Official LG 47LM6700/55LM6700 "Passive 3D" Owners Thread - 2012 - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 2139 Old 05-14-2012, 08:34 PM
Member
 
needmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by getbigg21 View Post

Next thing is that sometimes while watching something from my computer through HDMI the tv almost reboots/turns off and then back on.

Anyone else experience this problem?

I've had this tv for about 3 weeks know and this just started happening just this last week. I've seen it happen when I'm on my ps3, xbox, or sattelite (all using HDMI).


Thanks
needmovies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 2139 Old 05-14-2012, 09:31 PM
Member
 
getbigg21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmovies View Post

Anyone else experience this problem?

I've had this tv for about 3 weeks know and this just started happening just this last week. I've seen it happen when I'm on my ps3, xbox, or sattelite (all using HDMI).


Thanks

Just saw ur post. I filed a claim with LG. they think it may be the power supply. They ordered it last Thursday for me. Hopefully it will be in soon
getbigg21 is offline  
post #663 of 2139 Old 05-14-2012, 09:32 PM
Member
 
getbigg21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwalker1974 View Post

i just got back from Best Buy. This set really does look nice. I couldn't see any difference between the 6700 and 7600. I just hope the lag isn't noticeable when playing shooters.

I havent had any lag. Was playing Max Payne 3 all weekend and it was sweet!
getbigg21 is offline  
post #664 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 11:31 AM
Member
 
jaethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmovies View Post

Anyone else experience this problem?

I've had this tv for about 3 weeks know and this just started happening just this last week. I've seen it happen when I'm on my ps3, xbox, or sattelite (all using HDMI).


Thanks

I think I had this last night while watching Underworld: Awakening in 3D. The TV just turned itself off then back on. It was very strange.
jaethos is offline  
post #665 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 12:24 PM
Member
 
ericdabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hopefully within 2 more weeks, we will see a firmware update to fix the Trumotion feature.

It would be nice if someone who has bought a TV with a May 2012 manufacturer date can confirm that the firmware loaded includes the Trumotion feature in the options.
ericdabbs is offline  
post #666 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
cjsiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Returned mine today. Couldn't handle the flashlight and bleeding for more than 2 days. Back to plasma. The 3d is unreal but not at the cost of 2d quality.

cjsiv is offline  
post #667 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 08:19 PM
Member
 
surfin3591's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaethos View Post

I think I had this last night while watching Underworld: Awakening in 3D. The TV just turned itself off then back on. It was very strange.

I have the same issue. I have a 7600 series. On my 3rd set from flashlight issues, but 2 of the sets including my current set randomly reboot themselves after watching tv for a couple hours.
surfin3591 is offline  
post #668 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 08:54 PM
Member
 
jaethos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if it might be an HDMI handshake issue, since it's only happened when watching something connected via HDMI. I've gone several hours streaming from my PC or watching Netflix without issue.

If it is an HDMI issue, handshake or otherwise, I would think it could be fixed with an update.
jaethos is offline  
post #669 of 2139 Old 05-15-2012, 11:19 PM
Member
 
getbigg21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaethos View Post

I wonder if it might be an HDMI handshake issue, since it's only happened when watching something connected via HDMI. I've gone several hours streaming from my PC or watching Netflix without issue.

If it is an HDMI issue, handshake or otherwise, I would think it could be fixed with an update.

I have changed out my hdmi cords with new ones and it still happens. I filed a claim with LG. A repair service called me to ask questions about it and think its something to do with the power supply. They said they would order it and then come out to fix it. This was last Wed and I haven't heard anything back about it. If I don't hear anything tomorrow I'm going to call them back.
getbigg21 is offline  
post #670 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 08:02 AM
Member
 
xamindar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdabbs View Post

Hopefully within 2 more weeks, we will see a firmware update to fix the Trumotion feature.

It would be nice if someone who has bought a TV with a May 2012 manufacturer date can confirm that the firmware loaded includes the Trumotion feature in the options.

Does this tv even include trumotion at all? I have a lot of bluring in panning scenes, it's as if the tv displays the next frame before removing the previous one. It causes the edges of objects on screen while panning to be doubled as if I was crossing my eyes. I first noticed it while watching Avatar 2d, but it is very evident in netflix content as well. is there something wrong with my tv? I haven't noticed this on other lcd tvs.
xamindar is offline  
post #671 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xamindar View Post

Does this tv even include trumotion at all? I have a lot of bluring in panning scenes, it's as if the tv displays the next frame before removing the previous one. It causes the edges of objects on screen while panning to be doubled as if I was crossing my eyes. I first noticed it while watching Avatar 2d, but it is very evident in netflix content as well. is there something wrong with my tv? I haven't noticed this on other lcd tvs.

call LG and complain!! hopefully they'll get the update out soon.
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #672 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmovies View Post

Anyone else experience this problem?

I've had this tv for about 3 weeks know and this just started happening just this last week. I've seen it happen when I'm on my ps3, xbox, or sattelite (all using HDMI).


Thanks

my friend watches everything through his htpc with a hdmi connection and he has had no problems with his tv rebooting. I watch about 50% of material through pc with hdmi, and have never had this happen either.
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #673 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xamindar View Post

Does this tv even include trumotion at all? I have a lot of bluring in panning scenes, it's as if the tv displays the next frame before removing the previous one. It causes the edges of objects on screen while panning to be doubled as if I was crossing my eyes. I first noticed it while watching Avatar 2d, but it is very evident in netflix content as well. is there something wrong with my tv? I haven't noticed this on other lcd tvs.

this is the only problem i have with this tv. its a 2012 model, and there is no reason for LG to not have this option. call and complain.
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #674 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 12:35 PM
Member
 
erikcave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it is. My first set did this all the time. If I turned on or off any component connected to the TV, it would reboot. I exchanged it and haven't had the problems since.
erikcave is offline  
post #675 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 04:02 PM
Member
 
totalwex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to LG live rep....

10:29 AM Ana: Correct, the last year models gave you the choice to adjust judder, blur or turn it off
10:30 AM Ana: That is what the engineers want to add via software update

so...we shall wait
totalwex is offline  
post #676 of 2139 Old 05-16-2012, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
pa35633's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwalker1974 View Post

i just got back from Best Buy. This set really does look nice. I couldn't see any difference between the 6700 and 7600. I just hope the lag isn't noticeable when playing shooters.

I haven't noticed any lag with black ops or mw3.
pa35633 is offline  
post #677 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 06:25 AM
Member
 
needmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaethos View Post

I wonder if it might be an HDMI handshake issue, since it's only happened when watching something connected via HDMI. I've gone several hours streaming from my PC or watching Netflix without issue.

If it is an HDMI issue, handshake or otherwise, I would think it could be fixed with an update.

this could be true. mine reboots more often when I'm on my ps3/xbox. I also watch videos from an external usb hdd and I haven't had any rebooting issues with this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by getbigg21 View Post

I have changed out my hdmi cords with new ones and it still happens. I filed a claim with LG. A repair service called me to ask questions about it and think its something to do with the power supply. They said they would order it and then come out to fix it. This was last Wed and I haven't heard anything back about it. If I don't hear anything tomorrow I'm going to call them back.

let us know how it goes

this is getting annoying, mine rebooted last night while playing during a boss fight, I almost died!!
needmovies is offline  
post #678 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 07:57 AM
Member
 
aaronwalker1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
after going back and forth on this set, I finally decided to get the 55LM7600. Actually the store made the decision for me. I was going to buy the 55LM6700 for $1450 from a local store but when they were ringing up the order, they realized they were out of stock. They wouldn't have another delivery for 30 days. They made me a deal on the 55LM7600 for $1700.
aaronwalker1974 is online now  
post #679 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
dobbre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone! First time writing here. I'm planning to buy this TV (or 7600). Earlier I read somewhere that LG advertised these models to be able to transfer pic to tablet or phone. That could be really useful when watching a game and you have to go to restroom, you just continue watching
Has anyone tried this option, or at least know it is possible?
dobbre is offline  
post #680 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 12:54 PM
Member
 
xamindar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just scheduled a tech visit from LG to repair the flashlighting on my TV. Has anyone else gone this route? Were they able to repair it?

I still have the option to return it to Amazon but I have to do it by the 28th.

Any recommendations? I just want the dang edges to be uniform in brightness. Is that too much to ask when buying an expensive TV?

EDIT: Oh, and I did complain about the missing trumotion option when I called them. But the agent didn't seem to know why it was missing, he only knew that older models have it but the 2012 ones don't.
xamindar is offline  
post #681 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xamindar View Post

I just scheduled a tech visit from LG to repair the flashlighting on my TV. Has anyone else gone this route? Were they able to repair it?

I still have the option to return it to Amazon but I have to do it by the 28th.

Any recommendations? I just want the dang edges to be uniform in brightness. Is that too much to ask when buying an expensive TV?

EDIT: Oh, and I did complain about the missing trumotion option when I called them. But the agent didn't seem to know why it was missing, he only knew that older models have it but the 2012 ones don't.

did the agent you talked to mention anything about an update to fix the trumotion option?
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #682 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 04:00 PM
Member
 
xamindar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalDistortion View Post

did the agent you talked to mention anything about an update to fix the trumotion option?

No he did not.
xamindar is offline  
post #683 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 05:52 PM
Member
 
skatetolivelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobbre View Post

Hi everyone! First time writing here. I'm planning to buy this TV (or 7600). Earlier I read somewhere that LG advertised these models to be able to transfer pic to tablet or phone. That could be really useful when watching a game and you have to go to restroom, you just continue watching
Has anyone tried this option, or at least know it is possible?

I haven't had any luck with it. I have the LG remote app on my iPod Touch and you get options for channel,volume, input, channel list, number pad, scroll and pointer... but no Live TV. I don't know if that's the only way to do it but I believe that's how you do it with higher up Cinema models. I know there's a screen share option but you need WIDI of wifi direct... which apple products don't have
skatetolivelts is offline  
post #684 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xamindar View Post

No he did not.

damn that sucks.
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #685 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 08:32 PM
Member
 
SuperAmmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the general consensus on this TV? I'm cross shopping it with the Toshiba L6200U and Panasonic ET5 and want to know which is best.

I'm also cross shopping it with an ST50, but that's a whole other argument (I've almost settled on LED due to power consumption reasons but I still get this tug to go Plasma)
SuperAmmo is offline  
post #686 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
cjsiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I returned mine and got a plasma. Couldn't handle the uniformity issues of flashlighting, bleed and clouding.

cjsiv is offline  
post #687 of 2139 Old 05-17-2012, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperAmmo View Post

What's the general consensus on this TV? I'm cross shopping it with the Toshiba L6200U and Panasonic ET5 and want to know which is best.

I'm also cross shopping it with an ST50, but that's a whole other argument (I've almost settled on LED due to power consumption reasons but I still get this tug to go Plasma)


st50 is a great hdtv!
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #688 of 2139 Old 05-18-2012, 05:52 AM
Member
 
SuperAmmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalDistortion View Post

st50 is a great hdtv!

I know, but it also uses about 200 watts of electricity vs. less than 100 for LED.

Plus, the LM6700 has local dimming, which helps. I also prefer passive 3D tech for cost and convenience reasons.
SuperAmmo is offline  
post #689 of 2139 Old 05-18-2012, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
cjsiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
If you just want 3d then the 6700 is the way to go. It looks excellent. But to me the 2D picture was horrible with the lighting issues. You have to decide your primary use.

The energy guide on my plasma was $65/year. You are spending $1700 on a tv and you are concerned about $30 vs $60 a year?

cjsiv is offline  
post #690 of 2139 Old 05-18-2012, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
henrikr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just a heads up


turned on my tv today, got a update, it was called 03.03.50 (here in norway)

updated, and now i can disable/enable trumotion

thank you lg!

btw, do you guys recommending turning it off? thats the first thing i did
henrikr is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Cinema Screen 47lm6700 47 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 120 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv With Smart Tv , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm6700 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off