Official Sharp AQUOS LC-60LE847U & LC-70LE847U Owners Thread - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2661 Old 03-27-2013, 07:18 AM
Member
 
kps246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Coralville, IA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was the 70-8470U. I bought mine there in December. It was a floor model, I suspect this might be their floor model
they want to move to make room for the new 857 model. They had the new 70-650 for sale for about the same price.
kps246 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2661 Old 03-27-2013, 12:48 PM
Member
 
viper8u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtrasmiley View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kps246 View Post

My local Costco had the 70-8470U for $1900 today.

Wow, are you sure it was the 70-8470U? The lower end 70" is showing that online from Costco, but not the higher end one! They don't even show it online anymore.

Dang, wish I could get it at that price, I may just skip the 2013 model and grab that one!

Which costco was this?

I just called mine and it is $2399 still

Thanks

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
viper8u2 is offline  
post #2253 of 2661 Old 03-27-2013, 12:51 PM
Member
 
viper8u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kps246 View Post

My local Costco had the 70-8470U for $1900 today.
Sorry, I quoted wrong post

On my phone now, I called a couple in MN and they are higher

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
viper8u2 is offline  
post #2254 of 2661 Old 03-27-2013, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
methcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: lbc
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
at my costco all the x4x's are gone. they have the le657 and c6500. see my pic in the 2013 thread
link

Waiting For Neural Implants.
methcat is offline  
post #2255 of 2661 Old 03-27-2013, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by srd5335 View Post

anyone have a good sports (baseball/hockey) setup? I have the 60" 845.

I don't have my exact settings in front of me, but I had to pump up the brightness (I think) and re-balance the color for basketball, otherwise the NCAA courts would look really weird. I just did it visually. Not exact, but I figure if I'm happy with the way it looks, then that's all that really matters. I can always go back to some calibrated settings and start all over visually tweaking if they get too messed up.

Game was a lot easier for me to tweak, I just made the whites whiter for the Wii, and it was good to go. I'm kind of disappointed how bad N64 looks on this thing, but that's just the nature of the beast, feeding 240p games through a video scaler to 1080p. No amount of massaging will make them look good, even though it does a good job with the 480p Wii.
BiggAW is offline  
post #2256 of 2661 Old 03-28-2013, 12:16 AM
Newbie
 
necromass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else have this problem with the 60C8470U?

I just bought this a few weeks ago and hooked it up to my comcast rng150 cable box. I'm noticing a slight vertical jumpiness on the screen, mostly noticeable on station logos and small text.
This happens on almost every mode whether or not motion enhancement, film mode, dnr, quadpixel, or auto contrast is on or off.

The weird thing is that when I switch to game mode the problem disappears entirely, everything is still.

I haven't been able to test it with other inputs or different sources yet. Just curious if anyone else has noticed this.
necromass is offline  
post #2257 of 2661 Old 03-28-2013, 11:57 AM
 
8traxrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mine (C7450) does that on every mode also except Game Mode (don't have cable though, waste of money! smile.gif )
8traxrule is offline  
post #2258 of 2661 Old 03-30-2013, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

I am pleased with the 3D performance after the board swap. There was significant ghosting when trying to watch my first 3D disc that was bundled with my Sony BDP-S770 - Monster House 3D. After the boards were swapped out, Monster House played perfectly, with no crosstalk. After purchasing several 3D movies, I found that the movies that were converted to 3D have some depth, but overall, the 3D presentation is lacking. Specifically, Green Lantern, I Robot, and The Avengers. Some of the best 3D I've seen on my 847 are Madagascar 3, Resident Evil - Afterlife, and Avatar. Also, most 3D blu-ray players have an adjustment for depth control of your 3D image. I bought 2 3D players before I had the 847U, a Panasonic DMP-BDT310 and the Sony. Both were top of the line players when new a couple of years ago, and the picture quality output from both players is very good. Overall, I've had an excellent experience with my 847U. The number of people that post to AVS Forum with issues are a fairly small sample compared to the number of sets sold globally that have 0 problems. Buy one. If it does not perform to your satisfaction, exchange it for another unit, or purchase something else.

What's the process to get Sharp to agree to a board swap?
RocShemp is offline  
post #2259 of 2661 Old 03-31-2013, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
kevin80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awww, our TV is now old news. LC60LE757U has made my LC60LE847U last years model now frown.gif
kevin80 is offline  
post #2260 of 2661 Old 03-31-2013, 10:25 AM
Member
 
howlinrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin80 View Post

Awww, our TV is now old news. LC60LE757U has made my LC60LE847U last years model now frown.gif
And I wonder what's going to be different ?
howlinrock is offline  
post #2261 of 2661 Old 03-31-2013, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocShemp View Post

What's the process to get Sharp to agree to a board swap?

That determination was made with a tech on site evaluating my panel while on the phone with an engineer from from Sharp advanced tech support.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

myoda is offline  
post #2262 of 2661 Old 04-01-2013, 06:59 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone commented on any vericle banding on these sets.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #2263 of 2661 Old 04-01-2013, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shady195's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by necromass View Post

Anyone else have this problem with the 60C8470U?

I just bought this a few weeks ago and hooked it up to my comcast rng150 cable box. I'm noticing a slight vertical jumpiness on the screen, mostly noticeable on station logos and small text.
This happens on almost every mode whether or not motion enhancement, film mode, dnr, quadpixel, or auto contrast is on or off.

The weird thing is that when I switch to game mode the problem disappears entirely, everything is still.

I haven't been able to test it with other inputs or different sources yet. Just curious if anyone else has noticed this.

It appears to be some sort of an issue with video processing on the set itself. This is the only set I have had any of these issues on. Happens on my cable box, Roku, Google TV, PC etc.. the only thing it does not happen on is blu-rays.. does nto appear to be a TV specific defect, swap outs etc they all have the same issue. Sharp wont do much for you so if your going to go the Customer service route ill just save you the trouble by saying either get sued to it or get another TV

If I put it in game mode its fine..


Ive gotten used to it for the most part but it is still frustrating at times.. Overall im still happy with the TV, thought I am debarting going back to plasma, everytime I go in the other oom and look at my PN50C8000 samsung I just am blown away by how great that TV looks.

EMP E55ti | EMP E56ci | Polk T15's for surround duty | Ultimax 15" Sub | Integra 40.2 | Rotel 976 | Panasonic 60ST60
Shady195 is offline  
post #2264 of 2661 Old 04-02-2013, 12:36 PM
Member
 
srd5335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shady195 View Post

It appears to be some sort of an issue with video processing on the set itself. This is the only set I have had any of these issues on. Happens on my cable box, Roku, Google TV, PC etc.. the only thing it does not happen on is blu-rays.. does nto appear to be a TV specific defect, swap outs etc they all have the same issue. Sharp wont do much for you so if your going to go the Customer service route ill just save you the trouble by saying either get sued to it or get another TV

If I put it in game mode its fine..


Ive gotten used to it for the most part but it is still frustrating at times.. Overall im still happy with the TV, thought I am debarting going back to plasma, everytime I go in the other oom and look at my PN50C8000 samsung I just am blown away by how great that TV looks.


I had the same problem. Just unplug your cable box to restart it. Should correct itself after that. Worked for me.
srd5335 is offline  
post #2265 of 2661 Old 04-02-2013, 12:36 PM
Member
 
srd5335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by necromass View Post

Anyone else have this problem with the 60C8470U?

I just bought this a few weeks ago and hooked it up to my comcast rng150 cable box. I'm noticing a slight vertical jumpiness on the screen, mostly noticeable on station logos and small text.
This happens on almost every mode whether or not motion enhancement, film mode, dnr, quadpixel, or auto contrast is on or off.

The weird thing is that when I switch to game mode the problem disappears entirely, everything is still.

I haven't been able to test it with other inputs or different sources yet. Just curious if anyone else has noticed this.


I had this issue as well. Just unplug and restart your cable box. Should fix it.
srd5335 is offline  
post #2266 of 2661 Old 04-04-2013, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

That determination was made with a tech on site evaluating my panel while on the phone with an engineer from from Sharp advanced tech support.

I see. Well, right now I'm at the "send us some pictures" stage. I ended up borrowing a camera from a friend of my mom (it's a pretty badass camera) and sent them the pics. Today I got a reply that they received them and sent them for evaluation.

Do they take long before getting back to you?
RocShemp is offline  
post #2267 of 2661 Old 04-04-2013, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
beren88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocShemp View Post

I see. Well, right now I'm at the "send us some pictures" stage. I ended up borrowing a camera from a friend of my mom (it's a pretty badass camera) and sent them the pics. Today I got a reply that they received them and sent them for evaluation.

Do they take long before getting back to you?
Mine only took a couple of days. Do you think you could post your photos? Sharp told me that they have "hundreds" of pics of ghosting - it would be nice to see what they see and what they consisder to be normal.
beren88 is offline  
post #2268 of 2661 Old 04-04-2013, 12:38 PM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody had a problem with verticle banding on this tv?
fiddler11 is offline  
post #2269 of 2661 Old 04-04-2013, 04:20 PM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddler11 View Post

Has anybody had a problem with verticle banding on this tv?

So does that mean that noone with this set has any verticle banding.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #2270 of 2661 Old 04-04-2013, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 2,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
No vertical banding on my set.
greeno is offline  
post #2271 of 2661 Old 04-05-2013, 08:57 AM
Member
 
fiddler11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeno View Post

No vertical banding on my set.

Ok thanks for responding.
fiddler11 is offline  
post #2272 of 2661 Old 04-05-2013, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
RocShemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by beren88 View Post

Mine only took a couple of days. Do you think you could post your photos? Sharp told me that they have "hundreds" of pics of ghosting - it would be nice to see what they see and what they consisder to be normal.

Sure. I sent them a few pics. The first pair was using the set's own 3D test. I know Sharp didn't want test patterns but I felt that was the most damning evidence since it's meant to serve as the set's own demo of its 3D capabilities.
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

The other shots I used were from Hugo
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Silent Hill Revelation
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
RocShemp is offline  
post #2273 of 2661 Old 04-05-2013, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
mikmort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay77 View Post

Yes sir, I've tried ALL modes, all configurations. I played with it for about 3 hours yesterday. I'm fed up with it. I have very little patience for this sort of thing. It shouldn't be some top secret squirrel handshake/call sign to get SOE to stop. I really do like the TV, but can't stand the SOE. It's going back.....

I've been following this thread where some people are having trouble getting rid of the SOE and I have a theory. I believe it is based on the input resolution to the TV. Here is what I experienced:

With 1080i or 1080p24 input everything seems to be working as intended. If I turn 'Film Mode' off I don't see any SOE effect.

With 1080p60 input I'm experiencing the same issue as other posters where the only way to completely defeat the SOE is to set the TV to GAME mode. As others have observed this isn't a great workaround, as you are limited in the picture adjustments in Game mode.

In my particular case I have all the input switched through an Integra 40.4 receiver (essentially the same as Onkyo 717). By default that was outputting all video to 1080p60. I was able to change the receiver to pass through the native resolutions for the sources.

For my Cable STB this works well, as it outputs the native resolution of the TV channel, which is always 1080i or 720p. For my Blu-ray player I was able to get to a good state by turning on a setting to enable 24 FPS mode. You can clearly see this is working by clicking 'display' on the Sharp TV and seeing '1080p 24' instead of simply '1080p'. The one component that is troublesome for me is the XBOX 360. This can't output at 24 FPS. For games I don't really notice or care about the SOE, but it is an annoyance for watching movies via Media Center or Netflix. For now my workaround is to use 'Game' mode (which I normally have for this input anyways), though I could probably also fix this by forcing 1080i from the XBOX or my receiver.

Has anyone who has had trouble completely getting rid of the SOE confirm that they are using an input other than 1080p60? It would be great if we could to the bottom of the issue.
mikmort is offline  
post #2274 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
johnfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocShemp View Post

Sure. I sent them a few pics. The first pair was using the set's own 3D test. I know Sharp didn't want test patterns but I felt that was the most damning evidence since it's meant to serve as the set's own demo of its 3D capabilities.
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

The other shots I used were from Hugo
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Silent Hill Revelation
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Those are pretty awful! I just watched James Cameron's 'Worlds Away' Cirque du Soleil film and saw ONE ghost in One shot.
There were two zebra-striped girls in the extreme foreground and one of them had her arm extended sideways and there was a ghost arm below it.
All the ghosts you have shown are side-by-side to the image. I wonder if there is an adjustment to take out such a regular pattern.
I'm thinking that the ghost I had was in the authoring of the BluRay since it was unique. Others I've rarely seen are always extreme foreground images: http://cms.interaksyon.com/entertainment/assets/media/2012/09/cirque-zebra.jpg
Yours seems to be a misalignment since it is in the foreground, but also in the middle ground images...
johnfull is offline  
post #2275 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 06:21 AM
Member
 
gainiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been reading this thread on/off all week as I await a 60le845, due any minute.... cant wait to see what horrors I'm in store for... eek.gif
gainiac is offline  
post #2276 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 08:04 AM
Member
 
gainiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So far, so good, I don't see any clouding. ...yet...rolleyes.gif

gonna apply some settings you guys have, see what I come up with... a pre-emptive 'Thanks'. biggrin.gif
gainiac is offline  
post #2277 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 08:33 AM
Member
 
srd5335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gainiac View Post

So far, so good, I don't see any clouding. ...yet...rolleyes.gif

gonna apply some settings you guys have, see what I come up with... a pre-emptive 'Thanks'. biggrin.gif

60le845u
Mode: Standard
Backlight: +13
Brightness: 0
Contrast: +24
Color: +3
Tint: 0
Sharpness: +4

Motion: 120hz High
Color Temp: Med High
Gamma: +1
Film Mode: Standard
Active Contrast: Off
Digital Noise: Standard

TV: Stretch
Game/Bluray: Dot by Dot

Looks great for xbox as well.
srd5335 is offline  
post #2278 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 09:50 AM
Member
 
gainiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^

Brightness??? smile.gif


Settings look good! Thanks!
gainiac is offline  
post #2279 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 09:58 AM
Member
 
gainiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm noticing a Lot less pixilation/noise/whateveryoucallit in the background which was TOTALLY Distracting as hell to my eye on the 60le600 (which HAD to go back....)
gainiac is offline  
post #2280 of 2661 Old 04-06-2013, 10:28 AM
Member
 
srd5335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gainiac View Post

^

Brightness??? smile.gif


Settings look good! Thanks!

Sorry about that...
Brightness: 0
I just changed Film setting to Standard. I was watching a Geico commercial and noticed some lines on the guys hand. I went to the Film mode and adjusted to "Standard" and that fixed the problem.
I also adjusted Digital Noise: Medium

I used the Disney WOW disc to help with the settings.

I've had the 60" 845 model for about 3 weeks. I'm always playing around with it.

Purchased a 5 year warranty through my Visa credit card for $189. It's worth it. I only got this tv because my 55" Toshiba had problems that weren't repairable so i got my $ back with this warranty.
srd5335 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sharp , Sharp Aquos Lc60le847u 60 Inch 1080p 240hz 3d 1080p Led Lcd Tv , Led Hdtv , Sharp Lc70le847u 70 Inch 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread - Lc70le847u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off