV4 View Post

Question for the experts. I watch a lot of motorcycle racing(constant fast moving screen) and I'm noticing a lot of lag (for lack of a better term).

Is there a setting I can use to get rid of this or is it because it's 120 hz? Would 240hz completely eliminate this?

I'm well under my 30 days to return it and upgrade to the 847 with 240 hz. Is there a noticable difference between the 2 sets?

Thanks guys.



Anyone?
Daryl RSV4 is offline  
post #114 of 318 Old 04-11-2012, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Fastslappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: La CasaSlappy @ SlappyVille,SF NorthBay,CALI
Posts: 6,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 753
try setting to 120 low or off
what source is the material ? sometimes motion problems are source related & not the display

Mike

JAZZ IS NOT DEAD IT JUST SMELLS FUNNY ; FRANK ZAPPA
Fastslappy is offline  
post #115 of 318 Old 04-12-2012, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Daryl RSV4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern burbs, Illinois
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am streaming an HD feed from my laptop to my TV via hdmi.I never had the issue with my Samsung plasma.

I found that switching AV mode to Game that it completely eliminated the lag with the Sharp.

Thanks again slappy.
Daryl RSV4 is offline  
post #116 of 318 Old 04-12-2012, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
psultimate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haelphadreous View Post

And wow, quicsand I ordered from Abes of Maine on the 1st, it shipped on the 4th, mine left NYC on the 5th, and I am still waiting with no updates, I spent the extra for the "white glove" delivery.

Haelphadreous - Did yours ship with AM Trucking? I ordered the 7th, shipped the 9th, left NYC on the 10th and haven't heard anything since but I wasn't expecting anything until next week. I'd be interested to learn how long it takes to get out to the west coast. Can't wait to get my hands on this tv!
psultimate is offline  
post #117 of 318 Old 04-12-2012, 11:02 PM
 
8traxrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK- I was seriously ALL SET to buy one of these today, but didn't because there appears to be no way to defeat the "Smart Dimming" or local dimming or whatever you want to call it. The problem I saw was the same I'd had with my Vizio- when the screen gets black, such as during movie credits or a scene where the lights go out, the backlight in the TV goes COMPLETELY out. This is how it looks on my Vizio: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXR813ltCcc

The Sharp TVs do the same thing, except the backlight dims down a little more gracefully. This would still annoy me too much to put up with, and I could not find ANY control to turn this 'feature' off. I REALLY wanted this TV other than that- is there a way to disable this that I overlooked, or at least hidden in a service menu somewhere. If there is I will go back and get the TV, but if it's undefeatable I will just have to find something else.
8traxrule is offline  
post #118 of 318 Old 04-13-2012, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
sweep49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are adjustments called "active contrast" and "OPC" both of which can be turned off. Refer to the online manual link in thread #56 to see if it is what you need. They are discussed on pages 29-31 of the manual.
sweep49 is offline  
post #119 of 318 Old 04-13-2012, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Haelphadreous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by psultimate View Post

Haelphadreous - Did yours ship with AM Trucking? I ordered the 7th, shipped the 9th, left NYC on the 10th and haven't heard anything since but I wasn't expecting anything until next week. I'd be interested to learn how long it takes to get out to the west coast. Can't wait to get my hands on this tv!

Yep AM trucking, I called them a few days ago, they told me to expect a call on Friday to sch a delivery tomorrow, it has been such a long wait, I am excited though, here is hoping everything is good with my set.

They are going to bring it in and turn it on so I can look before they leave, Anyone have a good link to a site where I can solid screen output, white black RGB, to check the uniformity/stuck pixels/clouding before I call it good? I was thinking it would be quickest to just laptop to it via HDMI and test.
Haelphadreous is offline  
post #120 of 318 Old 04-13-2012, 02:15 PM
 
8traxrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I made sure OPC and Active Contrast were both turned off, this did not stop it from dimming the backlight all the way down during a black picture. This is especially annoying for example when a Blu-Ray disc is "loading" before it's able to start the movie, or playing the few seconds of black at the beginning of VHS tapes (yes, I still watch those sometimes!) - with SOME light going to the screen I can tell that the TV is turned on and everything's working, with it completely out I have to double-check if it's actually on and set to the right input and all that stuff. It really does ruin the atmosphere of some movies when this happens in the middle also. Can't believe I'm the only one who's noticed this.
8traxrule is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Aquos 60 Le847 Series 3d Led Black Flat Panel Hdtv With Quad Pixel Plus 2 Panel Edge Lit Led Backlig , Sharp Aquos Lc60le745u 60 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d 1080p Led Lcd Tv , Sharp Lc70c7450 Lc 70c7450 Lc 70c7450 Lc70c7450 70 1080p Led 3d Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off