Official Sharp AQUOS LC-60LE847U & LC-70LE847U Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2661 Old 05-09-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teisco View Post

I have heard so many good things about Sharp service but after reading and answer like that I am concerned.

I know this is the 847 thread, but I needed to respond. Sharp has replaced 2 of my sets. A 732 for another 732. Most recently, a LC70LE640U for a 632. Both were cases that I documented with screen uniformity issues. No issues with customer service.

The edge led 640 for me still has some very minor flashlighting issues, but it does not have the issues that some users have had with clouding on the full array panels, based on my experience. The same should hold true with the edge led 3D quattron units. The black levels are very good, and the colors, once calibrated, are very accurate and natural.

Powerage said:
'Sorry if this has been covered, but has anyone used this as a full time PC or HTPC Monitor?
If so have there been any Burn In Issues? I'm considering a Sharp 70LE847U but not sure how much of a Leap it would be in PQ over my current Samsung 6767W DLP. The 6767W has Excellent Black levels & really good viewing angles How is the Viewings Most Important Burn-In is NA."

I use my set as a monitor quite a bit. Usually to stream backed up HD content over the network. Burn in is not an issue. The picture quality improvement over the DLP is measurable - much brighter, with more detail and depth to the image. Not to mention a much thinner tv. The viewing angle is fine for us at 10 feet away and 30 degrees off axis. My old Mitsubishi DLP is probably as old as your Samsung, around 2006 - 07 vintage.

For the money, I think these set deliver a great value and a respectable picture. See attached.
LL
LL
LL
LL
myoda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Iccy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me the difference between the 847 and BB's 845 if there is one?
Iccy is offline  
post #453 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
papi4baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iccy View Post

Can anyone tell me the difference between the 847 and BB's 845 if there is one?

Sharps website states 10'000'000 to 1 for the contrast of the 47 vs 8,000,000 to 1 for the 45.

Also list the 47 as having 3D depth enhancer and quad pixel plus II. And the 45 as not having them.

And for inputs the 47 has 1 set of composites while the 45 has two sets.

I hope this link works.

http://www.sharpusa.com/ForHome/Home...5FB8F236D0CEEA

Blu ray.
papi4baby is offline  
post #454 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 06:54 AM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
10,000,000:1 makes me laugh. I'm working on a new display technology that has thirty one point seven bazillion to one contrast and point oh one six rimtosecond response time.
CGGorman is offline  
post #455 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the correct way to proceed with a complaint about clouding to Sharp. Like to hear from those with success in getting a replacement please.
Teisco is offline  
post #456 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
Flomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just brought the LC70C8470U home and set up a couple of days ago. The picture looks great out of the box but I am sure there will be some adjustments in time. I have two issues that I need help with.

I have Directv with the HDMI cable going to the TV with the RCA Audio out from the STB to the stereo. I am getting a bad echo when used with the TV speakers. If I turn the TV volume off, the audio from the stereo is out of phase with lip sync. The info sent with the TV says to run the audio out to the stereo via the mini plug jack. Will this make a difference? This setup worked in phase with the previous TV.

I have a white static line at the top of the monitor on certain channels that is very distracting. Is there a way to tune this out or do I have a bad panel? It does not happen on all channels. Any help would be aprreciated as I learn this new TV.
Flomo is offline  
post #457 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gtbdevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teisco View Post

What is the correct way to proceed with a complaint about clouding to Sharp. Like to hear from those with success in getting a replacement please.


Send an email to AQUOSAdvantage [AQUOSAdvantage@sharpsec.com]

Send photos, and explain what issue each photo is showing, you need to get a case #.

Sharp has exchanged 5 sets for me, 1st was a 70-632, current is the 70-847U

I think there customer service is excellent.
gtbdevs is offline  
post #458 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 08:41 AM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
IIRC, the scanning line at the top of an analong broadcast signal was called the vertical blanking interval and contained Teletext, sync, closed caption, etc. info that the display could interpret. It was hidden in the overscan area on old CRT displays, but fixed pixel displays lime we all have now don't need to have any overscan so this previously hidden throwback to darker days becomes visible.

Either live it, find a digital (ATSC) channel alternative, or adjust one of the various zoom/overscan controls on either the display or STB.
CGGorman is offline  
post #459 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbdevs View Post

Send an email to AQUOSAdvantage [AQUOSAdvantage@sharpsec.com]

Send photos, and explain what issue each photo is showing, you need to get a case #.

Sharp has exchanged 5 sets for me, 1st was a 70-632, current is the 70-847U

I think there customer service is excellent.


Make sure your serial number for your set is entered here:
https://aquosadvantage.com/

Call them first to create a case.Questions: Call 1-87-SEE-AQUOS (1-877-332-7867)
Mon - Fri 7 AM - 9 PM CT Sat, Sun & Holidays 9 AM - 7 PM

You will have a case number generated and a letter emailed to you:


"In an effort to properly diagnose the issue you are experiencing with your television, please send photos (as attachments) to us at aquosadvantage@sharpusa.com. Ensure the total email size is no more than 10 MB. (If the total size of the email message exceeds 10 MB, divide the photos into multiple smaller-sized emails in order to send them to us.) Below are some guidelines to be used when taking photos:

* Send at least three (3) to five (5) photos as described below.
* All of the photos should be taken with active TV video on the screen rather than PC / Game system video or a plain black / grey screen. It is more helpful in diagnosing the issue.
* Take the photos directly in front of the TV (rather than at an angle).
* Turn off the camera flash to avoid reflections that can make the issue difficult to see.
* Be sure to use the highest resolution possible on your camera.

Please take at least three (3) full screen photos (showing the entire television screen and frame) with active TV video:
1. Press the MENU button on the remote control, and take a full screen photo with the TV Menu displayed.
2. Press the DISPLAY button, and take a full screen photo showing the on-screen display for every input available.
o On-screen display includes the input number, type of signal, resolution, audio type, etc.
3. Take a full screen photo without the TV Menu or on-screen display
4. Take any additional close-up photos that will help us identify the issue.
5. Take a photo of the model number and serial number sticker on either the rear or side of the unit.

Once we receive the photos, we will complete the evaluation and provide a response as soon as possible.

Thank you very much for your cooperation."
myoda is offline  
post #460 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
cjre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a question for anyone or everyone. I bought the Panasonic SC-HTB10 120W 2.1-Channel Slim Sound Bar System with 3D Pass Through (Black). It has an HDMI input and the sharp has ARC. Has anyone plugged in a sound bar to the ARC HDMI output on the TV, which is HDMI#1 from the TV and to the soundbar and get sound? Also, does the TV remote control the soundbar. If you turn off your TV does the sound bar turn off?

Any help and insight will be greatful. Thanks.
cjre1 is offline  
post #461 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
nettad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is the model they have at BJ's LC60C8470U, is there any diffefence? My 2yr old son shattered my samsung 59" plasma and i was thinking of getting this tv tomorrow.
nettad is offline  
post #462 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjre1 View Post

I have a question for anyone or everyone. I bought the Panasonic SC-HTB10 120W 2.1-Channel Slim Sound Bar System with 3D Pass Through (Black). It has an HDMI input and the sharp has ARC. Has anyone plugged in a sound bar to the ARC HDMI output on the TV, which is HDMI#1 from the TV and to the soundbar and get sound? Also, does the TV remote control the soundbar. If you turn off your TV does the sound bar turn off?

Any help and insight will be greatful. Thanks.

Check page 11 of your manual for info on Viera Link. Check the Sharp owners guide for using Aquos Link and follow the instructions. In theory, it might work to control the volume and other settings of your soundbar..

The soundbar will shut off automatically if no activity is detected after 30 minutes.

page 10 of the sc-htb10 owners manual:
ARC (Audio Return Channel)
(Available only when using an ARC compatible
TV)
With this function it is possible to receive the digital
audio signal from the TV without connecting any
other audio cable.
≥ Refer to the operating instructions of the TV for
the settings to output digital audio.

HDMI cable (not supplied)
§ Be sure to connect to the TV’s ARC compatible terminal.
(Refer to the operating instructions for the TV.)

If the connected TV is ARC compatible, but audio is not
output to this unit, connect using the optical digital audio
cable. (right, “Basic connection (with an optical digital
audio cable compatible TV)”)
myoda is offline  
post #463 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
cjre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

Check page 11 of your manual for info on Viera Link. Check the Sharp owners guide for using Aquos Link and follow the instructions. In theory, it might work to control the volume and other settings of your soundbar..

The soundbar will shut off automatically if no activity is detected after 30 minutes.

page 10 of the sc-htb10 owners manual:
ARC (Audio Return Channel)
(Available only when using an ARC compatible
TV)
With this function it is possible to receive the digital
audio signal from the TV without connecting any
other audio cable.
≥ Refer to the operating instructions of the TV for
the settings to output digital audio.

HDMI cable (not supplied)
§ Be sure to connect to the TV's ARC compatible terminal.
(Refer to the operating instructions for the TV.)

If the connected TV is ARC compatible, but audio is not
output to this unit, connect using the optical digital audio
cable. (right, Basic connection (with an optical digital
audio cable compatible TV))

Thanks for the feedback. Im hoping it works with ARC instead of using a optical cable.
cjre1 is offline  
post #464 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 07:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,062
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

CGGorman, I just wanted to thank you for all of your posts. They are very informative. I purchased the LC-70LE847U because of this thread, what a great TV.

For the cost and size, it can not be beat !
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #465 of 2661 Old 05-10-2012, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

For the cost and size, it can not be beat !

Actually, if you're going to turn off the Quad feature and use 120hz as Chad did it seems the 847 can be beat in cost by the 745.
andy sullivan is online now  
post #466 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 03:31 AM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turning off the Quad Pixel Plus 2 feature doesn't turn off the yellow sub pixel, it just changes the way edges are processed.

The 120 high setting synced at 480 hz. The 745 may or may not be the same in this regard.

Either way, the additional two million subpixels is worth consideration...
CGGorman is offline  
post #467 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
nettad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is the model they have at BJ's LC60C8470U, is there any diffefence? My 2yr old son shattered my samsung 59" plasma and i was thinking of getting this tv tomorrow.



Please someone help, i am planning on getting this today and it appears from the specs to be the some but would like that verified before i purchase. I am coming from a nice plasma set and this will be my first large LCD. From reading the forum it seems that this is a really good tv for our needs, just want to be sure i am not getting some kind of lesser model.
nettad is offline  
post #468 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
Cookiesowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookiesowns View Post

Could anyone help comment on this post I made on Page 14? After watching some more 3D, and some minor tweaks, I've gotten crosstalk down to be only noticeble in certain scenes if I look for it. But clouding in the dark scenes I can notice the uniformity easily

Also, is vyper drive removed from the 2012 series, or is there a menu option where I can access it.

Settings: http://imgur.com/MNCcf,CpzeV#0

This picture is just about half a stop more exagerated than reality.

http://imgur.com/MNCcf,CpzeV#1

f.5.6 4second ISO 1000 @ 32MM on a 16-35

Here's a freeze frame of a Happy Feet 2:


Could anyone comment to see if my set is worth exchanging with sharp, or just keeping it how it is.
Cookiesowns is offline  
post #469 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 05:48 AM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The C847OU seems to be equivalent to the LE847U. It has different motion enhancement options, but that's it, AFAIK. There is an owner posting early in this thread.
CGGorman is offline  
post #470 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 05:58 AM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookiesowns View Post

Could anyone comment to see if my set is worth exchanging with sharp, or just keeping it how it is.

I can't see any issues in that particular photo.

Vyper Drive is built into game mode, by my son can't tell a difference in MW3 and he's pretty good. 3rd prestige, hundreds of complete challenges, and a K/D approaching 2. Plays free-for-all mostly. HDMI connection, stock wireless controller, & cable internet 10 up 1 down with an average 30ms ping.
CGGorman is offline  
post #471 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 09:56 AM
Member
 
ruffstik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty set I'm going to pick up the 70-C8470U after work today at Sams club. Is this set going to be a huge step up in picture quality from my 52" sony xbr2? I mean...will i be wowed?
ruffstik is offline  
post #472 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Keep35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffstik View Post

I'm pretty set I'm going to pick up the 70-C8470U after work today at Sams club. Is this set going to be a huge step up in picture quality from my 52" sony xbr2? I mean...will i be wowed?

You're certain to be wowed just by the size upgrade.
I went from a 52 to the 70. It's amazing.
Keep35 is offline  
post #473 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
gtbdevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware available for the 847U, sharp website not updated, so no idea what this update does, for me it took 4 minutes.
gtbdevs is offline  
post #474 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 10:35 AM
Member
 
ruffstik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbdevs View Post

New firmware available for the 847U, sharp website not updated, so no idea what this update does, for me it took 4 minutes.

So does the TV just update itself via the wi-fi connection?
ruffstik is offline  
post #475 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
ruffstik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also...sorry if i missed this..but is the C847 a matte screen?
ruffstik is offline  
post #476 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
gtbdevs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffstik View Post

So does the TV just update itself via the wi-fi connection?


No, I have mine set with wireless connection, and auto update setting set to yes. With this a message pop up, informing of the new firmware, then it asks if you want to do the update, so you have to OK the update.
gtbdevs is offline  
post #477 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
papi4baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffstik View Post

also...sorry if i missed this..but is the C847 a matte screen?

Yes, not a gloss screen like the samsungs.

Blu ray.
papi4baby is offline  
post #478 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
papi4baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nettad View Post

this is the model they have at BJ's LC60C8470U, is there any diffefence? My 2yr old son shattered my samsung 59" plasma and i was thinking of getting this tv tomorrow.



Please someone help, i am planning on getting this today and it appears from the specs to be the some but would like that verified before i purchase. I am coming from a nice plasma set and this will be my first large LCD. From reading the forum it seems that this is a really good tv for our needs, just want to be sure i am not getting some kind of lesser model.

This is the model i got the OU. I got mine at BJ's.

Here's a link from sharp comparing them.

Looks like the OU has two composite inputs and comes with some 3d glasses. It does say the panel is 480 and the regular U model is N/A. Not sure what that means.

http://www.sharpusa.com/ForHome/Home...3FE04F1D65D617

Blu ray.
papi4baby is offline  
post #479 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
After calibrating with the use of the AVCHD 709 disk (Thanks Guys!), I ended up turning off all auto fetures and enhancements in order to "Dummy Down" the picture. To me the resolution of this set ruins a good movie by expossing so much detail it doesn't look real, it's like being there as they film it. Has anyone else done or experienced this?

skybolt is offline  
post #480 of 2661 Old 05-11-2012, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookiesowns View Post

Could anyone comment to see if my set is worth exchanging with sharp, or just keeping it how it is.

When you set up this tv, did you leave it in home or store mode? . Store mode makes the picture brighter, and uses more power, but I think it degrades pq. Noticed that your contrast is a little high. I get better black levels with the backlight low.

What are your advanced settings? I don't see anything out of the ordinary in the images you posted - operating as designed, even with flaws.
LL
LL
myoda is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp , Sharp Aquos Lc60le847u 60 Inch 1080p 240hz 3d 1080p Led Lcd Tv , Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc70le847u 70 Inch 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread - Lc70le847u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off